Club Transfers

Replying To bob1969:  "sorry padraig is not undeage , he is not elgible to play undeage any more and has to play adult football now and just because he lives in kilmainham doesnt mean he has to play for kilmainham , he has a choice to play for 3 clubs"
And hasn't the lad made his choice. He wants to play for Kilmainham so good luck to him.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/02/2022 11:29:46    2400448

Replying To brian:  "And hasn't the lad made his choice. He wants to play for Kilmainham so good luck to him."
my gripe isnt with the lad or any of the clubs , people are jumping ship just coz they want success , the county board shudnt be allowing it and destroying small rural clubs who are struggling as it is

brian (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 15/02/2022 12:51:54    2400467

Replying To summerof09:  "Yous got yourselves a nice transfer this week."
Who is this transfer going to the Bracks

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 15/02/2022 12:58:36    2400471

Replying To glenny:  "Once his address is in Cavan and it appears his 1st club was Kingscourt then it was automatic. I believe he has opted to continue playing with Meath"
Hope he continues to play with Meath.
Initially when I heard he was looking to transfer to the Cavan club the man who told me said he was transfering club so he could play with Cavan, but he didn't know Morris and had just heard it as hearsay.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 15/02/2022 13:23:50    2400478

Replying To Bear10:  "Who is this transfer going to the Bracks"
A very decent player from a neighbouring club and who played with them at U20 last year. Another player from that neighbouring club on the move elsewhere.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 15/02/2022 14:00:21    2400491

Replying To bob1969:  "my gripe isnt with the lad or any of the clubs , people are jumping ship just coz they want success , the county board shudnt be allowing it and destroying small rural clubs who are struggling as it is"
It's pretty clear you do have a gripe as this is about all you've commented on on the forum. Kilmainham and Drumbaragh are operating at the same level and Its unlikley either will have any measure of success, so your argument about this transfer is totally flawed. Kilmainham and Drumbaragh are both small rural club's and if we're being honest Kilmainham has a smaller selection than Drumbaragh. So i don't see what the argument is, as my original point is that the lad has lived in Kilmainham for all or most of his life.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/02/2022 14:28:04    2400501

Replying To bob1969:  "padraig caffrey drumbaragh to kilmainham a massive loss to a small north meath club , when is the county board gonna stop destroying small clubs"
This is a **** take surely?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 15/02/2022 15:04:55    2400513

Replying To summerof09:  "A very decent player from a neighbouring club and who played with them at U20 last year. Another player from that neighbouring club on the move elsewhere."
Using my fantastic detective skills I woud say you are talking about Niall Smullen. Great addition for the Bracks if I am correct

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 15/02/2022 15:56:04    2400524

Replying To summerof09:  "A very decent player from a neighbouring club and who played with them at U20 last year. Another player from that neighbouring club on the move elsewhere."
Has to be Niall Smullen from clonard , Is the other one Adam Flanagan

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 15/02/2022 16:32:25    2400532

I think its bad form for bigger Clubs to be poaching from their neighbouring Clubs

We had it for years in my own club with neighbouring Senior Clubs picking our best players , If a lad wants to move himself I would begrudgingly let him leave as you don't want anyone pulling on your clubs jersey who doesn't have the clubs best interests at heart

Its the Bigger Senior Clubs talking to a players ear and turning their head that drives me mad, generally these big Clubs dont have a problem with numbers and the club they are being pulled from generally do struggle . . and majority it seems these transferring players end up being a bit part player anyway .More often than not its not the first time the Smaller Clubs orchard has been raided and some one else is eating the Fruits of someone elses labour

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 15/02/2022 17:15:27    2400541

Bradley transferred from Dunboyne. Will he be a big loss for them?

packing (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 16/02/2022 12:12:59    2400657

Replying To summerof09:  "Yous got yourselves a nice transfer this week."
Not involved in the committee anymore however I did hear that young Smullen had requested a transfer and was granted it by county board.
Have not seen him in action yet this year though.

Its tough on a club when a lad or lads wants to leave for whatever reasons but it happens every year in every county.

We had 2 lads in 2009 who looked for a transfer to Clonard , we met them, spoke with them and tried to encourage them to stay but they decided the transfer was their wish..

We signed both and they went on to win a championship a few years later with Clonard and more luck to them.

The most important thing was they got their wish and continued to play the game.

I just cant fathom why the GAA are not doing more about these situations which sometimes result in a player giving up playing the game. Its an amateur sport/game. Communism should not be tolerated.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 16/02/2022 12:42:58    2400666

Replying To packing:  "Bradley transferred from Dunboyne. Will he be a big loss for them?"
Back to Ramor?

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 16/02/2022 13:22:25    2400681

Replying To Meath32245:  "Back to Ramor?"
Yes

packing (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 16/02/2022 13:44:21    2400688

Replying To thelutch:  "Not involved in the committee anymore however I did hear that young Smullen had requested a transfer and was granted it by county board.
Have not seen him in action yet this year though.

Its tough on a club when a lad or lads wants to leave for whatever reasons but it happens every year in every county.

We had 2 lads in 2009 who looked for a transfer to Clonard , we met them, spoke with them and tried to encourage them to stay but they decided the transfer was their wish..

We signed both and they went on to win a championship a few years later with Clonard and more luck to them.

The most important thing was they got their wish and continued to play the game.

I just cant fathom why the GAA are not doing more about these situations which sometimes result in a player giving up playing the game. Its an amateur sport/game. Communism should not be tolerated."
have to applaud your attitude Lutch & your Club
Totally 100%....the concept that the Club "owns " a player is so negative a mindset
And by the way...i see the principle of the Parish Rule...as a positive guiding principle

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 17/02/2022 11:03:27    2400824

Wasn't there a new rule passed at the recent Meath convention that you had to play with the club from the parish you live with?
What effect will this have on transfers. People wont be able to move just because they want to play a higher grade of football. They'll need to be resident in the area.

LettuceBFrank (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 17/02/2022 11:41:10    2400830

Replying To LettuceBFrank:  "Wasn't there a new rule passed at the recent Meath convention that you had to play with the club from the parish you live with?
What effect will this have on transfers. People wont be able to move just because they want to play a higher grade of football. They'll need to be resident in the area."
Again, that sounds great but it will never be the case and it will also do away with county board officials claiming their expenses for all these hearings etc.

The simple fact is if a player or a parent approach you with a very genuine reason I don't think we should be in any position to tell them that's against the law/rules.

Common sense should always prevail.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 17/02/2022 14:29:19    2400864

Replying To LettuceBFrank:  "Wasn't there a new rule passed at the recent Meath convention that you had to play with the club from the parish you live with?
What effect will this have on transfers. People wont be able to move just because they want to play a higher grade of football. They'll need to be resident in the area."
Just a very genuine question regarding the parish rule.

If you have multiple clubs in a parish e.g

Kells - 3 clubs

Navan - 3 clubs

Can you just choose anyone you want at the start ?

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 18/02/2022 08:13:24    2400935

Replying To thelutch:  "Just a very genuine question regarding the parish rule.

Kells - 3 clubs

Navan - 3 clubs

Can you just choose anyone you want at the start ?"
I think that the club that you start off with is your club, generally in Navan the national school that you go to determines which club you play with. though if your family is O'Mahonys you are O'Mahonys !

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 18/02/2022 11:09:20    2400955

Replying To thelutch:  "Just a very genuine question regarding the parish rule.

Kells - 3 clubs

Navan - 3 clubs

Can you just choose anyone you want at the start ?"
Yes

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 18/02/2022 11:22:40    2400956