Keegan Cup 2019

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Kells the flat track bullies got found out yesterday I see. Patting themselves on the back all year for beating teams missing half their starting 15s for the majority of the league and feis cup games. They are very consistent though........"
Ridiculous comment. You don't get to the county semi-finals by beating half teams. Ratoath won because they were the better team plain and simple. Don't let your begrudgery get the better of you.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 14/10/2019 16:26:34    2243457

Was at both games. Summerhill played well particularly first half. The winning goal at the end was a bit of luck but you need that to win a close game. I was amazed at the second half tactics of Kells. The two Wallace's and McMahon were allowed so much space and freedom to get on the ball and dictated the second half. With players of that quality you cant allow that to happen. I'm sure Summerhill will attempt to stop these players having so much influence in the final because if they don't Ratoath will win easily.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 14/10/2019 17:38:44    2243495

A lot of negative comments on Kells here which i don't understand. They have been in 4 semi finals and a Quarter final i n past 5 years, Yesterday i believe was Ratoaths first semi final, kells have been operating with more or less the same players in that time, no real underage talent came through to bolster the squad. Very entertaining side who play good football but were beaten by a slick Ratoath side yesterday. Yes kells lost the head in the final 8 minutes or so but they cannot be described as a dirty team and one thing they can take is their beating fair and square. There is a bit more steel in Ratoath this year, why they played such a slow boring lack lustre first half i don't know but when they get early ball into Mc Mahon and Joey wallace they are almost un markable. Kells will find it tough to ho again but the have proven to be a very good side over the past few seasons under Lar Wall.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 14/10/2019 17:49:51    2243497

Was at the 2 games over the weekend
Think Simonstown and a lot of people in the county underestimated us
You dont get to a Senior Quarter final and County finals without being a good team
The game was in the balance but Tobin made a bad judgement in going short and that turned the game
Got nothing but well wishes from Simonstown crowd after the game , they are a great team and they might feel they left this one behind but thats championship football , We have been playing knockout Football since our defeat to Donaghmore and it showed

The Kells and Ratoath game was interesting in that Kells dominated the first half and should of had more on the board
Ratoath then turned the screw in the 2nd half and dominated around the middle starving Kells of the ball and their 2 main forwards but it was the goal that really turned the game for Ratoath and Kells didnt recover , Beano wasnt as accurate as previous games from the frees but in fairness they were a good bit out

Will be a hell of a final but I think we have the experience to take Ratoath , only a kick of a ball between us in the group stages but we are a different animal now and I think with it being Ratoaths first final Im hoping might get a bit of stage fright

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 14/10/2019 18:01:46    2243499

Replying To latouche25:  "Ridiculous comment. You don't get to the county semi-finals by beating half teams. Ratoath won because they were the better team plain and simple. Don't let your begrudgery get the better of you."
Not begrudgery just fact. yous were getting carried away because of your form in the league and feis cup beating teams missing most of their key men. Fact is when it came to the business end of championship kells were found out. Struggled to beat an average Ashbourne team and were beaten pretty comfortably in the end by Rataoth despite according to the kells mafia on here having the best forwards in the county. Some people can be fooled by League form and the hype starts to build but fact is kells a good solid senior outfit and thats all they will ever be. And then of course when they game was lost they resorted to their usual nonsense behaviour. Best of luck to both Rataoth and Summerhill in the final. Dont mind who wins but just hope its a really good game.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 869 - 15/10/2019 11:18:06    2243649

Replying To summerhillof69:  "Was at the 2 games over the weekend
Think Simonstown and a lot of people in the county underestimated us
You dont get to a Senior Quarter final and County finals without being a good team
The game was in the balance but Tobin made a bad judgement in going short and that turned the game
Got nothing but well wishes from Simonstown crowd after the game , they are a great team and they might feel they left this one behind but thats championship football , We have been playing knockout Football since our defeat to Donaghmore and it showed

The Kells and Ratoath game was interesting in that Kells dominated the first half and should of had more on the board
Ratoath then turned the screw in the 2nd half and dominated around the middle starving Kells of the ball and their 2 main forwards but it was the goal that really turned the game for Ratoath and Kells didnt recover , Beano wasnt as accurate as previous games from the frees but in fairness they were a good bit out

Will be a hell of a final but I think we have the experience to take Ratoath , only a kick of a ball between us in the group stages but we are a different animal now and I think with it being Ratoaths first final Im hoping might get a bit of stage fright"
I don't think Ratoath will get stage fright, there's a rich splattering of inter-county experience in the squad. Summerhill have improved since the group match and so have Ratoath. The final will be a close call. A point or 2 either way.

meath87889699 (Meath) - Posts: 41 - 15/10/2019 12:28:15    2243666

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Not begrudgery just fact. yous were getting carried away because of your form in the league and feis cup beating teams missing most of their key men. Fact is when it came to the business end of championship kells were found out. Struggled to beat an average Ashbourne team and were beaten pretty comfortably in the end by Rataoth despite according to the kells mafia on here having the best forwards in the county. Some people can be fooled by League form and the hype starts to build but fact is kells a good solid senior outfit and thats all they will ever be. And then of course when they game was lost they resorted to their usual nonsense behaviour. Best of luck to both Rataoth and Summerhill in the final. Dont mind who wins but just hope its a really good game."
Bit harsh. I was one of the posters complimenting Kells on their forward line and I'm hardly part of the "Kells mafia". Their forward line just didn't function or wasn't allowed to function on Sunday.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 15/10/2019 12:30:57    2243667

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Bit harsh. I was one of the posters complimenting Kells on their forward line and I'm hardly part of the "Kells mafia". Their forward line just didn't function or wasn't allowed to function on Sunday."
Kells forwards starved of ball due to Ratoath taking control of middle 3rd of pitch and taking some good scores from this possession. Best teams are in the final hopefully both play up to to their strengths should be a cracker

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 15/10/2019 14:21:56    2243711

Good luck to our own Shane Duffy and our friends in Ratoath next weekend. The Magheracloone support will be there in force... one step away from a unique Monaghan and Meath Senior championship double... assuming it hasn't been done before!!!

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 335 - 16/10/2019 22:52:13    2243999

Replying To GerryD:  "Good luck to our own Shane Duffy and our friends in Ratoath next weekend. The Magheracloone support will be there in force... one step away from a unique Monaghan and Meath Senior championship double... assuming it hasn't been done before!!!"
Thanks for that! And congratulations to Magheracloone on winning the Monaghan Intermediate Championship and going straight back up to Senior.
Shane's been absolutely immense since he's joined the team in 2015. Great to have such an experienced head between the sticks and assisting with the younger, keepers coming through.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 17/10/2019 08:06:05    2244012

I find it funny how often teams get called bottlers in football. Only 1 team can win the keegan cup every year , its a very very tough competition to win. theres not a lot between the top 5 or 6 teams and i think the fact that its such a long competition can help and hinder certain teams. We've seen the last few years that it is vitaly important to time your run.
Kells have been very consistant all year playing at a high level similar to skyrne last year , but when you get to the knock-out stages and it becomes do or die it can be hard to raise intensity levels again, sometimes teams need a wake up call and when everything is going well you can be caught on the hop.

Kells are a good team who play good football and get the most out of what they have, but i dont think you could say player for player they are in the top 3 in Meath talent wise. Thats not meant as an insult they have a some extremely talented forwards and while midfield and defenders are good they arent as strong as the other 3 teams in the SF. Also i think Kells have a small enough panel compared to the likes of Summerhill,Ratoath,Simonstown,Dunboyne.
As i said only 1 team can win the Keegan cup so if everyone is judged on that then there are few succesful teams.
Obviously it is little consolation to the players but to win A leagues and feis cups is good achievements.

Getting back to the bottling i really think it is unfair. As the saying goes every dog has its day , Dunboyne were considered bottlers for years and pretty much walked the championship last year. Simonstown were also labelled bottlers for a long time and came along and won 2 in a row. Even when O'mahoneys were winning keegans there was the opinion that they were bottlers for not winning it every year.
Ratoath too were be labelled as bottlers even though they are novices at senior level. They seem to have come together and now should be real contenders for the next few years.
Summerhill have shown unreal character to reach 3 finals in a row but will they be labelled as bottlers if they come up short again?

On the final i think we've got a real interesting game on the cards.
Ratoath have lots and lots of talent and are coming at the right time with big wins in the QF and SF . They have the most talented forwards in Meath in the Wallaces and Brian McMahon. They have a very athletic midfield that can get up and down the picth for the hour. There defenders done well against a good kells forward line and havent conceeded much all year but i definitely other than mcgill there man marking defenders are there weak link.
Summerhill have shown brilliant character to come back again this year. McCabe is clearly a good manager and has tehm all working together. Summerhill are more talented than they get credit for but they work so well as a team that there are no real superstars. A lot will come down to how the Ryan twins can handle McMahon and Joey wallace and if Barry dardis can get the better of McGill and put his stamp on County final day.
I think it will be close and maybe not as high scoring as people predict but i think Summerhill after two misses will be like men demented and will have come out on top .

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 17/10/2019 10:55:17    2244041

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "I find it funny how often teams get called bottlers in football. Only 1 team can win the keegan cup every year , its a very very tough competition to win. theres not a lot between the top 5 or 6 teams and i think the fact that its such a long competition can help and hinder certain teams. We've seen the last few years that it is vitaly important to time your run.
Kells have been very consistant all year playing at a high level similar to skyrne last year , but when you get to the knock-out stages and it becomes do or die it can be hard to raise intensity levels again, sometimes teams need a wake up call and when everything is going well you can be caught on the hop.

Kells are a good team who play good football and get the most out of what they have, but i dont think you could say player for player they are in the top 3 in Meath talent wise. Thats not meant as an insult they have a some extremely talented forwards and while midfield and defenders are good they arent as strong as the other 3 teams in the SF. Also i think Kells have a small enough panel compared to the likes of Summerhill,Ratoath,Simonstown,Dunboyne.
As i said only 1 team can win the Keegan cup so if everyone is judged on that then there are few succesful teams.
Obviously it is little consolation to the players but to win A leagues and feis cups is good achievements.

Getting back to the bottling i really think it is unfair. As the saying goes every dog has its day , Dunboyne were considered bottlers for years and pretty much walked the championship last year. Simonstown were also labelled bottlers for a long time and came along and won 2 in a row. Even when O'mahoneys were winning keegans there was the opinion that they were bottlers for not winning it every year.
Ratoath too were be labelled as bottlers even though they are novices at senior level. They seem to have come together and now should be real contenders for the next few years.
Summerhill have shown unreal character to reach 3 finals in a row but will they be labelled as bottlers if they come up short again?

Ratoath have lots and lots of talent and are coming at the right time with big wins in the QF and SF . They have the most talented forwards in Meath in the Wallaces and Brian McMahon. They have a very athletic midfield that can get up and down the picth for the hour. There defenders done well against a good kells forward line and havent conceeded much all year but i definitely other than mcgill there man marking defenders are there weak link.
Summerhill have shown brilliant character to come back again this year. McCabe is clearly a good manager and has tehm all working together. Summerhill are more talented than they get credit for but they work so well as a team that there are no real superstars. A lot will come down to how the Ryan twins can handle McMahon and Joey wallace and if Barry dardis can get the better of McGill and put his stamp on County final day.
I think it will be close and maybe not as high scoring as people predict but i think Summerhill after two misses will be like men demented and will have come out on top ."
Good post Meathmaverick.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 17/10/2019 12:11:13    2244051

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "I find it funny how often teams get called bottlers in football. Only 1 team can win the keegan cup every year , its a very very tough competition to win. theres not a lot between the top 5 or 6 teams and i think the fact that its such a long competition can help and hinder certain teams. We've seen the last few years that it is vitaly important to time your run.

I think it will be close and maybe not as high scoring as people predict but i think Summerhill after two misses will be like men demented and will have come out on top ."
I really like this post! Fair play.

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 17/10/2019 12:21:40    2244052

One down and three to go.
Junior B in the bag, Keegan Cup coming next weekend,
U21 coming November/ December.
Not sure when we collect Club Of The Year, anyone know ??

Serious question.
Should Ratoath be split in 2 ??
Facilities, Money , Population. It's very similar to Dublin.

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 19/10/2019 17:59:59    2244413

Replying To Upforyourball:  "One down and three to go.

Serious question.
Facilities, Money , Population. It's very similar to Dublin."
Ratoath split in two. That is insane. Why just because they get to their first ever Senior Final. FFS will ye be saying that when Summerhill beat them. Big population means nothing. Cilles has always a big population and they were basket case for years. It took new blood in to sort them out and a massive Schools programme they run. Sure O Mahonys and Simonstown have big populations and a lot of their underage teams can't even compete at Division 1 Level.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 19/10/2019 19:17:16    2244430

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Ratoath split in two. That is insane. Why just because they get to their first ever Senior Final. FFS will ye be saying that when Summerhill beat them. Big population means nothing. Cilles has always a big population and they were basket case for years. It took new blood in to sort them out and a massive Schools programme they run. Sure O Mahonys and Simonstown have big populations and a lot of their underage teams can't even compete at Division 1 Level."
Money ? What money have Ratoath got that other clubs don't have access to ? Please be factual in your comments. Population ? What population advantage do Ratoath have when compared to other senior clubs, again I'd ask you to be factual (latest census figures only please). No point in throwing out comments just for the sake of it. Ratoath won the junior B today, that is a fact. Who knows if they'll win the senior or U20 for that matter.

meath87889699 (Meath) - Posts: 41 - 19/10/2019 20:12:49    2244443

Serious question.
Still wouldn't top dunboyne last year...

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 19/10/2019 21:44:56    2244466

Serious question.
Haha - he reeled you in there!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 20/10/2019 08:32:02    2244490

Replying To meath87889699:  "Money ? What money have Ratoath got that other clubs don't have access to ? Please be factual in your comments. Population ? What population advantage do Ratoath have when compared to other senior clubs, again I'd ask you to be factual (latest census figures only please). No point in throwing out comments just for the sake of it. Ratoath won the junior B today, that is a fact. Who knows if they'll win the senior or U20 for that matter."
Ha Fantastic fishing here. Caught a good few nibbles as well. Good work

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 869 - 21/10/2019 10:01:19    2244713

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Still wouldn't top dunboyne last year..."
100% correct.
However Dunboyne have disappeared since and looking at their underage setup, will continue to be also rans for a long time to come.
There's always the possibility of bringing in more transfers, or you could follow our example, and play the young lads and forget about the olde lads.

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 21/10/2019 14:04:45    2244778