Andy Mcentee LMFM Interview

Just got a chance to listen back to this. He makes some interesting points about championship structure at inter-county and Meath Club. Some more debatable points about Meath playing style.
Any one else hear it and have any thoughts?

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 07/08/2018 19:19:48    2130567

I heard it. Looks like we'll have to enjoy/endure another year at least under Andy. He seems to still be on the mantra that players need to work harder. He was fairly guarded when it came to Meaths performances over the last year. He was quite careful with his words but I think he was making the point that there is no stylistic/tactical issues with the team. Players failed to execute on the day.
He was much more open when it came to both county and club structures. I think the points he made were very difficult to argue against in that regard. In particular 18 senior teams in Meath and the quality being diluted in all grades as a result.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 07/08/2018 20:17:02    2130586

Listening to the interview , I would have to ask the question as to what the point of the interview was . Was David Sheehan asking how the Meath Team 's progress under Andy's tutelage went or just allowing Andy a pedestal to supply reasons ( his reasons ) why his charges failed to perform this year. When you listen back to the whole interview . I think you will agree that it was the latter .
Against Tyrone we set ourselves up to be defensively minded , and to try to progress the system of play that Andy believes will pay dividends in the end , however once again our transition from defensive mode into attacking mode was a stuttering shambles , sprinting of defence to the oppositions 45's and coming to a grand halt before we started to move laterally , and then backwards etc.
We were unable to go for the jugular because we were unable to finish or move the ball ingot a scoring position fast enough .
Andy failed to recognise this or even admit it .... like in any training session , if you try something out and it doesn't work , you know quite soon it isn't working and then you move to Plan "B" .....
Where was our plan "B" .
Indeed our defensive system was atrocious with players marking space and ignoring the main thing about football . he who has the ball controls the game ......

I'm not sure the interview done anything in a journalistic sense other than to let Andy paint his picture as he sees it

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 08/08/2018 08:38:56    2130712

Regarding the interview and Meath's style of play, Meath 'followers', which a lot of people are now and are not 'supporters', need to realize Meath do not have the players at the moment, as Andy said himself, to play a more direct kicking game as we do not have inside forwards that are physically big enough to win long kick passes and give it off or kick a score themselves. He said himself he would prefer to play this way but he simply cant as the type of players at his disposal do not suit that game plan and are more suited to a counter attacking running game, which if anyone with a set of eyes who has watched Meath play since 2014 will tell you that. When we develop players of the physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion then we can play that game! Andy does not want players just tracking back for the sake of it to mark space, he wants them going back and turning the ball over as quick as they can and attacking at pace.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 08/08/2018 09:32:28    2130728

I thought it a rather honest interview, he pointed fingers at himself as well as the players, the fact that there were at least 6 mistakes or "system failures" leading up to the Tyrone equaliser in Navan was a pretty horrifying stat but shows the lack of experience of playing the bigger teams our squad has and the ability to stay calm and shut a game down. One thing we need next year is full commitment, if you start the year then finish the year as committing for the league and then flying off in other directions is no good, start the year with the intention of finishing it or don't start at all simple as.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/08/2018 11:43:48    2130789

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Regarding the interview and Meath's style of play, Meath 'followers', which a lot of people are now and are not 'supporters', need to realize Meath do not have the players at the moment, as Andy said himself, to play a more direct kicking game as we do not have inside forwards that are physically big enough to win long kick passes and give it off or kick a score themselves. He said himself he would prefer to play this way but he simply cant as the type of players at his disposal do not suit that game plan and are more suited to a counter attacking running game, which if anyone with a set of eyes who has watched Meath play since 2014 will tell you that. When we develop players of the physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion then we can play that game! Andy does not want players just tracking back for the sake of it to mark space, he wants them going back and turning the ball over as quick as they can and attacking at pace."
Ahh now bringing a logical argument into a debate about Andy? Come on some on here will have you for that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/08/2018 13:15:32    2130819

Replying To Richieq:  "I thought it a rather honest interview, he pointed fingers at himself as well as the players, the fact that there were at least 6 mistakes or "system failures" leading up to the Tyrone equaliser in Navan was a pretty horrifying stat but shows the lack of experience of playing the bigger teams our squad has and the ability to stay calm and shut a game down. One thing we need next year is full commitment, if you start the year then finish the year as committing for the league and then flying off in other directions is no good, start the year with the intention of finishing it or don't start at all simple as."
That's it. The old term , cuteness, comes to mind. We lacked it v Tyrone, and look where they are now. (Not saying we would have reached that far) but it shows Andy's game plan , tactics and overall management is working, but you can't train cuteness, that comes with experience. Looking forward to next year already.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/08/2018 13:19:23    2130821

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh now bringing a logical argument into a debate about Andy? Come on some on here will have you for that."
Where did you pick up the logical argument in whatever that was

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 08/08/2018 16:06:49    2130881

"physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion"

I wouldn't have thought anyone would have noted Paul Mannion for his physicality to be honest

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 08/08/2018 16:38:28    2130895

Replying To Richieq:  "I thought it a rather honest interview, he pointed fingers at himself as well as the players, the fact that there were at least 6 mistakes or "system failures" leading up to the Tyrone equaliser in Navan was a pretty horrifying stat but shows the lack of experience of playing the bigger teams our squad has and the ability to stay calm and shut a game down. One thing we need next year is full commitment, if you start the year then finish the year as committing for the league and then flying off in other directions is no good, start the year with the intention of finishing it or don't start at all simple as."
I thought he was fairly guarded when it came to the performance last year. He did say the management team did have to look at their own performance but never outlined any outcome of that. To be fair a radio interview is probably not the right place to do that in detail. He totally skated by the issue of players leaving the squad and there was virtually no discussion of the Longford (non) performance.
He seems to be an introspective person but the (public) conclusion he always comes to is that players need to be fitter, (got tired made 6 + mistakes against Tyrone, didn't work hard enough in the middle part of the league etc.).
He is clearly a fitness freak, he's in fantastic shape for a man his age. However, his major focus on fitness is some of the reason players are being turned off. Ultimately, we need the best 30 - 40 players in Meath fighting to get in the squad/team and we need a manager to deliver that. I'm not sure I heard much in that interview that would say 2019 will be any better than 2017 or 2018.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 08/08/2018 17:09:39    2130910

a powerful interview everyone should listen to it if they have not done already

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/08/2018 19:11:36    2130967

Replying To Analyst:  ""physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion"

I wouldn't have thought anyone would have noted Paul Mannion for his physicality to be honest"
You must watch different games to most then, he's a freak of an athlete and unrecognizable from when he broke on to the scene. About as powerful a forward in the game, defenders nightmare and one of Dublins best defenders this year due to this fact.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 09/08/2018 05:15:47    2131094

Regarding fitness to whoever mentioned it, fitness is what the end against Tyrone boiled down to. Bearing in mind it felt close to 30 degrees that day, and the players put in a hell of a shift, whilst Tyrone technically superior we were ahead on sheer heart. Tyrone are ridiculously fit with this being their strong point, as seen clearly against Donegal on Sunday. To run them that close in that manner deserves far more praise than the lads will ever get on here, but it's encouraging to see Andy isn't resting on that and wants to go one better. Call it perfectionist or setting the bar high, or good management, seemingly though you can't win.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 09/08/2018 05:22:39    2131095

Replying To Analyst:  ""physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion"

I wouldn't have thought anyone would have noted Paul Mannion for his physicality to be honest"
Are you serious? The man is 6ft, built like a tank and his pace is outrageous. Only down side to his game he is very one footed. Eoghan O'Gara, who I wouldn't be particularly found of as a person, is another player who would be a great asset for us as he would be perfect for this Meath team as a ball winner who can dish it off and take a score himself, especially in division 2 of the league.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 09/08/2018 08:50:09    2131113

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Regarding fitness to whoever mentioned it, fitness is what the end against Tyrone boiled down to. Bearing in mind it felt close to 30 degrees that day, and the players put in a hell of a shift, whilst Tyrone technically superior we were ahead on sheer heart. Tyrone are ridiculously fit with this being their strong point, as seen clearly against Donegal on Sunday. To run them that close in that manner deserves far more praise than the lads will ever get on here, but it's encouraging to see Andy isn't resting on that and wants to go one better. Call it perfectionist or setting the bar high, or good management, seemingly though you can't win."
Yeah. There was no solace taken in going toe to toe with Tyrone. That is not the pinnacle of Andy's Meath. The pinnacle is winning. Great to see and gives huge hope for next year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2018 10:38:15    2131143

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah. There was no solace taken in going toe to toe with Tyrone. That is not the pinnacle of Andy's Meath. The pinnacle is winning. Great to see and gives huge hope for next year."
He was totally right not to take any solace from the fact that that game was so close as it is totally irrelevant as to where we are. Tyrone are a very settled team tactically and personnell wise and were always going to go well once they got over the scare Meath provided.

I hope that Andy can find new talent to replace those that left the panel earlier in the summer. Maybe some players that left will return but that's a big maybe. As has been suggested here before I hope Andy treats every league game next year like a championship game and not look beyond the league in an effort to get promotion.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 09/08/2018 12:55:48    2131195

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Regarding fitness to whoever mentioned it, fitness is what the end against Tyrone boiled down to. Bearing in mind it felt close to 30 degrees that day, and the players put in a hell of a shift, whilst Tyrone technically superior we were ahead on sheer heart. Tyrone are ridiculously fit with this being their strong point, as seen clearly against Donegal on Sunday. To run them that close in that manner deserves far more praise than the lads will ever get on here, but it's encouraging to see Andy isn't resting on that and wants to go one better. Call it perfectionist or setting the bar high, or good management, seemingly though you can't win."
Where was Meath's awe inspiring fitness during the Longford game?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 09/08/2018 14:18:18    2131222

Well done Dun Boyne lad , you've proven to me that the facts of the matter can be blinkered in more ways than one , and blood doesn't even have to be involved . Parochialism is rife in Meath and this is it at its best .
The Meath teams fitness thing had very little to do with the Tyrone game been close , a couple of brilliant goalkeeping saves along with some pitiful finishing ( by Tyrone) allowed Meath to still be in Touch at the end .
Tyrone made their own life difficult by not putting away the 4-5 clear goaling opportunities they had in the first half . Please don't try to build the teams fitness up as a positive , even though we do have so few of them .....

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 09/08/2018 14:51:46    2131234

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Where was Meath's awe inspiring fitness during the Longford game?"
Exactly. The Longford performance was the worst Championship defeat in decades. However, because of one decent, but ultimately loosing performance, that's totally glossed over. 2018 was the worst year since Bantys last only a total disaster was averted by avoiding D3. 2019 must be significantly better or Andy needs to step aside.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 09/08/2018 15:05:15    2131240

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Are you serious? The man is 6ft, built like a tank and his pace is outrageous. Only down side to his game he is very one footed. Eoghan O'Gara, who I wouldn't be particularly found of as a person, is another player who would be a great asset for us as he would be perfect for this Meath team as a ball winner who can dish it off and take a score himself, especially in division 2 of the league."
Yeah don't know how anyone could say he is not super big and skilled

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2018 15:11:02    2131243