Sam Maguire Cup

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Anthony Moyles ?? How did he make that list ? Because he's on the radio every week waffling about everything the powers that be in Meath are doing wrong ?"
That's a fair list of candidates @bigjoe14 gave, some more likely than others and moyles is obviously one of the least likely from that list but on a list of 12 names it's hardly crazy to list moyles? Also what's wrong with him going on OTB talking about what's wrong about meath football? He's worked with Newstalk for years.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 176 - 29/05/2024 10:48:10    2548096

A little reminder for those saying the dubs were poor v louth and never left second gear....
Looks like the louth performance that day stacks up to exactly what it was...an excellent performance from team and management...but most of us already could see that!

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 29/05/2024 10:56:28    2548099

Replying To royalproxy:  "An independent committee presumably appointed by the county board (?) will hold the county board accountable?? Really ??"
No, independent. Effectively a lobby group of interested parties (supporters, players, former players, sponsors) get organised themselves to put pressure on the county board and ask the difficult questions and demand answers. Because at the moment there's a lot of huffing and puffing going on (here and elsewhere) but its all just shouting into the wind while the county board carry on regardless.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 463 - 29/05/2024 11:55:38    2548114

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "That's a fair list of candidates @bigjoe14 gave, some more likely than others and moyles is obviously one of the least likely from that list but on a list of 12 names it's hardly crazy to list moyles? Also what's wrong with him going on OTB talking about what's wrong about meath football? He's worked with Newstalk for years."
Well if we are looking to replace the current management and get us out of the rut we are in I don't think someone who managed for a few years and senior club level 5 years ago would be a possible candidate.

Nothing wrong with him going on OTB talking about what is wrong with Meath football at all but that doesn't qualify him to be on any list as the possible next Meath manager in my opinion.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 29/05/2024 12:03:57    2548117

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Well if we are looking to replace the current management and get us out of the rut we are in I don't think someone who managed for a few years and senior club level 5 years ago would be a possible candidate.

Nothing wrong with him going on OTB talking about what is wrong with Meath football at all but that doesn't qualify him to be on any list as the possible next Meath manager in my opinion."
He knows his stuff to be fair to him and is coaching in the Meath Intermediate Championship currently. Coached Kilbride to win the Junior Championship last year. Not saying he should get the job, and he may not have the time to do it either, but should be atleast on the shortlist when it comes up.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 985 - 29/05/2024 12:23:17    2548121

Replying To BigJoe14:  "He knows his stuff to be fair to him and is coaching in the Meath Intermediate Championship currently. Coached Kilbride to win the Junior Championship last year. Not saying he should get the job, and he may not have the time to do it either, but should be atleast on the shortlist when it comes up."
Lots of people know their stuff. And there are plenty of lads coaching in the Meath Intermediate championship who know their stuff and plenty of lads who have coached teams to win Junior championships and yet their names won't be anywhere near the "list"

If he wasn't an ex meath player and captain who had a very good meath playing career he wouldn't be anywhere near this list based on his management and coaching CV.

We currently have a management team full of top ex players and look how it's going .

Potential candidates need to bring more to the table than being a top ex Meath player and the likes of Robbie Brennan Lar Wall Tony McEntee do so.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 29/05/2024 12:45:41    2548127

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Who are the realistic and genuine contenders should the job become available after this campaign, which it should given the well below par performances over the last two years. A list of the following from a mix of underage squads, club scene and outside the county:

- Cathal O'Bric
- Robbie Brennan
- Conor Gillespie
- Kevin Reilly
- Brian Farrell
- Declan Darcy (Dublin)
- Jim Gavin (Louth atleast approached him)
- Kieran McGeeney (May be finished with Armagh)
- Tony McEntee (Armagh)
- Anthony Moyles
- Andy McEntee (Don't rule it out)
- Lar Wall (Currently with Roscommon but should be involved in the next Meath set up)

Despite what people might think, the Meath job is a very attractive one. Good young players who need direction, big pick of players, no lack of facilities, finances and a support base that are crying out for a team to get behind. Really tired of the current set up saying there will be more pain ahead and it's a long road with a young team etc etc which was bandied out again after Saturdays horror show."
Joe not having a go at you, think you're a good solid poster. But saying we're well below par… on what basis… this is our level since 2019. and bar 2019 you're looking at 2010 and before. We're erratic and sporadically performing at best. I'd say we're on par with the last years of Andy macs reign, no shame aimed at Andy, this is our level.. 13-16th in the country, nothing more or less and that's been our level for 20 years now

Good solid list of candidates, a few I'd disagree with but looked at least you'll be constructive and give opinions.

I'd disagree that this is an attractive job, there's no love for Meath anywhere other than here. There's not an abundance of talent or untapped potential for someone external to come in and mould. Tbh I think Colm has the best 30-40 lads involved (aside from some who opted out (Flynn, James Mac, Harnan) and unfortunately we've only a handful who are division one calibre players (Keoghan, Costello, O'Neill) From your list Robbie Brennan seems the best option as most in the county won't want an outside guy, but isn't he involved with the admin side of Meath GAA… or did that job just go by the way side.

I see a lot of folks bigging up Donegal (not aimed at you Joe) and praising McGuinness and saying what a good manager can do, and suggesting a good manager would have us like them… would people ever cop on and realise Donegal was a basket case last year but has had loads of talent and 2023 was an outlier year for them like 2019 was for us.. Donegal needed a mcguinness to get them all pulling together, but that's helped when youve the undoubted talent and depth they had too

Unfortunately it will be a long road ahead, our u20's of 2019/20 and 23&24 are the basis of the next 10 years for Meath and hopefully a few gems like Armstrong and Murphy can add to things in the future, but underage is just that, potential…. Look at how injuries effected guys from minor like Emmanuel, Kelly, Corbett and a few others

And tbf the players this year haven't really improved from last year, apart from O'Neill I don't see anyone who's upped their standard. And very few new players really pushing either. The loss from a panel of Shane and James Mac, Padraic Harnan, Jack Flynn and injuries to Conor Gray and Jordan Morris and loss of form of the likes of Sean Brennan, Aaron Lynch.. all things combined has seen things drop off significantly from 2023. Is that on management or the players themselves…a bit of both but it's not solely on Colm O'Rourke

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1968 - 29/05/2024 13:05:08    2548142

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Who are the realistic and genuine contenders should the job become available after this campaign, which it should given the well below par performances over the last two years. A list of the following from a mix of underage squads, club scene and outside the county:

- Cathal O'Bric
- Robbie Brennan
- Conor Gillespie
- Kevin Reilly
- Brian Farrell
- Declan Darcy (Dublin)
- Jim Gavin (Louth atleast approached him)
- Kieran McGeeney (May be finished with Armagh)
- Tony McEntee (Armagh)
- Anthony Moyles
- Andy McEntee (Don't rule it out)
- Lar Wall (Currently with Roscommon but should be involved in the next Meath set up)

Despite what people might think, the Meath job is a very attractive one. Good young players who need direction, big pick of players, no lack of facilities, finances and a support base that are crying out for a team to get behind. Really tired of the current set up saying there will be more pain ahead and it's a long road with a young team etc etc which was bandied out again after Saturdays horror show."
I like this list and like the ambition of including Gavin in there. I'm sure when Micko was first approached by Kildare it felt like a crazy long shot. Some of the names I'd see more as potential backroom additions but the whole coaching ticket needs to be strong these days.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 29/05/2024 14:08:52    2548163

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Lots of people know their stuff. And there are plenty of lads coaching in the Meath Intermediate championship who know their stuff and plenty of lads who have coached teams to win Junior championships and yet their names won't be anywhere near the "list"

If he wasn't an ex meath player and captain who had a very good meath playing career he wouldn't be anywhere near this list based on his management and coaching CV.

We currently have a management team full of top ex players and look how it's going .

Potential candidates need to bring more to the table than being a top ex Meath player and the likes of Robbie Brennan Lar Wall Tony McEntee do so."
Totally convinced that the approach should be that the CB take the responsibility to write up a job description for the role of modern day football manager.If they have to get help doing so then so be it.That is the starting point.Forget about the WHO bit for the moment..Sounds simple on paper but the importance is in focussing the minds on this single item..EVERY candidate is given a copy of this and in a well structured interview is measured on their ability to fit the post including their willingness to learn and develop themselves and all the areas of managemt. Forget about names and focus on finding a person to fit the NEED.
In fairness there is not a vacancy at present, but this vital task should always be updated and on the shelf.and always used as part of succession planning
On our current situation its possible there could be one helluva kick back, Meath could be leading at half time next match .A sting from a dying wasp. I am old fashioned enough to never write off Meath .How many times has ORourke come to the rescue as a player.A great player but thats a different kettle of fish.Unfortunately good player good punditry does not mean a good manager..A win against Kery in Navan could of course change all that. We have been living on HOPE for 20 years .Why give up now?

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1265 - 29/05/2024 14:40:48    2548166

Replying To brian:  "Joe not having a go at you, think you're a good solid poster. But saying we're well below par… on what basis… this is our level since 2019. and bar 2019 you're looking at 2010 and before. We're erratic and sporadically performing at best. I'd say we're on par with the last years of Andy macs reign, no shame aimed at Andy, this is our level.. 13-16th in the country, nothing more or less and that's been our level for 20 years now

Good solid list of candidates, a few I'd disagree with but looked at least you'll be constructive and give opinions.

I'd disagree that this is an attractive job, there's no love for Meath anywhere other than here. There's not an abundance of talent or untapped potential for someone external to come in and mould. Tbh I think Colm has the best 30-40 lads involved (aside from some who opted out (Flynn, James Mac, Harnan) and unfortunately we've only a handful who are division one calibre players (Keoghan, Costello, O'Neill) From your list Robbie Brennan seems the best option as most in the county won't want an outside guy, but isn't he involved with the admin side of Meath GAA… or did that job just go by the way side.

I see a lot of folks bigging up Donegal (not aimed at you Joe) and praising McGuinness and saying what a good manager can do, and suggesting a good manager would have us like them… would people ever cop on and realise Donegal was a basket case last year but has had loads of talent and 2023 was an outlier year for them like 2019 was for us.. Donegal needed a mcguinness to get them all pulling together, but that's helped when youve the undoubted talent and depth they had too

Unfortunately it will be a long road ahead, our u20's of 2019/20 and 23&24 are the basis of the next 10 years for Meath and hopefully a few gems like Armstrong and Murphy can add to things in the future, but underage is just that, potential…. Look at how injuries effected guys from minor like Emmanuel, Kelly, Corbett and a few others

And tbf the players this year haven't really improved from last year, apart from O'Neill I don't see anyone who's upped their standard. And very few new players really pushing either. The loss from a panel of Shane and James Mac, Padraic Harnan, Jack Flynn and injuries to Conor Gray and Jordan Morris and loss of form of the likes of Sean Brennan, Aaron Lynch.. all things combined has seen things drop off significantly from 2023. Is that on management or the players themselves…a bit of both but it's not solely on Colm O'Rourke"
i completely agree with this statement Brian wholeheartedly

But here the thing young man , flip it around and lets say it was Colm who took over donegal at the start of the year , i can guarantee you donegal wouldn't have got promotion to division 1 , donegal would have lost the first game of the ulster championship and they be preparing for their second match of this years tailteann cup !

A good manger will make any player look good , a bad manager will make any good player look bad .

look it is what it is unfortunately.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 924 - 29/05/2024 14:56:13    2548170

Replying To brian:  "Joe not having a go at you, think you're a good solid poster. But saying we're well below par… on what basis… this is our level since 2019. and bar 2019 you're looking at 2010 and before. We're erratic and sporadically performing at best. I'd say we're on par with the last years of Andy macs reign, no shame aimed at Andy, this is our level.. 13-16th in the country, nothing more or less and that's been our level for 20 years now

And tbf the players this year haven't really improved from last year, apart from O'Neill I don't see anyone who's upped their standard. And very few new players really pushing either. The loss from a panel of Shane and James Mac, Padraic Harnan, Jack Flynn and injuries to Conor Gray and Jordan Morris and loss of form of the likes of Sean Brennan, Aaron Lynch.. all things combined has seen things drop off significantly from 2023. Is that on management or the players themselves…a bit of both but it's not solely on Colm O'Rourke"
I disagree. Anyone looking at Meath would thinking "sleeping giant, comfortably Div 2 despite their players not getting top-level coaching, starting to get their player development sorted". Under McEntee I felt we were hitting a ceiling with the players we had. That, at best, we'd be able to yo-yo between 1 and 2. I think the player stock has improved a little since then. Maybe I'm wrong and the height of our ambitions is still going a single season in Div 1, at best. But I don't think we're maxxing out our potential with these players.
If it was clear COR was pulling out all the stops, that players were in peak condition, that they were playing to a clear plan, and they were executing it well - if after all that they still couldn't get out of Div 2 or beat the likes of Louth then I'd accept we just don't have the players. But I don't believe any of those things are happening. After Saturday's display I just can't believe this is the best that this group of players can perform. Strangely, that's comforting to me. We're still a Div 2 team, and with a Tailteann Cup despite not getting the best coaching - that offers hope for how high our ceiling is.
If you believe COR is pulling out all the stops and this is just the player's level, then fair play we'll agree to disagree.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 29/05/2024 15:11:22    2548178

Find it quite ironic that you bring up Shane McEntee, when you hammered Andy constantly for having him on the panel. With regards, Jack Flynn, who's fault do you think it is that he's not on the Panel?

No one is asking Meath to become a Donegal, we know we don't have the players to compete at the business end of the championship, but I could guarantee you a McGuiness coached team wouldn't have conceded 3 goals inside 20 minutes against Louth effectively ending the game as a contest. A managers job is to maximize talent available, O'Rourke clearly isn't doing that.

Was louth and attractive job when Mickey Harte took it? We have never had so many lads playing Sigerson football which is probably the biggest indication of underage talent in the Country. Our u20 team got to an All Ireland Semi final, so you're point on Meath not being an attractive job is a bit of an overreaction in my eyes. Also Liam Kelly was as good as I have seen him for the U20s this year so not really sure on that point either.

Diarmuid Moriarty, Jack Flynn, Eoin Harkin, Conor McGill, Cathal Finnegan 5 lads of the top of my head that aren't on the panel because of the manager so no he does not have the best '30-40' lads available.

I agree it's not solely on O'Rourke, but to get rid of Garigan and Eivers at the start of the year was absolute madness and unfortunately we are paying the price.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 29/05/2024 15:19:08    2548182

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "i completely agree with this statement Brian wholeheartedly

But here the thing young man , flip it around and lets say it was Colm who took over donegal at the start of the year , i can guarantee you donegal wouldn't have got promotion to division 1 , donegal would have lost the first game of the ulster championship and they be preparing for their second match of this years tailteann cup !

A good manger will make any player look good , a bad manager will make any good player look bad .

look it is what it is unfortunately."
Looked it's a fair point you make but if me granny had balls and all that

Would I say Jimmy is a better manager than Colm … yes and that's not in question

Would Colm have got the same results with Donegal this year … unlikely

Would Colm have got them promoted .. Possibly

Would Jim have got Meath promoted … not a chance

I'm not sure how Donegal would've ended up in the TC in your scenario… I'm making the point that given the players they have comparing the two counties is a moot point. Donegal 2023 was an outlier,this is them as they were every year since mcguinness took over through the Gallagher and Bonner years … highly competitive and a top 6-8 team

Meath aren't even a top 12 team, so saying a bad manager makes good players look bad is redundant

Under Banty, O'Dowd, McEntee and O'Rourke the players have all looked average to bad, in the most part cos they're just not at that elite level. I don't think if you'd a mcguinness or Gavin or Fitzmaurice or o'connor over them since 2010 they'd have been performing a whole pile better. And that's the unfortunate reality we face right now.

Blaming managers every time isn't giving the whole picture, sometimes it has to be said the calibre of player just isn't there

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1968 - 29/05/2024 15:32:11    2548184

Have things dropped off significantly from 2023 ?? Or are is that we aren't playing Tipperary and Waterford in championship this year ?

Also James and Shane Mac were dropped from the panel so if they are a loss it is because the management decided their services were no longer required.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 29/05/2024 15:32:20    2548185

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Have things dropped off significantly from 2023 ?? Or are is that we aren't playing Tipperary and Waterford in championship this year ?

Also James and Shane Mac were dropped from the panel so if they are a loss it is because the management decided their services were no longer required."
First paragraph - same team also beat Down twice as well

Second paragraph- I'm pretty sure both excused themselves and that's common knowledge. Isn't Shane overseas… and James is a trainee doctor who couldn't commit the time. Didn't a certain poster tell us in no uncertain terms Cillian wasn't involved this year and then he's there for Dublin and Louth??? some falling out he had eh??? Or maybe Colm was managing his work load to have him peAk for this time of the year…

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1968 - 29/05/2024 15:47:16    2548186

Replying To brian:  "First paragraph - same team also beat Down twice as well

Second paragraph- I'm pretty sure both excused themselves and that's common knowledge. Isn't Shane overseas… and James is a trainee doctor who couldn't commit the time. Didn't a certain poster tell us in no uncertain terms Cillian wasn't involved this year and then he's there for Dublin and Louth??? some falling out he had eh??? Or maybe Colm was managing his work load to have him peAk for this time of the year…"
Shane McEntee is playing with Dunboyne and James is playing with Curraha.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 29/05/2024 16:03:33    2548189

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "i completely agree with this statement Brian wholeheartedly

look it is what it is unfortunately."
Looked it's a fair point you make but if me granny had balls and all that

Would I say Jimmy is a better manager than Colm … yes and that's not in question

I'm not sure how Donegal would've ended up in the TC in your scenario… I'm making the point that given the players they have comparing the two counties is a moot point. Donegal 2023 was an outlier,this is them as they were every year since mcguinness took over through the Gallagher and Bonner years … highly competitive and a top 6-8 team

Meath aren't even a top 12 team, so saying a bad manager makes good players look bad is redundant

Under Banty, O'Dowd, McEntee and O'Rourke the players have all looked average to bad, in the most part cos they're just not at that elite level. I don't think if you'd a mcguinness or Gavin or Fitzmaurice or o'connor over them since 2010 they'd have been performing a whole pile better. And that's the unfortunate reality we face right now.

Blaming managers every time isn't giving the whole picture, sometimes it has to be said the calibre of player just isn't there"

i would have to disagree here Brian , i definitely don't think Colm would have got donegal anywhere near promotion.

Would Jim have got Meath promoted ...no but he would have bet louth :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 924 - 29/05/2024 16:05:24    2548190

Replying To brian:  "First paragraph - same team also beat Down twice as well

Second paragraph- I'm pretty sure both excused themselves and that's common knowledge. Isn't Shane overseas… and James is a trainee doctor who couldn't commit the time. Didn't a certain poster tell us in no uncertain terms Cillian wasn't involved this year and then he's there for Dublin and Louth??? some falling out he had eh??? Or maybe Colm was managing his work load to have him peAk for this time of the year…"
Neither of them excused themselves. Both are home and playing for their clubs. One was dropped when the panel was starting back training and one was dropped a couple of months in to the panel being back training.

And you say they beat Down twice like they are All Ireland contenders this year. They were a division 3 team again this year and are in the TC . I would expect this current Meath team in the state they are in to beat down or at least run them very close. I see no regression from 2023. We are just playing better teams therefore being found out .

TC last year 100% papered over the cracks.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 960 - 29/05/2024 16:17:09    2548192

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Shane McEntee is playing with Dunboyne and James is playing with Curraha."
And you ignored the widely known fact both players excused themselves…same as Conor McGill asked not to be considered this year.. same as Jack Flynn withdrew after a few league games

Should a manger beg players to pull on the Meath jersey? If the desires not there then so be it and a manager has to work with the 30-40 lads who do want to pull on the Meath jersey

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1968 - 29/05/2024 16:21:38    2548194

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Looked it's a fair point you make but if me granny had balls and all that

Blaming managers every time isn't giving the whole picture, sometimes it has to be said the calibre of player just isn't there"

i would have to disagree here Brian , i definitely don't think Colm would have got donegal anywhere near promotion.

Would Jim have got Meath promoted ...no but he would have bet louth :)"]That's fair enough

And as I said Jimmy is a better manager

But it's comparing apples and toilet roll… neither is the same thing and are all hypothetical arguments

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1968 - 29/05/2024 16:23:27    2548195