The Men Of '25 - 9 Like(s)
Here is my contribution to a poem/verse.
There once was a team from Meath.
Who lapped up everything they believed.
Louth won the cup.
Math won nothing.
The end .
louthman57 (National) - 14/07/2025 13:29:00
Donegal GAA thread - 9 Like(s)
Best wishes to Donegal and I hope you bring Sam home this year.
I was in Ballybofey on Sunday and from the moment I arrived mid morning to the town until the moment the car headed for home, i don't think i have met a friendlier/more welcoming bunch of people on my travels to games.
Supporters asking me about my journey/did i need any guidance/ congratulating us on our Leinster Championship win and general good will /chats on the side terrace in the ground.
You were only toying with us in the first half , but put the foot to the gas in the second half big time.
I was standing on the terrace right on the half way way line and the sheer power and pace when you turned over a ball was a sight to behold.
Go on and win Sam, and thanks for a lovely day in Ballybofey , well apart from the result, but we kind of half knew a tanking like that was coming.
louthman57 (National) - 25/06/2025 09:59:58
Louth GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To RoyalBadger: "Even when you win something we still manage to outshine you! Up Meath" Outshine us ? You have won nothing yet .Congrats and your win today .
It's the likes of ye who give decent Meath fans a bad name .
louthman57 (National) - 29/06/2025 20:39:36
Leitrim V Louth - 2 Like(s)
Match fixed for Saturday 23rd with a 7pm throw in . Get the sambos made and the flask of tea ready, off we go again.
louthman57 (Louth) - 11/06/2018 15:40:01
Louth GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
A joyous day in Navan yesterday, one we all have been waiting on quite a while , wasn't expecting the turn around we done in the second half.
Great scores by Ciaran Downey, really nailed them superbly to bring the final push /rally on.
Tommy Durnin was simply superb when he was brought on , absolutely covered every blade of grass and backed away from nothing , love to watch tommy in full flow.
On a side note, last few games, Sam Mulroy appears to be spending more time in the back line than up top, would rather see him up the forward line where he is better suited to do some of his magic .
louthman57 (National) - 27/02/2023 15:25:35
Mickey Harte Is The New LOUTH Manager. - 2 Like(s)
There is players in the county , always has been , Mickey hopefully will give every fella in the county he urge to push themselves even harder to make an impression.
He has taken charge of the under 20 Louth team also, so he can rule over the up and coming young lads too .
Best of luck Micky , the whole county is excited with the news this evening .
Fitzer as chairman , player and manager can't be faulted for his want and desire to put Louth football forward , credit to him and the county board for delivering this .
louthman57 (National) - 23/11/2020 22:14:12
O Byrne Cup 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Very poor display today against Offaly considering the good show we put in against Meath .
Craig Lynch is a serious liability anytime he is in nets .
An accident waiting to happen every game .
louthman57 (Louth) - 14/12/2019 17:43:18
Louth GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
LMFM this morning saying Gavin Devlin is the preferred man and on the verge of taking the gig within the next week or so.
I am happy with that, very astute guy , and knows what's needed at top level of intercounty football.
louthman57 (National) - 11/07/2025 08:40:07
Donegal GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Thank you to all for the travel/parking /grub tips for the weekend.
See you all on Sunday.. and go handy on us !!
louthman57 (National) - 18/06/2025 10:45:07
Donegal GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "Plenty places for a lunch but it will be mad busy, rally is on this weekend too, you might be as well stop in Strabane or Lifford for grub, Kee's hotel in Stranorlar should have a Sunday lunch on, also the Villa Rose Hotel in Ballybofey, very good for food.
If you coming in from the Lifford side I'd park well out and turn her for home." Thank you , google maps tells me i will be coming via Strabane , so take the first parking spot as close as i can with the car turned for home ?
louthman57 (National) - 17/06/2025 16:30:09
I thought at one stage in the second half yesterday our goose was cooked, could only see Kildare winning it , but it shows the fight and " know how " in the Louth team to grind out the result, Tommy Durnin's 2 pointer, what a score, you will do well to see a better one for the entire championship.
I intend to have my head down and my mouth shut for the next 2 weeks, with the battle of the boyne anything liable to happen.
It really would be such a moment for everyone who has followed Louth through thick and thin to win it , but if there ever there is a dangerous animal on a football pitch, it is Meath , we know it all too well through the years and fair play to them against Dublin , they kicked some fine scores and every man stood up and was counted.
On the subject of the under 20 switch to Newbridge, anyone know the reason why ?
I was planning to head to Parnell park , but getting to Newbridge with work commitments wont happen now, i am sure plenty others in same boat.
Awful pity it cant be a double header Leinster final day, but i understand the fixtures are all done a long time ago.
louthman57 (National) - 28/04/2025 13:59:49
Decided not to travel, bank holiday weekend, glad of the rest,long spin over and back , will watch it on the telly.
Those black jerseys are a disgrace and should not be be worn by any Louth team.
Louth home = Red
Louth away= White
Playing a "home " game in Navan last week V Cork, us in a black kit and cork in their change away colours.
Nothing stopping Louth wearing red and cork wearing white.
louthman57 (National) - 02/06/2023 11:54:58
Louth V Leitrim - 1 Like(s)
An absolute embarrassment and shambles from start to finish ( the whole campaign in fact) ,the manager and selectors have a lot to answer for , no matter how bad the squad is ,they are working off the instructions of a clueless bunch on the sideline .
We all know the history of Louth Gaa shortcomings , but this current management set up have not got a clue .
Pitch , underage set up , legacy issues ,dress it up anyway you want but we are woeful , sideways backwards passing for the whole campaign . Pathetic
louthman57 (Louth) - 01/03/2020 22:04:39
Meath v Louth - 1 Like(s)
Saturday 18 June
Derry v loser of Meath v Louth, Owenbeg, 5pm
A joke on both counties no matter who it is who ends up having to go to Derry
louthman57 (Meath) - 07/06/2016 16:24:01
Louth V London - 1 Like(s)
Replying To itslouth: "Pity there wasnt a chartered flight organised by Louth gaa. numbers going would be a problem i suppose" Knowing Louth GAA and how they organise things, the plane would probably end up in Knock !
louthman57 (Louth) - 30/05/2018 15:45:19
Gaelic grounds development - 1 Like(s)
Croke Park confirm a failure to reach an agreement on the terms of the lease surrounding the Gaelic Grounds in Drogheda. It would appear to signal the end of hopes to develop the Ground, with Croke Park now set to discuss alternative options with Louth Co Board
Shameful and embarrassing beyond all comprehension at this point now.
louthman57 (Louth) - 26/03/2018 18:17:10
Louth v Meath - 1 Like(s)
Team announced for the game, same 15 as what started against Meath, 1 positional chance with Anthony Williams in the half forward line.
I would have liked to have seen Jim Mc and Deccy Byrne get to start, maybe they will and the team below is just a false declaration.
1.CRAIG LYNCH - NAOMH MAIRTIN
2.PADRAIG RATH - DREADNOTS
3.PATRICK REILLY - ST BRIDES
4.KEVIN CARR - NEWTOWN BLUES
5.CONAL McKEEVER - CLAN NA GAEL
6.JOHN BINGHAM - ARDEE ST MARYS
7.DARREN MARKS - COOLEY KICKHAMS
8.TOMMY DURNIN - WESTERNS
9.JAMES STEWART - DUNDALK GAELS
10.ANTHONY WILLIAMS - DREADNOTS
11.PAURIC SMITH - DREADNOTS
12.BEVAN DUFFY - ST FECHINS
13.RUAIRI MOORE - O'RAGHALLAIGHS
14.EOIN O'CONNOR - ST PATRICKS
15.RYAN BURNS - HUNTERSTOWN ROVERS
louthman57 (Louth) - 01/06/2017 08:25:57
Louth v Wicklow Leinster Championship! - 1 Like(s)
Replying To ziggy32001: "lads what is the venue for this game?" Parnell Park ziggy
louthman57 (Louth) - 19/05/2017 08:36:19
Aaron Hoey - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Frederick: "Crozier is particular.. a lot of people had good things to say about him.." Crozier seemed to have a good influence on the team last season, Colin turned to him for advice a lot of times during the games.
Before the game also, Crozier was in the middle of the warm up with the players, offering advice and laying down the law.
Seemed a good man to have around the camp , plenty of fire in his belly that's for sure.
The linesman at Leitrim away in the league took some abuse off him.
Wishing Hoey the best of luck with the selectors job, he loved playing for his county and hope it all goes good for him.
louthman57 (Louth) - 12/10/2016 12:24:05
Louth v Derry - 1 Like(s)
Replying To THE_SNAPPER: "Car probably the handiest , unless you have a helicopter or plane at your disposal." good man snapper, a superb informative post.
louthman57 (Louth) - 14/06/2016 14:03:33