County Board

Interesting to see none of the bigger clubs represented on the county board
Simonstown, dunboyne, ratoath, Ashbourne,
Colm cilles,
I would imagine that the combined membership of these clubs equates for a large percentage/ majority of overall in Meath
Where I wish the newly elected board the very best I am concerned that the issues the larger clubs face are very different then the smaller clubs and therefore should have a voice at the top table
What is the criteria to be considered for election
It very much looks like it's either musical chairs or Lanigan's ball every year the election of officers

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 13/12/2022 13:26:36    2450306

I note that the assistant secretary is also training a club team. Surely there's a conflict there.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 14/12/2022 09:13:50    2450370

Replying To Foley91:  "I note that the assistant secretary is also training a club team. Surely there's a conflict there."
That can't be true? That's a conflict of interest that should be nipped in the bud. Total amateur hour if allowed.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 14/12/2022 09:45:34    2450373

Replying To Crinigan:  "That can't be true? That's a conflict of interest that should be nipped in the bud. Total amateur hour if allowed."
Fair play to him for giving the commitment to both his club and county, should be lauded not criticised

LoyaleRoyale (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 14/12/2022 12:11:45    2450390

He's brilliant. Will that do.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 14/12/2022 15:39:19    2450412

Replying To LoyaleRoyale:  "Fair play to him for giving the commitment to both his club and county, should be lauded not criticised"
Seems you don't get whole concept of conflict of interests...

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 14/12/2022 16:01:56    2450419

The process is that Clubs need to nominate people. This year very few people were nominated and alot of positions were filled because only one candidate ran. Clubs need to step up and ensure that they have good representation at meetings. Some senior club didnt even have delegates at the meeting or on line at Mondays night convention. Cant blame the weather because you could have joined on line. Its the same issue when it comes to club AGMs. How many people writing on this thread was at their clubs AGM? Clubs are having the same issue where they cant get people to run...

199710 (Meath) - Posts: 120 - 14/12/2022 16:22:26    2450420

Replying To 199710:  "The process is that Clubs need to nominate people. This year very few people were nominated and alot of positions were filled because only one candidate ran. Clubs need to step up and ensure that they have good representation at meetings. Some senior club didnt even have delegates at the meeting or on line at Mondays night convention. Cant blame the weather because you could have joined on line. Its the same issue when it comes to club AGMs. How many people writing on this thread was at their clubs AGM? Clubs are having the same issue where they cant get people to run..."
That's true. But why would anyone put their name forward when a former chairman was beaten by 100 votes for one particular post? And for another role, one candidate pulled out last minute leaving way clear for someone else to assume the job.

The CB can ask for people to run all they want, but there's a sense that it's a carve-up among a few already inside the tent.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/12/2022 17:29:48    2450433

Nothing against any of those who was appointed. But come on we need new innovative people to take over.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/12/2022 20:30:32    2450441

Replying To Crinigan:  "That can't be true? That's a conflict of interest that should be nipped in the bud. Total amateur hour if allowed."
The whole concept of Club and County is borne out of 'conflict of interest' Every person on the County Board comes from a club. Crinigan, maybe if you put yourself up to manage a club and help at County board level, then you can have an opinion. Have you not sussed that all referees have clubs? Is there a conflict there? Maybe if more people put in time with club and county, we would not have people having to do a number of jobs. The lad taking on both jobs should be commended for the time he puts into gaa. Instead, he is slagged by keyboard warriors. Look at every post in the last 10 years at County Level, can you tell me that there has never been a club manager on the County Board. You obviously have a lot of time on your hands.

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 15/12/2022 09:27:33    2450453

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nothing against any of those who was appointed. But come on we need new innovative people to take over."
They are thankless positions though . Would you put yourself forward for one ? I'll be honest and say not a hope I would.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 15/12/2022 09:40:31    2450457

Replying To Blackspot09:  "They are thankless positions though . Would you put yourself forward for one ? I'll be honest and say not a hope I would."
The lads on club and county boards put in a massive amount of time. GAA becomes your life. You are right, it is thankless. Lads who don't know better, come on this forum to slag individuals and clubs, that they seem to have personal issues with. Is it jealousy? It is very simple to get on the board. Work hard, make connections, put yourself up for nomination (via club). The nominees with most votes, WINS. It is really simple. No point lads crying after the event.

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 15/12/2022 09:55:14    2450459

Replying To Stiofan:  "The lads on club and county boards put in a massive amount of time. GAA becomes your life. You are right, it is thankless. Lads who don't know better, come on this forum to slag individuals and clubs, that they seem to have personal issues with. Is it jealousy? It is very simple to get on the board. Work hard, make connections, put yourself up for nomination (via club). The nominees with most votes, WINS. It is really simple. No point lads crying after the event."
I agree. It's a bit like being a politician. Darned if you do and darned if you don't. You could make a decision or vote for something and get lots of support from some people and lots iof criticism from other people . Fair play to those who do it.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 15/12/2022 10:52:54    2450465

Replying To Stiofan:  "The whole concept of Club and County is borne out of 'conflict of interest' Every person on the County Board comes from a club. Crinigan, maybe if you put yourself up to manage a club and help at County board level, then you can have an opinion. Have you not sussed that all referees have clubs? Is there a conflict there? Maybe if more people put in time with club and county, we would not have people having to do a number of jobs. The lad taking on both jobs should be commended for the time he puts into gaa. Instead, he is slagged by keyboard warriors. Look at every post in the last 10 years at County Level, can you tell me that there has never been a club manager on the County Board. You obviously have a lot of time on your hands."
I didn't slag anybody, excuse yourself.

The county board administrates club fixtures, club transfers, club disciplinary issues and the appointment of referees, among many other things.

It is far from best practice to have a club manager in a high administrative position therefore. I'm not questioning anyone's integrity or honesty, it's not just not best practice and there is a clear conflict of interest. You rightfully say that that is the nature of club and county but managing is quite another thing altogether I'd have thought than being a senior administrator that's merely affiliated with a club.

Put it this way, that **** Infantino in FIFA is Swiss. Switzerland are a member of FIFA and FIFA held a World Cup that Switzerland played in recently. This conflict is considered necessary as you have to appoint somebody from somewhere that is a member of the organization. However, would it not be a different story if Infantino was also the manager of Switzerland and managing a team in the World Cup, a competition that he himself administers?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 15/12/2022 13:40:31    2450489

Replying To Stiofan:  "The lads on club and county boards put in a massive amount of time. GAA becomes your life. You are right, it is thankless. Lads who don't know better, come on this forum to slag individuals and clubs, that they seem to have personal issues with. Is it jealousy? It is very simple to get on the board. Work hard, make connections, put yourself up for nomination (via club). The nominees with most votes, WINS. It is really simple. No point lads crying after the event."
Your being very condescending saying that people are coming on here who know nothing , I presume you do?
I certainly have no personal issues with any of the current CB, the fact that you admit you need to make connections to get involved says enough
The fact is there are a majority of small clubs represented on the CB who certainly work hard but trust me the people in the larger clubs work equally as hard if not harder based on the fact there is more work involved in running a larger club and they for whatever reason are not there
There is clearly a case that the county board is not compromised of an equal amount of representation from ALL sectors of the county
IE. Large clubs , medium clubs and small clubs
Senior clubs in large populations right through to a junior club in a small village
The 4 main positions in the current CB are chair,vice chair Secretary and treasurer
2 junior clubs ,1 hurling only club all small clubs
And 1 intermediate club

I just think we need to encourage a much more diverse selection of representation on our county board in order to get more rounded options for decision making

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 15/12/2022 15:41:14    2450503

Replying To Crinigan:  "I didn't slag anybody, excuse yourself.

The county board administrates club fixtures, club transfers, club disciplinary issues and the appointment of referees, among many other things.

It is far from best practice to have a club manager in a high administrative position therefore. I'm not questioning anyone's integrity or honesty, it's not just not best practice and there is a clear conflict of interest. You rightfully say that that is the nature of club and county but managing is quite another thing altogether I'd have thought than being a senior administrator that's merely affiliated with a club.

Put it this way, that **** Infantino in FIFA is Swiss. Switzerland are a member of FIFA and FIFA held a World Cup that Switzerland played in recently. This conflict is considered necessary as you have to appoint somebody from somewhere that is a member of the organization. However, would it not be a different story if Infantino was also the manager of Switzerland and managing a team in the World Cup, a competition that he himself administers?"
Having a quiet little tickle to myself with this line of so called perfection….just remembered that last year other members of the executive were running the sideline with their clubs and not a word about it. Are some more equal than others.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 16/12/2022 10:26:51    2450535

Replying To Blackspot09:  "They are thankless positions though . Would you put yourself forward for one ? I'll be honest and say not a hope I would."
I know they are thankless. But I'll be honest. Yes I would go forward for one of them. But I understand why people wouldn't. I'm just a glutton for punishment

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/12/2022 14:26:53    2450559

Replying To royaldunne:  "I know they are thankless. But I'll be honest. Yes I would go forward for one of them. But I understand why people wouldn't. I'm just a glutton for punishment"
fair play to you but i'd say you would be in the minority

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 16/12/2022 16:01:02    2450571

Thankless jobs in fairness

I hope the new referee coordinator is a bit more impartial when appointing referees for games, too many lads getting big games and finals of leagues etc and simply too old and not good enough.

Would like to see a new rule come in also to help referees with mid week games and in some cases weekend games.

Have 6 - 8 competent members of each club listed as officials to help with umpiring and doing the line.

Was at a division one league game this year and the game started with no umpires or linesmen which caused a melee in the first 20 minutes.

Thankfully a few lads from each club went in to help the referee but it should not have happened in the first place.

Yes , its extremely hard to get neutral umpires to travel to any game but during the fine weather mid week is almost a no go.

Lastly, a lad who pays into a game should not be put into a position to umpire 1 minute before throw in.

This is something that needs to be addressed.

As for new referees, we will loose them just a s quick if they are not treated fairly when it comes to the above, same names appearing on finals , champo games etc.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 16/12/2022 19:20:12    2450585

Replying To thelutch:  "Thankless jobs in fairness

I hope the new referee coordinator is a bit more impartial when appointing referees for games, too many lads getting big games and finals of leagues etc and simply too old and not good enough.

Would like to see a new rule come in also to help referees with mid week games and in some cases weekend games.

Have 6 - 8 competent members of each club listed as officials to help with umpiring and doing the line.

Was at a division one league game this year and the game started with no umpires or linesmen which caused a melee in the first 20 minutes.

Thankfully a few lads from each club went in to help the referee but it should not have happened in the first place.

Yes , its extremely hard to get neutral umpires to travel to any game but during the fine weather mid week is almost a no go.

Lastly, a lad who pays into a game should not be put into a position to umpire 1 minute before throw in.

This is something that needs to be addressed.

As for new referees, we will loose them just a s quick if they are not treated fairly when it comes to the above, same names appearing on finals , champo games etc."
Can't argue against any of your points.

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 17/12/2022 12:25:46    2450600