Graham Reilly

Whether it was due to injury or just a loss of form Graham Reilly was not involved on Saturday. I didn't get a programme so I didn't see whether he was named on the match day panel.

However, as it looks likely that he has played his last game for Meath I would like to acknowledge the service he has given to the Meath team and supporters during what has been a barren time. It must be so much more difficult to keep motivated and committed when it is clear that the chances of winning silverware are so much lower.

In my opinion Meath would not be heading to division 1 this year were it not for Graham. He came on as a sub against Kildare and played a pinpoint pass to Thomas Reilly resulting in the winning penalty. Not sure whether we were going to turn around that game only for that.

Also, special mention to Mickey Burke who got a well deserved send off on Saturday evening.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/08/2019 08:32:27    2220974

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Whether it was due to injury or just a loss of form Graham Reilly was not involved on Saturday. I didn't get a programme so I didn't see whether he was named on the match day panel.

However, as it looks likely that he has played his last game for Meath I would like to acknowledge the service he has given to the Meath team and supporters during what has been a barren time. It must be so much more difficult to keep motivated and committed when it is clear that the chances of winning silverware are so much lower.

In my opinion Meath would not be heading to division 1 this year were it not for Graham. He came on as a sub against Kildare and played a pinpoint pass to Thomas Reilly resulting in the winning penalty. Not sure whether we were going to turn around that game only for that.

Also, special mention to Mickey Burke who got a well deserved send off on Saturday evening."
Think Graham Reilly may still be worth his place on the panel albeit as an impact sub. He should work on his game/fitness to have the impact Andy Moran or most of the experienced Dublin subs can bring late in game. We are not well enough stocked to cut him looose just yet.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 05/08/2019 11:19:47    2221028

Replying To winatallcost:  "Think Graham Reilly may still be worth his place on the panel albeit as an impact sub. He should work on his game/fitness to have the impact Andy Moran or most of the experienced Dublin subs can bring late in game. We are not well enough stocked to cut him looose just yet."
That's a fair comment - not writing him off here but just wanted to mark the contribution of a talented player in the lean times.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/08/2019 11:27:53    2221035

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Whether it was due to injury or just a loss of form Graham Reilly was not involved on Saturday. I didn't get a programme so I didn't see whether he was named on the match day panel.

Also, special mention to Mickey Burke who got a well deserved send off on Saturday evening."
Yes............. Great credit and thanks due to Mickey Burke. Maybe not our most gifted skills wise,but he always gave of his best,and thats all you can ask.
Never was Graham Reillys biggest fan because of his tenancy to stand back at critical times when the chips were down.
Has given some great displays when going forward at speed. On his day could be a match winner. On his last appearance it appeared he did not want to get too involved. If Andy had words with him after i could understand why. However , Thanks Graham for your time over a long career and some flashes of great scoring skills .Time waits for nobody,

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1212 - 05/08/2019 11:33:01    2221037

Replying To winatallcost:  "Think Graham Reilly may still be worth his place on the panel albeit as an impact sub. He should work on his game/fitness to have the impact Andy Moran or most of the experienced Dublin subs can bring late in game. We are not well enough stocked to cut him looose just yet."
Andy moran is used as an inside forward. meath management use reilly as a wing forward tracking runners here is the crux of the situstion even at height of his game graham wouldnt do that or didnt look happy at it.to gdt the best of him i feel give him room to roam and get on the end of moves he would score if in right areas.i know thd argument is rumners every where but he wont do it the liking of amdy simple as.something had to give and it wasn't goin to b mcentee. Bringing in young lads before him prob but it to bed for to.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/08/2019 14:23:04    2221134

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Andy moran is used as an inside forward. meath management use reilly as a wing forward tracking runners here is the crux of the situstion even at height of his game graham wouldnt do that or didnt look happy at it.to gdt the best of him i feel give him room to roam and get on the end of moves he would score if in right areas.i know thd argument is rumners every where but he wont do it the liking of amdy simple as.something had to give and it wasn't goin to b mcentee. Bringing in young lads before him prob but it to bed for to."
Comparing Andy Moran and biggy is a bit of a stretch . Moran is still Mayo s most influential player ..., and was footballer of the year not too long ago .......we need to keep this Graham thing real ....not at the races this year at all . ,but a good serpent in lean times nonetheless .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 05/08/2019 15:24:16    2221171

Replying To noluso:  "Comparing Andy Moran and biggy is a bit of a stretch . Moran is still Mayo s most influential player ..., and was footballer of the year not too long ago .......we need to keep this Graham thing real ....not at the races this year at all . ,but a good serpent in lean times nonetheless ."
How we use a player and comparisons with a player is what im saying.if you read it again horse you will eventuality twig my meaning.
Moran mayo use better
Reilly in my opinion dont.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/08/2019 16:02:22    2221188

Replying To noluso:  "Comparing Andy Moran and biggy is a bit of a stretch . Moran is still Mayo s most influential player ..., and was footballer of the year not too long ago .......we need to keep this Graham thing real ....not at the races this year at all . ,but a good serpent in lean times nonetheless ."
Would you put moran wing forward??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/08/2019 16:03:52    2221191

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Andy moran is used as an inside forward. meath management use reilly as a wing forward tracking runners here is the crux of the situstion even at height of his game graham wouldnt do that or didnt look happy at it.to gdt the best of him i feel give him room to roam and get on the end of moves he would score if in right areas.i know thd argument is rumners every where but he wont do it the liking of amdy simple as.something had to give and it wasn't goin to b mcentee. Bringing in young lads before him prob but it to bed for to."
Every forward would be better if they could roam free and get on the end of attacks but it doesn't happen in the half forward line anymore. The only future Graham has for Meath is as a back to the goal inside forward. But that doesn't fit his strengths so I don't think there's a place for him

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 05/08/2019 16:08:43    2221195

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Every forward would be better if they could roam free and get on the end of attacks but it doesn't happen in the half forward line anymore. The only future Graham has for Meath is as a back to the goal inside forward. But that doesn't fit his strengths so I don't think there's a place for him"
Workrate is of critical importance. Graham tends to wait to be given the ball nowadays, and wont work to regain posession when needed. That type of player is surplus from here forward. Yes he contributed hansomely in the lean times .

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1212 - 05/08/2019 16:47:46    2221215

Replying To nobull456:  "Workrate is of critical importance. Graham tends to wait to be given the ball nowadays, and wont work to regain posession when needed. That type of player is surplus from here forward. Yes he contributed hansomely in the lean times ."
So instead of givimg the man the chance to at least play himself off the team just discard him.mick odowd did this to about 6 lads look where that left us.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 05/08/2019 17:00:52    2221221

Reilly came on against Clare in the league and was crucial in pushing us on in that match. The lad is only 30ish. Awful nonsense spouted about the lad over the years, several years ago he secured division 2 status against Tyrone in Navan. Leave it to McEntee to make his call but Biggie was unfortunate that O Dowd came in and jettisoned a heap of good footballers and replaced them with undeveloped footballers.

7sams (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 05/08/2019 18:01:51    2221239

Replying To Borderroyal:  "So instead of givimg the man the chance to at least play himself off the team just discard him.mick odowd did this to about 6 lads look where that left us."
Ah now i think Graham Reilly deserved every chance to improve his workrate. In fairness Andy Mc Entee gave him every chance to do so. The last appearance was the tipping point for me.... more of the same standing back. I imagine that blew Andys fuse and i can understand that. I will admit Graham raised my blood pressure more than anyone else over the years. A player with bundles of ability (as he demonstated so often) yet could switch off when most needed. In fairness also to management other players are raring to go, and deserve the same chance as Graham'
I dont think you are comparing like with like when you refer you the lads discarded by MOD. I agree they were discarded prematurely. ALL managers have to be ruthless when necessary . Thats ok when its for the benefit of the team. No one player is bigger than the team.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1212 - 05/08/2019 18:09:07    2221241

Replying To 7sams:  "Reilly came on against Clare in the league and was crucial in pushing us on in that match. The lad is only 30ish. Awful nonsense spouted about the lad over the years, several years ago he secured division 2 status against Tyrone in Navan. Leave it to McEntee to make his call but Biggie was unfortunate that O Dowd came in and jettisoned a heap of good footballers and replaced them with undeveloped footballers."
Well said. Btw, I don't believe for one minute that we have seen the last of graham in a Meath shirt. The man lives and breaths football and Meath runs through his veins like few others I have seen. Graham would not walk away

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/08/2019 18:44:17    2221257

Replying To Borderroyal:  "So instead of givimg the man the chance to at least play himself off the team just discard him.mick odowd did this to about 6 lads look where that left us."
That destroyed the team. O'Dowd got that totally wrong.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/08/2019 18:46:05    2221259

IMO he has played himself off the team with his performances in championship this year. Looks to be struggling to get around the pitch and is definitely struggled to make any significant impact in the championship games he played in. Terrific servant to meath football but I think his race is run. Once the tempo intensity and paced upped when championship started he looked under pressure. Division 1 next year so again can't see him being cut out for that level anymore. Time to thank him for his service and cut him loose.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/08/2019 18:52:38    2221263

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said. Btw, I don't believe for one minute that we have seen the last of graham in a Meath shirt. The man lives and breaths football and Meath runs through his veins like few others I have seen. Graham would not walk away"
I think we have definitely seen the last of Graham ... He has been around meath football since he was a minor ....but in the last few years has performed well below par ,and time to call a halt . He will be consigned to the " good servant " column along with Mickey Burke . Anyone know where his nickname " biggie " came from ?

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 06/08/2019 08:57:15    2221431

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said. Btw, I don't believe for one minute that we have seen the last of graham in a Meath shirt. The man lives and breaths football and Meath runs through his veins like few others I have seen. Graham would not walk away"
You may be right,we may see him next year and I think playing division 1 might drive him on for another year.I hope he does,think he could still do a job off the bench for us but he will have to mend relations with Andy because he left the panel after the Donegal game whether you believe it or not it's true.If he is gone,it's a pity it happened that way but best of luck to him and thanks for all the effort for the cause over the years.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 06/08/2019 10:12:01    2221462

Poor form putting up this thread on biggie.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 06/08/2019 17:49:50    2221762

Christ a bit of respect here please. Threads on Mickey Burke and Graham Reilly condeming both to inter county wilderness is pathetic. These guys have earned the right to make their own decision on whether they wish to retire or not. People on here pre empting the conclusion of their careers and is downright wrong. Give it time and if announcements are forthcoming so be it. But STOP with the obituaries.

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 06/08/2019 20:11:27    2221855