Kinsella played great, He had been sick all week in the run up to the match so no surprise he cooled down a bit in the 2nd half
Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 12/05/2025 23:21:10
Replying To latouche25: "I really don't care what a player has produced over the past 15 years. Menton wasn't around for the past 3 years and went missing for a time before that as well. We're talking about yesterday's game only and how they performed there. If you don't like the truth then that's your problem not mine. The facts speak for themselves we only had 5 scores and 2 wides in the second half that's 7 scoring chances. We lost 10 out of 10 breaks in the second half and only won 2 kickouts they are the facts. At a time when we couldn't get a sniff at midfield why was McBride not introduced at least he can field the ball and can run. Your command about being related to someone on the panel is rather childish and totally wrong." Sure mcbride is a great fetcher of a ball, but then gets dispossessed just as quick. Pity cause we need another option, gray has to come back in
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 980 - 12/05/2025 23:35:32
Replying To Sheridan2010louth: "Cathal Hickey would have been a very good option to bring on to help with breaking ball, he won a huge one late against Dublin. Think Robbie got a lot wrong, the same louth players who killed meath in the past killed us again, it points to bad preparation. Not sure why Jamie Murphy wasnt involved. Hes better than at least 3 players who came on yesterday." Is this a serious post ?
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 980 - 12/05/2025 23:38:19
Watched the game back. It was a hard watch. We had the game by the scruff of the neck in the first half and should have put them away. We've conceded 8 goals against Louth in the last 4 games. They find it so easy to cut us open. This has to stop.
The free for Mulroy's 2 pointer at the end was never a free in a million years. Also, not many people noticing Downey shouldering O' Halloran in the face/head... and Louth get the free? They went and scored a 45 from the resulting attack.
I have to say, I'm disappointed with management for not making changes in midfield. Mento was having an off day and should have been taken off. Flynn was gassed half way through the 2nd half too. Gray, McGowan or McBride should have been given a chance. We were in trouble, and the line did nothing about it. Just shows you how vital Jones is to us. Kick outs in the 2nd half were disappointing. Balls hanging in the air making it easy to attack. Kicked to Same areas all the time and same result.
Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 410 - 13/05/2025 00:10:50
Meath were brilliant compared to how lethargic they usually are, and as I said, are on the brink of returning to footballs top table. The burst at the end of the first half, showed our raw ability, and what we're capable off. And that will grow with experience.
We lacked experience to control the game in the second half, and this Louth team are battle hardened, it's a learning curve. But getting that goal in the 61st minute, said it all from a Meath point of view. The fight is back.
The Dublin game has been a spark that has rejuvenated the fight, spirit and belief in the team, it was lethargic for years before that. But that being back is the main thing. And now with that as the foundation, the team finally have a base to work from.
The experience and game management wasn't there, and never would be just because we beat Dublin, that takes time and will come. And that game will stand to them. With a new manager, you just want to see an upward trajectory, and for the first time in 15 years we have that, there's direction in our play again, and fight from the players.
Anyone criticizing the management doesn't have a clue, and even after a year, without beating Dublin still wouldn't be right to criticize them. You have to look for progress and an upward trajectory. Is that there? Yes, in abundance.
For a dozen years the players have been beaten dogs, going through the motions, aimless and devoid of any belief. A national laughing stock tbh. But apart from beating Dublin, the team now show heart and fight again, a belief and determination, to leave it all out there.
That's all we should want to see at this point in a managers tenure, which has been missing from Meath football for 15 years. And with that back, the rest will come, experience, growth and game management given time. Management doing brilliant. Meath never lacked ability, it was psychological. And that's finally being addressed!
The players didn't deserve our support before this, with the limp performances they put in for years, week in week out, but they do now. No one cares about losing once it's all left out there, and Meath left it all out there Sunday, as they did against Dublin.
This loss is a stumbling block, the real positive this season is the fight is back in the team tbh, and that's what you work from. We're going in the right direction, quicker than expected infact. I've been Meaths harshest critic for years, just wanted to see the fight back in them. That's there. Hope players and management don't read the negative stuff, we're going in the right direction finally!
32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4146 - 13/05/2025 01:49:30
This could be long winded, but it's amazing over the years, watching all the experts give their opinion on why Meath were doing so poor. Poor club championship. That was always the case. Not the right structures in youth and development. Doesn't matter. Didn't have the talent, we did.
County board and everyone else, spent 15 years trying to address the problem as if it was a "physical" problem, that could be fixed with more training or better structures. We could have had the Clifford brothers the last few years, but would of been no better.
Meaths issue has been psychological. We got rid of all the experienced players 12 years ago with a 5 year plan. Battle hardened players who could raise it. Replaced with a load of kids.
And we got tanked by Dublin, over and over. Players devoid of any belief. Anyone coming in since then, walking into the same beaten mentality of everyone around them. How many times had we Tyrone and Donegal on the ropes the last ten years, only to capitulate with fear when we seen the winning line? Something died in the spirit of Meath football!
This is why we were so poor, and why it was never fixed, no one addressed the issue. Like with Man United, the poisonous culture, which evolved and dragged everything down. Our players literally beaten dogs for years, no belief and fight. But we always had the ability. It was the psychology!
This management team, is the first to address the real issues, the psychological, beaten dog, mentality. And if people criticising the management can't see that, they don't have a clue. You don't mind losing when it's all left out there. Not one Meath player left it all out there in over a decade. But every single player has the last two games.
It doesn't matter if we win or lose at the minute, it's putting the psychology of the team right again. Because the talent is there, and the results will follow if the mentality is right again. That's being instilled in the players again, and we can see the difference in fight, intensity and belief, compared to what came before.
Meath always had the players and talent, but since we got battered, something died in Meath football. The spirit and fight. And that was the issue all along. That spirit and fight back against Dublin and Louth, even if the experience and game management weren't! But that will come!
32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4146 - 13/05/2025 02:25:51
Robbie Brennan and others here complaining about ref decisions- oh the irony. Ref had a good game all round - sure Sam was bundled over for your goal, well taken by Costello but it was a foul all day- swings and roundabouts come to mind.
ged (Louth) - Posts: 317 - 13/05/2025 07:13:00
Replying To ged: "Robbie Brennan and others here complaining about ref decisions- oh the irony. Ref had a good game all round - sure Sam was bundled over for your goal, well taken by Costello but it was a foul all day- swings and roundabouts come to mind." He didn't complain if you actually listened to his interview, and the irony is all on you, 15 years you's done nothing but whinge and cry.. before that you whinged about the 2002 game in navan for 8 years. Meath management and people in general including on this forum have shown how to lose with a bit of dignity.
Imagine winning a first title in 68 years and spending your time on the opposition's forum, go and have a pint lad
Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 13/05/2025 09:42:31
Could Mcivor be an option at midfield or will it take more time? What about Harkin and Murphy in the forwards will they see any game time this year?
Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 13/05/2025 09:43:43
Replying To 32_4_1: "Meath were brilliant compared to how lethargic they usually are, and as I said, are on the brink of returning to footballs top table. The burst at the end of the first half, showed our raw ability, and what we're capable off. And that will grow with experience.
We lacked experience to control the game in the second half, and this Louth team are battle hardened, it's a learning curve. But getting that goal in the 61st minute, said it all from a Meath point of view. The fight is back.
The Dublin game has been a spark that has rejuvenated the fight, spirit and belief in the team, it was lethargic for years before that. But that being back is the main thing. And now with that as the foundation, the team finally have a base to work from.
The experience and game management wasn't there, and never would be just because we beat Dublin, that takes time and will come. And that game will stand to them. With a new manager, you just want to see an upward trajectory, and for the first time in 15 years we have that, there's direction in our play again, and fight from the players.
Anyone criticizing the management doesn't have a clue, and even after a year, without beating Dublin still wouldn't be right to criticize them. You have to look for progress and an upward trajectory. Is that there? Yes, in abundance.
For a dozen years the players have been beaten dogs, going through the motions, aimless and devoid of any belief. A national laughing stock tbh. But apart from beating Dublin, the team now show heart and fight again, a belief and determination, to leave it all out there.
That's all we should want to see at this point in a managers tenure, which has been missing from Meath football for 15 years. And with that back, the rest will come, experience, growth and game management given time. Management doing brilliant. Meath never lacked ability, it was psychological. And that's finally being addressed!
The players didn't deserve our support before this, with the limp performances they put in for years, week in week out, but they do now. No one cares about losing once it's all left out there, and Meath left it all out there Sunday, as they did against Dublin.
This loss is a stumbling block, the real positive this season is the fight is back in the team tbh, and that's what you work from. We're going in the right direction, quicker than expected infact. I've been Meaths harshest critic for years, just wanted to see the fight back in them. That's there. Hope players and management don't read the negative stuff, we're going in the right direction finally!" Agreed 100% Its still a learning curve for all at this level. Robbie must be kicking himself for not man marking Mulroy a proven match winner. I dont think that type mistake will happen again however . We can talk all day about the ifs .If Rafferty followed Mulroy and stuck to him ? But Rafferty was one of our better players on the day .IF Jones was fit ? I leave the selection to the selectors they are best placed to decide. We need a couple of players anyway as is . Not sure who from u 20 looks the best prospect to give them a chance at this point. . I will not really be surprised to see a futher improvement in performance which will be enough to beat Cork.Then we train to meet the needs shown to beat WHOEVER it is . We forget about the WHO bit...When we get to Kerry the plan will rely heavily on man marking an all time great , If Robbies recipe is about learning as he says ,training to meet those needs ,continuing to instill belief .then anything is possible. The need to find two new players now would be a shot in the arm no doubt. But very significant progress in a few months .WELL DONE to all ..Keep it up!
nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1282 - 13/05/2025 09:58:22
Replying To ged: "Robbie Brennan and others here complaining about ref decisions- oh the irony. Ref had a good game all round - sure Sam was bundled over for your goal, well taken by Costello but it was a foul all day- swings and roundabouts come to mind." Not sure I'd say complaining, anyone I talked though Louth deserved it the way they won so much ball in second half. Breaking ball was there for both teams to win and the Louth men won it ahead of the Meath men.
The referee obviously got the 2 pointer free wrong, Meath were on a bit of a high after the goal and the defence did great to force which should have been a free out at a big time in the game. Similar to how they did well to bottle up Sam and force a turnove in the lead up to goal.
Meath didn't deserve to win but also Meath got few decisions late on, both can be true the same time.
GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 71 - 13/05/2025 09:58:32
I have to agree with a lot of the posters here regarding Mulroy's freedom of Croke Park, i just couldn't believe how he wasn't man marked. The tactic seemed to be drop a forward to him to close off the space, Kinsella and Costello spent a good bit of time in and around him but apart from taking away from their own game it just isn't enough. It needs to be a man marker all day long. Also couldn't understand Walshe's role when he came on, spent most of his time in the fullback/halfback line, assuming this wasn't supposed to happen. This takes game management from some of the leaders of the team to get the shape rite and that's where Louth's experience kicks in. Not a fan of bringing in Lynch either, he is way too lightweight for a game like that as it showed, way better options on the bench. But all things considered we would have jumped at these problems in the last few years so onwards and upwards.
Just a query, how many of the minor winning panel is currently with the seniors?
Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 13/05/2025 11:04:30
Replying To GreenMan1987: "Not sure I'd say complaining, anyone I talked though Louth deserved it the way they won so much ball in second half. Breaking ball was there for both teams to win and the Louth men won it ahead of the Meath men.
The referee obviously got the 2 pointer free wrong, Meath were on a bit of a high after the goal and the defence did great to force which should have been a free out at a big time in the game. Similar to how they did well to bottle up Sam and force a turnove in the lead up to goal.
Meath didn't deserve to win but also Meath got few decisions late on, both can be true the same time." A honest post or course they were easy frees giving but was both ways if you look at the game again? Free at the end debatable but if is went to Meath you definitely wouldn't be saying it wasn't a free. Louth well on top for most of the second half and over the last few years have go very good at closing out the game and finishing strong
clutch (Louth) - Posts: 12 - 13/05/2025 11:47:32
Replying To ged: "Robbie Brennan and others here complaining about ref decisions- oh the irony. Ref had a good game all round - sure Sam was bundled over for your goal, well taken by Costello but it was a foul all day- swings and roundabouts come to mind." Lad, enjoy your win. Bit pathetic that you're on the opposition's forum after your first provincial title in a lifetime. Notice no Meath fans attacking the referee, attacking Louth players or shouting abuse at Louth families after the poor refereeing decision late on that put ye ahead. Robbie Brennan was specifically asked about this free and gave his very balanced opinion. And yes, swings and roundabouts indeed! Just like heaps of decisions going Louth's way in 2010 before the late goal. That always seems to be ignored. The silver lining of this defeat is hopefully ye will shut up about 2010 now.
Just to add, every single Louth fan celebrating around us on Sunday were supremely gracious winners and were focused on celebrating the win while also commiserating with Meath fans.
Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1385 - 13/05/2025 11:50:24
Replying To Northsidegaels: "Could Mcivor be an option at midfield or will it take more time? What about Harkin and Murphy in the forwards will they see any game time this year?" Both Mc Ivor and Harkin are U-20 again next year so this summer might be a bit soon for them, maybe a few will be added to the squad to freshen things up. Its difficult to know if any of this years U-20 players would be fit to make the step up to senior this year, U-20 and senior county football are chalk and cheese from what I have seen this year. There is a massive difference in marking an 18 or 19 year old in and U-20 competition compared to a 27 or 28 year old at senior level. For example key players from last years team like Liam Kelly and John O' Regan are no where near the match day squad at the moment.
Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 474 - 13/05/2025 11:55:33
Replying To Tobefair80: "I have to agree with a lot of the posters here regarding Mulroy's freedom of Croke Park, i just couldn't believe how he wasn't man marked. The tactic seemed to be drop a forward to him to close off the space, Kinsella and Costello spent a good bit of time in and around him but apart from taking away from their own game it just isn't enough. It needs to be a man marker all day long. Also couldn't understand Walshe's role when he came on, spent most of his time in the fullback/halfback line, assuming this wasn't supposed to happen. This takes game management from some of the leaders of the team to get the shape rite and that's where Louth's experience kicks in. Not a fan of bringing in Lynch either, he is way too lightweight for a game like that as it showed, way better options on the bench. But all things considered we would have jumped at these problems in the last few years so onwards and upwards.
Just a query, how many of the minor winning panel is currently with the seniors?" Yeah,see your point but mulroy always drops deep and if fullback goes with him that leaves space for Lennon etc to exploit.For Lennon's goal louth pulled way out wide left space for him to go into and he cut right through.We of course should have stopped him at all costs but unfortunately he is so quick it's easier said than done.Maybe playing a sweeper and man mark Mullroy might've have worked but that would leave you short in midfield or further forward.With the new rules you need 3 up so that really stops you using a corner forward as a sweeper like the old times.If you use a half forward then lennon would become free and harder to mark.If Jones was fit play him at 12 and you could tell him to come into the middle and )Louth would have to do something as we would have a much better chance of winning ball)maybe tell coffey to go with mullroy and that leaves Rafferty to be nearer goal and protect hogan.So I do get what Robbie was trying to do he had Frayne dropping back for a bit then Kinsella (walsh as you said)rotating trying to stop Louth but unfortunately when louth went ahead they were composed enough to play it around and look for an opening and got that with Lennon's last point.They must've had the ball for 3/4 minutes at least and in fairness not an easy thing to do, now we probably should went go ho and pushed right up on them in the last few minutes but that's a risky thing to do so easy to say in hindsight but in the heat of the moment is were experience is needed and maybe we just lacked on that.While frustrated about Sunday I do think this will stand to us in the long term have to learn for days like that and while the lads I'm sure are hurting it's been a decent year so far and not over yet.
Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 345 - 13/05/2025 11:56:31
Can't not be proud of the lads for the last 4 weeks. The buzz they have brought back to the county hasn't been seen in 15 years, just look at the hill on Sunday, the amount of green was absolutely unbelievable.
With regards to the game, ultimately the goals caught up with us. We absolutely battered Louth's kickout in the first half and should have been minimum 6 points up at half time. We went in leading but really it felt like we were losing. I think the lads will be disappointed with all 3 concessions of the goals. In saying that, we played some brilliant football, the 4 minute period where we scored 7 in a row was fantastic.
We lost midfield badly in the second half, and ultimately that gave Louth the platform to win the game. Along with that, I thought in the last 20 minutes experience showed, we just started to panic a bit. I was surprised Cathal Hickey didn't come on in the last 15 minutes as I felt both of our wing backs just looked a small bit leggy.
Unfortunately, we didn't get the job done, but these lads deserve our support in two weeks. If we beat Cork were basically through which again builds on momentum that has already been made this year. So hopefully there is a huge Meath crowd in Pairc Tailteann Saturday week.
contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 13/05/2025 12:00:28
Lads very unlucky. I thought once Costello had scored the goal for Meath the Royals would win but fair play to Louth dug deep. The Meath supporters around me were gracious in defeat. There were two young Meath brothers who were obviously disappointed and down in the dumps. I told that Meath will be back and that today was a day I thought I would never see Louth lifting Delaney. Best of luck for the rest of the campaign.
Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1038 - 13/05/2025 12:22:41
Anyone know what the latest is with Conor Gray ? Is he available and not been selected or is he injured/not available ? He brilliant for us in 2023. I know he was sick most of last year.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1269 - 13/05/2025 12:24:26
Replying To Ratoath Royal: "Lad, enjoy your win. Bit pathetic that you're on the opposition's forum after your first provincial title in a lifetime. Notice no Meath fans attacking the referee, attacking Louth players or shouting abuse at Louth families after the poor refereeing decision late on that put ye ahead. Robbie Brennan was specifically asked about this free and gave his very balanced opinion. And yes, swings and roundabouts indeed! Just like heaps of decisions going Louth's way in 2010 before the late goal. That always seems to be ignored. The silver lining of this defeat is hopefully ye will shut up about 2010 now.
Just to add, every single Louth fan celebrating around us on Sunday were supremely gracious winners and were focused on celebrating the win while also commiserating with Meath fans." Bit strong to call it pathetic - Look I was merely making the point that the small decisions such as the free for 2pts for Louth or even McKenny holding on to the ball on the sideline resulting in a 2 pointer for Meath all matter when it comes down the stretch. I mentioned already on the forum which anyone is entitled to comment (even if not ones county) that all supporters and both teams were fantastic for creating the great occasion that it was. Meath fans all around me and my family in different areas couldn't have been more gracious and friendly. What happened in 10 was wrong in so many levels and everyone acknowledges that. I wish Meath good luck for the group stages where a good performance in Páirc Tailteann will see you in to the last 12. Apologies if my comments were interpreted as inflammatory.
ged (Louth) - Posts: 317 - 13/05/2025 12:31:41