Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Cbar

All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For? - 6 Like(s)
Dublin. When it comes to football I'll never shout for Kerry Aside from that, while I don't believe it is good for football that one team dominates, I would like to see history being made with a team winning 5 in a row. It might also put an end to Kerry people reminding us that they are the Aristocrats of Football.... but unlikely

Cbar (National) - 28/08/2019 14:12:56

Are Mayo Bottlers?? - 4 Like(s)
Sadly I have to say that I believe there is a fear this team that has cost us dearly. Not so much in this years final although we were in contention to win it but there were better examples over the years: - 2013 after we got the goal in the second half we were in a great position to go on and win. Instead we conseeded a sh!te goal and gave up the lead straight away. It was there for us to kick on - 2014 (the worst IMO) the second half against Kerry in the drawn match was i think the best display of football by a Mayo team I can remember until we were 4 up and we realisied we were going to beat Kerry then we froze and ended up drawing the game. Lost the replay and we spent the next few weeks complaining about the referee, the venue etc.. if we hadn't choked in Dublin there wouldn't be a replay - 2015 - lucky not to lose the drawn match against Dublin - didn't really deserve a draw. But in the replay 4 up with 15 to play, we lost by 7. There is always a hard luck story for Mayo. And this year, I actually think it applies, how we ended up 5 down at HT in the drawn match was hard luck but the examples above show (IMO) that its not all bad luck. Mayo have a great team and i would think they have better players than many teams that won AI's over the years. But there seems to be a fear in them that when the line is in sight they freeze like rabbits in the headlights. If I could figure out how to change that i suppose I'd be a wealthy man!

Cbar (National) - 04/10/2016 09:59:33

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "It's funny how things work out, a lad goes around jeering and lauding when scores against lesser teams and then gets injured inside 10 minutes. Bottled it, at least mayo would turn up for the big days, 2/3 of that Galway team never got off the bus. Mòl an oige agus tiocfaidh siad. Comer impact sub a lá soupy at best I'm afraid when it gets to knockout, he can do it against lesser teams but not against set up astute teams."
Galway people don't need me to defend them - but if you want to get a wind up, come up with something with more credible than "Mayo would turn up for the big days".

Cbar (National) - 29/07/2024 15:41:09

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
If Kerry play likethey played in forst half yesterday the game will be over very quickly. I can't see anything other than a comprehensive win for Dublin. Kerry bet Dublin by 17 points in 1978 to record one of the largest eve winning margins in an AI final - can Dublin return the favour 41 years later? I think its possible

Cbar (National) - 12/08/2019 10:40:31

The Drive For Five! - 3 Like(s)
Connolly- can't understand the decision by Jim. Surely some noses are out of joint because of this? Has it got the potential to disrupt the camp? As for the replay- I'd still be very confident for you- Kerry missed a huge chance today.

Cbar (Dublin) - 01/09/2019 19:35:12

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're absolutely right There would be big double page articles written all about it, across a number of the papers, then you'd have the other one on the radio reinforcing the article and then another on the TV, a couple more at it online. They've been doing it for years, there was a well organised campaign against Gough before the drawn 2019 final, from a number of former prominent Kerry players misusing their media status to basically character assassinate a match official before a ball was kicked.. huge online pressure too. Ridiculous conspiracy theories.. as if us Dubs were over the moon about a flippin Meath Ref!! Then what happens.. Gough was absolutely coerced and harangued from all angles.. For me, and I don't care who does it. It's always a good day to see Kerry beat."
"It's always a good day to see Kerry beat" There's an awful lot of garbage written on this forum (by myself included) but finally a statement I 200% agree with!

Cbar (National) - 17/07/2023 17:18:43

Mayo GAA Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "Maybe the advert for a new manager should go " this position will carry extraordinarily high expectation levels of success but on historical evidence the prospects of success are sub-zero""
Maybe it should Sligojoe but I don't agree it carries an "extraordinarily high expectation levels of success". It carries an expectation that the manager gets the best out of the players at his disposal. I don't believe Kevin got the best out of his players - and I don't think anyone else here does either.

Cbar (National) - 26/06/2025 16:26:50

All Ireland Football Championship 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Dont get lost in the excitement of one good final. Munster has had 1 good game out of 5 (20%) Connacht has had 1 good game out of 6 (16%) Leinster had had 3 good games out of 9 so far. Good chance of 4 from 10 (40%) Ulster has had 3 good games out of 7 so far. Good chance of 4 of 8 (50%) If you took out the weakest 16 teams out of the provincials (hurling omits the weakest 21 counties) and youd have a high quality championship on a footing with anything the hurling lads can put on."
I thought Mayo v Leitrim and more so Mayo v Sligo were good games. The resultS might have gone as expected but they were decent games. Ross v Galway was the only real disappointment in Connacht IMO.

Cbar (National) - 06/05/2025 19:31:09

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Viking66:  "Great Post Doyler my sentiments exactly."
Agree with it all Doyler... I admire this Limerick team more than any of the other successful counties. Limerick weren't the original royalty and to beat Cork and KK on the biggest stage in the manner that they have, its something the rest of us pretenders can only dream about. Next year all the talk will be of 5 in a row and i wish Limerick all the best in that

Cbar (National) - 23/07/2023 19:02:30

Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)
Commiserations lads - I am sure you're raw today. Although I don't think anyone should be overly surprised by yesterdays result. Galway haven't been great all year and had it not been for a late goal v Derry, no Connacht team would have made it to the last 12 - which maybe puts this years Connacht championship into perspective. Joyce has lost 2 AI and '24 has to hurt enormously. That eats into the confidence players and fans have in the manger - when it comes to losing AIs I know what I am talking about! Are there genuine calls for him to leave? I presume it would have to be on his own terms. I don't see Galway Co Board releasing a statement "relieving" him of his duties. A lot of soul searching in Galway, Mayo and Ross this winter.

Cbar (National) - 30/06/2025 10:25:41

Down management - 2 Like(s)
Thanks for the feedback folks.. I can feel the frustration! Whatever route you go, whatever plan you take I hope you don't go down the road of negative, blanket defence football route that so many do.. Down have too much tradition of quality and flair.... Mickey Linden.. legend!

Cbar (National) - 29/07/2022 11:23:49

Leinster Football - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "But surely league position is a measure of where any team is at. They finished 5th in D2 last year. Weak counties like this need to take the focus off Dublin and concentrate on their league position. It's like Swansea worrying about meeting Liverpool in the FA Cup. Surely these weaker counties need to throw all of their focus into the league and having got into D1 then put real focus into the championship. There will only be one Leinster team in D1 next year. The quality is very poor. I'd be in favour of scrapping the provincials anyway. Despite Tipp's win this year Ulster is the only competitive province."
I think what you are saying is right, getting to D1, playing the big teams should be the priority. But ultimately, getting to D1 to play the big teams is to prepare a team for Championship and making progress there. In Leinster, even if you are a D1 team (such as Meath were) not only are you not going to win a Provincial, you are going to get hammered trying. That's why I am asking the question - are Laois (and others) able to keep teams together or is it a constant rebuilding exercise because you can't keep players motivated where there is no real reward. The only difference I see between Meath and say Mayo or Ross is that Mayo and Ross can see progress being made - we won Connacht this year, that showed progress, something to work on. Meath don't have that - if they keep the Dublin defeat to less than 10 pts it's not a bad year and that's not much of a motivation. And I would have agreed with you re Provincials - but I don't anymore. The most that the vast majority of teams aim for is a Provincial crown . If we don't have that we are all chasing 1 prize which is not achievable for 31 counties right now....if we didn't have the Provincials, the AI might be like the current Leinster championship

Cbar (National) - 21/12/2020 15:31:11

Leinster Football - 2 Like(s)
Looking for input particularly from Kildare Meath Westmeath, Laois and Offaly people, what is happening on the ground with Leinster football? Are the best players making themselves available? Is it hard to keep a team together given the annual hammering to Dublin? The result is there's no Leinster team in D1 outside of Dublin but what are the main reasons? Obviously Dublins dominance is having an impact. I always thought the Provincial tournaments were on their last legs and should replaced, right now they are saving football by giving non Leinster teams something to aim for before the inevitable defeat to Dublin

Cbar (National) - 20/12/2020 20:20:39

Replying To yew_tree:  "The statement lacked class for sure but I'm hearing an offer to part ways mutually was rejected and management were intent on staying on….what do you do in that situation….?"
They did what had to be done - that's the end of it. He has had the last 10 days to resign and hasn't. He should have done it himself the day after Donegal ended our season and that indicate he refused to go. I think fair play to the Co Board for taking decisive action. Hopefully a new manager will be appointed without ay fuss.

Cbar (National) - 26/06/2025 14:22:33

Replying To yew_tree:  "A dark cloud has been cast over south Mayo. Condolences to the Mullin and Ryan families on their tragic loss. RIP Brian and Sarah."
Terribly sad Yew_tree

Cbar (National) - 26/07/2022 15:30:50

Dublin And Tyrone Have A Huge Advantage - 2 Like(s)
Realistically does it matter what advantages or disadvantages Dublin are given at this stage? It's inevitable that Dublin win 5 in a row this year IMO. Unless someone does a job on Cluxton. Losing Cluxton might be the only thing that would rock the Dublin boat enough to make it sink before the end line. All other players seem to be immediately replaceable

Cbar (National) - 23/07/2019 09:05:23

Mayo V Donegal. Winner Takes All - 2 Like(s)
Can't see anything other than a Donegal win. Until today I still had questions about how good Donegal are but they answered that. Add to that Mayos home record is terrible. Donegal by 5. Overall, winning the league and bringing through a number of good young players it has been a positive year for a squad in transition. Not winning Connacht was the big disappointment. Few defenders need to be introduced next year.

Cbar (National) - 21/07/2019 20:58:43

The flying Doc - 2 Like(s)
What a day to be a Mayo fan, enjoy it everyone! Massive performance all around the field from everyone. I just want to give a special mention to Jason Doc, doesn't always get the attention and is probably known more for his tackling than anything else But with 10 to go and COC off the field he stepped up with 2 massive points which if they had not gone over would have made things a lot more difficult at the end Well done Doc!

Cbar (Mayo) - 26/08/2017 21:32:03

Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To S1234:  "It's also a public forum and called free speech ! You can't blame Meath after you lot belittled them . Ye bottled it again after bottling it last year to only yourselves to blame after celebrating like you won the all Ireland in Connacht enjoy the long summer & winter !"
Pathetic

Cbar (National) - 30/06/2025 10:26:48

Down GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Congratulations to the Mourne men, the score yesterday must be some kind of record. The very best of luck v Meath. I hope you beat the living ***** out of them and knock Meath football back 10 years

Cbar (National) - 26/06/2023 11:03:49