Last year Dunshaughlin were the best form team from the start of the championship. There is no team like that this year who are the bookies favourites from start to finish. madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 104 - 18/09/2025 14:12:47 2636669 Link 0 |
I hope ye stay up. Curraha lads are obviously a massive part of our hurling team's successes recently. It's a shame ye are in this position given that you were on the wrong side of two penalty shootouts in last season's relegation playoffs. Losing players abroad will hurt any club but for clubs with such a small playing pool anyway, it has a much bigger impact. If ye do stay up, I think NOM going down will make ripples nationwide given their status. But whoever goes down, you'd expect them to come straight back up the following year (though obviously not a given).
Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1418 - 18/09/2025 14:28:57 2636676 Link 0 |
It doesn't really matter how you get to a semi as long as you're there. Teams with talent can always rise above poor form at the business end, so I wouldn't underestimate any of the four teams left. But I do feel that the Dunshaughlin hunger has returned, just at the right time. Four lads on a county panel that had a decent run, has its downside in fatigue terms, as other clubs have experienced. Yes, it's an excuse for poor performances, but there seems to be a freshness returning recently. We'll see. aghref (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 18/09/2025 14:42:11 2636681 Link 0 |
Have it from a very reliable source that jack Oc and toner back for final which completely changes this game.
Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 21/09/2025 23:10:56 2636990 Link 0 |
Of the four senior semi finalists Ratoath are still the top scoring team with 92 points (9-8-49) well ahead of Skryne on 78 points (5-9-45), Dunshaughlin on 77 points (7-7-42) & Summerhill on 75 points (3-9-48). madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 104 - 23/09/2025 12:34:53 2637178 Link 0 |
That has more to do with the luck of the draw for Ratoath. They scored 4-20 against St Colmcilles who have been by far the worst team this year. Ratoath also palyed extra time where they scored 2 goals and 5 points. The stats don't look good for dunshaughlin who also did have an easy group. Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 599 - 23/09/2025 13:50:58 2637187 Link 1 |
Might be showing my age and tightness but I have a serious problem with having to purchase tickets online and pay a service charge. So on top of the hassle of buying online and not just walking up on the day, I have to pay for the privilege. Grinds my gears no end. Grab All Association doing its job off_the_wall (Roscommon) - Posts: 75 - 24/09/2025 12:03:40 2637289 Link 1 |
Can you pay at the gate in Navan? I don't use my phone for buying stuff online anymore because of several scam attempts.
Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 26/09/2025 12:44:30 2637540 Link 0 |
I know some venues took cash, €10 when the real price on line was €8 plus the service charge. If the Co Board truly wanted to provide a service to their paying public they would have card readers. Even the coffee trailer in PT has a card reader. No commitment to the paying public and it has cost the Board money this year. MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1123 - 26/09/2025 21:15:31 2637599 Link 0 |
Interesting match tomorrow in senior. Ratoath getting their game to a good spot now . Performance is getting better at the right time and improving more to come. Paul Galvin has played a great long term strategy. Working towards peaking at the right time. This meant trying out tactics at cost of good performance earlier. There were signs of usual suspects planning to remove him. But even they must see the benefit now. Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 581 - 27/09/2025 22:05:11 2637680 Link 0 |
Was at Moynalvey Casteltown yesterday. The quality was very good. Was blown away by how good Castletown were. I reckon they will be absolutely fine at senior next year. Can't see them going straight back down like Meath Hill. Rian McConnell was quiet by his standards and still kicked 10 points, the sign of a class player. I'd be surprised if himself and Killian Smyth aren't in with Meath seniors next year. On the Moynalvey side Hugh O'sullivan was excellent before he picked up a late red card. Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 261 - 28/09/2025 10:02:34 2637694 Link 1 |
Ratoath got the job done once again, and did so with relatively little fuss. Skryne will no doubt be disappointed with their performance, and to be honest, I think both sides are capable of more than what they showed yesterday. That said, Ratoath seemed to find another gear in the final quarter and comfortably secured their place in yet another county final-credit where it's due. Galvin deserves recognition for the job he's done. He hasn't brought any unnecessary attention to the club despite his profile, and that's been the case from day one. I genuinely don't understand why anyone would want to see him go-he's done exactly what's been asked of him and guided the team to another senior final. thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1126 - 28/09/2025 14:59:03 2637708 Link 1 |
Agreed Castletown played outstanding stuff from 1-15 but as you say Killian Smyth who seemed to be picking up Harnan and McConnell different class and should be looked at over the next few months with Meath. Evan Hoey at fullback also very good and really plays with an edge. Kilbride now in final and disposed of Michael's with relative ease. Kilbride will be no pushover with great athletism all over the field. Expect it to be a shootout. winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 812 - 28/09/2025 15:31:53 2637709 Link 0 |
I thought with exception of Rooney who was completely outplayed by Jack Flynn, Skryne looked physically way smaller and not able to compete in the air at all. Now with the new game, Skryne still seem to try and run everything and have too many small players. Ratoath far superior.
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 812 - 28/09/2025 15:34:58 2637710 Link 0 |
Jaysus, didn't realise that Saturday was the Intermediate final. Should Kilbride just stay at home in two weeks time? Congrats to our neighbours. Said it many times before, but the work they've done over the last 15 years is astonishing. Kilbride lost the Junior B final only 5 years ago. When I was playing underage in the 2000s, we had a few players from Kilbride in our ranks as they only had one adult team and no underage teams whatsoever. Delighted to be back in a senior final. Though I'm sure both us and Summerhill are sick of the sight of each other at this stage. Think this will be the 7th meeting in as many seasons. Summerhill will be favourites. They looked dead and buried early in the second half. But keeping the reigning champions scoreless for over 20 minutes with the players they have is impressive. Feel we'll need to get goals if we're to win. Massive congrats to St. Mary's on their first adult silverware since 1979 today. Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1418 - 28/09/2025 22:45:26 2637748 Link 0 |
Absolute nonsense comment trying to stir up controversy for the sake of it. An excellent win for Ratoath against a team that many had tipped for outright honor's and a performance to boot and still some just looking to throw muck on the club ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 588 - 29/09/2025 08:38:52 2637760 Link 0 |
Actually, it was a great weekend for Ratoath. Their second and third teams won the All County championships that they were playing in. I think if memory serves, the second team won it last year! What I'd give for some of their second and third team! They had over 30 players togged out for the 3rd team game yesterday apparently! Next weekend they play in the hurling final - of course backboned by Podge Hanrahan! I'm sure Trim will put it up to them - but what a year it could be!! Performance of the weekend must go to Kilbride who were simply outstanding yesterday - well done Anthony Moyles and crew! That said, Castletown were impressive on Saturday too and the Intermediate final could be a real belter! Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 29/09/2025 12:22:45 2637796 Link 0 |
Me thinks I may be right can't see Ratoath stopped now
numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 371 - 30/09/2025 08:17:01 2637901 Link 0 |
Based on the semis, Ratoath to shade the final but was impressed by Summerhills grit to draw and see out there's. Jack Flynn was immense but Skryne midfield was anonymous which was a good job for Ratoath as there keeper is questionable. Anyone know if Flanagan will be back for Summerhill, they need him. Dunshaughlin paid the price for the success if the county. Kinsella probably the only county player on Sunday that could walk out somewhat happy. Others were anonymous for large parts. Whatever team comes out of Meath won't be competing for Leinster. Are the Wallaces being held in reserve for final. Always been big game player for Ratoath. off_the_wall (Roscommon) - Posts: 75 - 30/09/2025 13:23:57 2637958 Link 0 |
I think the Intermediate final is going to be a cracker. Two attacking teams who play good football, and will be a massive story for whoever wins. Neither will get a better opportunity to go to Senior. Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 83 - 30/09/2025 13:32:32 2637959 Link 0 |