Tailteann Cup/Sam Maguire

Squeaky bum time big time for Meath are the last 2 disastrous results. Yesterday has to rank with one of the worst in recent times.
I'm having a stab at the 16 for the Sam Maguire.
The 8 division 1 teams are certs
Armagh, Donegal, Tyrone Monaghan Mayo Roscommon Galway and Kerry
Westmeath make 9.
Dublin Derry and cork are looking like the top 12.
Sligo or Leitrim will make Connaught final so that's 13 and 3 spots left.
I expect one the ulster finalists will come from 2 of the 5 above.
Cork should make Munster final

Who will join Dublin in Leinster final at present louth or Westmeath look favourites
If we take a worst case scenario and go with louth as Westmeath are already in that makes 14.
Meath at the moment on league standings are 15 with Kildare having beaten Clare and with limerick yet to play should make the 16th team.

Squeaky bum time big time for the royals and Lilly's with the Newbridge show down between two teams playing brutal a big one .

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 06/03/2023 07:27:23    2462167

Not a bad stab I dont think Cavan will make Ulster Final we will have to beat Armagh and then either Donegal most likely or an improving Down.
The big worry for Meath would could from either Care or Limerick beating Cork in Munster and one of those counties taking Meaths place
Your are probably right just now louth or Westmeath are playing better than Meath and really Meath will struggle to take Offaly if they beat Longford but still you would expect Meath to make Leinster Final but in no way a certainty

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 209 - 10/03/2023 07:58:01    2463103

Newbridge looking like a massive game now with Kildare surely to beat limerick
Rosary beads out to hope that Cavan don't make ulster final and Cork make the Munster one

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 19/03/2023 16:03:57    2464770

Definitely is. Think clare knowing they can only get to all ire by been in final. Cork no great shakes. We in trouble. And what's worse is I don't see us doing anything in tailteann anyway

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/03/2023 17:27:40    2464827

Replying To glenny:  "Newbridge looking like a massive game now with Kildare surely to beat limerick
Rosary beads out to hope that Cavan don't make ulster final and Cork make the Munster one"
Massive game next week, Kildare got a late goal to run out handy winners. Expect Cork to beat Clare in Munster, were on top today until they had man sent off and fell away. Ulster has thrown up surprises in the past, so Cavan however unlightly could make it. Its still in our own hands and not willing to write off getting to Leinster Final. No doubt Louth have been the story in Div 2. Interesting meeting with Dubs next week.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/03/2023 18:14:56    2464853

Replying To seadog54:  "Massive game next week, Kildare got a late goal to run out handy winners. Expect Cork to beat Clare in Munster, were on top today until they had man sent off and fell away. Ulster has thrown up surprises in the past, so Cavan however unlightly could make it. Its still in our own hands and not willing to write off getting to Leinster Final. No doubt Louth have been the story in Div 2. Interesting meeting with Dubs next week."
Dubs will beat louth but not by 11 points so disappointed with how ORourke is setting the Meath team. Ok Andy was ultra defensive but Colm is so naive thinking to play dubs man to man might work…..
Has he a plan knowing that we safe in Division 2 and then take Leinster by storm so it won't matter if Kildare beat us …..I hope so

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 19/03/2023 20:44:42    2464920

Replying To glenny:  "Dubs will beat louth but not by 11 points so disappointed with how ORourke is setting the Meath team. Ok Andy was ultra defensive but Colm is so naive thinking to play dubs man to man might work…..
Has he a plan knowing that we safe in Division 2 and then take Leinster by storm so it won't matter if Kildare beat us …..I hope so"
Same though crossed my mind, just wishful thinking. Get defence sorted first, then spring his cunning plan.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 20/03/2023 11:13:57    2465059

Well just incase that Colm doesn't have a cunning plan to storm Leinster. I Still think we should be ok. Louth or Westmeath would make Leinster final should we fail to both would be qualified anyway so that's not too bad. The problems arrive when we look at 2 counties cavan and clare. Looking at the draw for ulster it would be difficult for cavan to reach final. However cork v clare is very unpredictable so I really think we have to win on Sunday to guarantee all ire football. Which has to be the bare minimum for Colm's first year. Regardless of what some might say.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/03/2023 09:27:09    2465394

Will know a bit more about Clare later. Armagh look good which is good news for Meath

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 08/04/2023 18:02:09    2469607

Well, we know what's needed now to get into the All-Ireland. Leinster final or its the Tailteann.

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 09/04/2023 15:41:56    2469802

Tailteann cup if we dont get to the final.The pressure is on now.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 09/04/2023 15:44:18    2469803

Old style proper knockout football for us now, looking forward to it.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 09/04/2023 15:51:30    2469805

In a way, I'm glad that we will actually have to earn our place and if we don't make it, we don't deserve it.

Unrelated, but fair play to Connell Ahearne for top scoring for New York last night and helping them to their first ever championship win.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/04/2023 16:19:41    2469810

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "In a way, I'm glad that we will actually have to earn our place and if we don't make it, we don't deserve it.

Unrelated, but fair play to Connell Ahearne for top scoring for New York last night and helping them to their first ever championship win."
Spot on, if we cannot beat Offaly and whoever wins the Louth, WM game then we have no buisness in A/I series. Getting through based on other results will do us no favours long term.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 09/04/2023 16:51:44    2469816

Clear cut now. Always kinda knew clare would beat cork, let's be honest clare were the better team than us and really it was hard luck on them been relegated, it should have been us and limerick. Over to you now Colm ,As they say, it's time to sh1t or get off the pot. No second chances. It's Offaly and then probably louth.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/04/2023 16:56:41    2469818

If meath reach the leinster final and kildare don't is that them in the tailtean Cup.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 09/04/2023 17:18:25    2469822

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "If meath reach the leinster final and kildare don't is that them in the tailtean Cup."
Yep.

If kildare were to reach it, it'd be Cork

Or if kildare didn't but cavan do, it'll be kildare and Cork.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 09/04/2023 18:28:19    2469864

Replying To royaldunne:  "Clear cut now. Always kinda knew clare would beat cork, let's be honest clare were the better team than us and really it was hard luck on them been relegated, it should have been us and limerick. Over to you now Colm ,As they say, it's time to sh1t or get off the pot. No second chances. It's Offaly and then probably louth.
Hon the royal"
Best way for it anyway.

And I suspect the only way colm had viewed the path ahead since before a ball was even kicked this year.

If we lose to offaly, we deserve to be out, of we lose to Louth or Westmeath, I'd have absolutely no stomach to face the qualifiers.

For what it's worth, I think Louth are being a little over-hyped. They had a fantastic league, and finished 3rd absolutely on merit. But I think that's their championship. Similar enough to last year for them.
I think harte and devlin are absolutely maxing out every ounce of potential out of what's in Louth at the minute, but through players and a system, but I think this is as high as this ride goes.... I do t think there's another 10-15% for them to reach...

And on the other side if that coin, I'm not overly stressed about Meaths campaign.
It was never going to be a promotion run, and in the over all scheme of a 3-5 year rebuild, this was always on the cards. Year 1 was about strip it back, break it down to rebuild it up properly, albeit without totally destroying it. And I think that's been done as well as could have been hoped.
Div 2 retained, and starting to shed some of the dead weight.
There's been a few players dropped in recent weeks and I'm a bit surprised at some of the outcry and even the commentary around how it "allegedly" happened.
For me it's tabloid level stuff. We were accused a few years ago ,(rightly) of going doft, and now dome fans want the manager to drop players by appointment....
I'll not get into the ins and outs if why some lads were dropped, but I'll say this.. NONE were dropped in relation to ability, potential or fitness...
Attitude and character is critical to where meath need to get to, and it can be built in lads, even the ones dropped.... (the above doesn't apply to mcgill, last talking on here simply have no clue of the events or circumstances involved, but he'll be an available option to the county next year)

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 09/04/2023 20:15:02    2469897

Replying To royaldunne:  "Clear cut now. Always kinda knew clare would beat cork, let's be honest clare were the better team than us and really it was hard luck on them been relegated, it should have been us and limerick. Over to you now Colm ,As they say, it's time to sh1t or get off the pot. No second chances. It's Offaly and then probably louth.
Hon the royal"
Your right, it's clear cut now what we have to do. But would you stop playing this game of putting a negative spin on everything Colm O'Rourke team is doing. It's getting boring.
O'Rourke kept us in division 2.
That's what most Meath managers have done for many years. Clare, despite losing by 4 points could feel that they could have beaten us but we had we had 15 men we could feel we may have beaten Louth (even with 14 won could have won). That's the swings and roundabouts of sport. Over the 7 games we finished where we deserved.
Often previous Meath managers in the last 15 years would have been in this position (of possibly playing in Tailteann) only this system wasn't in place then.
It's bizzare reading your posts now as in previous years no matter what Meath did you put a positive spin on it and convinced yourself we were favourites for any game we played. Now everything is a negative and spin.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 09/04/2023 21:54:37    2469932

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Your right, it's clear cut now what we have to do. But would you stop playing this game of putting a negative spin on everything Colm O'Rourke team is doing. It's getting boring.
O'Rourke kept us in division 2.
That's what most Meath managers have done for many years. Clare, despite losing by 4 points could feel that they could have beaten us but we had we had 15 men we could feel we may have beaten Louth (even with 14 won could have won). That's the swings and roundabouts of sport. Over the 7 games we finished where we deserved.
Often previous Meath managers in the last 15 years would have been in this position (of possibly playing in Tailteann) only this system wasn't in place then.
It's bizzare reading your posts now as in previous years no matter what Meath did you put a positive spin on it and convinced yourself we were favourites for any game we played. Now everything is a negative and spin."
The reason for that is I have never seen Meath as bad. Reality is clare we're not on basis the second worse team in division, we were. And 15 men v louth wouldn't have made a difference we were not winning that game. Previous managers may have been at fault plenty of times. To say we were not extremely lucky to remain in division 2 is ludicrous. Clare had Dublin beat only for nerves to kick in. We never even got near dubs. What I'm trying to convey is clare deserves their place in all ire, they beat us and Roscommon last year. And beat cork this. They are a side I like lead by a manager who is doing fantastic work that even as SG said last night the players would die for. I don't know how you can take me praising a team punching well above the talents of individual players is a cut at Colm. You are right that if the system that is in place now we would be in trouble on a couple of years. But majority of them I can't see us playing tc even at that.
The only thing I said about Colm was now he has a chance to redeem himself and what was a disastrous league performance. I think we will all take another hiding from Dublin once we get to the round robin. It's two games one against Offaly that despite what was said last night on SG are a very poor team. And then most likely louth in Croke park where be it 15 v 15 there can be no excuses. Again louth played better than us over the whole league but I am as you said forever optimistic I believe that the meeting to clear the air and have a Frank and open discussion that has taken place will actually help. There is no point blaming it on Colm as the players have to take their responsibility for the worst performances consecutively for a long long time. Also good news is that Jordan Morris has not been dropped both mcentee and keoghan are for again as is walsh. So things maybe looking up for us at the right time. It's two games and the bonus is should we win Kildare will be out. Win win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/04/2023 08:52:00    2469938