Meath V Cork Rd 5

a more composed performance , the addition of mento in the middle with his agility and work rate and jones strength and harnan at 6 gives us a stronger spine overall, we can now look forward to Clare next week with confidence

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 13/03/2022 16:57:22    2405185

Replying To MillerX:  "Fair play to you RD with that prediction, I really couldn't see us scoring 18 points with 13 from play. I know it was against fellow strugglers but maybe a bit of form is developing at last and Clare could now be vulnerable. Derry drew with Roscommon today so they may need points when they visit Navan as Roscommon I believe play Galway the same day it could get very cramped at the top. There are a lot of combinations left yet but today was a major, major win."
Had to come good at some stage :). I do think we will win in Ennis next week. After that it gets very dodgy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/03/2022 17:26:58    2405197

Replying To royaldunne:  "Had to come good at some stage :). I do think we will win in Ennis next week. After that it gets very dodgy."
Wouldn't agree to this statement. Possibly worst Cork team ever to visit Navan. Alot of basic errors from both sides and Cork fouling allowed us a foothold. Jones, Keoghan and Hickey won alot of ball and Hogan kicked well at times. Morris a little better. Really unsure of all fullbackline. Harkin likes to carry the ball but unsure of his defending. Expect a tough test in Clare and not huge optimism going there.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 13/03/2022 18:51:15    2405231

First half was much better that what we've seen in the league so far, some very nice football but also some very basic errors allowed Cork to stay in touch - who I might add were woeful.. Probably the worst Cork team I've seen. Thought Ronan Jones was excellent, Mention solid, Morris as expected, Costello is such a stylish player with a lot of potential.

Second half was poor, lot of errors, didn't score for about 15 mins at the start of the half and it was frustrating to watch. We still lack a killer forward I think, Shane Walsh is a very good hold up player but offers nothing on the scoreboard. Morris was okay, offered himself a lot but the ball never arrived. And the reinforcements off the bench don't leave much to be desired.

What's the story with Harry Hogan literally taking every single free? We had a free from the 21 metre line in the first half, just to the right so perfect for Morris - and was baffled when I saw Hogan trotting up the field to take it. Morris visible annoyed, rightly so in my opinion. He kicked well in the first half, but he free taking was very poor in the 2nd. He also spent a lot of time around the middle of the field too, not a fan of the roaming goalkeeper but that's the modern game right?

We should do enough to just about survive now with Cork and Down still to meet and Clare away should be a game we can get something out of. But anyone who thinks we've turned a corner on the back of today needs to think again. Cork was absolutely abysmal and if we were any good, we'd have beaten them by 12+

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 208 - 13/03/2022 19:05:45    2405237

Replying To royaldunne:  "Had to come good at some stage :). I do think we will win in Ennis next week. After that it gets very dodgy."
Sorry you had to miss the game due to Covid. It will be nip and tuck v Clare. Can't see us beating Derry especially if they are looking for points to finish in top two. I too think we are safe as Cork, Down and Offaly are below us and Cork have to play both Offaly and Down so they will loose points to each other. The looser of Cork/Down are in real trouble.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 13/03/2022 19:30:46    2405242

Replying To hyperache:  "First half was much better that what we've seen in the league so far, some very nice football but also some very basic errors allowed Cork to stay in touch - who I might add were woeful.. Probably the worst Cork team I've seen. Thought Ronan Jones was excellent, Mention solid, Morris as expected, Costello is such a stylish player with a lot of potential.

Second half was poor, lot of errors, didn't score for about 15 mins at the start of the half and it was frustrating to watch. We still lack a killer forward I think, Shane Walsh is a very good hold up player but offers nothing on the scoreboard. Morris was okay, offered himself a lot but the ball never arrived. And the reinforcements off the bench don't leave much to be desired.

What's the story with Harry Hogan literally taking every single free? We had a free from the 21 metre line in the first half, just to the right so perfect for Morris - and was baffled when I saw Hogan trotting up the field to take it. Morris visible annoyed, rightly so in my opinion. He kicked well in the first half, but he free taking was very poor in the 2nd. He also spent a lot of time around the middle of the field too, not a fan of the roaming goalkeeper but that's the modern game right?

We should do enough to just about survive now with Cork and Down still to meet and Clare away should be a game we can get something out of. But anyone who thinks we've turned a corner on the back of today needs to think again. Cork was absolutely abysmal and if we were any good, we'd have beaten them by 12+"
Very harsh on hogan. I think it's fair to say he's now our main free taker. And gets more than anyone we've had since Newman got injured. You neglected to say that the free in the corner was against the wind and he also scored it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/03/2022 19:42:09    2405249

Replying To hyperache:  "First half was much better that what we've seen in the league so far, some very nice football but also some very basic errors allowed Cork to stay in touch - who I might add were woeful.. Probably the worst Cork team I've seen. Thought Ronan Jones was excellent, Mention solid, Morris as expected, Costello is such a stylish player with a lot of potential.

We should do enough to just about survive now with Cork and Down still to meet and Clare away should be a game we can get something out of. But anyone who thinks we've turned a corner on the back of today needs to think again. Cork was absolutely abysmal and if we were any good, we'd have beaten them by 12+"
A step up from previous displays, great to see more kickpassing and overall workrate was good. Scully, Costello and Jones covered a lot of ground, not sure what to make of Walsh, very easily dispossed and offers little or nothing on scoreboard, has talent but time has come to produce. Hogan looks like the answer to gk woes, however, depending on him to kick short range frees seems odd,still dont really care who scores, as long as we retain Div 2 status. Cork very poor but so were Down and Offaly so happy to take the win. Small step in right direction.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 13/03/2022 19:48:33    2405251

Great win, but Cork were shocking bad.
Good to see Hogan making the free taker role his own. He's only a young lad and will get better and better.
I'm scratching my head looking at Shane Walsh. It's just not happening for him. He was our next big hope in 2019 but hasn't lived up to up it (yet).
We were great getting players forward from the backs today. Some great penetrating runs from Hickey and Harkin etc.
What I was really happy with was the amount of turnovers we got. Now, that could be down to a poor Cork team caught in possession, but I'd like to give our lads the benefit of the doubt!
A major concern is how many silly frees we gave a away. There was a period at the start of the 2nd half (I think) where gave away 4/5 frees in the space of a minute! We need to cut that crap out.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 13/03/2022 20:15:11    2405256

Replying To bert09:  "A broken clock is correct twice a day"
Or once if it's a 24hr digital clock.

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 13/03/2022 21:04:50    2405268

Much better to watch than last 5years. Team much more mobile down the middle. More secure at the back. Better able to attack. A small few more changes and Meath onto something. Top class lads in panel incl Brian Conlon who was not used. Hope to not hear lack of players trotted out again as excuse for poor management decisions

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 13/03/2022 21:41:37    2405283

Replying To Ashrules:  "Much better to watch than last 5years. Team much more mobile down the middle. More secure at the back. Better able to attack. A small few more changes and Meath onto something. Top class lads in panel incl Brian Conlon who was not used. Hope to not hear lack of players trotted out again as excuse for poor management decisions"
Are you taking the mick ? That was still way below what we have done previously.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2022 08:04:17    2405292

A strong chance we win the all ireland now.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 14/03/2022 10:00:38    2405310

A lot of negativity somehow despite a really good performance in particular in the first half. Menton and Jones being back is an unbelievable boost. It changes the feel and physicality of the team entirely. Also people saying we finally kicked the ball as if the game plan prior had been to just handpass it constantly. There was more kick passing into Morris in particular and Walsh to some extent but a big part of that was our tackling intensity. Scully, Walsh, Cillian, Thomas, Costello and Jones were really physical and put in a serious shift in the first half to get so many turnovers in the middle 3rd. When you get those turnovers the opposition isn't set and then you get 1 on 1's where you can give the ball in. I don't think it was a change in game plan just a much better execution of the original plan. And the running game is still a huge weapon for us. Hickey, Keoghan, Harkin, Jones, Menton and Cillian are all really strong direct runners so that will certainly be a key part of our play. We've given ourselves plenty of breathing room and a lot of negative energy has been lifted off the team. Clare next week and we've a good record against them recently so let's hope we can back it up and guarantee safety and build form for the championship

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 14/03/2022 10:08:08    2405314

Replying To hurlit:  "A strong chance we win the all ireland now."
How's the hurlers doin ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2022 10:12:08    2405319

Good win but that must be the worst Cork team in memory. Some great turnovers in middle third in first half that set the tone. Scully was excellent. Menton made a massive difference and Jones and Keoghan were very good also. However Morris didn't look up to his usual standard and Walsh while good to collect didn't do much afterwards. Harry Hogan is a revelation and if this campaign has done one thing it's found a keeper. Still not sure about a county senior team needing a keeper to take frees so close to goal. Based on that performance and Clare's at the weekend there's another two points in Ennis

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 14/03/2022 11:17:34    2405345

I think considering where we were we will take anything we can get at this stage. Menton's return along with Jones probably justifies Andy continuing with Shane for as long as he could as he would have know that Menton was coming along to slot in.

Hogan on the frees is definitely a positive and very welcome but it may not be doing a whole lot for the confidence of Shane Walsh or Jordan Morris. For many players scoring is a confidence game and when you see your goalie trotting up by you to take a free you feel should be yours it can knock you back a bit. Cant see that arrangement changing though after Hogan's performance.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 14/03/2022 12:04:06    2405357

A lot of good and bad on display yesterday. Hogan did well with the frees in the 1st half, definite work in progress and hopefully will improve as he missed a few. Most agree that the return of Menton/Jones gives the team a totally different dynamic. Kick passing seems to be back, thank God as it's been painful to watch up to this, probably related to the return of the 2 lads.
Still giving away silly frees and while we won a lot of turnovers, there was some very poor tackling which gave Cork a lifeline.
Anything at all against Clare next day and we're OK.
As for Cork, I'd say they'd struggle in D3, they were abysmal, worst I've ever seen from them. Think they have Down next and I'd have Down as the better of the 2.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 14/03/2022 13:20:22    2405378

Replying To moylagh:  "A lot of good and bad on display yesterday. Hogan did well with the frees in the 1st half, definite work in progress and hopefully will improve as he missed a few. Most agree that the return of Menton/Jones gives the team a totally different dynamic. Kick passing seems to be back, thank God as it's been painful to watch up to this, probably related to the return of the 2 lads.
Still giving away silly frees and while we won a lot of turnovers, there was some very poor tackling which gave Cork a lifeline.
Anything at all against Clare next day and we're OK.
As for Cork, I'd say they'd struggle in D3, they were abysmal, worst I've ever seen from them. Think they have Down next and I'd have Down as the better of the 2."
The s/c of Cork players well below minimum standard required for intercounty football, not surprising as many are in their first season. Good to see a more direct approach and seemed to suit the players better. Gave away a lot of frees and ball moved forward several times for various reasons. As poor as Cork were they got through our defence with ease a number of times. Still need as many points as possible from last two games, remain in Div 2 and make sure of place in A/I series.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 14/03/2022 14:04:38    2405392

Firstly, well done to team and management on winning yesterday. They performed well, did what was needed and things looked a lot more structured and organised. However i think we need to take this performance with a huge pinch of salt, that's easily by a distance the worst Cork team I have ever seen and they were kept in the game at times by continued poor shooting and selections from our players as well as indiscipline too.

I didn't comment after the Offaly game as i will admit i had a huge amount of anger and frustration and it truly pushed me over the edge. Said i was better kept to keep my council and consider things after another day. That Offaly game i saw a lot of people saying great to see Meath fighting spirit and never say die back and i couldn't believe what i was reading... a lot of those same people were saying it was on Offaly before hand and we'd beat them handy... well by God were we lucky to get away with things in Tullamore.

Yesterday we were the better of two very poor teams and looking ahead and to playing better teams our performance yesterday won't be good enough. There was a lot of poor decision making by multiple players, soft free's given away and that gets punished by better teams. I wouldn't be getting too high after yesterday and would be wary heading to Clare (i'm assuming this will be switched to Milltown/Malbay, rather than a wide open Ennis pitch) There's still a job of work to do to secure division 2 and avoid the Tailtean Cup. I would hope yesterday will give the team and management a little momentum to build on.

A few notes on players.
- Hogan whilst doing well on free's is still a little untested and some of the short kick outs we saw yesterday will get punished by the better teams.
- Jones and Menton have improved the team and Harnan dropping into the sweeper/CHB role added a bit of stability.
- We have some great defenders going forward but I would worry about them defensively, Harkin is very small and not a full back, Clarke and Muldoon are still cutting their teeth and might not hold up in championship fair.
- Hickey, Costello and Walsh all seem to have regressed a little and don't look to be playing as they have previously. Now maybe the heavy training, sigerson and county matches has them a bit fatigued and we might see them pick up again during championship but i worry have they just regressed too far.
- James McEntee is so frustrating, you'd think after a straight red he'd tried and keep his nose clean and he clothes lines a guy 30 seconds after coming in. I think he's more suited to a WHF role rather than defender.
- Forwards whilst all scoring yesterday still lack a cohesion and stucture with a CHF linking everything up,

Final note.
Saw Cillian was captain yesterday but wasn't due to start and James McEntee and Ethan Devine dropped out of the starting 15. So who was the captain originally selected? I think Cillian deserves the honor but if he's captain now Shane is gone why wasn't he starting??

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/03/2022 16:18:20    2405424

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "A lot of negativity somehow despite a really good performance in particular in the first half. Menton and Jones being back is an unbelievable boost. It changes the feel and physicality of the team entirely. Also people saying we finally kicked the ball as if the game plan prior had been to just handpass it constantly. There was more kick passing into Morris in particular and Walsh to some extent but a big part of that was our tackling intensity. Scully, Walsh, Cillian, Thomas, Costello and Jones were really physical and put in a serious shift in the first half to get so many turnovers in the middle 3rd. When you get those turnovers the opposition isn't set and then you get 1 on 1's where you can give the ball in. I don't think it was a change in game plan just a much better execution of the original plan. And the running game is still a huge weapon for us. Hickey, Keoghan, Harkin, Jones, Menton and Cillian are all really strong direct runners so that will certainly be a key part of our play. We've given ourselves plenty of breathing room and a lot of negative energy has been lifted off the team. Clare next week and we've a good record against them recently so let's hope we can back it up and guarantee safety and build form for the championship"
LR, good points as always. I wouldn't say its negativity more tempered expectations given how often we've seen false dawns and no consistency. As you say hopefully we go to Clare, get something and build again but it's that once bitten twice shy thing that would be in my mind. Also for me it's looking at yesterday and seeing is there nay sign of us bridging the gap to Galway/ Roscommon and I don't think there is. And could we beat Derry if we really need to on the last day, i dunno. So for me we've slipped back massively from where we were and are now struggling in the 11-14th best team in the country range. For me I'll never accept that Meath people are happy about us being in that range. I accept we are where we are due to numerous well documented issues and hopefully work is being done to correct this. But for me I was raised on Meath being perennial contenders and will accept a few down years but they've been going on far too long now. That's not a go at you, more an impassioned fan like yourself saying their piece.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/03/2022 16:27:13    2405430