On this day 22 years ago…

October 07, 2022

Tomás Ó Sé of Kerry and Galway's Niall Finnegan of Galway ©INPHO/Patrick Bolger

It’s 22 years to the day since Kerry defeated Galway and captured their 32nd All-Ireland senior football championship title.

After the sides couldn’t be separated the first day, the Kingdom triumphed over the Tribesmen on a 0-17 to 1-10 score-line before 64,094 spectators in the replay at Croke Park.

It had been the first time since 1996 that the Sam Maguire Cup decider went to a replay and, despite Declan Meehan netting an early wonder goal for Galway, it was the Munster champions that went in leading by 0-8 to 1-3 at half-time.

Paidi Ó Sé's men maintained that two-point difference in the closing stages until Aodán Mac Gearailt fisted over the insurance point for them.

Kerry ace Dara Ó Cinnéide finished the championship’s top scorer that season with 3-22 to his name, while team mate Seamus Moynihan was named Footballer of the Year.

Most Read Stories