Meath All-Star Nominees

Replying To royaldunne:  "Accurate and sensible post. I mean why are people red thumbs this post?? #notmeathfans"
Looks like more blinkered logic from you RD ! anyone who thinks we will not get 3 -all stars is not a real meath fan ! I don't think Mac would even nominate any meath player at this point ! If Dublin win the 5 they will fill 12 of the 15 positions .....that's my prediction ! ....# padthegoalpostsrd "

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 13/08/2019 08:29:40    2225004

Replying To noluso:  "Looks like more blinkered logic from you RD ! anyone who thinks we will not get 3 -all stars is not a real meath fan ! I don't think Mac would even nominate any meath player at this point ! If Dublin win the 5 they will fill 12 of the 15 positions .....that's my prediction ! ....# padthegoalpostsrd ""
Where does it mention anywhere that we would get 3 all stars? I suggest you go back to the opening post of this thread which suggests we MIGHT get one. Name your 12 Dublin all stars please!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 13/08/2019 09:31:49    2225021

Replying To noluso:  "Looks like more blinkered logic from you RD ! anyone who thinks we will not get 3 -all stars is not a real meath fan ! I don't think Mac would even nominate any meath player at this point ! If Dublin win the 5 they will fill 12 of the 15 positions .....that's my prediction ! ....# padthegoalpostsrd ""
12/15?? Give over would ya,The dubs will get 8 i would say, with Kerry picking up 3 or 4 and the remaining 3-4 will be in the backs as many posters here have alluded to. McNamee, McHugh, Boyle, Keoghan an possibly Harte being the front runners, but Definitely McGill and possibly Lavin and Menton to be potentially Nominated at least. Its extremely rare for anyone outside of the final 4 teams to win one so its nlikely that we will but we definitely have some good chances of nominations.

If not then name the 3 full bakcs to be nominated ahead of McGill, or the 5 midfielders that will get nomiated ahead of Menton?

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 13/08/2019 11:58:09    2225077

Replying To ratlag:  "12/15?? Give over would ya,The dubs will get 8 i would say, with Kerry picking up 3 or 4 and the remaining 3-4 will be in the backs as many posters here have alluded to. McNamee, McHugh, Boyle, Keoghan an possibly Harte being the front runners, but Definitely McGill and possibly Lavin and Menton to be potentially Nominated at least. Its extremely rare for anyone outside of the final 4 teams to win one so its nlikely that we will but we definitely have some good chances of nominations.

If not then name the 3 full bakcs to be nominated ahead of McGill, or the 5 midfielders that will get nomiated ahead of Menton?"
As I said at the outset. Nominee speculation is nonsence ,until the championship is over . The semi finalists will produce most of the nominations , so as they say in curragha cool your jets until the final whistle and then speculate .... But if you must insist in this game Keogan has an outside chance of a nomination ,but in reality Magill and Menton have zero chance I'm afraid .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 13/08/2019 17:32:13    2225201

Replying To winatallcost:  "Where does it mention anywhere that we would get 3 all stars? I suggest you go back to the opening post of this thread which suggests we MIGHT get one. Name your 12 Dublin all stars please!"
I never said we would get 3 either, I did say we probably get 3 noms, while I can't think of 5 more deserving midfielders than Menton I fear he might be the one to miss out of lavin McGill keoghan and himself. I do feel that topping div 2/ gaining promotion, reaching Leinster final and super 8s will get keoghan the all star he deserves.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/08/2019 19:05:01    2225765

Replying To noluso:  "As I said at the outset. Nominee speculation is nonsence ,until the championship is over . The semi finalists will produce most of the nominations , so as they say in curragha cool your jets until the final whistle and then speculate .... But if you must insist in this game Keogan has an outside chance of a nomination ,but in reality Magill and Menton have zero chance I'm afraid ."
So you are going back on your word now! Didn't you say we have as much chance of getting nominations as Kilkenny footballers full-backline while also saying Keogan wouldn't get within an arses roar of an all-star. You are very sure in making your points without any evidence to back anything up.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 14/08/2019 22:06:30    2225837

Replying To winatallcost:  "So you are going back on your word now! Didn't you say we have as much chance of getting nominations as Kilkenny footballers full-backline while also saying Keogan wouldn't get within an arses roar of an all-star. You are very sure in making your points without any evidence to back anything up."
Just to be clear ,I am speculating as follows

We will get NO all Star award
Keogan has an outside chance of getting a nomination but no all star award
No other Meath player will get even a mention .

That's just the way this works ....
Now let's wait and see ....we have no evidence to back this up until it happens !

Do you really believe that we deserve a few awards or even a few nominations ? Really ?

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 14/08/2019 22:29:50    2225850

Replying To noluso:  "Just to be clear ,I am speculating as follows

Now let's wait and see ....we have no evidence to back this up until it happens !

Do you really believe that we deserve a few awards or even a few nominations ? Really ?"
No I don't think we will get a few awards. Think Keogan might get an all star but depends on how they pick team. Not saying they will but think McGill and Lavin have a chance of being nominated due to a lack of options in full backine. Again they may not do but I honestly think they deserve to. Remember 18 defenders get nominated but that could be 18 half backs or 18 full backs. It just depends on how they make it up. The forward line is outrageously competitive. M. Murphy likely to get nominated at midfield and may get one there. This would diminish Mentons chance of a nomination.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 15/08/2019 09:34:19    2225909

Replying To noluso:  "As I said at the outset. Nominee speculation is nonsence ,until the championship is over . The semi finalists will produce most of the nominations , so as they say in curragha cool your jets until the final whistle and then speculate .... But if you must insist in this game Keogan has an outside chance of a nomination ,but in reality Magill and Menton have zero chance I'm afraid ."
Zero chance huh??? Well done to the three lads, i said from the start that i thought they were our best chances for nominations and was right. Menton i feel isn't in the running with Moran and Fenton being phenomenal all year, but McGill and Kepghan in my opinion still have a great shout.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 27/09/2019 08:04:14    2239549

Replying To noluso:  "Please don't start this nonsence ! We really don't have even a remote chance of an all star . I know some would suggest that keoghan might have a chance of a nomination. I hope he does ,,, but to be suggesting others is such a waste of time . Let's stay real and forget about all stars for now please !"
I opened this thread only to be shot down by your above post. Each nomination is deserved and Lavin is very unfortunate to miss out. Fail to understand your negativity on every post given you are a so called Meath supporter.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 27/09/2019 10:22:29    2239578

Well done to the 3 lads on their fully deserved nominations. Fingers crossed for them

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 27/09/2019 14:19:19    2239642

Congrats to all three lads. Personally would've had Seamus Lavin miles ahead of McGill but that's my opinion.

The further we get into it, I think Donal Keoghan absolutely will get an all Star. He'd get into any team in the country including Dublin so for me he's a top six defender in the country be at corner or wing back.

Let's no forget Colm Cavanagh was the full back on play years team.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/09/2019 15:40:54    2239667

Replying To brian:  "Congrats to all three lads. Personally would've had Seamus Lavin miles ahead of McGill but that's my opinion.

The further we get into it, I think Donal Keoghan absolutely will get an all Star. He'd get into any team in the country including Dublin so for me he's a top six defender in the country be at corner or wing back.

Let's no forget Colm Cavanagh was the full back on play years team."
Totally agree, Menton and Keoghan had outstanding years and Lavin can count himself unlucky, however if he maintains current standard his time will come sooner rather than later.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 27/09/2019 16:32:37    2239680

Care to amend this post???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/09/2019 19:49:06    2239712

Replying To noluso:  "Just to be clear ,I am speculating as follows

Do you really believe that we deserve a few awards or even a few nominations ? Really ?"
Looks like those who matter thought we were worthy of 3 nominations.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/09/2019 19:51:09    2239713

Replying To ratlag:  "Zero chance huh??? Well done to the three lads, i said from the start that i thought they were our best chances for nominations and was right. Menton i feel isn't in the running with Moran and Fenton being phenomenal all year, but McGill and Kepghan in my opinion still have a great shout."
Indeed and lavin can be counted as been unlucky.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/09/2019 19:59:46    2239718

Replying To seadog54:  "Totally agree, Menton and Keoghan had outstanding years and Lavin can count himself unlucky, however if he maintains current standard his time will come sooner rather than later."
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/09/2019 20:00:49    2239719

Half backline a complete joke. Howard in the backs and Small never all star material. It is however sponsored by GPA so nothing suprises me. M Murphy a full-time employee with them too. Ah sure just stick Howard in the backs.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 01/11/2019 19:58:22    2247072

Replying To winatallcost:  "Half backline a complete joke. Howard in the backs and Small never all star material. It is however sponsored by GPA so nothing suprises me. M Murphy a full-time employee with them too. Ah sure just stick Howard in the backs."
Have to agree. Murphy and Mannion wing forwards, I would not think they stood in those positions all year never mind actually play there. The all stars are becoming a farce!!

boeder (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 01/11/2019 20:23:32    2247086

Am a bit surprised that Dublin only got 7 awards ! Thought Kilkenny and Murchan should have definitely got awards also .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 01/11/2019 21:05:57    2247114