Meath V Down. Rd 3.

Replying To latouche25:  "the thing that got me most yesterday was the constant changing of free taker in the second half. Goalie scores 2 great frees into the wind. misses 1 in the second then Walsh steps up, he misses, then Sully, then goalie again then Morris. You wouldn't see the likes in a juvenile game. Anyway the point gained yesterday will save us in Div2. We will beat Offaly who are awful, We are as good as Clare and will probably beat them. Cork are no great shakes and we will probably take them as well."
So Offaly are awful, we are just as awful so in Tullamore anything can happen, "as good as Clare" the evidence at this present minute suggests otherwise as they drew with Roscommon in Roscommon yesterday, yea remember Roscommon they beat us in Navan and some of their club champions returned for that game against Clare. Something drastic needs to happen OR we won't beat Clare. "Cork are no great shakes" either, again if we continue as we are I wouldn't put a minute's wages on us.

Listen, and this is first time I am calling for it, McEntee is a deadman walking since the Co Executive voted against him, his interest probably dropped alarmingly after that vote, only to be saved by the delegates. It's not working out, let him go now, put Cathal O'Bric or John McCarthy or if the top table already have someone else in mind in charge NOW, let them learn something extra about the panel during the remainder of the League and be ready to make some headway in the Championship because unless we reach the Leinster final we are in the Tailtean Cup and that is for sure. As things stand the only chance of reaching the Leinster final is if Kildare and Dublin meet in the semifinal but remember Laois or Wicklow are also in the way. Desperate situations need desperate remedies.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 21/02/2022 16:18:20    2401673

Replying To Diego:  "Had the same thought after the match."
Yeah guy behind me said it to me aswell.
Ah well plenty on here have him enough bs when he was playing , fact is he hasn't been replaced. And may I state this clearly he was very badly treated by management too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2022 16:57:40    2401694

Replying To brian:  "Great point as usual from you Crinigan. I'd say we missed 14 players yesterday as Keoghan was the only one to perform at or above the level we know he's capable of. There were another couple of lads who deserve credit in Hogan, Clarke, Muldoon, Harkin, Hickey and possibly Scully who are making their way this season, Jones was good to have back, everyone else was poor and did nothing worth remembering and the bench didn't have any impact on proceedings. Every flaw and more was on display yesterday - Kickouts & strategy, free taking, midfield and some new ones added to it in lack of any forwards worth mentioning, no cohesive attacking strategy, a team devoid of a single leader and a bench which had no impact at all.

I genuinely can see us going down now and a few lads walking away before the championship. Maybe a year or two of Tailteann cup, allowing a team of younger players to bed in and say good bye to most of the lads from the 2012 minor team and we might be going somewhere but i still don't think it's going to be a new dawn.

People are taking Offaly for granted already, likely the same people took Down for granted this week and look what we ended up with yesterday. They're also saying we're on a level with Clare... a county that's predominantly a hurling county,,,,, that's a disgrace. If we didn't get another point from our remaining 4 fixtures it wouldn't surprise me, and anyone talking us up is basing it on blind faith because we've shown nothing this season to suggest we're anything to talk about.

We'll get the usual rhetoric of weather, injuries, players missing etc but that's the same for both teams and lets not forget yesterday Down were without their Kilcoo contingent. James McCartan has just returned and already Down look like a better organised team than they were last season and should improve further."
Keoghan wasn't even the best player yesterday (jones was) and unless my eyes deceived me he made quite a few errors too yesterday including giving the ball up very cheaply that lead to Down scoring

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2022 17:00:03    2401695

I'd say ill be pilloried for this one lads but here's my thoughts.

Meath have declined substantially over the last two years; we havent beaten a top team in 10/12 attempts between 2019 and 2022 and with the exception of Donegal twice and Monaghan once we never got within 2/3 points or a draw. We're miles off that level and I think everyone who follows Meath football knows that now for a good while. Our last win of note in the championship occured over ten years ago. I would argue as well that in 2019 (our best season in maybe 20 years) we got lucky and captured lightning in a bottle in the league and a good, lucky run in the championship. People's heads were up, the players were confident, the management was meeting the expectations and the feeling was in 2020 we would give Division one a crack and see where we were. We all know how things have slowly declined since then.

But my point is that even in 2019 and 2020 when we were winning games and establishing a bit of a foothold, we were lucky. Ive very frequently said that our good management and ability to put together a properly trained and conditioned panel compared to most other counties saw us over the line against teams we should always be beating only due to high workrate, ability to play with pace through the middle and play a zonal sprint based handpassing game up to the D; where most of our scores were taken from. Apart from that, any team of any ability and a certain level of physicality and height would suffocate the life out of Meath under McEntee because we simply didnt have the tools to generate scoring chances or penetrate tackles or win our own ball anywhere on the pitch. Hence why Longford beat us in 2018, Sligo could have won a qualifier in 2018 in Navan, and we got out of jail against Offaly in Navan in 2019. This Meath team, by accident or by purpose, is one of the most limited we've ever had as regards scoring ability. There are sides in Division 3 and Division 4 btw, who would give Meath hell because of the limitations to how they attack. This is also something that will not change under the current management and with the entirety of the current panel because that is the type of player we have nurtured to this level. Gone be the day when 80% of the Meath team were brutes of men who could create magic from breaks or from a bit of creativity or imagination. We now have an endless amount of fit, talented and athletic smaller players but who lack creativity, strength or confidence to go out and do something - because they stick to the current plan and if it fails they then regroup and keep possession and ultimately try plan A again 20/30 seconds later. If they then lose the ball they then scramble to win it back and then its back to plan A or else filter back and sit deep. Kickouts are hail mary, free kicks are hail mary, Substitutions are hail
mary. We simply arent at the races.

My conclusion is that a year or two in division 3, although it pains me to say, is probably the best option going forward to develop a reorganisation of management, panel, goals. All three needs addressing and again it pains me to say in February but I cant wait for this season to be over already so this process can get underway. I have the height of respect for where we are and what has been done in the last few years but I personally feel that its time for change across the board, and a dodgy win or two in this league campaign to prolong our collective miseries for another year wont do any good.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 21/02/2022 17:38:25    2401702

Replying To latouche25:  "the thing that got me most yesterday was the constant changing of free taker in the second half. Goalie scores 2 great frees into the wind. misses 1 in the second then Walsh steps up, he misses, then Sully, then goalie again then Morris. You wouldn't see the likes in a juvenile game. Anyway the point gained yesterday will save us in Div2. We will beat Offaly who are awful, We are as good as Clare and will probably beat them. Cork are no great shakes and we will probably take them as well."
Harry Hogan took the frees into the wind because the range of Morris or Walsh out of the hands is diminished kicking into that wind. Then in the second half Walsh kicked 2 from his side. Morris kicked 2 or 3 from his side. And Hogan kicked 2 off the ground. You could argue that Hogan should have maybe kicked 1 or 2 from Morris' side but Morris kicked one over and had the range on the other it just went wide. The one from the sideline was a stupid shot to take on so that's more about the decision to kick rather than who kicked it. There's absolutely plenty to complain about from last weekend and indeed the season so far. But Walsh kicking it with his right foot and then Morris kicking it from the with his left foot isn't changing your free taker it's incredibly rare that a free taker moves the entire way around the pitch unless. Even Sean O'Shea leaves left footed frees to Clifford. And Rock often left them to Mannion. And Harry Hogan did kick 2 great ones to start but he missed 3 in the second half and Cillian didn't kick a free at all. Right now we have 3 dead ball takers. Morris from the right side of the pitch short-mid distances, Walsh from the left side short-mid distance and Hogan off the ground from long range (or short range when into a massive wind and it's essentially a long range free). There's plenty to complain about so don't just make up things that happened

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1465 - 21/02/2022 17:39:59    2401703

Replying To hurlit:  "We also thought we would get promoted.
We also thought beating dublin in leinster was possible this year , a competition we mostly likely wont even be in now.
Should i go on?"
I didn't think we would get promoted or beat Dublin. I know we are not good enough to be in div1 but we are not as bad as the teams in div 3. We are on the same level as Clare Cork Down. I'm not saying it's an achievement to be on the same level I'm just pointing out from my point of view that's where I see them.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 21/02/2022 18:12:35    2401714

Another game, same tatics that have failed time and time again, no score from play in second half with strong wind behind us, we have become a team so bereft of confidence with very few players willing or able to show leadership. Survival looks like an outside bet, on evidence of last five games we must be very poor odds to stay up. Of course change should be made, however, it will not happen as too many people would have to admit to making ill-informed choices last year.The usual excuses will surface, no county changes mid-season, who could possibly replace current manager and best of all "Meath would be a laughing stock" Well news-flash that boat has well and truly sailed Offaly may be poor but no worse than us and will relish the chance to push us closer to the drop. The best our stand in manager could up with after game was "A little bit disappointed, but hopefully we can learn from that and improve the next day." Words to inspire any team.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 21/02/2022 19:37:31    2401725

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah guy behind me said it to me aswell.
Ah well plenty on here have him enough bs when he was playing , fact is he hasn't been replaced. And may I state this clearly he was very badly treated by management too."
If ye think on the day that was in it that player would have gone to the trenches and dug out a win.ye are more deluded than i thought.holy god.ket this reign end the county is been held to ransom its divided and its all down to pure clueless tactics,basics,team selection do i have to go on.jesus mary and the little donkey.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 22/02/2022 08:15:07    2401753

Replying To Young_gael:  "I'd say ill be pilloried for this one lads but here's my thoughts.

Meath have declined substantially over the last two years; we havent beaten a top team in 10/12 attempts between 2019 and 2022 and with the exception of Donegal twice and Monaghan once we never got within 2/3 points or a draw. We're miles off that level and I think everyone who follows Meath football knows that now for a good while. Our last win of note in the championship occured over ten years ago. I would argue as well that in 2019 (our best season in maybe 20 years) we got lucky and captured lightning in a bottle in the league and a good, lucky run in the championship. People's heads were up, the players were confident, the management was meeting the expectations and the feeling was in 2020 we would give Division one a crack and see where we were. We all know how things have slowly declined since then.

But my point is that even in 2019 and 2020 when we were winning games and establishing a bit of a foothold, we were lucky. Ive very frequently said that our good management and ability to put together a properly trained and conditioned panel compared to most other counties saw us over the line against teams we should always be beating only due to high workrate, ability to play with pace through the middle and play a zonal sprint based handpassing game up to the D; where most of our scores were taken from. Apart from that, any team of any ability and a certain level of physicality and height would suffocate the life out of Meath under McEntee because we simply didnt have the tools to generate scoring chances or penetrate tackles or win our own ball anywhere on the pitch. Hence why Longford beat us in 2018, Sligo could have won a qualifier in 2018 in Navan, and we got out of jail against Offaly in Navan in 2019. This Meath team, by accident or by purpose, is one of the most limited we've ever had as regards scoring ability. There are sides in Division 3 and Division 4 btw, who would give Meath hell because of the limitations to how they attack. This is also something that will not change under the current management and with the entirety of the current panel because that is the type of player we have nurtured to this level. Gone be the day when 80% of the Meath team were brutes of men who could create magic from breaks or from a bit of creativity or imagination. We now have an endless amount of fit, talented and athletic smaller players but who lack creativity, strength or confidence to go out and do something - because they stick to the current plan and if it fails they then regroup and keep possession and ultimately try plan A again 20/30 seconds later. If they then lose the ball they then scramble to win it back and then its back to plan A or else filter back and sit deep. Kickouts are hail mary, free kicks are hail mary, Substitutions are hail

My conclusion is that a year or two in division 3, although it pains me to say, is probably the best option going forward to develop a reorganisation of management, panel, goals. All three needs addressing and again it pains me to say in February but I cant wait for this season to be over already so this process can get underway. I have the height of respect for where we are and what has been done in the last few years but I personally feel that its time for change across the board, and a dodgy win or two in this league campaign to prolong our collective miseries for another year wont do any good."
Imagine we won the Tailteann cup with all the young lads coming through in 2023. I think it would be a fantastic way to blood young lads and get a progressive modern and motivating new management team off to a good start. It wouldn't be a cake walk either. No point hanging around Div 2 by finger nails like a bad smell. Blow the thing up and start again at senior level. Nothing to lose.

Personally i think div3 would be for the best in this respect. Doesn't look like we are good enough for Div2 with current arrangement (panel and management) even though though it's a weak division this year (only 2 ulster teams and not the better ones).
Let's embrace where we are - we've cracking young lads coming through that need to be carefully blooded and no better place than Div 3 which is a tough division to get out of in terms of mental strength and determination (we'd definitely have talent to get out of it). The next management setup has to be the right one though or at least close to the right one.

I'd give it to Kevin Reilly to lead a strong back room staff (get likes of Cian ward , Mickey Newman, Brian Farrell and some outside experts in).

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/02/2022 08:57:10    2401761

Replying To Borderroyal:  "If ye think on the day that was in it that player would have gone to the trenches and dug out a win.ye are more deluded than i thought.holy god.ket this reign end the county is been held to ransom its divided and its all down to pure clueless tactics,basics,team selection do i have to go on.jesus mary and the little donkey."
You are totally deluded if you think that a player like that who actually could shoot from 45 line wouldn't have made a difference you don't know much about football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/02/2022 09:27:43    2401766

Replying To Crinigan:  "Imagine we won the Tailteann cup with all the young lads coming through in 2023. I think it would be a fantastic way to blood young lads and get a progressive modern and motivating new management team off to a good start. It wouldn't be a cake walk either. No point hanging around Div 2 by finger nails like a bad smell. Blow the thing up and start again at senior level. Nothing to lose.

Personally i think div3 would be for the best in this respect. Doesn't look like we are good enough for Div2 with current arrangement (panel and management) even though though it's a weak division this year (only 2 ulster teams and not the better ones).
Let's embrace where we are - we've cracking young lads coming through that need to be carefully blooded and no better place than Div 3 which is a tough division to get out of in terms of mental strength and determination (we'd definitely have talent to get out of it). The next management setup has to be the right one though or at least close to the right one.

I'd give it to Kevin Reilly to lead a strong back room staff (get likes of Cian ward , Mickey Newman, Brian Farrell and some outside experts in)."
Kevin Reilly famously quoted that Meath under mod was the fittest team in Ireland, as good as Olympians if I remember correctly. While been the unfittest. I would worry about him in that regard.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/02/2022 09:29:54    2401767

Replying To Young_gael:  "I'd say ill be pilloried for this one lads but here's my thoughts.

My conclusion is that a year or two in division 3, although it pains me to say, is probably the best option going forward to develop a reorganisation of management, panel, goals. All three needs addressing and again it pains me to say in February but I cant wait for this season to be over already so this process can get underway. I have the height of respect for where we are and what has been done in the last few years but I personally feel that its time for change across the board, and a dodgy win or two in this league campaign to prolong our collective miseries for another year wont do any good."
Theres nothing in there for you to be pilloried about Young_gael, think you've made some really good points and highlighted a lot of key issues and fair play to you. There'll be a few who'll come back and tell you how close we ran Donegal and Tyrone in the championship in 17 and 18 but I'm looking at the last three years and bar the odd match (I'd go as far as say take out the Kildare match in 2020 which now looks the complete exception) we're a bang average division 2 team. I thought we were closer than we are but players are stagnating and going backwards at a rate of knots. We're not a top 12 anymore and sliding further away with every passing game.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/02/2022 09:54:39    2401776

Replying To royaldunne:  "You are totally deluded if you think that a player like that who actually could shoot from 45 line wouldn't have made a difference you don't know much about football."
So in one breadth you're telling us he was badly treated by management and in the next you're telling us he's a maverick who wouldn't stick to the dictated plan of not shooting from 45/50 metres... which is it RD???

Failing to stick the the game plan A and then Game plan A again and Game plan A after that and he'd have been whipped off in no time. Sure didn't you say he was treated badly by management, so no room for Mavericks...

Cillian O'Sullivan can do everything you say Graham the great can and yet look at him on Sunday, pass the buck and no impact, and don't shoot from distance..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/02/2022 09:59:52    2401777

Replying To royaldunne:  "Kevin Reilly famously quoted that Meath under mod was the fittest team in Ireland, as good as Olympians if I remember correctly. While been the unfittest. I would worry about him in that regard."
oh here we go the MOD bashing has started again.... What's the chap supposed to say, we're not fit during a manager's time in charge??? Can you provide a source for this quote cos I don't remember hearing it myself.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/02/2022 10:01:55    2401778

Thanks Crinigan and Brian for responding to me earlier on.

I agree with ye as well and all I'd add on is that I feel like we need a reset. The mens senior team has declined in the last two or three seasons and along with the team as a collective unit, many, many skilled players have come and gone, or have burned themselves out or have found themselves low on form as a result of the last few years.

The minors of recent years proves that the raw material is still in Meath. The ladies prove that the spirit and soul of our county is still alive and well. We just need to sit back and re-evaluate the senior mens game and where we are in it. Are our seniors enjoying their time in the jersey? I personally feel like the poor lads cant be - theres immense pressure on them to always be a step better than what they are, theres always a carcophony of negativity found on the stands and a lot of it is simply misplaced desire and longing to be where we once were. But we arent and wont be for a long, long time.

The idea of a competition aimed at developing counties such as ourselves and weaker counties (Tailteann cup/ Division 3/4 cup) is our level at this moment and ought to be when we start bringing young talent through again under the next management. This level is also the level of other large, traditional counties such as Cork and Down and Cavan and Derry. If you take those teams and ourselves and others such as Louth, Laois, Tipp, Clare, Fermanagh, Antrim, Longford, Westmeath youd have a hell of a championship in the summer. The teams such as Waterford, Wexford, Leitrim, London, Kilkenny should have another championship a further tier down. This is the only way forward in my eyes where everyone (managers, players,supporters) is respected and has a fair chance.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 22/02/2022 10:39:20    2401797

Replying To Crinigan:  "Imagine we won the Tailteann cup with all the young lads coming through in 2023. I think it would be a fantastic way to blood young lads and get a progressive modern and motivating new management team off to a good start. It wouldn't be a cake walk either. No point hanging around Div 2 by finger nails like a bad smell. Blow the thing up and start again at senior level. Nothing to lose.

I'd give it to Kevin Reilly to lead a strong back room staff (get likes of Cian ward , Mickey Newman, Brian Farrell and some outside experts in)."
I'd leave Kevin Reilly where he is. A good young manager who has done a really good job with Trim but also I think it is fair to say Trim were destined to get up to senior at some point soon. Fair play to Reilly he was the one to get them over the line and I do think he is a future Meath manager but I think next year would be too soon for him. I know he has previous experience as Senior manager of Navan but I would still leave him be for a few more years yet and let him get another 3 or 4 years under his belt.

I would like too see someone with good inter county experience and a decent track record in inter county taking over next year. That probably rules any Meath men but if that is the case so be it. Lets get the best possible person to do it regardless of where he is from.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 22/02/2022 10:44:09    2401799

Replying To BigJoe14:  "The game should not have gone ahead, considering the weather yesterday. Why were all club games deemed not safe to go ahead (right decision by the way) yet it was deemed safe to have a game in Navan yesterday? Surface on the pitch was fine but the wind made it nearly impossible for both teams. People saying how bad it was for Meath to score three frees only with the wind, yet the wind was nearly to strong and shots from distance could have really gone anywhere once the ball was put up into the air. Now the players and management have to deal with more hyperbole negativity driven people with not a clue about what they are talking about. Local media outlets should have more cop on as well. The line of questioning by some local media to the management yesterday, and after other games, is ridiculously negative and looking for dooms day scenarios based on what they see on the score board only. Yes, confidence is now low and one point after three game is not where they need to be, but there is still a lot to play for."
Really?? You are blaming the weather and having a go at the media!! Reminiscent to the behavior to our incumbent manager! deflect deflect deflect

Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 22/02/2022 12:25:39    2401834

Replying To brian:  "oh here we go the MOD bashing has started again.... What's the chap supposed to say, we're not fit during a manager's time in charge??? Can you provide a source for this quote cos I don't remember hearing it myself."
I think MoD had us playing really exciting football, we were devastating at times but very inconsistent in what was an era of very defensive football (he'd be more suited to crrrbt modern style). He just jettisoned too many experienced lads too quickly which was crazy in hindsight. In terms of tactics though and fitness, I didn't see an issue. Probably not best man manager either but was definitely unlucky also.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/02/2022 12:51:02    2401846

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I'd leave Kevin Reilly where he is. A good young manager who has done a really good job with Trim but also I think it is fair to say Trim were destined to get up to senior at some point soon. Fair play to Reilly he was the one to get them over the line and I do think he is a future Meath manager but I think next year would be too soon for him. I know he has previous experience as Senior manager of Navan but I would still leave him be for a few more years yet and let him get another 3 or 4 years under his belt.

I would like too see someone with good inter county experience and a decent track record in inter county taking over next year. That probably rules any Meath men but if that is the case so be it. Lets get the best possible person to do it regardless of where he is from."
That's fair enough comment. I think we need someone the players can really look up to though and be inspired and not an old school disciplinarian type. It's a buy into a lifestyle kind of setup we need. Not a shut up and train like a dog when I tell you to kind of a thing.

Paul Galvin has Meath connections and is a born winner and intelligent man. Would be excited by him. Eamonn Fitzmaurice be interesting too. As would Rory Gallagher if not still with Derry next year. Tony McEntee (ex crossmagle) also interesting profile albeit he hasn't set intercounty scene alight.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/02/2022 12:56:59    2401849

Points well made Crinigan. Look at what knocking on the door and playing at intermediate did for our wonderful Ladies team. They took 3 attempts to get to senior but developed their own style of play, everyone knew what they should be doing, how to do it and everyone knew their role within the team. Now obviously the games aren't directly comparable but if we could build the men's team like that, a distinct style of play (hopefully attacking football) and have everyone within the team comfortable and knowing what they're doing at all times you will make for a better team in the medium term.

I'd maybe pump the breaks on Kevin Reilly but no harm in involving him in the set up and have him in line for the next time the job opens up. I'd like to bring in someone like a Robbie Brennan (Kilmacud) or Malachy O'Rourke and see if they can resurrect some of the current squad (i.e the O'Sullivans, McGills and Harnans of the squad), Clear out some of the deadwood who get game based on who they are and not what they produce on the pitch, bring through the next group (Costello, Morris, Hickey, Harkin, Walsh and Hogan) and bleed in the batch from successful underage teams. Maybe bring in Brian Farrell too as you say given his successes as a manager thus far as a forwards coach as we're not getting enough form our current forward line.

The squad at the moment is bereft of confidence, leadership on and off the pitch and just sleep walking from match to match hoping something will change, rather than making the change.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/02/2022 13:11:15    2401857