Meath 2023

Replying To Head4BlackSpot1990:  "I think Mickey Burke could be a good option at 6 great reader of game even at his age"
Is there anything to be said for another mass!

I thought I would see him on Dancing with the Stars with Shane Byrne!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 08/12/2022 11:46:34    2449838

Who are the current Meath squad members does anyone know? Assuming it has now been selected with O'Byrne Cup early in new year.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 15/12/2022 09:36:55    2450455

Replying To winatallcost:  "Who are the current Meath squad members does anyone know? Assuming it has now been selected with O'Byrne Cup early in new year."
A few names that are in according to the We are meath podcast are Sean Rafferty, Aaron Lynch, Michael Flood and Sean Coffey. Bryan Mcmahon and James Mcentee havent made the panel. Menton has not made himself available for selection and Seamus Lavin has no plans on coming back this year.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 141 - 15/12/2022 21:54:31    2450522

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "A few names that are in according to the We are meath podcast are Sean Rafferty, Aaron Lynch, Michael Flood and Sean Coffey. Bryan Mcmahon and James Mcentee havent made the panel. Menton has not made himself available for selection and Seamus Lavin has no plans on coming back this year."
Surprised with James mcentee. He offers a bit of steel. Now ok the gasket can blow at times. But he is worth his place on panel I'd think. Also McMahon surely worth a panel place ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/12/2022 19:06:18    2450584

James McEntee showed alot of potential a few years ago but injuries seemed to curtail his development. Perhaps he may return to form and return some day. McMahon has been a good servant but probably lacked physicality and scoring efficiency to be a top county forward so was ensure whether he could really be effective in either of the foward line positions. New lads deserve a go but won't be easy by any means and expect it to be a steep learning curve. Naive to expect instant impacts.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/12/2022 20:09:36    2450587

Replying To winatallcost:  "James McEntee showed alot of potential a few years ago but injuries seemed to curtail his development. Perhaps he may return to form and return some day. McMahon has been a good servant but probably lacked physicality and scoring efficiency to be a top county forward so was ensure whether he could really be effective in either of the foward line positions. New lads deserve a go but won't be easy by any means and expect it to be a steep learning curve. Naive to expect instant impacts."
McMahon might not be a top intercounty scoring forward but then can you name on player in Meath who is?

There is none. Potentially one or two from recent minor teams but that is only potential.

It's surprising therefore that he has been dropped as he is as good as any of the other main scoring options and is definitely in top 5 forwards on the senior club scene. Basically he's as good as we've got and he's definitely a good character in any dressing room.

Having said that, I understand the point about size and maybe this speaks to an approach that new management will have. If we decide to have a team of big strong lads who don't take a backward step (not saying McMahon did btw) I'll be fairly delighted. We wouldn't be great at a running game then but if we let the ball move quicker maybe we wouldn't need to be. God knows we've seen enough of the rugby league running game craic since 2012 or so.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/12/2022 09:42:49    2450590

Replying To Crinigan:  "McMahon might not be a top intercounty scoring forward but then can you name on player in Meath who is?

There is none. Potentially one or two from recent minor teams but that is only potential.

It's surprising therefore that he has been dropped as he is as good as any of the other main scoring options and is definitely in top 5 forwards on the senior club scene. Basically he's as good as we've got and he's definitely a good character in any dressing room.

Having said that, I understand the point about size and maybe this speaks to an approach that new management will have. If we decide to have a team of big strong lads who don't take a backward step (not saying McMahon did btw) I'll be fairly delighted. We wouldn't be great at a running game then but if we let the ball move quicker maybe we wouldn't need to be. God knows we've seen enough of the rugby league running game craic since 2012 or so."
McMahon and james mcentee have been on meath panels since 2014 i believe, while they have been good servants i think its time to try some new players, James has had a lot of injuries but even when hes been fit hes been very inconsitent for Meath, Bryan isnt even in Ratoath's top 5 players anymore. Not to be disrespectful but i could actually name a lot of better forwards in Meath than Mcmahon.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 141 - 17/12/2022 12:55:37    2450604

Replying To winatallcost:  "James McEntee showed alot of potential a few years ago but injuries seemed to curtail his development. Perhaps he may return to form and return some day. McMahon has been a good servant but probably lacked physicality and scoring efficiency to be a top county forward so was ensure whether he could really be effective in either of the foward line positions. New lads deserve a go but won't be easy by any means and expect it to be a steep learning curve. Naive to expect instant impacts."
McMahon might not be a top intercounty scoring forward but then can you name on player in Meath who is?

Having said that, I understand the point about size and maybe this speaks to an approach that new management will have. If we decide to have a team of big strong lads who don't take a backward step (not saying McMahon did btw) I'll be fairly delighted. We wouldn't be great at a running game then but if we let the ball move quicker maybe we wouldn't need to be. God knows we've seen enough of the rugby league running game craic since 2012 or so.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/12/2022 14:29:22    2450610

I am very excited for games to come back as there hasn't been one for ages. And with new management and some new players there'll be plenty to watch out for. I do however find it hard to get too optimistic. Shane Walsh and Menton not playing are big losses to the team and Seamus Lavin too albeit I didn't think we'd have him. I'm just hoping some of the previous panel can make a real step up because of the new guys coming in I see guys who are maybe as good as some of the squad players they're replacing but very few difference makers.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1455 - 19/12/2022 07:11:20    2450713

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I am very excited for games to come back as there hasn't been one for ages. And with new management and some new players there'll be plenty to watch out for. I do however find it hard to get too optimistic. Shane Walsh and Menton not playing are big losses to the team and Seamus Lavin too albeit I didn't think we'd have him. I'm just hoping some of the previous panel can make a real step up because of the new guys coming in I see guys who are maybe as good as some of the squad players they're replacing but very few difference makers."
There will be no difference makers as the talent, on paper, is not there. At best, we will remain the same overall squad talent-wise as under Andy McEntee.

What remains to be seen and what will be interesting is if the talent available can be made into something a lot greater than the sum of its parts via preparation, tactics, organisation and mentality. I really hope they can but it's more blind hope. We will find out quite quickly I think though.

I'm expecting/hoping to see better organisation (kickout strategy, free takers, more variety in types of players on the panel) and a more physically imposing, dogged team - that will definitely get the fans on side and give the players belief and confidence. I think it's too tough a Div 2 to get promotion this year but if we see above ingredients and finish with 6/7 points I'll be delighted.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/12/2022 11:21:48    2450731

Replying To Crinigan:  "McMahon might not be a top intercounty scoring forward but then can you name on player in Meath who is?

Having said that, I understand the point about size and maybe this speaks to an approach that new management will have. If we decide to have a team of big strong lads who don't take a backward step (not saying McMahon did btw) I'll be fairly delighted. We wouldn't be great at a running game then but if we let the ball move quicker maybe we wouldn't need to be. God knows we've seen enough of the rugby league running game craic since 2012 or so."
If Brian McMahon is no longer in the squad, I suspect it is more his call! Brian is closing in on 30 and has given 8 years of hard graft to the County set up! Andy generally played him at 11 - personally I think he is a better inside forward than a playmaker at 11! It says a huge amount for him that he was able to adapt and contribute so much from 11!

Brian had a decent championship with Ratoath this year - and I'm sure Ratoath will be delighted to have him playing league football for the first time in years! His experience will be a huge benefit to the young lads coming through the club!

I for one would like to compliment Brian for his commitment to the cause over the years!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 19/12/2022 13:53:50    2450743

Replying To Royalblufill:  "If Brian McMahon is no longer in the squad, I suspect it is more his call! Brian is closing in on 30 and has given 8 years of hard graft to the County set up! Andy generally played him at 11 - personally I think he is a better inside forward than a playmaker at 11! It says a huge amount for him that he was able to adapt and contribute so much from 11!

Brian had a decent championship with Ratoath this year - and I'm sure Ratoath will be delighted to have him playing league football for the first time in years! His experience will be a huge benefit to the young lads coming through the club!

I for one would like to compliment Brian for his commitment to the cause over the years!"
I will second this. If this is to be the last time James McEntee and Brian McMahon wear a Meath jersey. They are due huge thanks for their commitment even with very few prospects of success

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1455 - 19/12/2022 15:14:14    2450751

Ah lads, what about the new Meath jersey?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 20/12/2022 17:20:51    2450829

Replying To bert09:  "Ah lads, what about the new Meath jersey?"
Oh wow, just checked on main page. Nicest Meath jersey I've seen since I don't know when, 91 maybe. Haven't bought a Meath jersey since 1996, might buy this one!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 21/12/2022 09:43:07    2450845

Replying To bert09:  "Ah lads, what about the new Meath jersey?"
Not good. Also not a very professional way of announcing it by the new sponsor. Why are Meath not capable of doing these basic things right? Looks like the sponsors logo is just glued onto it. Far to much going on with their logo.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 21/12/2022 10:06:39    2450849

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Not good. Also not a very professional way of announcing it by the new sponsor. Why are Meath not capable of doing these basic things right? Looks like the sponsors logo is just glued onto it. Far to much going on with their logo."
It's absolutely horrible, looks like a cheap market knock off

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 21/12/2022 10:20:38    2450854

Replying To Crinigan:  "Oh wow, just checked on main page. Nicest Meath jersey I've seen since I don't know when, 91 maybe. Haven't bought a Meath jersey since 1996, might buy this one!"
I actually can't tell if you are being sarcastic or not? It's awful IMO..

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 21/12/2022 10:26:26    2450855

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Not good. Also not a very professional way of announcing it by the new sponsor. Why are Meath not capable of doing these basic things right? Looks like the sponsors logo is just glued onto it. Far to much going on with their logo."
The logo was always going to be like this, look at any of the other underage jerseys Bective Stud are sponsors on and it's the same

They're paying a lot of money I'm guessing so of course it's going to be front and centre. At the end of the day it's a jersey, it's fine, far more interested in what the players wearing it can do

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 198 - 21/12/2022 10:49:52    2450859

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I actually can't tell if you are being sarcastic or not? It's awful IMO.."
I'm not being sarcastic, I think it's lovely. I like the simplicity of it and it's the right shade of green for a Meath jersey.

Re the release, I presume Gordon Elliott had no idea the jersey wasn't released yet so wasn't aware he was jumping the gun.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 21/12/2022 11:43:51    2450869

Replying To winatallcost:  "Who are the current Meath squad members does anyone know? Assuming it has now been selected with O'Byrne Cup early in new year."
Will a panel list be released? A few names being bandied about that are or aren't on the panel.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 21/12/2022 11:57:06    2450871