Keegan Cup 2019

More clinical finishing, experience & stronger bench got Simonstown over the line.

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 28/09/2019 13:22:13    2239820

Ratoath just awesome again today, just can't see anyone living with them, so many options. I thought skryne would be better, but it tells you how poor our senior clubs are, when the likes of skryne can make the playoffs.
Ratoath will win their semi by as much as they like.
Summerhill should get the better of Simonstown in the other by 2/3
Doesn't really matter who wins the second one,
Ratoath for their first of many Keegan Cups.

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 29/09/2019 17:25:27    2240062

Replying To Upforyourball:  "Ratoath just awesome again today, just can't see anyone living with them, so many options. I thought skryne would be better, but it tells you how poor our senior clubs are, when the likes of skryne can make the playoffs.
Ratoath for their first of many Keegan Cups."
I was at that Ratoath V Scrin game. Scrin were absolutely diabolical. How you can say Ratoath were awesome mystifies me. Ratoath did not even have to try and ran their whole subs bench 2 mins into 2nd half so bad were Scrin. Ye need to catch yourself on. Ye won by a big score because Scrin were dire.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 29/09/2019 18:11:20    2240071

You need to calm down in Ratoath!Scryne were woeful!Keegan is wide open!

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 29/09/2019 19:02:17    2240077

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "I was at that Ratoath V Scrin game. Scrin were absolutely diabolical. How you can say Ratoath were awesome mystifies me. Ratoath did not even have to try and ran their whole subs bench 2 mins into 2nd half so bad were Scrin. Ye need to catch yourself on. Ye won by a big score because Scrin were dire."
Ratoath are a good side. Will they win it out I don't think so. Didn't have Cian Rogers today. They have a very strong bench but I still think Gael Colmcilles will take them.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 29/09/2019 19:04:12    2240078

Replying To Upforyourball:  "Ratoath just awesome again today, just can't see anyone living with them, so many options. I thought skryne would be better, but it tells you how poor our senior clubs are, when the likes of skryne can make the playoffs.
Ratoath for their first of many Keegan Cups."
Very strange post. I hop that you are not from Ratoath as it would be pretty pathetic if you were.

The two semi finals are now REALLY interesting - I would make Ratoath slight favorites after todays mauling but not by "anything they like". I am sure that they would be embarrassed to read that.

Simonstown Summerhill too close to call.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 29/09/2019 19:04:59    2240079

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Very strange post. I hop that you are not from Ratoath as it would be pretty pathetic if you were.

The two semi finals are now REALLY interesting - I would make Ratoath slight favorites after todays mauling but not by "anything they like". I am sure that they would be embarrassed to read that.

Simonstown Summerhill too close to call."
Skryne were absolutely dreadful today! The only thing Ratoath got from that was a first ever sem final at senior
The game between meath hill and Castletown before the senior game had much meaning re intensity to it!
Kells v Ratoath should be a great game - hard to call
Simonstown v summerhill - hard to call

The best 4 teams are left and I think anyone of them could win it!!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 29/09/2019 19:11:29    2240083

Replying To JD1677:  "You need to calm down in Ratoath!Scryne were woeful!Keegan is wide open!"
Some random, non-Ratoath poster posts that and you extrapolate it to somehow say that Ratoath people think we have it in the bag???
As far as I can tell, two Ratoath posters made predictions in the run up to today's game, one predicted a Skryne win while another very cautiously predicted Ratoath while being very wary of Skryne. Looking at the players after the game, there were no celebrations at all.
Skryne were awful. We probably should have won by 5 - 10 more. Rathkenny gave us a better game. I'd be slightly worried for them next season to be honest though I'm obviously aware that O'Rourke wasn't playing today.
Delighted to finally get past a quarter final. Kells will be a different animal and are justifiably favorites. But I'm hopeful that we can give it a lash as we've nothing to lose. At the very least, we're guaranteed one (sort of) unique finalist.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 29/09/2019 20:22:23    2240106

I don't think any knowledgable Ratoath person will be reading anything too much into today, whilst not at the game every person I have spoken to who was have said Ratoath done well but Skryne were very very poor, sad to see one of the powerhouses of Meath football suffer the type of mauling they had today, and Kells done it to them too. Any one of the 4 teams left could win the championship, it's quite open and whilst I would have Kells as favourites based on their overall performances this year Ratoath certainly have the capability to hurt them and I would expect this game will be very hard to call. On a wider issue it was interesting, or worrying, to see that the smallest margin of victory in the four quarter finals was 5 points (Kells v Don/Ash) whilst the others were 9 points (Simonstown v Dun) 19 points (Ratoath v Skryne) and 14 points (Summerhill v Na Fianna), not the type of margins you expect or want to see at this stage of the championship, reform can't come quick enough methinks.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 29/09/2019 22:27:25    2240161

Thought it was a good weekend of senior championship. I know Simonstown won by 9 but that was flattering. I'm sure at half time Simonstown were a bit worried. Dunshaughlin tried launching high ball in for the first 10 mins but seen it was't working and started playing their usual style. After the break simonstown seemed to up the intestity and Dunshaughlin got hard to get scores then. But a good display from Dunshaughlin, encourging signs from a team with plenty of young players. Simonstown will have to up their performance if they want to beat Summerhill.

Thought Kells vs Don/Ash was the game of the weekend in senior. Kells took the lead and should have went more up but then Don/Ash got a run on them. Kells eventually got back into the game thanks to the penalty. When they went ahead Don/Ash never looked like winning it, didn't push men forward and just don't have the forwards. Kells look like a team that really want it this year so they will be hard stopped.

Summerhill vs Na Fianna was one sided. Once they had 1-1 in 1min 30secs I knew the game was over. Semi-Final is going to be very interesting.

Ratoath vs Skryne, Sad to see Skryne gone back so far, Ratoath were impressive but Kells also bet Skryne by a large margin with 14 men for a lot of the game and POR playing so it's hard to read too much into that game. But Ratoath are definitely better than I thought but I think Kells will win narrowly.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 30/09/2019 07:41:13    2240183

No surprises over the weekend with all the favourites coming through. Wouldn't read too much into Ratoath's big win as they have a tougher assignment ahead.

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 30/09/2019 09:04:56    2240192

Replying To Richieq:  "I don't think any knowledgable Ratoath person will be reading anything too much into today, whilst not at the game every person I have spoken to who was have said Ratoath done well but Skryne were very very poor, sad to see one of the powerhouses of Meath football suffer the type of mauling they had today, and Kells done it to them too. Any one of the 4 teams left could win the championship, it's quite open and whilst I would have Kells as favourites based on their overall performances this year Ratoath certainly have the capability to hurt them and I would expect this game will be very hard to call. On a wider issue it was interesting, or worrying, to see that the smallest margin of victory in the four quarter finals was 5 points (Kells v Don/Ash) whilst the others were 9 points (Simonstown v Dun) 19 points (Ratoath v Skryne) and 14 points (Summerhill v Na Fianna), not the type of margins you expect or want to see at this stage of the championship, reform can't come quick enough methinks."
I agree - Ratoath won't be getting too carried away about yesterday! It was a strange game - atmosphere was very poor right from the start. Not sure Ratoath played all that well to be honest - but they had all the key players and an impressive bench too. The McGowan that market Campion had a good game and Brian McMahon was the other standout player!

Summerhill were very impressive against Na Fianna - I didn't think they would win by as much as they did. A lot of younger lads on the Na Fianna team - and reaching a 1/4 final was a good result for them. Summerhill always seem to be there or there abouts at the end of things.

Two cracking games to come - Summerhill v Simonstown - I saw Simonstown a couple of times in the group and thought they were especially good against Dunboyne. I didn't see the game against Dunshaughlin unfortunately. I think I'd go with Simonstown though - but just about.

Ratoath v Gael Colmcille - Kells are one of the most consistent teams in the county across both league and championship for the past few years. Mattimoe and Hanlon are really good but maybe they are too reliant on them. Hard to know where Ratoath are at but I think they might just have enough to win the semi and set up a game against Simonstown!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 30/09/2019 09:42:55    2240199

Replying To AnFearBan1234:  "No surprises over the weekend with all the favourites coming through. Wouldn't read too much into Ratoath's big win as they have a tougher assignment ahead."
Ratoath will have too much for Kells. Kells struggled to beat an Ashbourne team who were missing 8 players from their opening round win over Summerhill. And a couple of players including Menton were clearly playing with injuries.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 30/09/2019 09:49:17    2240202

The four games went along expected lines, only managed to get to 2 of them.

Simonstown and Dunshaughlin : Looked to me that Simonstown knew they would win this one... they were slightly off and gave the ball away so often and took the wrong shooting options. But in key moments they murdered Dunshaughlin. While Dunshaughlin have a lot of young players it is very hard to fathom their game plan. Get everyone behind the ball and then try and launch long ball into 2 isolated players surrounded by 5 simonstown defenders. As for their kickouts..... crazy that they persisted with the short kickouts... they conceded 2 5 as a result of short kickouts being won directly by Simonstown or turned over before the 45. Shane Gallagher was very good for simonstown, They will need to up the accuracy in handling and shooting or the will not beat Summerhil.

Was at the double header yesterday. Intermediate game was as you would expect.. blood and thunder from a localish derby.. with brothers in opposition to add some spice. Castletown had just that little extra quality in the forwards. What a job Rusty and James Quail have done with them.. Regardless of what happens they will be in demand next year.

Ratoath and Skryne... well what can you say about this... Ratoath were ruthless but Skryne were absolutely shocking. Ratoath seem very well drilled and have pace everywhere.... but the seem to have added the steel that has been lacking over the past few years... they have the tools to win the big one... themselves and Kells will be a cracker.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 30/09/2019 09:50:11    2240204

Replying To longroadback:  "The four games went along expected lines, only managed to get to 2 of them.

Simonstown and Dunshaughlin : Looked to me that Simonstown knew they would win this one... they were slightly off and gave the ball away so often and took the wrong shooting options. But in key moments they murdered Dunshaughlin. While Dunshaughlin have a lot of young players it is very hard to fathom their game plan. Get everyone behind the ball and then try and launch long ball into 2 isolated players surrounded by 5 simonstown defenders. As for their kickouts..... crazy that they persisted with the short kickouts... they conceded 2 5 as a result of short kickouts being won directly by Simonstown or turned over before the 45. Shane Gallagher was very good for simonstown, They will need to up the accuracy in handling and shooting or the will not beat Summerhil.

Was at the double header yesterday. Intermediate game was as you would expect.. blood and thunder from a localish derby.. with brothers in opposition to add some spice. Castletown had just that little extra quality in the forwards. What a job Rusty and James Quail have done with them.. Regardless of what happens they will be in demand next year.

Ratoath and Skryne... well what can you say about this... Ratoath were ruthless but Skryne were absolutely shocking. Ratoath seem very well drilled and have pace everywhere.... but the seem to have added the steel that has been lacking over the past few years... they have the tools to win the big one... themselves and Kells will be a cracker."
Ratoath are a very impressive side and have a serious bench, and were ruthless in burying skryne for the sixty minutes, but my God skryne were appalling. Ratoath sailed around the pitch without a finger being laid on them and absolutely dominated every department of the pitch. The game was played at a challenge match pace. Ratoath kells will be serious game and both sides play a similar style of play with both having a strong midfield and similar fast explosive forwards. I think however ratoath will come through as they have the stronger set of defenders to handle kells forwards, and the bench to come in.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 30/09/2019 10:45:08    2240230

4 very good teams in the semi-finals.

You'd have to say that the standard is improving in the county at senior level and will be even better once the number of teams is reduced.

Fair play also to Ratoath, seem to be adding some steel to their undoubted potential. Would be good for the county if they get to the final, create a bit of a buzz in a town that has a lot of Dubs in it.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 30/09/2019 14:59:28    2240342

Simonstown v Summerhill will be a tough game, I have to admit I thought Summerhill wer spent after seeing them in the group stages but they seemed to dismantle Na Fianna with ease, Simonstown are coming good at the right time and seem to be firing on all cylinders up front, a close game but i'm going with the town by 2-3 points.

Ratoath v Kells won't be as close in my opinion. No doubt Ratoath are playing very well and its great to see them progressing despite the amount of begrudgers they seem to have in the county. If fully fit I think they would beat Kells, however McGill going off due to an ankle injury doesn't bode well as he is the glue that holds the defence together. 2 young defenders in Ben Wyer and Luke Newe also carrying knocks and not fully fits means that you would have to fancy this impressive Kells forward unit to take advantage and finally make it to a decider....Kells by 5.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 30/09/2019 15:16:33    2240345

Replying To Crinigan:  "4 very good teams in the semi-finals.

You'd have to say that the standard is improving in the county at senior level and will be even better once the number of teams is reduced.

Fair play also to Ratoath, seem to be adding some steel to their undoubted potential. Would be good for the county if they get to the final, create a bit of a buzz in a town that has a lot of Dubs in it."
Typical lazy comment. There are as many if not more 'Dubs' living in Navan, kells and Trim as their are in ratoath and ashbourne. The difference is that in those three locations they haven't bothered to get involved in their local!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 30/09/2019 22:06:30    2240468

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Typical lazy comment. There are as many if not more 'Dubs' living in Navan, kells and Trim as their are in ratoath and ashbourne. The difference is that in those three locations they haven't bothered to get involved in their local!"
While I don't agree with the "Ratoath /Ashbourne are all full of Dubs" sentiment, it's nonsense to say Kells or Trim have more Dubs. Take Trim Vs. Ratoath's populations according to the census: In 1991 Trim had 4100 people, Ratoath had 600. In 2016 Trim had 9200 people, while Ratoath had 9500.

That's a 124% increase for Trim, and a 1480% increase for Ratoath. Unless the women of Ratoath suddenly started having enormous numbers of children in the 90s and 2000s, those extra 9000 people must have come from somewhere, and for the most part that somewhere was Dublin.

Same with Kells and Ashbourne. Since 1991 Kells has gained 2500 people, while Ashbourne is up by 8200. Those extra thousands aren't due to a high birth rate in Ashbourne.

On your point about Dubs in Trim/Navan/Kells not getting involved with their local clubs, unlike Ratoath or Ashbourne: I've yet to hear of any players from the 3 "old" towns playing for their "home" county Dublin, but there have been players from the other 2.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 30/09/2019 22:54:31    2240480

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Some random, non-Ratoath poster posts that and you extrapolate it to somehow say that Ratoath people think we have it in the bag???
As far as I can tell, two Ratoath posters made predictions in the run up to today's game, one predicted a Skryne win while another very cautiously predicted Ratoath while being very wary of Skryne. Looking at the players after the game, there were no celebrations at all.
Skryne were awful. We probably should have won by 5 - 10 more. Rathkenny gave us a better game. I'd be slightly worried for them next season to be honest though I'm obviously aware that O'Rourke wasn't playing today.
Delighted to finally get past a quarter final. Kells will be a different animal and are justifiably favorites. But I'm hopeful that we can give it a lash as we've nothing to lose. At the very least, we're guaranteed one (sort of) unique finalist."
So to prove my Ratoathness, am I suppose to say "ah Ratoath are not very good" or should I go with "Ratoath are very young" line.
Or how does "Kells should win a tight game" sound ?
KOP ON !!!
Ratoath were awesome on Sunday and skryne were poor because they were made look poor.
They have numerous options off the bench and if the line get it right, they won't be stopped. That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.
And I'm not the only one that believes that.
The biggest challenge will be to keep all the players happy.
By the way, there was Ratoath Gaa before Brownstown and the blue invasion.

Upforyourball (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 30/09/2019 23:25:05    2240483