Regional Championship

Replying To BigJoe14:  "There are two Meath players involved. Eoghan Frayne and Ronan Jones."
Keogan & Jones our two. No sign of EF on squad put out tonight. Leinster didn't indicate what players are on standby like Ulster & Connacht have. I'd have loved to see young flynn involved or someone like o'connor from curraha lads that can score from anywhere

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 16/10/2024 23:09:49    2575408

Replying To RobbiesArmy2025:  "Keogan & Jones our two. No sign of EF on squad put out tonight. Leinster didn't indicate what players are on standby like Ulster & Connacht have. I'd have loved to see young flynn involved or someone like o'connor from curraha lads that can score from anywhere"
Well Jack O'connor has a relegation final to play this weekend so he wouldn't be available.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 983 - 17/10/2024 08:21:02    2575419

Replying To RobbiesArmy2025:  "ah go easy would ye. The division between the standard of football north and south of the county has been clear for all to see for the last 10 year. Bar the tones northern clubs have been sub par.

In relation to MH, they are soft favourites imo. Their route to this year's final has been without a serious challenge. Either GB wins MH the game on sat or he will have to return to his region & prove himself to the new gaffer there.

all indications at present is that the regional champ will be taking place…hopefully the cb finalise sponsor & fixtures in the next week. it is the highlight of the late autumn/ start of winter for me. tho i don't envy young lads trying to prove themselves in challenging conditions.

i wonder if it goes ahead would it be wise for some of the new rules from the frc to be trialled…what better competition to unearth a lad willing to bomb two pointers over from 40 yards

maybe COR would be willing to come on board with say Tara…his insights with a young panel of players would be invaluable. i for one would hate if a man like himself were lost to meath gaa"
After CORs antics over the last week, I wouldn't have him involved with anything

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 17/10/2024 16:46:35    2575494

Replying To southmeathgael:  "After CORs antics over the last week, I wouldn't have him involved with anything"
Some people have a very short memory, Colm O'Rourke has been an incredibly important figure for Meath GAA, both as a player and a manager. His contributions on the pitch were legendary, and his leadership off it continues to make a huge impact. To downplay his role is not only disrespectful but completely misguided. Whether you like him or not, his influence on Meath GAA's success is undeniable, and his dedication to the sport deserves far more respect than what you're giving him.

I think there should be a stand named after the legend himself in the redevelopment of PT. If that makes me mad than i dont know anymore

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 17/10/2024 17:02:30    2575496

Replying To southmeathgael:  "After CORs antics over the last week, I wouldn't have him involved with anything"
What do you mean here?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 574 - 17/10/2024 19:18:58    2575524

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Some people have a very short memory, Colm O'Rourke has been an incredibly important figure for Meath GAA, both as a player and a manager. His contributions on the pitch were legendary, and his leadership off it continues to make a huge impact. To downplay his role is not only disrespectful but completely misguided. Whether you like him or not, his influence on Meath GAA's success is undeniable, and his dedication to the sport deserves far more respect than what you're giving him.

I think there should be a stand named after the legend himself in the redevelopment of PT. If that makes me mad than i dont know anymore"
I for one agree in parts (COR IS MY HERO) but you're mad NMR. This is meath football, not the premiership. Next you'll be on about paying a meathman to take charge of the county team

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 17/10/2024 20:32:02    2575531

here we go lads what we have all been waiting for link

some interesting changes to the region boundaries:

Dunsany joining ardbrac (the spurs/ the dubs between 1996 -2010 of the regional football)

Moynalvey as said previously join Tara

Bective go across to join the glaticos in Boyne Valley

Most notably the one change I do not agree with is the renaming of An Tuisceart to the North. I think this is a most regressive measure.

If anyone hears anything about managers or even if any of the teams meeeting up for a clatter of pints to break the ice like niall ronan organised for bru na b I'd be most grateful

i think our winners will lie in an oirthir with a threepeat or maybe bru na b shaking things up

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 18/10/2024 11:43:54    2575619

Replying To MartryMorrisey:  "I think it is about time we took de regionals seriously, it is very aparent that the senior players are only concerned with simply winnin the keegan cup. they've no desire to win anything with the county or even to progress with their own club in the Lenster champinship. I reckon Robbie give de Meath tea, a real shake up with the forgottn players from round the county by picking players mostly from the regional championship, and make some of our so called stars play in the regionals too. Take the chip adof their shoulders. If the mountain men do slay de maneys now on Saturday, I'd put 5 scores on Ardbraccan to take the regionals! Make de regionals for all clubs!"
Well said and great to see some passion.

Please god the managers and selectors have no bias picking the right men for the job.

I look at clubs like St Ultans and cortown, with a huge catchment area like Bohermeen. Surely they have some useful footballers that have went uncovered.

Might another outside the box shout be getting the veteran Gary Rodgers for the county team, vastly experienced in the sporting world, something many lads on the current set up can't boast. Another fault of Colms not picking these gems up that we're right under his nose!

iplayedcounty (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 18/10/2024 13:56:53    2575655

It's good to see they've fixed the games for Friday evenings and Saturdays, might boost a bit of interest and entice people into attending. Previously they've just thrown them on at 8pm on a Tues/Wed evening and absolutely nobody cared about them.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 245 - 18/10/2024 14:30:22    2575666

Replying To hyperache:  "It's good to see they've fixed the games for Friday evenings and Saturdays, might boost a bit of interest and entice people into attending. Previously they've just thrown them on at 8pm on a Tues/Wed evening and absolutely nobody cared about them."
This is everything that's wrong with Meath football-passionless people like you. If you care enough to post on this forum, you should be prepared to go to any and all games. I'm sick to the back teeth of it. Why does it matter what day of the week a game is on?? I'm going to take a stab in the dark and say you're from the south of the county. Not a patch on men like us from the north who would go through hell or high water to see 30 lads taking lumps out of each other.

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 18/10/2024 14:50:19    2575672

Hi all,
wat is the name of the cup/shield/trophy for the Bradys Skoda Regional Championship?

MartryMorrisey (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 18/10/2024 15:09:02    2575677

Looking at the fixtures I am saddened to see a number of fixtures clashing with one another especially the round three fixtures are all on one night at two seperate throw in times. appreciate the praticalities of having games in the same groups start at the same time, it means supporters desparate to get their fix of football in fallow months have to pick and choose which games to go to. my pick of round one is ardbrac vs BNB in group A & Lough crew at home to boyne valley. in grp B

i notice the article does not outline any information about sponsor, streaming, new rules & whether the games will be free entry or not. hopefully the cb clarify this week with a press release of their own. worry that the comp has gone from having diorlyte to bradys skoda to possibly a third sponsor in as many years

this compeition was set up with the improvement of the meath team in mind and if you are genuine about meath competing to win leinsters again ye have to get out and support this competition. hopefully we see some decent match ups and the games are better attended

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 18/10/2024 15:34:18    2575688

Replying To MartryMorrisey:  "Hi all,
wat is the name of the cup/shield/trophy for the Bradys Skoda Regional Championship?"
Jes that would be a marvelous question to have at a table quiz. Another great question for a table quiz is "who scored the first goal in the new nets in Paric Tailteann"

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 18/10/2024 16:03:26    2575696

Moyfenragh would be my favourites for the championship after going close last year. They have high profile names in Kevin McKeown Brian ohallaron the hogan brothers and Danny Dixon. Does anyone know if Meath U20 players for next year can play in the comp? Ben corkery would be another top player to have in the team

Royale1 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 18/10/2024 16:58:16    2575708

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "This is everything that's wrong with Meath football-passionless people like you. If you care enough to post on this forum, you should be prepared to go to any and all games. I'm sick to the back teeth of it. Why does it matter what day of the week a game is on?? I'm going to take a stab in the dark and say you're from the south of the county. Not a patch on men like us from the north who would go through hell or high water to see 30 lads taking lumps out of each other."
At what point did I say I aren't going to go, or didn't go last year? I did go last year, and there was nobody there. That was my point. A weekend game is far more likely to attract others who didn't go.

And no you couldn't be more wrong, there's not many clubs further north in Meath than mine, that's all I'll say.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 245 - 18/10/2024 16:58:58    2575709

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Jes that would be a marvelous question to have at a table quiz. Another great question for a table quiz is "who scored the first goal in the new nets in Paric Tailteann""
The way it's treated corn Michael o Locha

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1114 - 18/10/2024 22:33:08    2575739

Replying To MartryMorrisey:  "Hi all,
wat is the name of the cup/shield/trophy for the Bradys Skoda Regional Championship?"
The RoyalDunne Challenge Cup

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 765 - 19/10/2024 12:10:45    2575800

ardbraccan will be boosted by having mahonys to pick from should be good enough to get to the final imo

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 19/10/2024 15:40:44    2575826

now all eyes turn to what is the most exciting regional championship yet.

please god the county board stream some of it, some of the lads playing deserve a bit of profiling and some positive attention from the media

who knows their could be scouts watching from the afl or maybe mh

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 20/10/2024 21:26:25    2576051

For the week thats in it ive put together a poem to get us all excited for what is bound to be a mouth watering Regionals Champ

**The Battle for Meath: A Regional Championship Poem**

In Meath's green fields, where legends are born,
Eight teams assemble, where pride is sworn.
Blackwater flows with fierce intent,
From Carnaross to Moynalty sent.

The North stands tall, in crimson hue,
Drumconrath to Nobber, they fight anew.
Ardbraccan's might, with Dunsany's roar,
From O'Mahony's past to Ultan's lore.

Brú na Bóinne's call is clear,
With St Patrick's strength, they show no fear.
Boyne Valley rises, where rivers run,
From Syddan's fight to Slane's brave sons.

Loughcrew's heart beats proud and strong,
From Ballinlough, their swords belong.
Moyfenragh rides with Boardmill's flame,
Longwood's dreams, they'll stake their claim.

And Tara, noble, high, and bright,
From Kilbride's hills to Moynalvey's fight.
Each clash, a test of heart and skill,
For county pride, they'll climb the hill.

The Meath panel waits, its doors ajar,
For heroes proven in fields of war.
In this arena, they rise or fall-
Only the best will heed the call.

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 21/10/2024 16:11:05    2576205