Meath V Down. Rd 3.

Probably the worst 2nd half performance for a long long time, woeful stuff. Conditions obviously weren't great, but to only score 3 points was again embarrassing. Down didn't score at all in the 2nd half and we still couldn't get over the line.

That seems to be the word to some up this year so far, embarrassing! Don't know what to say anymore. This lack of scoring has been a feature of McEntee's Meath over the last few years, we go through large periods of games not scoring. Is it a lack of forwards? Poor tactics? How many games have we scored poorly in?

When you watch teams progress like Derry, Armagh, Kildare, how are Meath so far behind? Down are not a good team, no disrespect to them but we should be beating them like 8/10 points+ at home. Relegation scrap well and truly on, they'll probably scramble over the line but very very poor. Have said it on previous threads, the sooner McEntee is gone the better. He brough us great hope and optimism at one point, but the last 2 years has just been regression and it's getting worse and worse.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 208 - 20/02/2022 19:35:25    2401414

Replying To thelutch:  "Disappointing result in the end, got into a very good position at half time, thought we would have enough to get over the line but in fairness to Down they managed the game better than we did and could have snatched it.

The Biffos will be a dogfight next week but I would be extremely disappointed if we cannot beat them, they are the worst team in the group.

The Cork game at home is now probably going to be our biggest game of the year."
Don't underestimate the biffos or over estimated our lot .
Offaly never fear Meath and no matter how poor they are if we play like we have so far in the league they will beat us in Tullamore .
McEntees lartargic style of football has us where we are it makes us easy to defend against and beatable by anyone , todays second half display was as bad as it gets .

Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 20/02/2022 20:13:14    2401439

Disappointed is the only word I have. Should have won. Kicked too many wides. Don't know what else to add.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2022 20:44:59    2401447

Great to see Jones back and he made a difference around the middle. In the first half when we moved the ball quickly we got good scores particularly the goals. Why do we have to try to walk the ball into the D practically before we have a shot. Second half was crying out for someone to take long range shots on. It was a tough wind to play with but 3 points from greed isn't good enough at this level. We persisted with almost everyone behind the ball in the 2nd half with the wind and tried to hand pass our way up the pitch instead of using the elements. Several occasions today players just didn't look up and play first time ball. For some, at least to me, they have to have a solo or hop and we lose momentum. I remember one In particular in front of the stand where the player soloed and hopped the ball and passed it over the side line where If ho looked up first time we had two players in good positions ahead of him. Taking a free less than 7 or 8 yards to another player is school boy stuff.
Where do we go from here? Don't know why COS is on the bench perhaps he's carrying a knock but he's the type of player we need on the pitch not warming the bench.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 20/02/2022 21:04:07    2401456

Replying To Diego:  "Great to see Jones back and he made a difference around the middle. In the first half when we moved the ball quickly we got good scores particularly the goals. Why do we have to try to walk the ball into the D practically before we have a shot. Second half was crying out for someone to take long range shots on. It was a tough wind to play with but 3 points from greed isn't good enough at this level. We persisted with almost everyone behind the ball in the 2nd half with the wind and tried to hand pass our way up the pitch instead of using the elements. Several occasions today players just didn't look up and play first time ball. For some, at least to me, they have to have a solo or hop and we lose momentum. I remember one In particular in front of the stand where the player soloed and hopped the ball and passed it over the side line where If ho looked up first time we had two players in good positions ahead of him. Taking a free less than 7 or 8 yards to another player is school boy stuff.
Where do we go from here? Don't know why COS is on the bench perhaps he's carrying a knock but he's the type of player we need on the pitch not warming the bench."
Your point about walking the ball walk into the D before shooting is spot on. At halftime I assumed, with that gale behind us we would score a lot of scores from far out. Down in the first half got a few scores from out the field but it never seemed to cross our lads minds to take any shots on from infront of the Down blanket, it was try to go through crowded areas to get to non existent space inside or draw a free. In the conditions it seemed so strange (and from memory I think the same story played out in the previous game), for most of the half we were attacking but it was just the same thing repeating itself over and over again. I think this is what cost us winning this match yesterday.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1361 - 21/02/2022 11:05:52    2401530

The game should not have gone ahead, considering the weather yesterday. Why were all club games deemed not safe to go ahead (right decision by the way) yet it was deemed safe to have a game in Navan yesterday? Surface on the pitch was fine but the wind made it nearly impossible for both teams. People saying how bad it was for Meath to score three frees only with the wind, yet the wind was nearly to strong and shots from distance could have really gone anywhere once the ball was put up into the air. Now the players and management have to deal with more hyperbole negativity driven people with not a clue about what they are talking about. Local media outlets should have more cop on as well. The line of questioning by some local media to the management yesterday, and after other games, is ridiculously negative and looking for dooms day scenarios based on what they see on the score board only. Yes, confidence is now low and one point after three game is not where they need to be, but there is still a lot to play for.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 21/02/2022 12:13:46    2401559

Very disappointing again. The endless running to the absolutely safest place to be 100%sure of a score, getting held up, turn around, recycle, repeat. And on no account take a shot at goal. To be fair it appears to be a mindset in coaching generally eg Cork full back v Derry passing when he had a shot on while 8 yards out, Donegal twice hand passing a point when a goal was on. Compare it to Kerry where Clifford took shots on sight , missed a couple , fluked a goal against Patten (not easy!). Seanie Shea puts the first sideline over the bar and continued in the same vein for the whole first half and most of the second. They have shown strongest so far and the freedom to take a shot seems to be encouraged. Its not the silver bullet but a bit more footpassing quick ball occasionally in to the forwards and give them their head might help. Offaly are awful and the Cork game will decide who goes down with them. Cork are missing Connolly badly and are in transition so Division 2 next year is still an option. If not it looks like we might have a trip to London at least.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 21/02/2022 12:38:40    2401565

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Your point about walking the ball walk into the D before shooting is spot on. At halftime I assumed, with that gale behind us we would score a lot of scores from far out. Down in the first half got a few scores from out the field but it never seemed to cross our lads minds to take any shots on from infront of the Down blanket, it was try to go through crowded areas to get to non existent space inside or draw a free. In the conditions it seemed so strange (and from memory I think the same story played out in the previous game), for most of the half we were attacking but it was just the same thing repeating itself over and over again. I think this is what cost us winning this match yesterday."
Therefore instructions to change tactics should have been relaid to players from sideline, also work the ball into scoring positions from the terrace side as practically impossible to score from stand side due to wind conditions

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 21/02/2022 12:53:30    2401571

Dare I say it. We seriously missed graham Reilly on a day like yesterday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2022 13:15:07    2401583

Replying To BigJoe14:  "The game should not have gone ahead, considering the weather yesterday. Why were all club games deemed not safe to go ahead (right decision by the way) yet it was deemed safe to have a game in Navan yesterday? Surface on the pitch was fine but the wind made it nearly impossible for both teams. People saying how bad it was for Meath to score three frees only with the wind, yet the wind was nearly to strong and shots from distance could have really gone anywhere once the ball was put up into the air. Now the players and management have to deal with more hyperbole negativity driven people with not a clue about what they are talking about. Local media outlets should have more cop on as well. The line of questioning by some local media to the management yesterday, and after other games, is ridiculously negative and looking for dooms day scenarios based on what they see on the score board only. Yes, confidence is now low and one point after three game is not where they need to be, but there is still a lot to play for."
Club games didn't go ahead as all club pitches were in a mess and waterlogged. Navan drains great so surface never going to be an issue in Pairc T. Players need to adapt to conditions. Instead we have a player trying to score from the sideline. Embarrassing to even attempt that with the wind blowing straight at him.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 21/02/2022 13:57:09    2401597

Disturbing statistic: 42% of our scores came from the goalkeeper and corner back

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 21/02/2022 13:59:32    2401600

Replying To Diego:  "Great to see Jones back and he made a difference around the middle. In the first half when we moved the ball quickly we got good scores particularly the goals. Why do we have to try to walk the ball into the D practically before we have a shot. Second half was crying out for someone to take long range shots on. It was a tough wind to play with but 3 points from greed isn't good enough at this level. We persisted with almost everyone behind the ball in the 2nd half with the wind and tried to hand pass our way up the pitch instead of using the elements. Several occasions today players just didn't look up and play first time ball. For some, at least to me, they have to have a solo or hop and we lose momentum. I remember one In particular in front of the stand where the player soloed and hopped the ball and passed it over the side line where If ho looked up first time we had two players in good positions ahead of him. Taking a free less than 7 or 8 yards to another player is school boy stuff.
Where do we go from here? Don't know why COS is on the bench perhaps he's carrying a knock but he's the type of player we need on the pitch not warming the bench."
He was on the pitch long enough to make a difference but didn't get a sniff of it.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 21/02/2022 14:01:59    2401601

Replying To ABK67:  "Very disappointing again. The endless running to the absolutely safest place to be 100%sure of a score, getting held up, turn around, recycle, repeat. And on no account take a shot at goal. To be fair it appears to be a mindset in coaching generally eg Cork full back v Derry passing when he had a shot on while 8 yards out, Donegal twice hand passing a point when a goal was on. Compare it to Kerry where Clifford took shots on sight , missed a couple , fluked a goal against Patten (not easy!). Seanie Shea puts the first sideline over the bar and continued in the same vein for the whole first half and most of the second. They have shown strongest so far and the freedom to take a shot seems to be encouraged. Its not the silver bullet but a bit more footpassing quick ball occasionally in to the forwards and give them their head might help. Offaly are awful and the Cork game will decide who goes down with them. Cork are missing Connolly badly and are in transition so Division 2 next year is still an option. If not it looks like we might have a trip to London at least."
the thing that got me most yesterday was the constant changing of free taker in the second half. Goalie scores 2 great frees into the wind. misses 1 in the second then Walsh steps up, he misses, then Sully, then goalie again then Morris. You wouldn't see the likes in a juvenile game. Anyway the point gained yesterday will save us in Div2. We will beat Offaly who are awful, We are as good as Clare and will probably beat them. Cork are no great shakes and we will probably take them as well.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 21/02/2022 14:12:50    2401606

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dare I say it. We seriously missed graham Reilly on a day like yesterday."
If you said Graeme Geraghty I'd agree but Reilly come on.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 21/02/2022 14:14:33    2401607

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dare I say it. We seriously missed graham Reilly on a day like yesterday."
no, you dare not

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/02/2022 14:17:13    2401608

We missed Jack Quinn as well. And Graham Geraghty. Now that you say it, lot of lads we missed.

David Beggy. Boots McGuinness. Liam Hayes. Padraig Lyons. Nigel Nestor. Donal Smyth. Evan Kelly. Brother Sean Kelly.

All missing.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 21/02/2022 14:22:52    2401609

Replying To Crinigan:  "We missed Jack Quinn as well. And Graham Geraghty. Now that you say it, lot of lads we missed.

David Beggy. Boots McGuinness. Liam Hayes. Padraig Lyons. Nigel Nestor. Donal Smyth. Evan Kelly. Brother Sean Kelly.

All missing."
Great point as usual from you Crinigan. I'd say we missed 14 players yesterday as Keoghan was the only one to perform at or above the level we know he's capable of. There were another couple of lads who deserve credit in Hogan, Clarke, Muldoon, Harkin, Hickey and possibly Scully who are making their way this season, Jones was good to have back, everyone else was poor and did nothing worth remembering and the bench didn't have any impact on proceedings. Every flaw and more was on display yesterday - Kickouts & strategy, free taking, midfield and some new ones added to it in lack of any forwards worth mentioning, no cohesive attacking strategy, a team devoid of a single leader and a bench which had no impact at all.

I genuinely can see us going down now and a few lads walking away before the championship. Maybe a year or two of Tailteann cup, allowing a team of younger players to bed in and say good bye to most of the lads from the 2012 minor team and we might be going somewhere but i still don't think it's going to be a new dawn.

People are taking Offaly for granted already, likely the same people took Down for granted this week and look what we ended up with yesterday. They're also saying we're on a level with Clare... a county that's predominantly a hurling county,,,,, that's a disgrace. If we didn't get another point from our remaining 4 fixtures it wouldn't surprise me, and anyone talking us up is basing it on blind faith because we've shown nothing this season to suggest we're anything to talk about.

We'll get the usual rhetoric of weather, injuries, players missing etc but that's the same for both teams and lets not forget yesterday Down were without their Kilcoo contingent. James McCartan has just returned and already Down look like a better organised team than they were last season and should improve further.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/02/2022 15:05:56    2401630

Replying To latouche25:  "the thing that got me most yesterday was the constant changing of free taker in the second half. Goalie scores 2 great frees into the wind. misses 1 in the second then Walsh steps up, he misses, then Sully, then goalie again then Morris. You wouldn't see the likes in a juvenile game. Anyway the point gained yesterday will save us in Div2. We will beat Offaly who are awful, We are as good as Clare and will probably beat them. Cork are no great shakes and we will probably take them as well."
We also thought we would get promoted.
We also thought beating dublin in leinster was possible this year , a competition we mostly likely wont even be in now.
Should i go on?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 21/02/2022 15:53:55    2401653

Had the same thought after the match.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 21/02/2022 16:00:44    2401662

Ye can talk about the games from 20/30 years ago as evidence they'll somehow beat us, but Offaly are poor. After a generation down in divisions 3 and 4 they finally strung together a few wins to get promoted last year (getting subsequently hammered in the League final) but that's as good as it gets for them and they're going straight back down.

Hard to gauge with Cork. They're playing awful but you'd imagine they have to come good at some point, surely? A 50/50 game for us.

Clare are good and regularly beat or draw with teams that Meath lose to, but they have a bit of a hoodoo about Meath so I'd expect us to beat them too. Then again our luck might finally run out.

Finally Derry. Hopefully their good run of form continues and they're promoted by then, allowing them to ease off for the last round and we can take the points in Navan.

Long story short; I'm not too worried about relegation, but not necessarily because we're very good at the minute.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1648 - 21/02/2022 16:01:21    2401664