Davis Cup final: Holders surrender title

May 20, 2024

Kildalkey's David Harmon with Eoin Harkin Kilmessan during the Brendan Davis Cup final at Kildalkey

Kilmessan 1-21 Kildalkey 0-23 after extra time

Fr Plunkett Park was the venue for Saturday's Brendan Davis cup final between Kildalkey and Kilmessan and it took 20 minutes of extra time to separate the sides in an entertaining game.

Before the game started there was a minutes silence for May Coneely Grandmother of Kildalkey corner forward Paddy.

Kilmessan started the sharper hitting the first few points and a speculative shot deceived Conor Flynn in the Kildalkey goals to drop in behind the line but with Niall McNally hitting the frees well and a long range Brin Kelly point Kildalkey trailed by 5 at the break 1-9 to 0-7.

Kildalkey fared better in the second half with McNally Paddy Conneely and 1 from each wing from Evan Fitzgerald had Kildalkey right in there but Kilmessan still led approaching the full time whistle but Paddy Conneely hit the last free to force extra time 0-18 to 1-15. 

Both teams traded scores in extra time. 3 Conneely points brought his sides tally to 0-21 but Kilmessan still led by one. 

With bodies getting tired there was lads cramping up and every score was vital Niall McNally fired a free to level and Kelvin Lynch sent over another but Darren Reilly pointed the winner for Kilmessan as time ran out on the hosts.

It was a tight affair with very little between the two teams but Kilmessan take home the cup for 2024. Members of the Davis Family presented the cup to the Kilmessan captain Seanie Doyle after the game  

Kildalkey team and scorers: C Flynn, T Bird, G Kelly, B Kelly (0-1), M Healy, D Harmon, J Kavanagh, R Byas, E Fitzgerald (0-2), K McKeon, N McNally (0-14)(14f), L Rickard, P Barnwell, M Keogh, P Conneely (0-5)(1f)

Subs: K Lynch (0-1) for R Byas, Mark Healy for T Bird, B Rickard for M Keogh, M Cully for P Barnwell, R Byas for M Cully, M Keogh for K McKeon 

Most Read Stories