Meath Vs Mayo

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hard luck Sunday,yous really put it up to us. There no reason that yous can't beat mayo. I've been very impressed with Meath all year. Just believe."
We've been decent against lower ranked teams. Whether the supporters believe or not makes no difference. Well done Donegal but a silly post. Mayo to win.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 16/07/2019 23:02:12    2212128

Replying To Jackpot:  "We've been decent against lower ranked teams. Whether the supporters believe or not makes no difference. Well done Donegal but a silly post. Mayo to win."
Meath have beaten Offaly, Carlow, Laois, and Clare in the championship. They were badly beaten by Dublin in a calamitous game, and although very brave and resilient against Donegal, came up short. The fact that Donegal outscored Meath by 10 points in the last 10 minutes is the biggest worry, in my view. There was an element of fatigue in those last few minutes, and instead of keeping the scoreboard ticking over in that period, we elected Hail Mary high balls into the square twice, with good time on the clock, allowing Donegal easy possession to convert in return. The kick-outs too, are at this point worth maybe 3/4 points to the opposition. I agree that Meath have an issue with division one opposition and are struggling to bridge that gap. Three times this year in eerily similar games we have been bested by Donegal in the closing quarter whilst giving them plenty of game for the other three quarters. The sad thing is that this Meath team although very spirited and combative, are far from a finished article, yet can still give a side like Donegal a very tough game. Imagine what a strong midfielder like McDermott and a Tommy Dowd or Geraghty up front could potentially add into this team. Against Dublin we were completely and utterly out of our depth, mentally and physically and in terms of speed, scoring capability and attack. I wouldn't sugarcoat it at all, we are miles away from them. We have some of the best backs in Ireland. Lavin gave Brennan very little, surely an eye opener for the young Donegal man. McGill and Gallagher on their day can go man to man and can be trusted to do a job. Keogan is top class and we've a strangely absurd pick of lads who can do a job at half back against good teams. Areas for improvement are everywhere else I would say, with respect. The whole team are great triers, and are solid footballers, but there is a lack of star quality at present and we must accept that. Our ability to transfer ball through the middle third is probably the worst of the super 8 teams.

In spite of that, Mayo looked defeated early on v. Kerry, they might well fall against this Meath team or they might react violently against us, in which case it could get ugly in every way. Tradition says Meath will win, but tradition be damned, out the window. The days of resting on our laurels are long, long over. This will be another battle and this team is in a mode at the moment of construction and consolidation and will be for another season at least. To win this game would be an immense achievement. It's not beyond the team but it's a big ask.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 16/07/2019 23:31:35    2212142

Replying To Young_gael:  "Meath have beaten Offaly, Carlow, Laois, and Clare in the championship. They were badly beaten by Dublin in a calamitous game, and although very brave and resilient against Donegal, came up short. The fact that Donegal outscored Meath by 10 points in the last 10 minutes is the biggest worry, in my view. There was an element of fatigue in those last few minutes, and instead of keeping the scoreboard ticking over in that period, we elected Hail Mary high balls into the square twice, with good time on the clock, allowing Donegal easy possession to convert in return. The kick-outs too, are at this point worth maybe 3/4 points to the opposition. I agree that Meath have an issue with division one opposition and are struggling to bridge that gap. Three times this year in eerily similar games we have been bested by Donegal in the closing quarter whilst giving them plenty of game for the other three quarters. The sad thing is that this Meath team although very spirited and combative, are far from a finished article, yet can still give a side like Donegal a very tough game. Imagine what a strong midfielder like McDermott and a Tommy Dowd or Geraghty up front could potentially add into this team. Against Dublin we were completely and utterly out of our depth, mentally and physically and in terms of speed, scoring capability and attack. I wouldn't sugarcoat it at all, we are miles away from them. We have some of the best backs in Ireland. Lavin gave Brennan very little, surely an eye opener for the young Donegal man. McGill and Gallagher on their day can go man to man and can be trusted to do a job. Keogan is top class and we've a strangely absurd pick of lads who can do a job at half back against good teams. Areas for improvement are everywhere else I would say, with respect. The whole team are great triers, and are solid footballers, but there is a lack of star quality at present and we must accept that. Our ability to transfer ball through the middle third is probably the worst of the super 8 teams.

In spite of that, Mayo looked defeated early on v. Kerry, they might well fall against this Meath team or they might react violently against us, in which case it could get ugly in every way. Tradition says Meath will win, but tradition be damned, out the window. The days of resting on our laurels are long, long over. This will be another battle and this team is in a mode at the moment of construction and consolidation and will be for another season at least. To win this game would be an immense achievement. It's not beyond the team but it's a big ask."
No doubt some of the blind optimists will try, but it's impossible to argue with your post.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 17/07/2019 06:54:24    2212179

Replying To Young_gael:  "Meath have beaten Offaly, Carlow, Laois, and Clare in the championship. They were badly beaten by Dublin in a calamitous game, and although very brave and resilient against Donegal, came up short. The fact that Donegal outscored Meath by 10 points in the last 10 minutes is the biggest worry, in my view. There was an element of fatigue in those last few minutes, and instead of keeping the scoreboard ticking over in that period, we elected Hail Mary high balls into the square twice, with good time on the clock, allowing Donegal easy possession to convert in return. The kick-outs too, are at this point worth maybe 3/4 points to the opposition. I agree that Meath have an issue with division one opposition and are struggling to bridge that gap. Three times this year in eerily similar games we have been bested by Donegal in the closing quarter whilst giving them plenty of game for the other three quarters. The sad thing is that this Meath team although very spirited and combative, are far from a finished article, yet can still give a side like Donegal a very tough game. Imagine what a strong midfielder like McDermott and a Tommy Dowd or Geraghty up front could potentially add into this team. Against Dublin we were completely and utterly out of our depth, mentally and physically and in terms of speed, scoring capability and attack. I wouldn't sugarcoat it at all, we are miles away from them. We have some of the best backs in Ireland. Lavin gave Brennan very little, surely an eye opener for the young Donegal man. McGill and Gallagher on their day can go man to man and can be trusted to do a job. Keogan is top class and we've a strangely absurd pick of lads who can do a job at half back against good teams. Areas for improvement are everywhere else I would say, with respect. The whole team are great triers, and are solid footballers, but there is a lack of star quality at present and we must accept that. Our ability to transfer ball through the middle third is probably the worst of the super 8 teams.

In spite of that, Mayo looked defeated early on v. Kerry, they might well fall against this Meath team or they might react violently against us, in which case it could get ugly in every way. Tradition says Meath will win, but tradition be damned, out the window. The days of resting on our laurels are long, long over. This will be another battle and this team is in a mode at the moment of construction and consolidation and will be for another season at least. To win this game would be an immense achievement. It's not beyond the team but it's a big ask."
Honest post, I agree we are far from the finished article. While we are all delighted to be still in the championship and relishing the mouth watering games.
Lets not lose sight of our long term goal which is to survive in Div 1 next year. These games will no doubt service us well for perpetration for that, the experience for the team is priceless. And especially for the like of Conlon, Gallagher, Devine, Campion, Walsh Mc Govern etc. Don't forget we might get some players like D lenihan, R O'Coileain Maybe Alan Forde and Ronan Jones could be back next year so we could be in good shape. Maybe some u20s.
I wouldn't be to hard on our lads we missed goal chances that a more experienced team would have finished off hopefuly we will learn from it. and yes we ran out of steam in last 10. But the fact we had a tough game against Clare and it was a hot day in ballybofey. Suited a fresh Donegal team. On this occasion.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/07/2019 09:18:38    2212206

Meath have struggling against the top division 1 sides but, in fairness, this is their first real experience of it and it was always going to be a learning curve. I am not sure it is fatigue that got at meath in the last ten minutes but more so the hail mary high balls, I think there is a lack of composure in the big moments and that has cost them. Against Dublin we limited them to 5 points but kicked 10 wides/dropped short in first half.

To be able to contain Dublin for 40-45 mins and create chances was a positive but the lack of composure was killing. Similarly with Donegal, to be able to be 1 point up with 15 mins left is something not many teams will do in Ballybofey but when cool heads were required and keep the scoreboard ticking over, we panicked and went for goals. We are far from the finished article and we are a long way off Dublin but I think mentally is where we are lacking rather than physically. We are not alone in that bracket either.

Kickouts is a massive issue and without that being corrected we wont win anything. It counts for 3/4 points minimum but also is a real momentum killer. To lose 3 kickouts in a row when the game was in the melting pot really swing the game in Donegal's favor. Unless that is addressed we will come out on the wrong side continually regardless of outfield star power.

This is a young team that will improve and have shown flashes of real ability.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 17/07/2019 10:10:34    2212229

Would agree that it's all preparation for league next year. That been said we haven't really played to our full potential this championship. So if we do put it all together I can see us winning this and certainly a great day in pt

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2019 13:12:10    2212329

Replying To royaldunne:  "Would agree that it's all preparation for league next year. That been said we haven't really played to our full potential this championship. So if we do put it all together I can see us winning this and certainly a great day in pt"
Goodman Royaldunne. Championship is preparation for the league now. That's some statement.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 17/07/2019 18:39:44    2212479

Replying To Jackpot:  "Goodman Royaldunne. Championship is preparation for the league now. That's some statement."
I think what is meant is that being in the Super 8's gives us a real idea of what we will face in Division 1 and give us a much improved chance of surviving in it, Division 1 is crucially important to this team and surviving in it next year should be a priority, the more games this team gets against high level opposition the better it is for them.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/07/2019 18:56:29    2212484

Replying To Jackpot:  "Goodman Royaldunne. Championship is preparation for the league now. That's some statement."
Ridiculous post, just to have a go!!!

If the lad said "Meath could win the AI" you would slate him too!! He is obviously stating what numerous people have before him, and that is that we are already where we wanted to be, We are the lowest rated team in our group, so these games should be used to gauge ourselves and get ready for Division 1. We should give our all and if that is good enough to land a semi spot then fantastic.

So sick of the crap people spew out on here trying to score points and belittle others. Convinced some people don't even read the threads never mind attempting to contribute positively.

Wild idea, how about we let people make their points and respect that we may differ in opinion!!!

For me, I hope to god that we will beat Mayo on Sunday, unfortunately, the kickout strategy will not have changed and I can see Mayo making hay with that. When we cannot get the ball past our midfield, it starves the forward line and puts serious pressure on the rest. If we can somehow improve in that area I can see us getting close and even winning. Either way good year so far, lets get behind the lads Sunday.

nibuagandua (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 18/07/2019 08:42:32    2212625

Looking like a close and humid day on sunday. legs, concentration and cuteness will play a factor and at the 55 minute mark. Croke Park will be filling up very nicely with Kerry and Donegal supporters and there will be serious pressure on mainly Mayo to perform and also slightly less Meath. The game will 100% be tight at this point and it's clear that Mayo are not at the level of Donegal or Dublin who blew us out of the water at this key stage of the game. On Sunday we left 2/3 goals behind us. There's a lot to learn and for Andy McEntee to take from this championship but also i think on sunday a win is also not out of this teams reach. Setting up winner takes all game against Kerry would be something this team will be aiming for.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 18/07/2019 11:44:00    2212713

Replying To nibuagandua:  "Ridiculous post, just to have a go!!!

If the lad said "Meath could win the AI" you would slate him too!! He is obviously stating what numerous people have before him, and that is that we are already where we wanted to be, We are the lowest rated team in our group, so these games should be used to gauge ourselves and get ready for Division 1. We should give our all and if that is good enough to land a semi spot then fantastic.

So sick of the crap people spew out on here trying to score points and belittle others. Convinced some people don't even read the threads never mind attempting to contribute positively.

Wild idea, how about we let people make their points and respect that we may differ in opinion!!!

For me, I hope to god that we will beat Mayo on Sunday, unfortunately, the kickout strategy will not have changed and I can see Mayo making hay with that. When we cannot get the ball past our midfield, it starves the forward line and puts serious pressure on the rest. If we can somehow improve in that area I can see us getting close and even winning. Either way good year so far, lets get behind the lads Sunday."
Well said. I do hope that we break even at midfield. If we do then we have every chance

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2019 13:46:32    2212756

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said. I do hope that we break even at midfield. If we do then we have every chance"
Giving that we are likely to got with the dysfunctional midfield Shane Mc Entee and Brian Menton against. Donal Vaughan and Adian O'shea, that's unlikely to happen sadly.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/07/2019 14:02:10    2212764

Might be the optimist in me but I really do feel like there is a massive performance in this Meath team this year. Hopefully that performance will come on Sunday to give us something to play for against the kingdom in Navan.

I'd also like to say that it's great to see a bit of positivity on the forum over the last few weeks, I think the lads got a lot of unfair after the dubs game. People seem to forget how much these lads sacrifice to play for Meath, training 4/5 days a week for god knows how long, no one deserves that level of criticism with the amount of commitment and effort the players and management put in to Meath football.

Get behind them, enjoy the Super 8s and have a bitta craic.
Up the Royal

Hugins98 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 18/07/2019 17:44:40    2212850

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Honest post, I agree we are far from the finished article. While we are all delighted to be still in the championship and relishing the mouth watering games.
Lets not lose sight of our long term goal which is to survive in Div 1 next year. These games will no doubt service us well for perpetration for that, the experience for the team is priceless. And especially for the like of Conlon, Gallagher, Devine, Campion, Walsh Mc Govern etc. Don't forget we might get some players like D lenihan, R O'Coileain Maybe Alan Forde and Ronan Jones could be back next year so we could be in good shape. Maybe some u20s.
I wouldn't be to hard on our lads we missed goal chances that a more experienced team would have finished off hopefuly we will learn from it. and yes we ran out of steam in last 10. But the fact we had a tough game against Clare and it was a hot day in ballybofey. Suited a fresh Donegal team. On this occasion."
You're dead right. I don't like being overly critical necessarily on this team because they are very hard workers and have many great qualities about them. Certain players are always dead on their feet after games. It's plain to see the commitment that is there for this panel. This year they got their breakthrough after two frustrating years and Im delighted for them and delighted for the acclaim and boost it's given the county. They're a credit to themselves and I believe this season will be remembered very fondly regardless of whats coming down the road, good or bad. I agree with your point about next season; if we cannot live with the intensity of life in Division one next year and we're relegated, it could potentially do a lot of harm and un-write a lot of good progress. Lately this trend of teams coming-and-going from Division 2 to Division 1 in an accordion effect is worrying and I'd hate to think of ourselves being another casualty. Breaking into that elite "top 5" of teams who are always in the showdown is going to be very difficult and will take careful management and construction of steadily stronger panels over the coming years. In my view Cavan, Armagh, Galway, Monaghan and Kildare are all teams breathing down our necks, teams of similar quality who are good enough to be where we are and would be with a draw like the one we got. After those sides there is a slew of sides who are very competitive in one-off matches, all-in-all after the Top 4/5 there is a huge chasing pack, and right now we're one of the teams lucky enough to be knocking on the door, and the opportunity to stay in the Top 8 must be the long term priority. Otherwise this season may well be a one-off. I seriously hope that isnt the case.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 18/07/2019 18:19:10    2212861

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Giving that we are likely to got with the dysfunctional midfield Shane Mc Entee and Brian Menton against. Donal Vaughan and Adian O'shea, that's unlikely to happen sadly."
I'm not losing sleep over that mayo midfield that just got cleaned out by moran and spillane, although I'm pretty sure seamus o'shea will play midfield and Vaughan will drop to the bench or move to the half back line, big concern for meath is mayo backs could dominate our forwards

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 18/07/2019 18:54:20    2212871

Replying To Hugins98:  "Might be the optimist in me but I really do feel like there is a massive performance in this Meath team this year. Hopefully that performance will come on Sunday to give us something to play for against the kingdom in Navan.

I'd also like to say that it's great to see a bit of positivity on the forum over the last few weeks, I think the lads got a lot of unfair after the dubs game. People seem to forget how much these lads sacrifice to play for Meath, training 4/5 days a week for god knows how long, no one deserves that level of criticism with the amount of commitment and effort the players and management put in to Meath football.

Up the Royal"
Here here.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2019 20:06:52    2212904

Replying To redser123:  "I'm not losing sleep over that mayo midfield that just got cleaned out by moran and spillane, although I'm pretty sure seamus o'shea will play midfield and Vaughan will drop to the bench or move to the half back line, big concern for meath is mayo backs could dominate our forwards"
Wouldn't be overly worried about there midfield tbh. Think we should be aiming for at least breaking even

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2019 21:03:11    2212927

Replying To Hugins98:  "Might be the optimist in me but I really do feel like there is a massive performance in this Meath team this year. Hopefully that performance will come on Sunday to give us something to play for against the kingdom in Navan.

Up the Royal"
Makes you wonder what type of Meath "supporter" we have when this post gets red thumbed.
Think we have a few that may have infiltrated our ranks.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2019 21:15:39    2212934

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wouldn't be overly worried about there midfield tbh. Think we should be aiming for at least breaking even"
Good man Dunne. Glad you're not the manager. Mayo midfielder Aidan O Shea is a former All star and international who played in a few All Ireland finals. He might not be at his best now but always dangerous.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 18/07/2019 22:15:17    2212966

Difficult to disagree in the most.

I would however argue Bryan Menton is a worthy inclusion along side Keoghan, McGill et al.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 18/07/2019 23:26:25    2212996