Galway Vs Meath

Yep like ye injuries. Playing two half backs as corner backs so robbing Peter to pay Paul. Also Damo Comer not even on the bench although played some FBD. Injured likely again. While league is important whatever about promotion it is even more critical Galway and Meath don't drop to Div 3. The sense I get locally is that PJ is putting all his stock on the big championship clash in April which essentially is our season marker.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 29/01/2022 10:17:37    2396924

Replying To Borderroyal:  "We played front foot football those times.more sideways back ways now.conservative prob where we at now.but lets see sunday if we have changed with new coaches methods."
If I remember correctly over a 2/3 year spell maybe longer we won the second half of 3 games , twice v Wicklow and once v Waterford. In all league and championship games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2022 10:25:42    2396927

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I remember correctly over a 2/3 year spell maybe longer we won the second half of 3 games , twice v Wicklow and once v Waterford. In all league and championship games."
Well we lost the second half v Wicklow in Navan, just held on to qualify to meet Westmeath on that day of days when we lost our 100% record.
Against Wicklow I felt that there could have been more injury time…but it was postponing the inevitable really, that management team just couldn't prepare the team for 75 mins+. Disappointing because they had them playing brilliant football early in games….until the fade out. And that was a diet we were not used to and could not accept or shouldn't.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 29/01/2022 11:55:36    2396946

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I remember correctly over a 2/3 year spell maybe longer we won the second half of 3 games , twice v Wicklow and once v Waterford. In all league and championship games."
Not argue on that but in fairness first halfs were great to watch.wot happened at half time remains a mystery to fall back in second.im JUST hoping with new coaches on board we try at least something different.tmw will tell the tale.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 29/01/2022 12:05:08    2396948

Team named. Only omission imo is Morris but maybe that's from the knock v Wexford. Apart from that pretty much as expected

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2022 12:11:26    2396949

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Not argue on that but in fairness first halfs were great to watch.wot happened at half time remains a mystery to fall back in second.im JUST hoping with new coaches on board we try at least something different.tmw will tell the tale."
Oh I know. It was bizarre. Totally agree with you.
One thing I don't want to see tomorrow is a high ball kicked into Conlon. It beggars belief sometimes. Either low or to the wings.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2022 14:11:09    2396966

I'm looking at that team, not one new face, no recognised free taker, I'd fear for us on kick outs and being turned over. I'd not put some one else's money on us getting anything from this never mind my own. Doesn't seem like well see anything new or different, just the same as what we've seen for the last 5 years.

I hope to be proven entirely inaccurate on this and we get something from this game.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/01/2022 14:30:14    2396969

Replying To kiloughter:  "Yep like ye injuries. Playing two half backs as corner backs so robbing Peter to pay Paul. Also Damo Comer not even on the bench although played some FBD. Injured likely again. While league is important whatever about promotion it is even more critical Galway and Meath don't drop to Div 3. The sense I get locally is that PJ is putting all his stock on the big championship clash in April which essentially is our season marker."
Majority of teams inDiv 2 seem to be hit by injuries and players unavailable for various reasons, Cork,Down and Roscommom especially so. Like you say promotion is the goal, however a few poor results and the drop becomes the main concern. Hope to see something new from Meath tomorrow, however it looks like we will just get more of the same, was not good enough last few years, so why will it be good enough this time around? A win for either team on Sunday sets them up to push on, otherwise the pressure rises a notch.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/01/2022 15:32:06    2396985

Replying To royaldunne:  "Joe Sheridan last game before he was due to travel was all the talk that day if I remember correctly. The second half collapses was a signature thing during that time. Now if we down 2/3 at halftime I'd be confident of gaining a result. Those days we could be 6 to 10 up and I'd be sh1tin meself that it wasn't enough to sustain the inevitable collapse."
If I remember correctly, we lost that game against Galway before Joe went to Boston (the year we got relegated with Banty at the healm). We had won our first two games and Joe hit the post in injury time when it was all square. Galway went down the other end and got the winner. Similar happened against Kildare in Navan in the following game. That campaign culminated in the horror performance against Louth in Navan and we went down to Division 3.
I remember us going down in Salthill a few years later and conceding 4 goals against them back in the 2000s. It's never been a happy hunting ground for us so not really expecting much. A loss won't be a disaster. Any sort of result would be massive. But we need to be beating Roscommon in the following game regardless of tomorrow's result.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 29/01/2022 16:25:32    2396995

Replying To brian:  "I'm looking at that team, not one new face, no recognised free taker, I'd fear for us on kick outs and being turned over. I'd not put some one else's money on us getting anything from this never mind my own. Doesn't seem like well see anything new or different, just the same as what we've seen for the last 5 years.

I hope to be proven entirely inaccurate on this and we get something from this game."
Ahh Brian come on. Hogan Hickey Conlon walsh Costello etc weren't on the team 5 years ago. No point in doing what mod did and get rid of all the established players. Let's be honest the team has to be somewhat settled. I mean could we drop keoghan McGill harnan O'Sullivan?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2022 17:03:38    2397003

Looking at the galway football thread there own supporters don't seem to have much faith in the there own football team, it's like a post full of galways versions of nobull, anyway on the match tomorrow and looking at the meath team named I'm going for a meath win by anywhere between 2 to 5 points, hon the royals.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 29/01/2022 18:56:13    2397032

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "If I remember correctly, we lost that game against Galway before Joe went to Boston (the year we got relegated with Banty at the healm). We had won our first two games and Joe hit the post in injury time when it was all square. Galway went down the other end and got the winner. Similar happened against Kildare in Navan in the following game. That campaign culminated in the horror performance against Louth in Navan and we went down to Division 3.
I remember us going down in Salthill a few years later and conceding 4 goals against them back in the 2000s. It's never been a happy hunting ground for us so not really expecting much. A loss won't be a disaster. Any sort of result would be massive. But we need to be beating Roscommon in the following game regardless of tomorrow's result."
You are right. Should have beat both Galway and Kildare that year. Let's hope tomorrow is different.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/01/2022 19:14:15    2397042

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh Brian come on. Hogan Hickey Conlon walsh Costello etc weren't on the team 5 years ago. No point in doing what mod did and get rid of all the established players. Let's be honest the team has to be somewhat settled. I mean could we drop keoghan McGill harnan O'Sullivan?"
RD those lads you mention were minors 5 years ago. And they've been involved since 2020 or before and wouldn't say any of them are pulling up trees. Now hopefully they'll all come through this season but the best predictor of future is past performance and since 2019 that's not good enough.

Likes of McEntee, Harnan, McMahon, Wallace, McGill have shown they're not up to the standard required and yet still getting game time and guaranteed starting spots. That's just not good enough

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/01/2022 19:16:57    2397043

Replying To brian:  "RD those lads you mention were minors 5 years ago. And they've been involved since 2020 or before and wouldn't say any of them are pulling up trees. Now hopefully they'll all come through this season but the best predictor of future is past performance and since 2019 that's not good enough.

Likes of McEntee, Harnan, McMahon, Wallace, McGill have shown they're not up to the standard required and yet still getting game time and guaranteed starting spots. That's just not good enough"
Must say I disagree with you on a few of if not all of those names. And if they aren't good enough then can you name guys in the county who are good enough and can take their place

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1465 - 30/01/2022 08:43:27    2397087

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Must say I disagree with you on a few of if not all of those names. And if they aren't good enough then can you name guys in the county who are good enough and can take their place"
Look that's fair LR and I see your side of it too.

McEntee - I'd start Menton, Keoghan or B Conlon at CHB possibly even Harnan ahead of him. Ronan Ryan could easily slot in at CHB and do as good if not better a job. He's a limited player who plays wing back for his club but starts in a pivotal position fur his county.

Harnan - can't nail down a spot after multiple seasons in the starting team. Where's his best position does he even know.. but yet when fit always starts. James McEntee can do everything padraic can do and better.

McMahon - isn't a CHF at all but somehow every game he's there and can't link the play at all. He's a fine corner forward and that's it but we've lots of corner forwards but no stand out corner forward. Cillian is a better player at this position and play Bryan inside where he's more effective.

Wallace - started and dropped more often than Colgan. Dropped himself of the panel and somehow there he is alwaysv getting game time. He's a great impact player use him that way. He's not a great player to start. Morris is a much better option from the start.

McGill has been a shadow of what he was since 2019. Just not close to good enough and maybe a kick in the ass might help him get back to the all star nominee he was as that player hasn't been seen since then. Again Ronan Ryan could do the same job now.

There's too many round pegs in square holes.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/01/2022 10:49:32    2397112

Replying To brian:  "Look that's fair LR and I see your side of it too.

McEntee - I'd start Menton, Keoghan or B Conlon at CHB possibly even Harnan ahead of him. Ronan Ryan could easily slot in at CHB and do as good if not better a job. He's a limited player who plays wing back for his club but starts in a pivotal position fur his county.

Harnan - can't nail down a spot after multiple seasons in the starting team. Where's his best position does he even know.. but yet when fit always starts. James McEntee can do everything padraic can do and better.

McMahon - isn't a CHF at all but somehow every game he's there and can't link the play at all. He's a fine corner forward and that's it but we've lots of corner forwards but no stand out corner forward. Cillian is a better player at this position and play Bryan inside where he's more effective.

Wallace - started and dropped more often than Colgan. Dropped himself of the panel and somehow there he is alwaysv getting game time. He's a great impact player use him that way. He's not a great player to start. Morris is a much better option from the start.

McGill has been a shadow of what he was since 2019. Just not close to good enough and maybe a kick in the ass might help him get back to the all star nominee he was as that player hasn't been seen since then. Again Ronan Ryan could do the same job now.

There's too many round pegs in square holes."
Yeh.......i certainly looks that way ! For now i will look for evidence of TEAM development and improvement. I would welcome watching a team playing without fear again. How will i know ? Midfielders at least trying to field with BOTH hands plus players always making themselves available around centre to improve kick out options..Watching for much quicker transfer to ATTACK . ALL forwards make themselves available at all times for quick delivery by running to open spaces. Let defender mark forward rather than the opposite. Kick the ball more often rather than pointless criss cross passing. All players take resposibility for shooting for scores when the option is on..No PASSING THE BOOK here. tough missing a score can be forgiven passing the book is not. From management i want to see evidence of encouragement and support. PASSION is welcome if it can be seen in how players perform as well. Leave the side shows to "RORY STORIES". I am satisfied there is enough talent in the team to win this match. Dare i say it again freedom from fear would be a great start. Yes i am a critic of the current management style ,but i will be the first to accept and acknowledge any evidence of seeing lessions learned.I fully accept the workload on the managers plate. I refuse to remain silent if there is not a willingness to remedy mistakes. If you get a puncture fix it....dont keep driving on !! Best of luck to Andy and the lads !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 30/01/2022 12:46:40    2397147

Best of luck to Andy and the lads! Just sitting here in Galway having a Super macs and I must say I'm terribly nervous bout this game. Hard to know where we are at.

I believe training is going well but you just don't know what Meath team will turn up. You look at Armagh last night and we hammered them well enough in league a few years ago yet we never kicked on.

I believe we need to do similar and keep Andy in the job for another few years. If by Year 10 things don't improve then maybe it'll be time to step a side and try something else. But we need continuity and a United County and that's what Andy brings to the table.

On the game today I wouldn't rate Galway. Similar to ourselves. Flatter to deceive most of the time and only lazy journalism ever has them as potential candidates.

With that I reckon it'll be a draw game. Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 30/01/2022 12:48:11    2397148

Anyone know if there is any way to watch the game?
Doesn't appear to be on GAAgo

Up4deMatch (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 30/01/2022 13:20:44    2397159

Replying To Up4deMatch:  "Anyone know if there is any way to watch the game?
Doesn't appear to be on GAAgo"
Trust me you don't know how lucky you are not to be watching these, meath are awful worst 35 minutes of football I've ever witnessed from a meath team, we are lucky we are not losing by allot more then 12 points.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 30/01/2022 14:56:14    2397169

Replying To Evernal:  "Best of luck to Andy and the lads! Just sitting here in Galway having a Super macs and I must say I'm terribly nervous bout this game. Hard to know where we are at.

I believe training is going well but you just don't know what Meath team will turn up. You look at Armagh last night and we hammered them well enough in league a few years ago yet we never kicked on.

I believe we need to do similar and keep Andy in the job for another few years. If by Year 10 things don't improve then maybe it'll be time to step a side and try something else. But we need continuity and a United County and that's what Andy brings to the table.

On the game today I wouldn't rate Galway. Similar to ourselves. Flatter to deceive most of the time and only lazy journalism ever has them as potential candidates.

With that I reckon it'll be a draw game. Hon the Royal!"
It's actually half time as I read this…..I presume there was a certain amount of sarcasm in this post…but never ever poke fun at a little pussy cat not to mind a wounded big beast.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 30/01/2022 14:56:52    2397170