Meath 2023

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Fair enough Seadog,no doubt we have looked better in TC but will need to step up again in the league next year.Gray as I've said previously looks good and something we have lacked for a good while so hopefully he keeps improving.Flynn hopefully can bring his TC form into next year,Jones in fairness was was one of our better performers in the league so with Grqy and Flynn with him hopefully they can form a good partnership.Cosstello will be a key player for us and did get in the ball more in the TC but we need to find a way to get him on the ball more in bigger games.The defence does worry me though , would need to tighten up quite a bit for next year.As you said if the injured lads can get back will strengthen us and maybe getting a free flowing magill and lavini back?Not sure if those 2 are interested in committing but I'd say the door is open for anyone if Jack o connor and Sean coffey are anything to go by.Im happy we won the TC as I think it's great experience for the young lads to win in Croker but it also takes a bit of pressure off management.What I mean by that is the national media is more focused on Meath now that o Rourke is in charge.He gave criticism to alot of teams when on the Sunday game so now people are scrutinizing his every move and waiting to launch in when things go wrong.That has to put more pressure on and maybe that's why we haven't adapted quicker.He wants to play more of a quicker long ball game (because that's the way he likes to play)but found it hard against tight defensive systems.We have improved ,adapted better and mixed things up a bit more but against better teams we made silly mistakes and took wrong options.I hope now that all Ireland football secured we will see us play a bit more off the shackles football in league and championship next year.Next year is massive for us we have a platform now,confidence growing,younger players with more experience (TC games)and hopefully a Meath crowd starting to swell again.I think the league is very important for us need to keep winning and keep momentum flowing and I'm looking forward to it .Who knows what may happen and maybe I am getting carried away by the TC win but hopefully the green shoots will keep growing but it will take time but will folk give it? I hope everyone gets behind the team but have a feeling some just cant wait to say I told you so regarding o Rourke.Again all this is just my opinion and everyone is entitled to their own."
Really well said proudroyal, some really great points well made.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/07/2023 10:54:07    2496997

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Fair enough Seadog,no doubt we have looked better in TC but will need to step up again in the league next year.Gray as I've said previously looks good and something we have lacked for a good while so hopefully he keeps improving.Flynn hopefully can bring his TC form into next year,Jones in fairness was was one of our better performers in the league so with Grqy and Flynn with him hopefully they can form a good partnership.Cosstello will be a key player for us and did get in the ball more in the TC but we need to find a way to get him on the ball more in bigger games.The defence does worry me though , would need to tighten up quite a bit for next year.As you said if the injured lads can get back will strengthen us and maybe getting a free flowing magill and lavini back?Not sure if those 2 are interested in committing but I'd say the door is open for anyone if Jack o connor and Sean coffey are anything to go by.Im happy we won the TC as I think it's great experience for the young lads to win in Croker but it also takes a bit of pressure off management.What I mean by that is the national media is more focused on Meath now that o Rourke is in charge.He gave criticism to alot of teams when on the Sunday game so now people are scrutinizing his every move and waiting to launch in when things go wrong.That has to put more pressure on and maybe that's why we haven't adapted quicker.He wants to play more of a quicker long ball game (because that's the way he likes to play)but found it hard against tight defensive systems.We have improved ,adapted better and mixed things up a bit more but against better teams we made silly mistakes and took wrong options.I hope now that all Ireland football secured we will see us play a bit more off the shackles football in league and championship next year.Next year is massive for us we have a platform now,confidence growing,younger players with more experience (TC games)and hopefully a Meath crowd starting to swell again.I think the league is very important for us need to keep winning and keep momentum flowing and I'm looking forward to it .Who knows what may happen and maybe I am getting carried away by the TC win but hopefully the green shoots will keep growing but it will take time but will folk give it? I hope everyone gets behind the team but have a feeling some just cant wait to say I told you so regarding o Rourke.Again all this is just my opinion and everyone is entitled to their own."
" maybe getting a free flowing magill and lavini back"
I presume you are talking about Lavin. Not at all sure he'd add anything further to the defence. His mess-up in Newbridge in the curtailed 'Covid League' went a long way to us missing out on promotion to Division 1, Kildare won that match and got promoted for that year. O'Neill from the Tones is a much better prospect. BUT we need Magill urgently.
Every successful Meath team had outstanding full backs and corner backs who did not drop the ball.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 26/07/2023 11:27:56    2497013

Replying To royaldunne:  "S & C definitely can't be judged on TC. To judge it on that would be ridiculous. We looked so far off the pace against Derry and Dublin it was scary. But even allowing for them been so far ahead of us I think the measure that you use of Kildare is very accurate. They ran rings round us. Even Limerick seemed better conditioned than us. Same for louth and against Offaly agin we looked unfit.
As for next year ? The only way we improve is playing better teams. I am hoping that Armagh keep mcgeeny as I don't rate him at all and believe he is holding them back, if they change to a half decent manager then they could walk div 2. For me vying for promotion on last day is the only thing that will show we have improved. It's a very average league next year compared to this. Clare I'd rate as better than cavan Limerick on par with Fermanagh and Donegal (who are in implosion mode) and Armagh are not better than dubs in particular or Derry. The rest we know about. Has the qualification for Sam by louth Kildare cork helped them playing teams of a higher level ? and has us not doing so , helped or hindered us ? That question won't be answered until March I'd say. But for me can you imagine the buzz of been in Croke park to pick up a division 2 title and go into all ire with that behind us would bring. I think many others would agree that cup would mean more than the Tc. But maybe that's just me .
On the Leinster part it becomes awkward. Cause we lost the seeding. The top 4 in Leinster (Dublin Kildare louth and Offaly) are split and cannot meet until semifinals. So we will have to play two of them at least to reach a final. Ie we could have a rd 1 match against say Westmeath then a quarter final v dubs or Kildare and then say if it was Kildare in quarters, then a semi v Dublin. So rather than put too much emphasis on the Leinster run (people say I'm hard on Colm, I'm giving him an out here) I'd pretty much ignore the need for a Leinster final. Now if draw falls our way then absolutely. I mean we could get a Laois or Wexford rd1 then Offaly then louth. In that scenario absolutely a Leinster final would be demanded. It would be great to get the seeding back. After the league the round robin is so important, again I don't think we should be dependent on the 16th rank to get us into it. That puts us as 4th seeds so all seed ones (provincial winners ) Dublin, Kerry , mayo/Galway and most likely Derry, seed two cork Kildare the looser in Connacht and anyone of 3 in ulster then we go to league positions for seed 3 and 4 plus us as tc winners. So for me I'd like to see us qualify within our own right as div 2 promotion. And at least be avoiding some of the top teams. Now all this is assuming the top teams in provincials avoid each other. But I'd be hoping for a quarter final playoff match anyway so 2nd or 3rd in round robin and maybe just maybe a all ire quarter final. Now that would be progress for next year."
Well Royaldunne,yes Kildare game for me was probably the worst of all.We were so off it that day and looked out on our feet after 15 mins.I remember saying to a couple of Meath fans that maybe they were doing serious training for the leinster championship but another very flat performance the next day as well.I do think if we met Offaly now with Jones fit and Gray and o Conor we would win (no disrespect to Offaly)but that's all hearsay now.I dont think there is anything between Meath,Louth and Westmeath on any given day they could all beat each other.You live in Westmeath how do the locals feel about this year for them?They didn't go up in the league but put it up to and were unlucky not to win a game or 2 in the all Ireland group stages.Do they see that as progress?I agree Dublin and Derry are better than Donegal and Armagh but I think Cavan and Fermanagh are better than Limerick and harder to play against than Clare.We have struggled against Ulster teams the last few years and we now play four of them.We have beaten Down twice and Antrim so maybe the tide is turning but will find it hard against them.A few derby matches Louth,Cavan, kildare should be juicy depending on what part of the county you're from.Cork we have a decent record against but I think they have improved since we met them and Donegal we find it hard to get over the line v them.If we got Cavan,Cork, Armagh and maybe Fermanagh at home and with Kildares ground been rebuilt (would they have to play in portlaoise I'm not sure)louth away and Donegal away(love it up there)wed have a decent chance.All tough games no matter what or where we play but at home v Ulster teams would give us a better shot.Leinster as you say depends on the draw but we would have a free shot at it as we already have the all Ireland ticket.If Dublin win it this year will they lose some players who knows but hoping probably against hope they come back and we go forward.All we can do though is worry about ourselves keep improving have a good league keep momentum going and see where it takes us.i hope you're right we get promotion and then maybe a 1/4 final but I wouldn't be putting money on that and maybe a tad unrealistic not sure but again just my opinion. We certainly have to be looking and thinking big but also have to give time to this relatively young team to progress.Its a big year next year and hopefully a few lads will put their hands up over the county championship and maybe another couple of the younger lads get nearer the team.As another poster said get the injured players back will also strengthen us.I know you and other posters dont think much of the TC but it has put us in a better place no doubt.Younger lads got game time and older lads finally won something,that can only help us.Imagine been where we were after the Offaly game older lads might've gone and the younger lads would not have much interest but I have to give credit to the team and management for taking it seriously and actually winning it.Its given the county a lift and people are interested again but the hard work starts here and they will be judged this time next year but we got to give them that time.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 26/07/2023 11:49:21    2497028

I think that is a fair and realistic post. I note you made you comments without any reference to the side show .Winning the TC was a DISASTER was the Q to cut off and ignore this rubbish that has really nothing to do with football. Who cares anyway who brought who on to the panel and when. It would be twisted suit the agenda anyway. Why respond beyond this point? What purpose does it serve?
We seem to have good foundations laid now .I like what players are saying about freedom with responsibility. That to me is a cornerstone to attitude that will reap rewards no doubt Time is required to tell us more and how we are against stronger opposition . I agree on your point about Costello and how he can be brought into the game more .He looks the part at this point. I would normally put a lad like him at midfield with a free role,but midfield is doing well and perhaps leave well enough alone ,Anyway ,i can see that catered for by backroom.
I recall Colm saying something about additions to backroom perhaps ,and that could be interesting I also like that as reported the door is always open to a player who needs to improve his standards. To me in a nutshell what is happening is trying to improve standards and nothing else.....So far so good !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 26/07/2023 11:59:43    2497032

Replying To nobull456:  "I think that is a fair and realistic post. I note you made you comments without any reference to the side show .Winning the TC was a DISASTER was the Q to cut off and ignore this rubbish that has really nothing to do with football. Who cares anyway who brought who on to the panel and when. It would be twisted suit the agenda anyway. Why respond beyond this point? What purpose does it serve?
We seem to have good foundations laid now .I like what players are saying about freedom with responsibility. That to me is a cornerstone to attitude that will reap rewards no doubt Time is required to tell us more and how we are against stronger opposition . I agree on your point about Costello and how he can be brought into the game more .He looks the part at this point. I would normally put a lad like him at midfield with a free role,but midfield is doing well and perhaps leave well enough alone ,Anyway ,i can see that catered for by backroom.
I recall Colm saying something about additions to backroom perhaps ,and that could be interesting I also like that as reported the door is always open to a player who needs to improve his standards. To me in a nutshell what is happening is trying to improve standards and nothing else.....So far so good !"
We'll said nobull

On yours and Proudroyals point re Costello, would having Walsh back next year free him up to move out to CHF. Then you'd have Jones, Flynn,Gray and Costello out there, huge men for Brennan to kick long too. I'm not saying Costello is a QB type CHF in the mould of Giles , mcguigan or deccy o'sullivan but we need to get him on the ball more. Was Colms original plan Walsh at 14 with Costello at 11?

Just a thought?.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/07/2023 12:24:16    2497037

Replying To MillerX:  "" maybe getting a free flowing magill and lavini back"
I presume you are talking about Lavin. Not at all sure he'd add anything further to the defence. His mess-up in Newbridge in the curtailed 'Covid League' went a long way to us missing out on promotion to Division 1, Kildare won that match and got promoted for that year. O'Neill from the Tones is a much better prospect. BUT we need Magill urgently.
Every successful Meath team had outstanding full backs and corner backs who did not drop the ball."
Haha lavini,he's our new Italian coner forward. Yes sorry meant Lavin.I remember that mistake alright but I've played football all my life and made many a mistake.I dont think anyone can honestly say they've never made a mistake playing football.I think to say no to him because he made a mistake(yes it cost us)is totally unfair.I remember him having many a fine match so I'd rather judge him on that.I agree o Neil has been good but he would(Lavin) strengthen the backs in my opinion if he finds his form again.We need competition and keep everyone on their toes so he would be a good option.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 26/07/2023 12:35:10    2497042

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Haha lavini,he's our new Italian coner forward. Yes sorry meant Lavin.I remember that mistake alright but I've played football all my life and made many a mistake.I dont think anyone can honestly say they've never made a mistake playing football.I think to say no to him because he made a mistake(yes it cost us)is totally unfair.I remember him having many a fine match so I'd rather judge him on that.I agree o Neil has been good but he would(Lavin) strengthen the backs in my opinion if he finds his form again.We need competition and keep everyone on their toes so he would be a good option."
Lavin would be a good addition, likewise, would not judge him on a few mistakes, if we take that view it would be difficult to select a team. There will be many mistakes made and that is no problem as long as we keep learning and show the commitment to improve.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 26/07/2023 14:30:15    2497082

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Haha lavini,he's our new Italian coner forward. Yes sorry meant Lavin.I remember that mistake alright but I've played football all my life and made many a mistake.I dont think anyone can honestly say they've never made a mistake playing football.I think to say no to him because he made a mistake(yes it cost us)is totally unfair.I remember him having many a fine match so I'd rather judge him on that.I agree o Neil has been good but he would(Lavin) strengthen the backs in my opinion if he finds his form again.We need competition and keep everyone on their toes so he would be a good option."
Our best full back line in the last 6-7 years was Lavin, McGill and (Simonstown lad, can't remember his name). Apart from the one mistake, Lavin was excellent in a Meath jersey, and if you could add himself and McGill back into that panel it would provide serious competition and cover in that line

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 26/07/2023 15:06:29    2497096

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Well Royaldunne,yes Kildare game for me was probably the worst of all.We were so off it that day and looked out on our feet after 15 mins.I remember saying to a couple of Meath fans that maybe they were doing serious training for the leinster championship but another very flat performance the next day as well.I do think if we met Offaly now with Jones fit and Gray and o Conor we would win (no disrespect to Offaly)but that's all hearsay now.I dont think there is anything between Meath,Louth and Westmeath on any given day they could all beat each other.You live in Westmeath how do the locals feel about this year for them?They didn't go up in the league but put it up to and were unlucky not to win a game or 2 in the all Ireland group stages.Do they see that as progress?I agree Dublin and Derry are better than Donegal and Armagh but I think Cavan and Fermanagh are better than Limerick and harder to play against than Clare.We have struggled against Ulster teams the last few years and we now play four of them.We have beaten Down twice and Antrim so maybe the tide is turning but will find it hard against them.A few derby matches Louth,Cavan, kildare should be juicy depending on what part of the county you're from.Cork we have a decent record against but I think they have improved since we met them and Donegal we find it hard to get over the line v them.If we got Cavan,Cork, Armagh and maybe Fermanagh at home and with Kildares ground been rebuilt (would they have to play in portlaoise I'm not sure)louth away and Donegal away(love it up there)wed have a decent chance.All tough games no matter what or where we play but at home v Ulster teams would give us a better shot.Leinster as you say depends on the draw but we would have a free shot at it as we already have the all Ireland ticket.If Dublin win it this year will they lose some players who knows but hoping probably against hope they come back and we go forward.All we can do though is worry about ourselves keep improving have a good league keep momentum going and see where it takes us.i hope you're right we get promotion and then maybe a 1/4 final but I wouldn't be putting money on that and maybe a tad unrealistic not sure but again just my opinion. We certainly have to be looking and thinking big but also have to give time to this relatively young team to progress.Its a big year next year and hopefully a few lads will put their hands up over the county championship and maybe another couple of the younger lads get nearer the team.As another poster said get the injured players back will also strengthen us.I know you and other posters dont think much of the TC but it has put us in a better place no doubt.Younger lads got game time and older lads finally won something,that can only help us.Imagine been where we were after the Offaly game older lads might've gone and the younger lads would not have much interest but I have to give credit to the team and management for taking it seriously and actually winning it.Its given the county a lift and people are interested again but the hard work starts here and they will be judged this time next year but we got to give them that time."
Fair post. On the Westmeath thing the view is that if cooney had stayed they would probably have been promoted and would have reached the knock out stages. They pointed to some strange subs and some weird positional changes. That been said I haven't actually seen them this year. But the general consensus is that cooney had them heading in right direction and then the offer came which he couldn't refuse. And Dessie in first year got a few things wrong. I suppose Dolan is in many ways same as Colm is , he has made mistakes but the general view is he will have learned a lot from this year and maybe bring in a couple more experienced lads into back room team (one name mentioned has been Bernard Flynn) but I think that's more supporters views than the actual management. And Bernie insists he hasn't been asked. So lots will depend on next year. Their aim is to get promoted and get to all ire proper. From my pov that's a long shot. But they certainly would fancy their chances should we meet them. The one team from my perspective we can't lose to would be the westies. I'd have to return to the royal earlier Than I have planned :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/07/2023 15:17:53    2497098

Every successful Meath team had outstanding full backs and corner backs who did not drop the ball."
So you are ruling a player out because of 1 mistake despite all the good performances he has had in a meath jersey? We would have no players left on the panel if we ruled them out after a few mistakes . O'Neill may be a better prospect but there is absolutely no doubt Lavin is better than the likes of Harry O'Higgins and Michael Flood so if he does come home and is interested in going back in the management would be foolish to ignore him and I doubt very much they would ignore him.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 26/07/2023 15:36:57    2497100

Replying To ratlag:  "Our best full back line in the last 6-7 years was Lavin, McGill and (Simonstown lad, can't remember his name). Apart from the one mistake, Lavin was excellent in a Meath jersey, and if you could add himself and McGill back into that panel it would provide serious competition and cover in that line"
Lavin, McGill and Shane Gallagher was the full back line in 2019 when we got promotion to Division 1 and competed in the Super 8s. All 3 were excellent that year.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 26/07/2023 16:02:05    2497109

Replying To kingofclubs:  "Lavin, McGill and Shane Gallagher was the full back line in 2019 when we got promotion to Division 1 and competed in the Super 8s. All 3 were excellent that year."
Thats him, he's been riddled with injuries since though and I don't think is even playing club at the moment.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 26/07/2023 16:19:12    2497117

Always felt him and McGill were an awesome backline with Gallagher ?? What happened to him anyone know ? Best fb line in a decade was them 3.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/07/2023 16:52:53    2497140

Replying To Blackspot09:  "So you are ruling a player out because of 1 mistake despite all the good performances he has had in a meath jersey? We would have no players left on the panel if we ruled them out after a few mistakes . O'Neill may be a better prospect but there is absolutely no doubt Lavin is better than the likes of Harry O'Higgins and Michael Flood so if he does come home and is interested in going back in the management would be foolish to ignore him and I doubt very much they would ignore him."
I concur blackspot, Seamus Lavin would be an automatic starter for me. If he's available he's in the 15 starters. Let's hope he's there playing club championship this weekend.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/07/2023 17:33:15    2497146

Lord Jaysus...what a comment to make regarding Lavin

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 350 - 26/07/2023 17:56:49    2497150

Replying To kingofclubs:  "Lavin, McGill and Shane Gallagher was the full back line in 2019 when we got promotion to Division 1 and competed in the Super 8s. All 3 were excellent that year."
Totally agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/07/2023 19:34:09    2497165

The upcoming championship games will be an interesting opportunity to see how the lads ignored this year perform.
Especially when on the same field as O Rourkes selections. I think there is abundant talent in the County

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 26/07/2023 21:25:48    2497178

Lavin is an excellent player and would make a big difference as would Conor.

TigerKing (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 26/07/2023 23:14:05    2497189

Just weighing in on the chat regarding the backs.

I agree on Lavin, McGill, and Gallagher. As a trio they were the best line we had in that 2019-2021 run that made Division 1, got two Leinster finals and the Super 8's. They were brilliant and looked comfortable at that level, regardless of the obvious shortcomings of the team in that timeframe - they all had some fantastic individual showings. It is true that any Meath team who were successful were ultimately built on the labour of very solid backfield players, especially in the Full-back position. Meath is famous for producing 2/3 of the best full-backs in the game.

True there have been individual lapses since with the lads I mentioned, 2019 was a peak, and 2019 is a while ago now and things change, but personally I feel if Meath are to now press on and progress further from where we now are after winning the TC, I think we need improvement in the backs. I think that is fairly obvious. I mean we should seek improvement everywhere of course but the backfield has to improve to be competitive from here on.

Maybe this is a complete non-runner, but I would also agree with the idea raised by someone here about COR maybe brining Bernard Flynn onboard, even temporarily. It just seems to me like Flynn is very eager to be involved and has been for years, and should be afforded a chance. He was kept out of the management position (and they seem to be desperate to keep him out) and clearly he is seen an outsider to the county board, and the U20 saga showed he is a maverick, which I happen to respect, so maybe a coaching/advisory role is the place for him. Look I dont know the internal line on Flynn but surely he could add something to the pie here, maybe I'm wrong.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 27/07/2023 07:14:10    2497199

Replying To Young_gael:  "Just weighing in on the chat regarding the backs.

I agree on Lavin, McGill, and Gallagher. As a trio they were the best line we had in that 2019-2021 run that made Division 1, got two Leinster finals and the Super 8's. They were brilliant and looked comfortable at that level, regardless of the obvious shortcomings of the team in that timeframe - they all had some fantastic individual showings. It is true that any Meath team who were successful were ultimately built on the labour of very solid backfield players, especially in the Full-back position. Meath is famous for producing 2/3 of the best full-backs in the game.

True there have been individual lapses since with the lads I mentioned, 2019 was a peak, and 2019 is a while ago now and things change, but personally I feel if Meath are to now press on and progress further from where we now are after winning the TC, I think we need improvement in the backs. I think that is fairly obvious. I mean we should seek improvement everywhere of course but the backfield has to improve to be competitive from here on.

Maybe this is a complete non-runner, but I would also agree with the idea raised by someone here about COR maybe brining Bernard Flynn onboard, even temporarily. It just seems to me like Flynn is very eager to be involved and has been for years, and should be afforded a chance. He was kept out of the management position (and they seem to be desperate to keep him out) and clearly he is seen an outsider to the county board, and the U20 saga showed he is a maverick, which I happen to respect, so maybe a coaching/advisory role is the place for him. Look I dont know the internal line on Flynn but surely he could add something to the pie here, maybe I'm wrong."
Bringing Flynn in???? Why ? Because he is keen ?? I'm keen to be involved in the management so can i be brought in also ?

What could he possibly offer in an advisory role to someone like COR?

The only thing the u20 saga showed is that if he doesn't get exactly what he wants he'll throw his toys out of the pram and leave 30 odd players who had committed to him in the lurch a couple of weeks before championship.

He should be kept well away.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 27/07/2023 10:45:26    2497237