Keegan Cup 2019

Replying To Upforyourball:  "So to prove my Ratoathness, am I suppose to say "ah Ratoath are not very good" or should I go with "Ratoath are very young" line.
Or how does "Kells should win a tight game" sound ?
KOP ON !!!
Ratoath were awesome on Sunday and skryne were poor because they were made look poor.
They have numerous options off the bench and if the line get it right, they won't be stopped. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.
And I'm not the only one that believes that.
The biggest challenge will be to keep all the players happy.
By the way, there was Ratoath Gaa before Brownstown and the blue invasion."
Fair enough but skryne where brutal v 14 man kells also so it should be an interesting semi

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 01/10/2019 07:39:10    2240506

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Typical lazy comment. There are as many if not more 'Dubs' living in Navan, kells and Trim as their are in ratoath and ashbourne. The difference is that in those three locations they haven't bothered to get involved in their local!"
You're a very grumpy man BigJoe. Why don't you have a cup of tea and relax yourself a bit, get some fresh air.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 01/10/2019 08:56:33    2240520

Replying To Upforyourball:  "So to prove my Ratoathness, am I suppose to say "ah Ratoath are not very good" or should I go with "Ratoath are very young" line.
KOP ON !!!
Ratoath were awesome on Sunday and skryne were poor because they were made look poor.
They have numerous options off the bench and if the line get it right, they won't be stopped. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.
Did the manageemnt get it wrong the last 5 years, is that why they have never won it?
When the going gets tough Ratoath go missing, i think you will find is the problem..
The reason Skryne were poor is because they are very poor and were missing their best player.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 01/10/2019 09:00:18    2240522

Skryne were v poor on Sunday , add in the fact they were missing their best player and Talisman POR
Once the 2 goals went in they deflated and probably mentally thought today wasn't going to be their day.
Of course we are delighted in Ratoath but lets remember Kells dismantled Skyrne with ease and with 14 men

Im delighted to get this far and All teams are kind of even enough level but Id have to say Simonstown and Kells are slightly ahead of Summerhill and ourselves.

Kells are deserving favourites and over the past few years have been consistently one of the best teams in the country
Simonstown have serious firepower and experience after looking at them on Friday night V Dunshaughlin , they were able to turn the screw after half time and brought in Subs like Kearney and Kenny , experience like that is huge at this stage

Kells will feel this is their year and have the best forward unit in the country but Im sure our lads will give it their best shot

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 01/10/2019 09:19:03    2240525

KOP ON !!!
Loving the optimism fair play for being so forthright with it!! Ratoath have absolutely bags of talent and have done for years... would not be in the smallest bit surprised if the were to win it would not begrudge them in the slightest. I do think that you are underestimating the level of team left in the competition when you say they will win by as much as they like. I think that both semis will be tight tense affairs... hoping for 2 crackers from undoubtedly the 4 best teams in the county.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 01/10/2019 09:23:42    2240526

Replying To Maestro:  "Did the manageemnt get it wrong the last 5 years, is that why they have never won it?
When the going gets tough Ratoath go missing, i think you will find is the problem..
The reason Skryne were poor is because they are very poor and were missing their best player."
No but the fact that this is only Ratoaths 4th year at Senior would be a reason why they haven't won it for the last 5 years!! Seriously stop attacking teams when you clearly haven't a clue about what your talking about!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 01/10/2019 10:05:52    2240538

Replying To ratlag:  "No but the fact that this is only Ratoaths 4th year at Senior would be a reason why they haven't won it for the last 5 years!! Seriously stop attacking teams when you clearly haven't a clue about what your talking about!!"
Ah my mistake, it just feels like longer from having to listen to Ratoath posters talk themselves up every year on this forum. At least the forum is very active until Ratoath get knocked out every year.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 01/10/2019 10:54:30    2240555

Replying To Maestro:  "Ah my mistake, it just feels like longer from having to listen to Ratoath posters talk themselves up every year on this forum. At least the forum is very active until Ratoath get knocked out every year."
Maestro, your begrudgery is amazing
Every club should be aloud enjoy their run in a championship and remember only one team can win it, so to pick on Ratoath not having won a senior championship when they have only been in it for four years is actually totally unfair
It a massive learning curve and something that doesn't happen easily
I agree some over zealous Ratoath supporters on here get a bit ahead of themselves but sure there is no harm in that
Remember ratoath is a very proud Meath club and winning the Keegan cup would be a huge honor so give us a break and let's enjoy the time we have left in the competition however long that is

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 01/10/2019 11:49:28    2240581

Replying To Maestro:  "Ah my mistake, it just feels like longer from having to listen to Ratoath posters talk themselves up every year on this forum. At least the forum is very active until Ratoath get knocked out every year."
Or the more likely option...you haven't a clue about Meath football and are looking to give sly digs!! If it quietens down then maybe try posting about the Senior Championship instead of about Ratoath???

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 01/10/2019 12:07:18    2240585

Sigh, more evidence of your lack of knowledge. And that's your fault, no one else's. Show me where Ratoath posters have talked the team up (and I'm not counting the obvious trolling posts here recently).
No one from Ratoath talks the team up. Lots of people every year on here say that Ratoath should do XYZ and when they get knocked out they somehow seem to try to claim that Ratoath posters were bigging them up. Or my personal favourite is when everyone knows "this Ratoath guy in work" who is bragging about walking the championship. Amazing how many of these there are when you'd never see any sight nor sound of them in the club itself.
Kells are favourites and I'd expect them to win. We have half a chance if our defence is disciplined and minimises the concession of frees inside the 45 and our forwards are accurate (which has been an ongoing problem). But if Kells show up, especially their formidable and accurate forward line, they should win. And it'd be no shame if we were beaten by Kells as they're an excellent team who've been joint favourites with Simonstown for a while now.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 01/10/2019 12:30:40    2240596

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Sigh, more evidence of your lack of knowledge. And that's your fault, no one else's. Show me where Ratoath posters have talked the team up (and I'm not counting the obvious trolling posts here recently).
No one from Ratoath talks the team up. Lots of people every year on here say that Ratoath should do XYZ and when they get knocked out they somehow seem to try to claim that Ratoath posters were bigging them up. Or my personal favourite is when everyone knows "this Ratoath guy in work" who is bragging about walking the championship. Amazing how many of these there are when you'd never see any sight nor sound of them in the club itself.
Kells are favourites and I'd expect them to win. We have half a chance if our defence is disciplined and minimises the concession of frees inside the 45 and our forwards are accurate (which has been an ongoing problem). But if Kells show up, especially their formidable and accurate forward line, they should win. And it'd be no shame if we were beaten by Kells as they're an excellent team who've been joint favourites with Simonstown for a while now."
Ratoath Royal as I said in my previous post Kells would want to improve a lot from their Quarter Final showing against a weakened Ashbourne to beat a rampant Ratoath side. They have some good forwards but so do Ratoath. With the pace Ratoath have in the forward line, the Kells back line is there for the taking. I make Ratoath clear favourites for this one with Simonstown slight favourites against Summerhill.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 01/10/2019 13:59:31    2240635

Its that time of year again where some ratoath supporters get carried away after one result.
I was at the skyrne game and how you could take anything from it is beyond me , training game for a 1/4 final.

They may well be a good team but sunday gives no indication and i think out of the 4 teams left they would be the team you wouldnt mind playing again.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 01/10/2019 14:51:22    2240659

You have to laugh at these fake Ratoath posters , Ask anyone from Ratoath and they know we have a chance but so does all the other 3 teams , If anything The odds should be
Kells Fav 6/4
Simonstown 7/4
Summerhill 9/4
Ratoath 4/1

Odds are based on he below
3 of the Teams have won the Keegan
Kells have been consistently one of the best teams in the county , Div 1 League , Feis Cup , Narrowly beaten in Semis
Simonstown - Won 2 out of the last 3 Championships , Have size, Power , experience
Summerhill - reached last final last 2 yrs running and looking to put it right this year ,have serious pedigree , have already beaten Ratoath in Group stages playing badly
Ratoath - Only went Senior 4 yrs ago , First time getting past quarter finals - paired against bookies favourites

lagoreX (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 01/10/2019 15:41:53    2240680

Replying To hurlit:  "Its that time of year again where some ratoath supporters get carried away after one result.
I was at the skyrne game and how you could take anything from it is beyond me , training game for a 1/4 final.

They may well be a good team but sunday gives no indication and i think out of the 4 teams left they would be the team you wouldnt mind playing again."
It's that time of year again when random posters make up stuff in their head to try to justify their weird bitterness towards Ratoath.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 01/10/2019 15:47:06    2240682

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "It's that time of year again when random posters make up stuff in their head to try to justify their weird bitterness towards Ratoath."
i dont care who wins it , my point is you cant take anything from the skyrne game and the other 3 teams left look more battle harden , this is a young ratoath team and first semi.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 01/10/2019 15:53:40    2240687

Replying To lagoreX:  "You have to laugh at these fake Ratoath posters , Ask anyone from Ratoath and they know we have a chance but so does all the other 3 teams , If anything The odds should be
Kells Fav 6/4
Simonstown 7/4
Summerhill 9/4
Ratoath 4/1

Odds are based on he below
3 of the Teams have won the Keegan
Kells have been consistently one of the best teams in the county , Div 1 League , Feis Cup , Narrowly beaten in Semis
Simonstown - Won 2 out of the last 3 Championships , Have size, Power , experience
Summerhill - reached last final last 2 yrs running and looking to put it right this year ,have serious pedigree , have already beaten Ratoath in Group stages playing badly
Ratoath - Only went Senior 4 yrs ago , First time getting past quarter finals - paired against bookies favourites"
Boyle Sports with probably the most accurate odds for the championship:

Kells 7/4
Ratoath 11/4
Simonstown 11/4
Summerhill 3/1

Nobody is saying that Ratoath will win the championship easy at all (nobody from Ratoath anyway) but they are definitely in with a shout. Kells rightly favourite based on form over the course of the year, but will not have it easy against a Ratoath side who have already played at least two tough teams in Ashbourne and Summerhill. Personally I think Ratoath have the better players both in attack and defence on an individual basis, however its Kells work rate as a unit that makes them so dangerous.

Simonstown rightly favourite ahead of Summerhill as well. Summerhill have had one good performance this year against Na Fiann in the 1/4 finals, bet by Ashbourne and poor against Ratoath and fortunate that a last minute wayward pass gifted them a goal. Simonstown have hit form at the right time this year and in my opinion should be favourites to win it outright.

Should all 4 teams be at the best and fully fit for the semi finals I will go with a Ratoath v Simonstown final. If Ratoaths mini injury crisis continues however then it will be Kells v Simonstown, I just can't see Summerhill coming through that game barring something drastic happens.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 01/10/2019 16:30:57    2240696

Would not place too much emphasis on the betting odds. Dunboyne were favourites early on. Ratoath beat a Skryne team which looked unfit. I was impressed by Ratoath's mobility and fitness and I expect them to give a good account of themselves going forward. From a Ratoath prospective the win and getting into a semi-final for the first time will do their confidence no harm. Best of luck to all and may the best team win.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/10/2019 17:11:27    2240709

Replying To hurlit:  "i dont care who wins it , my point is you cant take anything from the skyrne game and the other 3 teams left look more battle harden , this is a young ratoath team and first semi."
And I haven't seen or heard any Ratoath supporter say any different. That's my point. You're making it up.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 01/10/2019 18:57:04    2240730

Replying To ratlag:  "Or the more likely option...you haven't a clue about Meath football and are looking to give sly digs!! If it quietens down then maybe try posting about the Senior Championship instead of about Ratoath???"
Ye I usually do post alright but the Ratoath brigade are normally long gone from the forum at this stage in the championship. Imagine Ratoath actually won something....

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 01/10/2019 19:14:05    2240734

Replying To Maestro:  "Ye I usually do post alright but the Ratoath brigade are normally long gone from the forum at this stage in the championship. Imagine Ratoath actually won something...."
You mean apart from several Meath minor football championships, Meath U21 championships (hurling and football), a Meath Junior championship, a Meath Intermediate championship (football and hurling) and a Leinster Intermediate football championship? Apart from all those championships Ratoath have won?

Dig up Maestro.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 01/10/2019 19:48:14    2240743