Management Merry Go Round Starts Again

here we go the Management Merry go Round starts again, Courtown announce Davy Dalton & Simonstown are looking for a new Management team,,

ABD09 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 23/10/2020 09:49:05    2300422

Replying To ABD09:  "here we go the Management Merry go Round starts again, Courtown announce Davy Dalton & Simonstown are looking for a new Management team,,"
Trim are looking for a Senior football manager, did two teams go up this year ??

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/10/2020 11:24:16    2300448

Replying To Analyst:  "Trim are looking for a Senior football manager, did two teams go up this year ??"
No Just the 1,lot of teams refer to their 1st team as senior manager,,same as Cortown have ,. I suppose if your 1st team was Junior and 2nd team were Junior c , saying appointed Junior manager might cause confusion.. I'm sure Brendan will take another job hopefully in the future. Had them playing a nice system,, the injuries from hurlers took their toll perhaps in end, but Ballinbrackey were magnificent all year.

Jimmycricket (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 23/10/2020 12:11:43    2300466

A bit odd to see Junior and Intermediate teams referring to their 1st Team as a 'Senior team'. They are not a Senior team. They are a Adult first team and you can then refer to them as the Junior team (if the 1st team play junior), as the Intermediate team (if the 1st team play Intermediate) and as the Senior team (if the 1st team play Senior). I would be a bit embarrassed to be calling my adult team a Senior team when in fact they are a lowly Junior team. No offence intended.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 23/10/2020 12:25:55    2300470

Replying To BigJoe14:  "A bit odd to see Junior and Intermediate teams referring to their 1st Team as a 'Senior team'. They are not a Senior team. They are a Adult first team and you can then refer to them as the Junior team (if the 1st team play junior), as the Intermediate team (if the 1st team play Intermediate) and as the Senior team (if the 1st team play Senior). I would be a bit embarrassed to be calling my adult team a Senior team when in fact they are a lowly Junior team. No offence intended."
I am not sure which clubs are referring to "their" teams. The posting from the Trim club clearly says that it is for their intermediate team.

Pity for Brendan and the selectors. They were so close this year.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 23/10/2020 14:33:11    2300529

Replying To trim1:  "I am not sure which clubs are referring to "their" teams. The posting from the Trim club clearly says that it is for their intermediate team.

Pity for Brendan and the selectors. They were so close this year."
And yet so far!

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 23/10/2020 15:38:31    2300557

Replying To trim1:  "I am not sure which clubs are referring to "their" teams. The posting from the Trim club clearly says that it is for their intermediate team.

Pity for Brendan and the selectors. They were so close this year."
It clearly states on Hogan stand "Senior team"

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 23/10/2020 16:47:11    2300575

Replying To Analyst:  "It clearly states on Hogan stand "Senior team""
I was answering the comment "A bit odd to see Junior and Intermediate teams referring to their 1st Team as a 'Senior team'

The statement from the Trim club referred to their Intermediate Team. If Hogan Stand made referred to the senior team in the report that is for Hoganstand to answer not individual clubs.

trim1 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 23/10/2020 17:35:30    2300583

Replying To BigJoe14:  "A bit odd to see Junior and Intermediate teams referring to their 1st Team as a 'Senior team'. They are not a Senior team. They are a Adult first team and you can then refer to them as the Junior team (if the 1st team play junior), as the Intermediate team (if the 1st team play Intermediate) and as the Senior team (if the 1st team play Senior). I would be a bit embarrassed to be calling my adult team a Senior team when in fact they are a lowly Junior team. No offence intended."
I agree with you but senior can mean 'top ranked' and Trim Intermediate football team is 'top ranked' within their own club (football)- obviously not within the county.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/10/2020 22:03:34    2300635

Any new appointments since last week ?

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 28/10/2020 10:00:39    2302347

Seneschalstown are advertising for expression of interests for the role of manager of the senior team. Interesting that so many clubs end up chopping and changing coaches/managers every year. I really think clubs need to start looking at developing a batch of coaches from within their own clubs as it is just not sustainable to have to keep bringing in managers from outside the club. I have no problem with maybe bringing in a skills coach or S&C coach from outside the club as they are providing one particular role but I definitely feel the manager (main person) should be from the club he is managing. Clubs should look to bring through coaches/managers every year the same way they look to bring through players from the underage teams through to the Adult team. Its not sustainable to have to constantly look for managers/coaches every year from outside your club.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 04/11/2020 10:27:10    2305028

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Seneschalstown are advertising for expression of interests for the role of manager of the senior team. Interesting that so many clubs end up chopping and changing coaches/managers every year. I really think clubs need to start looking at developing a batch of coaches from within their own clubs as it is just not sustainable to have to keep bringing in managers from outside the club. I have no problem with maybe bringing in a skills coach or S&C coach from outside the club as they are providing one particular role but I definitely feel the manager (main person) should be from the club he is managing. Clubs should look to bring through coaches/managers every year the same way they look to bring through players from the underage teams through to the Adult team. Its not sustainable to have to constantly look for managers/coaches every year from outside your club."
Nice idea in theory but much easier said than done. Anyone on here involved in club committees will tell you trying to get people involved with any team in the club from u7s up to senior is getting a lot more difficult. I'm pretty sure 99% of clubs would prefer their manager to be in house but it's just not always possible.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 04/11/2020 12:57:08    2305094

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Nice idea in theory but much easier said than done. Anyone on here involved in club committees will tell you trying to get people involved with any team in the club from u7s up to senior is getting a lot more difficult. I'm pretty sure 99% of clubs would prefer their manager to be in house but it's just not always possible."
partly that is because from u7 up , every club executive place same expectation on shoulder of every manager - which is to win their competition.....totally unrealistic, I'll thought out, and has no foundations in any logic or basis. im certain that if club committees could give a broader set of terms to their team managers, there would be plenty of people putting their hand up....as it is....someone takes a job....and he or she is slated if they don't win the u15 div 6 spring league....its a joke...and by the way...the reason for "outside" managers , is mainly ....someone to place blame on by the committee & executive if the season doesn't pan out the way they expect …as opposed to the areal reasons ...which is a total lack of investment in players & coaches alike over countless years . easy to blame the outsider

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 04/11/2020 14:57:50    2305120

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "partly that is because from u7 up , every club executive place same expectation on shoulder of every manager - which is to win their competition.....totally unrealistic, I'll thought out, and has no foundations in any logic or basis. im certain that if club committees could give a broader set of terms to their team managers, there would be plenty of people putting their hand up....as it is....someone takes a job....and he or she is slated if they don't win the u15 div 6 spring league....its a joke...and by the way...the reason for "outside" managers , is mainly ....someone to place blame on by the committee & executive if the season doesn't pan out the way they expect …as opposed to the areal reasons ...which is a total lack of investment in players & coaches alike over countless years . easy to blame the outsider"
Agree on the lack of investment from committees not all clubs.but definitely good amount just get someone then never really fully back the team.polictics takes over a lot of this.for example whoever puts there head out to pick someone there to blame come end of year.hence lot of people dont want to recommend manager coach.
Any good manager will most likely ask at interview whats clubs ambitions if theres any sign of not progressing they make excuse thanks but no thanks.theres the journey men of course few bob if thats good enuf for ye.im happy.collect every month go thru the motions.players see thru this then it goes to *****.
Meath need an investment in coaching follow as much as we can the dublin model.i know needs funding.i know there has been lot work done on youth.but these lads go back to a club with a coach thats just not up to it.they get lost and frustrated.very hard to get club commitees to buy into anything new.the cost is always the factor here.but investing in your own players is a no brainer to me.investing in people within your club to coach is the same.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 04/11/2020 15:36:31    2305132

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Agree on the lack of investment from committees not all clubs.but definitely good amount just get someone then never really fully back the team.polictics takes over a lot of this.for example whoever puts there head out to pick someone there to blame come end of year.hence lot of people dont want to recommend manager coach.
Any good manager will most likely ask at interview whats clubs ambitions if theres any sign of not progressing they make excuse thanks but no thanks.theres the journey men of course few bob if thats good enuf for ye.im happy.collect every month go thru the motions.players see thru this then it goes to *****.
Meath need an investment in coaching follow as much as we can the dublin model.i know needs funding.i know there has been lot work done on youth.but these lads go back to a club with a coach thats just not up to it.they get lost and frustrated.very hard to get club commitees to buy into anything new.the cost is always the factor here.but investing in your own players is a no brainer to me.investing in people within your club to coach is the same."
totally agree borderroyal….for a huge amount of our clubs the idea of an interview is pure mule, and even if it did enter their mindsets , the only question on the agenda would be ..when are Ye going to win the championship for us.
then flip to this , is the half ejits going around "coaching" underage teams who live in the club tracksuit and coat every hour of every day, ya see them in the gala , down the circle k....nearly on the bloody altar in them...all screaming "im a club manager/coach"....ffs ...bunch of idiots , with feck all authority in their day job, looking to fill a filed with cones & flags and latest mind blowing drills that a nasa scientist couldn't decipher, to impress other ejits on committess who see things exactly the same The lord spare us....and by the way...that's why the dubs hate us talking ***** about resources....brains don't cost money...fix your clubs...and everything follows

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 04/11/2020 16:20:54    2305149

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "totally agree borderroyal….for a huge amount of our clubs the idea of an interview is pure mule, and even if it did enter their mindsets , the only question on the agenda would be ..when are Ye going to win the championship for us.
then flip to this , is the half ejits going around "coaching" underage teams who live in the club tracksuit and coat every hour of every day, ya see them in the gala , down the circle k....nearly on the bloody altar in them...all screaming "im a club manager/coach"....ffs ...bunch of idiots , with feck all authority in their day job, looking to fill a filed with cones & flags and latest mind blowing drills that a nasa scientist couldn't decipher, to impress other ejits on committess who see things exactly the same The lord spare us....and by the way...that's why the dubs hate us talking ***** about resources....brains don't cost money...fix your clubs...and everything follows"
Thought interviews the goin thing now.but agree on muchnof that but id have to give credit to anyone who tries to help there club.just some need guidance we all need to have open mind in these things.if you think you know it all.your coaching days are limited.good coach with good club men with fairminded for giving everyone chance type people.
No nepotism involved you'll be half way there.team playing to there strengths anything could happen.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 04/11/2020 17:11:50    2305164

Rusty Tiernan gone back to Kilmainham. McGovern lad used to train Kilmainham gone to Meath Hill. Ted Dowd taking Bective I believe.

Jackpauric30 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 04/11/2020 17:25:56    2305167

Replying To Jackpauric30:  "Rusty Tiernan gone back to Kilmainham. McGovern lad used to train Kilmainham gone to Meath Hill. Ted Dowd taking Bective I believe."
That illustrates the Merry go round almost perfectly, as Castletown were looking at Paddy Martyn who was Meath Hill...... Longwood slasher and other posters on here are fairly spot on, 80% of clubs and supporters, (like county supporters) totally unrealistic with expectations. Re underage teams in clubs, once the people involved are not solely there so as to ensure their own kids get preferential treatment then i tip my hat to them. Easy to criticise but a lot of genuine good club people put a big effort in where there is no glamour or financial reward. Every club has the genuine core of people who do the work and then the gallery men who do it for their own ego and attention. Some great work being done in small clubs with small numbers.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/11/2020 12:49:46    2305555

Replying To Analyst:  "That illustrates the Merry go round almost perfectly, as Castletown were looking at Paddy Martyn who was Meath Hill...... Longwood slasher and other posters on here are fairly spot on, 80% of clubs and supporters, (like county supporters) totally unrealistic with expectations. Re underage teams in clubs, once the people involved are not solely there so as to ensure their own kids get preferential treatment then i tip my hat to them. Easy to criticise but a lot of genuine good club people put a big effort in where there is no glamour or financial reward. Every club has the genuine core of people who do the work and then the gallery men who do it for their own ego and attention. Some great work being done in small clubs with small numbers."
interesting game boys on Eir Sport last Night that comes to mind on this topic. Dublin V Cork Nat League game in 2010.
if Gilroy was managing meath he would have been under serious pressure...not from posters & supporters like us , but from within the Meath County Board ….he suffered a huge defeat to Kerry in 2009 and then had the debacle to meath in 2010...albeit they recovered in backdoor...But point im making is whatever about us posters & supporters having unrealistic expectations...which is naturally the problem with all supporters...one would hope those in the "Know" , would have a much better feel for things....the scary thing that we dont like to admit to ourselves is... , we probably have as much a feel for whats going on with our county squads and what is right path & wrong path as those tasked at the Top to run them....ie County Board...and really until some good quality people starts being the norm there , this situation wil always be the same....and by the way the same is true for underperforming clubs....whether a club is big or small...it will be progressive mostly (not exclusivelY) because those tasked with leading it are strong & progressive , it aint luck boys, and its not something in de water

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 384 - 06/11/2020 15:20:54    2305605

Replying To Analyst:  "That illustrates the Merry go round almost perfectly, as Castletown were looking at Paddy Martyn who was Meath Hill...... Longwood slasher and other posters on here are fairly spot on, 80% of clubs and supporters, (like county supporters) totally unrealistic with expectations. Re underage teams in clubs, once the people involved are not solely there so as to ensure their own kids get preferential treatment then i tip my hat to them. Easy to criticise but a lot of genuine good club people put a big effort in where there is no glamour or financial reward. Every club has the genuine core of people who do the work and then the gallery men who do it for their own ego and attention. Some great work being done in small clubs with small numbers."
A perfect example of it. And it is unfortunately mostly Junior and Intermediate clubs that fall into this trap. If a manager is on merry go round jumping from club to club it generally means they are not up to much.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 06/11/2020 18:05:43    2305655