Taking some of the older players coming back as a positive and shows RB is getting lads to buy into his plans... bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1819 - 12/11/2024 12:17:05 2579346 Link 0 |
Really looking forward to the new year. Unlike 2023 and 2024 there is no one to fear in Division 2 next year. Though no one will fear us either. Our record for the past 3 years in the league: MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 12/11/2024 15:13:46 2579376 Link 0 |
i think we could be lucky not to be relegated. id take staying safe in 5th place right now dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 816 - 12/11/2024 20:44:54 2579418 Link 1 |
I can't see Brian Menton returning with such low expectations.
atta (Meath) - Posts: 705 - 13/11/2024 10:19:53 2579472 Link 0 |
Menton has played in Meath teams finishing 5th or lower several times in his career so I don't see how he'd suddenly think himself to be too good for that level. And I mean that to his credit, not as a negative. CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1677 - 13/11/2024 15:48:25 2579541 Link 1 |
This will probably change a good bit but here's my team I'd like to see come round one of the league. UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 14/11/2024 19:16:06 2579641 Link 1 |
Anyone thinking Robbie Brennan should be looking at the latter end of the various championships should seriously think again. Our Senior and Intermediate championships are so irrelevant to the rest of Leinster and are no guide at all as to what is required to be competitive nationwide. St Loman's beaten at home by Ardee shows how lowly our Senior Championship is. And as I write Caragh of Kildare have 'struggled' into extra time against Fethard of Wexford in the Intermediate Championship. Only Dunsany are able to win and win the hard way. So if Robbie loads his team from the latter stages of the Senior Championship we are doomed. Only way forward is to head for the highways and byways of the county into Junior, Intermediate land etc and seek out strong raw triers with a TOTAL will to win. Much as I hate to say it but everybody must put the 2024 SFC completely out of their minds, it was irrelevant to inter county football. MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1102 - 23/11/2024 15:21:51 2580822 Link 4 |
i think every meath fan is expecting a huge battle to stay up in the division, meath and westmeath are favouirties with bookies to be relegated so were in for a huge survival battle. 5 points will hopefully be enough but its very hard to see where that wins will come, maybe cavan at home and down you would want to target, 4 points might be enough but even 6 poiints could still relegate us. dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 816 - 24/11/2024 22:31:43 2581081 Link 2 |
It'll be tough but there are some reasons for optimism. New management, more experienced players, some good under 21s coming in, a few more senior players back to ease the Sigerson pressures, 2-3 counties (Roscommon, Down, and long shot Louth) could have key players off post the AI club championship. We got 6 points last year and 5 the previous year in a division where two matches (Donegal/Armagh & Dublin/Derry) were pretty much a write-off. So we got 6 points and 5 points from 5 games essentially. This year we could get a point or two from any of the 7 games. Again, it will be tough. Can see a lot of matches coming down to a kick of a ball. MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 25/11/2024 09:59:47 2581124 Link 0 |
Jaysus putting in someone who never played at this level is a big ask, And while Meath hill won the Final he didn't really get a kick in it, Or am I wrong.
Nothingbutthetruth (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 26/11/2024 12:41:24 2581296 Link 0 |
A crazy team. Jones who was the best midfielder in the club championship at 7. Gray midfield who didn't get a kick in the semi final or Final and definitely still has a lot to prove. McBride midfield who hasn't shown anything yet to suggest he's up to starting midfield at inter County level . Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1074 - 26/11/2024 13:32:00 2581307 Link 2 |
1. Harry Hogan BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1011 - 26/11/2024 14:16:47 2581314 Link 0 |
Id like to see Aaron Lynch giving a go at wing back , and James Conlon as centre forward Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 26/11/2024 15:28:51 2581323 Link 0 |
Brian Hanlon from the team in kells, stcolmcilles should be given a look in a young forward who has showed promise over the last few years in the senior championship Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 26/11/2024 15:45:39 2581328 Link 1 |
Serious midfield pairing there
Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1507 - 26/11/2024 16:55:20 2581345 Link 0 |
I'd say that's harsh considering he scored 6 points on the day I think? Also not forget he was outstanding in the semi final and quarter final against Kilbride scored 1-9. He was always going to be targeted because I don't think Meath Hill have another good forward. If we're honest take Breslin out of Meath Hill team they would be a very average intermediate team. I think expecting him to start come league is a bit optimistic but i'm all for it if the management think he's up to it and at the end of the day the only way to improve is to give the likes of Breslin, McCarrick, Kinsella, Kinlough, Emmanuel etc. is game time. My team come league which could/probably will change is: 1.Harry Hogan 2.Ronan Ryan 3.Adam O'Neill 4.Seamus Lavin 5.Brian O'Halloran 6.Donal Keogan 7.Ciaran Caulfield/Campion 8.Ronan Jones 9.Jack Flynn 10.Eoin Harkin/Jason Scully 11.Ruairi Kinsella 12.Matthew Costello 13.Jordan Morris 14.Eoghan Frayne 15.Diarmuid Moriarty/Thomas O'Reilly New rules with 3 up top you're looking for 3 ball winners to secure possession who are always looking and out in front but need to move it at pace and scores from distance will be essential. SillySimonsOpinion (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 26/11/2024 18:27:17 2581356 Link 0 |
There's nothing crazy about it, Jones isn't an inter county standard midfielder. He's not good in the air and doesn't use the ball well. Conor Gray has huge potential and is a no brainer to start midfield, he had an injury interrupted 2024 but youd be mad to write him off having a bounce back year after what he showed in 23. Gray and Jack flynn should be the midfield pairing for the next 10 years in my opinion.
Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 222 - 26/11/2024 23:03:57 2581403 Link 0 |
With the new rules we need to see a defence that can actually move out with ball and carry the ball up and down the field at speed. Not just ball winners upfront. Well placed ball. The game is about to get serious with man marking battles and it will rely on skill and athletic ability to win anything. It won't be all about long kicks in the big lads at the front, it will be about working out from the back line. Sure that what won it for BnB in the regionals.
Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 27/11/2024 08:14:00 2581417 Link 0 |
I see Shane Walsh is absent from the starting 15 in a few of those posts. Is that down to fitness status or form? Would have thought he would be straight back in if fighting fit. MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 27/11/2024 09:12:23 2581420 Link 0 |
Players will be more spaced out. May even see kicking from defence directly to halfway for first time in 20 years or so. That means defenders even fullbackline being able to kick accurate passes 40/50yards will be a crucial skill. Alot of modern players not used to this and not capable. Would be great to see Martin O' Connell footballing type defenders kicking long from fullbackiline again. winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 27/11/2024 09:14:45 2581421 Link 0 |