Sam Maguire Cup

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Meath could win a dog of a match against a faltering Monaghan and I'm not sure it would convince me we're on the right path. I'm curious what result on Sunday, if any, it would it take for COR and team to earn themselves a third year?"
It shouldn't! But unfortunately for Meath football the CB would be afraid to make the right call I think. Its very clear that we have not progressed and in fact IMO we have gotten worse under CORs tenure and if something is not done about it sooner rather than later I fear that this decent crop of players will also lose out on any chance of reaching their potential just like players before them! They will also know the writing is on the wall for the following year and you will see more lads walking!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 10/06/2024 13:33:16    2550562

Replying To JonnieG:  "It shouldn't! But unfortunately for Meath football the CB would be afraid to make the right call I think. Its very clear that we have not progressed and in fact IMO we have gotten worse under CORs tenure and if something is not done about it sooner rather than later I fear that this decent crop of players will also lose out on any chance of reaching their potential just like players before them! They will also know the writing is on the wall for the following year and you will see more lads walking!"
Yeah, whether we lose this week or, possibly, next week the players will be thinking one of three things:

1) That they have full faith in management and just need time to make it work (extremely unlikely that they think this IMO)

2) That COR and others are right and this is just their level (really hope they don't believe this, if they do then they wouldn't be blamed for walking away)

3) That they're not getting the best coaching and they could be better if prepared differently (most likely IMO)

If they're mainly thinking 3 and COR stays on, there will be a drop off of players and a drop off of commitment next year. If they're mainly thinking 3 and COR goes then it will all be about who is appointed to turn things around.

The best case scenario is for Meath to get some pride back in their performance over this weekend and, possibly, next. And for COR to say it's time for a modern coaching set-up to take them to the next level. Only way I'd be OK for COR to stay is he held his hands up and said next season they need a lot of outside help. Even then I wouldn't be wholly convinced.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 10/06/2024 14:37:56    2550585

I believe the focus will be clear after the next match. All the relevant information will be available to Leadership i.e. the County Board. They then discuss and review results against targets agreed .They then take full ownership of learning points required to bring improvement .No rocket science required. A task driven approach should suffice where both sides have full freedom to be honest and open just like in any contract ! After 20 years of stagnation if it can be seen that the top table have learned what has to be done to bring sustained improvement i will even settle for that and call that progress!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 10/06/2024 17:35:42    2550654

Replying To nobull456:  "I believe the focus will be clear after the next match. All the relevant information will be available to Leadership i.e. the County Board. They then discuss and review results against targets agreed .They then take full ownership of learning points required to bring improvement .No rocket science required. A task driven approach should suffice where both sides have full freedom to be honest and open just like in any contract ! After 20 years of stagnation if it can be seen that the top table have learned what has to be done to bring sustained improvement i will even settle for that and call that progress!"
I admire your optimistic view. You're 100% right by the way in your comments.

But strategy or frameworks are not CBs strong point.
We are without a CEO or Commercial Director for a start!

1. I'd be certain no goals were set with COR. Certainly not formally or in writing in any sort of contract or written agreement with KPIs

2. CB certainly won't take responsibility for any negatives or as you say "Learning points" hence the stagnating

3. We are not a professional set up at the top, so how can we expect professionalism else where.
Remember the second A is for Amateur.

It's up to CB to put right people in right position to make right decisions, and if they don't you can remove them.

Meathooooo (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 10/06/2024 20:51:12    2550687

I'd say we're looking at Colm's last match on Sunday , I'd expect more of the same another tame performance where we can't score or tackle with any intensity. I'd say beaten by 6 or 7 points by a poor Monaghon team. 1-15 0-11 is my prediction . Hope I'm wrong but actually fairly confident that's the perfermonace we will see

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 747 - 11/06/2024 11:50:49    2550772

Monaghan to me are still a good team struggling with form , they made it to the All Ireland semi finals last year , I think they see this game against us as a opportunity to bounce back and go on a run and make it to the quarter finals . I feel they will put a score on us also .

Louth find themselves also in a great position to make the quarter finals , I don't think Kerry will have it all there own way and I think Louth will make it hard for Kerry to get scores .

Should be interesting to see who makes the Preliminary quarter finals , hopefully games will improve for the entertaining value from here on in.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 924 - 11/06/2024 12:40:55    2550788

While Monaghan are clearly not playing at the level they have been, I can't see any reason to suggest we're going to beat them on Sunday. They have been operating in Division 1 for a number of years, and have consistently been good performers in the championship.

As for us, when was the last time we beat a good team? Or a Division 1 team? If you look at the teams we've beaten over the last 3 years, it's fairly grim reading.

In 2024: We beat Kildare, Louth and Longford.

In 2023: We beat Cork and Clare, and a pile of Division 3 & 4 teams in the Tailteann Cup.

In 2022: We beat Cork and Clare again in the league, and Wicklow in the Leinster Championship.

That's the level we're operating at. While teams like Cork and Kildare are probably on par with us in terms of ability, they have both consistently been able to produce big performances in big games. We seem incapable of that.

We've averaged 12 points a game throughout the league, and 10 points a game in the championship when you take out the Longford match. You really can't win games if you don't score enough and we simply don't score enough against decent teams.

It probably will be Colm's last game on Sunday, and he's done his best to try and restore the pride in the jersey, but I'd be very shocked if he stood on another year. We have some good talent there, and some good talent coming through, but tactically we're miles behind others.

But there has to be progress, you can't keep asking for patience if there's not some degree of progress. And that's where we're at. The writing was on the wall after we were hammered by Louth, and I think it's time for someone else to have a go.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 232 - 11/06/2024 20:31:57    2550881

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Meath could win a dog of a match against a faltering Monaghan and I'm not sure it would convince me we're on the right path. I'm curious what result on Sunday, if any, it would it take for COR and team to earn themselves a third year?"
Obviously how this game goes will end up having a big impact on how we view how this season has went, it's ended up being by far our (and Monaghan's) most important game of the season.

It's the type of championship game we haven't been winning for over a decade but it is a definite opportunity due to Monaghan's form.

We are playing a very important match in a few days, the focus now should just on this match rather than what's what's going to happen next season.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1382 - 12/06/2024 17:19:55    2551055

Replying To dickie10:  "I'd say we're looking at Colm's last match on Sunday , I'd expect more of the same another tame performance where we can't score or tackle with any intensity. I'd say beaten by 6 or 7 points by a poor Monaghon team. 1-15 0-11 is my prediction . Hope I'm wrong but actually fairly confident that's the perfermonace we will see"
No surrender.....but more of the same lack of intensity and belief is game over for management team.
All concerned know its now or never and somehow i still believe we will see a vastly improved performance and a win by 3 or 4. If we have not learned enough to beat a struggling Monaghan at this point thats it.Still miles behind the big boys of course A Meath team with its back to the wall and such a poor track record can not continue without an emphatic win AND i fully expect that will happen.That will not mean everything is Honky Dorey again . The players would see rewards for effort especially when you believe in your gut we can do this. Ideal time for management to shine by showing us what has been learned as a result of our hammerings and what was done in training to halt that.Not interested in excuses at this point but rather let us see how you responded to the last few very poor results. We accept we are not ready for the big boys .but just show us we have moved enough to beat Monaghan.(no disrespect to Monaghan ) who have seen better days

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 12/06/2024 17:35:22    2551062

Replying To hyperache:  "While Monaghan are clearly not playing at the level they have been, I can't see any reason to suggest we're going to beat them on Sunday. They have been operating in Division 1 for a number of years, and have consistently been good performers in the championship.

As for us, when was the last time we beat a good team? Or a Division 1 team? If you look at the teams we've beaten over the last 3 years, it's fairly grim reading.

In 2024: We beat Kildare, Louth and Longford.

In 2023: We beat Cork and Clare, and a pile of Division 3 & 4 teams in the Tailteann Cup.

In 2022: We beat Cork and Clare again in the league, and Wicklow in the Leinster Championship.

That's the level we're operating at. While teams like Cork and Kildare are probably on par with us in terms of ability, they have both consistently been able to produce big performances in big games. We seem incapable of that.

We've averaged 12 points a game throughout the league, and 10 points a game in the championship when you take out the Longford match. You really can't win games if you don't score enough and we simply don't score enough against decent teams.

It probably will be Colm's last game on Sunday, and he's done his best to try and restore the pride in the jersey, but I'd be very shocked if he stood on another year. We have some good talent there, and some good talent coming through, but tactically we're miles behind others.

But there has to be progress, you can't keep asking for patience if there's not some degree of progress. And that's where we're at. The writing was on the wall after we were hammered by Louth, and I think it's time for someone else to have a go."
one of the issues that I have with COR's reign is the Narrative He created around it . I seem to remember pre the Dublin Game him saying that "hopefully this time , we will make a better fist of it than we have in the recent past" ..or something to that effect ...and what makes that statement even more crazy is that he is saying that in the context that many of the players that were preparing to Tog out were the same players who he believes obviously didn't make "a batter foist of it" in the past number of visit. How blind , egotistical and dis respectful is that . The idea that COR felt he HAD TO o restore some pride in the jersey is laughable , but i do get your meaning , because actually COR said that type of times during his tenure. Which goes to show you his mindset ...and the ultimate flaw in his ability to Improve the situation.

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 13/06/2024 09:06:56    2551118

Replying To JonnieG:  "ah good to see you back - -you stayed quiet after all my "negative" comments about Meath and the coaching setup this year!
nothing negative about stating the fact that the GAA are not dealing with the elephant in the room which is looking at the real broken rules which is the financial and operational rules allowing some counties to run riot with money and lierally professional backroom operations while other counties are getting more and more into debt by trying to catch up when they really never will!
The GAA game rules were never broken when there was 10s of thousands at provincial games and all that with a lot more exciting matches.
When teams nowadays start to throw everybody behind the ball it is out of desperation knowing they cannot stick with these elite teams because they simply dont have the resources or money to match them.
So now they will be forced to open up even more just to get obliterated even more by these teams!! Where is the logic in that?? And where is the conspiracy theory?
So you tell me how this will improve the game?
im saying stop messing with the rules and if you want to put a committee together get them looking at financial fair play rules and ways to bring all teams up to parity of some sort. Then you can see ifthe rules need to change!
If history repeats itself you will end up agreeing with me after you spend another while stewing on it!!!"
Where is the conspiracy theory ??

You are claiming these new rules are being brought in by a dub and designed specifically to suit the likes of Dublin.

Tinfoil hat central there fella.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 13/06/2024 14:27:51    2551212

Replying To JonnieG:  ""Their aim and objective is to improve football . Will they actually achieve that.. who knows."
Stop sitting on the fence and give some actual intellectual opinion on what you think! if you can go that far! Same old tripe of "who knows". Same with COR over the year "give him time and lets see...who knows"
Im saying straight up the only difference it is going to make is create a bigger divide between the those who have and the those who have not! Im calling it now jus like I called the whole COR and coaching fiasco back during the OB campaign when you were ridiculing me and saying ....... "who knows" :)
So grow a pair!
Let me even go one step further for you...
Dublin v louth in Leinster Final Imagine if Louth had to keep 3 players outside the 60? they would have been down by 20 at half time. And who is the 6 sub rule benefiting?? the teams with better strength and Depth...wonder who they are??
And I doubt louth or Meath will be winning the goal battle against the likes of Dublin either to benefit from the extra points :)
But on the up side we might get a better All Ireland final next year and people will be happy they paid the 100 euro........ who knows!!"
Ye may want to look back there over the all the posts since COR got the job fella if you think I've been calling to give COR time or have been sticking up for him at all since he took over. It was clear to me from early on where this was headed.

I also called out the TC win for what it was which was basically beating a load of poor Division 4 teams and 1 average Division 3 team.

If you want me to give an intelligent opinion on what I think I will.

You made an ejit of yourself by coming out with silly waffle like a dub is bringing the rules in for the dubs

Anyone who thinks this committee was set up so a Dub could bring in new rules to benefit Dublin is talking nonsense.

Anyway maybe take off the tinfoil hat and take a look a back over the last year or so of posts about the meath senior football team and come back to me.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 13/06/2024 15:48:49    2551234

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Ye may want to look back there over the all the posts since COR got the job fella if you think I've been calling to give COR time or have been sticking up for him at all since he took over. It was clear to me from early on where this was headed.

I also called out the TC win for what it was which was basically beating a load of poor Division 4 teams and 1 average Division 3 team.

You made an ejit of yourself by coming out with silly waffle like a dub is bringing the rules in for the dubs

Anyone who thinks this committee was set up so a Dub could bring in new rules to benefit Dublin is talking nonsense.

Anyway maybe take off the tinfoil hat and take a look a back over the last year or so of posts about the meath senior football team and come back to me."
Am i wearing a tinfoil hat?......who knows!!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 13/06/2024 16:13:00    2551240

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Ye may want to look back there over the all the posts since COR got the job fella if you think I've been calling to give COR time or have been sticking up for him at all since he took over. It was clear to me from early on where this was headed.

Anyway maybe take off the tinfoil hat and take a look a back over the last year or so of posts about the meath senior football team and come back to me."
I seem to remember you mentioning that you were were waiting for about 5 or 6 league matches before reserving judgement...on the fence. I on the other hand could see the writing on the wall from even the OB cup based on based on the fact that it was very clear to see there was no coaching done with the team at that point!
And i can see the writing on the wall with these rule changes if they get in. As seadog also rightfully mentioned there is a good chance this will just increase the gulf between the top teams and the rest! And there was really no thought gone into that from a wider perspective. Obviously not one of the panelists put up their hand and asked that Q!!
So give me your intellectual opinion if you have one...still waiting!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 13/06/2024 16:57:20    2551254

Team named, no Morris , Gray or O'Halloran. Has he lost his mind? Jordy Morris just has to start a knockout game. O'Halloran also just has to start. Conor Gray struggled against Louth and Kerry so maybe he isn't right to start but still feels odd.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 176 - 14/06/2024 11:14:45    2551378

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Team named, no Morris , Gray or O'Halloran. Has he lost his mind? Jordy Morris just has to start a knockout game. O'Halloran also just has to start. Conor Gray struggled against Louth and Kerry so maybe he isn't right to start but still feels odd."
What's happening with Daithi McGowan? After Frayne & Walsh, him and Jack O'Connor were our third highest point scorers from play in the league and now can barely get a game in a team that can barely score over 10pts per game! Starting with 8 defenders when we've 4 forwards on the bench that can be a real threat up front, not much use in bringing them on after 50-60mins when the game is gone

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 14/06/2024 12:22:36    2551398

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Team named, no Morris , Gray or O'Halloran. Has he lost his mind? Jordy Morris just has to start a knockout game. O'Halloran also just has to start. Conor Gray struggled against Louth and Kerry so maybe he isn't right to start but still feels odd."
That's not the team. Morris is starting

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 931 - 14/06/2024 12:24:20    2551399

It is more than likely just a team put in for the programme. I would be shocked (but then again) if that was the team they are going with. I would expect three if not four changes to it. I have a feeling it doesn't really matter as Meath are a dead team walking who have checked out by the looks of things.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 985 - 14/06/2024 12:39:55    2551405

Replying To LowerHogan:  "What's happening with Daithi McGowan? After Frayne & Walsh, him and Jack O'Connor were our third highest point scorers from play in the league and now can barely get a game in a team that can barely score over 10pts per game! Starting with 8 defenders when we've 4 forwards on the bench that can be a real threat up front, not much use in bringing them on after 50-60mins when the game is gone"
Totally agree on Daithi McGowan. Apart from Frayne he is the next best shooter on the team. I actually think he should be around the middle. Our midfielders are desperately out of form.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 176 - 14/06/2024 12:47:26    2551408

It's not the team think by now everyone should know the team listed never starts

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 14/06/2024 12:48:56    2551409