Galway Football thread - 12 Like(s)
Galway have a confirmed number 1 goalkeeper, his name, Bernie Power, he was excellent.
GDL (National) - 26/03/2023 15:44:10
NFL Division 1 - 7 Like(s)
The less said about a certain Dublin footballer the better, but he is the most cynical player in the country. It was a disgrace the way Murphy got treated this evening and people wonder why our better players are opting for Australia.
Referees, linesmen and umpires need to get their act together quickly and hammer cynical players.
Shane Walsh will need Jujutsu lessons before the Dubs come to Salthill, he will be targeted in a dimilar fashion to Clifford.
GDL (National) - 22/02/2020 21:11:35
Galway Football thread - 7 Like(s)
Replying To TanCanRan: "Pity wanted Salthill to win. Wouldn't have much affinity for Moycullen and all their transfers." How ironic is that, have Salthill-Knocknacarra not transferred in Hunt, Lavelle, Duffy, Sheridan, Kerins and Donnellan to name but a few over the years!!!!
GDL (National) - 30/10/2022 18:37:06
Galway Football thread - 7 Like(s)
Replying To tommy k: "Just comparing the tackling of the Mayo backs (with the Galway backs) they seemed to swarm in numbers around the Kerry forwards, getting in tackles / blocks and just generally being "in their faces" a lot more than Galway were against Tyrone. Ollie Turner on GBFM mentioned to Barry Cullinane at one point "that was just a bit too easy Barry". Definitely need to be more aggressive in tackling etc. without giving away soft frees of course." So you weren't at the game. There is no way you were listening and watching as there is almost a one minute delay and it is impossible to watch and listen. You're on here constantly with criticism of players yet you don't travel to watch matches.
GDL (National) - 21/02/2023 11:23:15
Donegal GAA thread - 7 Like(s)
Replying To S1234: "Let me make this clear . There is not one person in mayo who is going Mayo for Sam not this year anyways . That's outsiders stirring it like yourself !
Getting a bit ahead of yourself there picturing how ye will win now !
That's your problem your to reliant on Murphy he's a class player not questioning that at all though .
We love being written off though it suits us .
Weather we have enough in us to put in another huge performance against you lot who knows .
Paddy Durcan back for us is a massive boost .
One thing I know is whatever happens we will bring the noise , colour and fight till the final whistle and hopefully we will silence the McGuiness is winning matches... ! !" It is Clare from the Mayo blog with the deluded thoughts, poor grammer and spelling. Donegal posters are best advised to ignore you. Galway posters now avoid your strange postings as JimB1991. Nobody cares what you think.
GDL (National) - 04/06/2025 16:04:43
Galway Football thread - 6 Like(s)
Replying To Dunmore10: "Big changes needed next weekend, we need a new centre back, john daly is not the answer. They ran through us all day. We need to start forwards who can score, we were dreadful up there 2day except the 2 new lads. Robert finnerty came on and all he done was drag a fella to ground. It was as bad a performance as I have seen since Alan mullhollands time" Please stop, you're constantly on here defending a player from your club. In my opinion, John Daly is one the best defenders, kick passers and readers of a game in the county. Please consider he played today without, Glynn, Silke, Kelly and McHugh in the back six and Molloy has just returned from a serious injury. Who is a better 6 in the county? You've offered no solution, yet you've just hammered a player for no reason.
GDL (National) - 28/01/2024 21:56:49
Connacht Final 2021 - 6 Like(s)
Replying To brisbane: "Suck valley is growing by the hour. I didnt know Glenamaddy is in the Valley. But if Shay who was on/off the team due to injuries, is the most recent high profile player, it points to a problem.
What i am saying is if they played in Roscommon they would be around 20 mins from County training/trails as apposed to over a hour with Galway. I imagine many cant make the trip to play county so dont bother." Glinsk/Glenamaddy form part of Northern Gaels, you'd know that if you went to matches rather than spitting out your tea when watching TV and not travelling. Now tell us what players have come from your club/area seeing you had the confidence to be so disrespectful of a large part of East and North Galway and didn't know Mattie McDonagh came from St Brendans, that is Ballygar by the way. Now that we know you know nothing about county allegiances or loyalty by suggesting players go to another county because of a county line. I'll fill you in the proudest Galway GAA fans are from Kilconly, Clonbur, Ballygar, Ballinasloe, Beagh, Portumna, Baile Liam, Dunmore and Milltown. You'd meet them in Ruislip, Navan, Portlaoise, Drogheda, Omagh, Newry, Tuam, Salthill or Tralee if you bothered travelling to games. Perhaps you should stay away ftom the keyboard until you have your fact correct.
GDL (Galway) - 02/08/2021 21:03:24
Kildare V Mayo - 6 Like(s)
Kildare need to hold their ground. The capacity issue is a no story. Sure team can sell 30 or 40 thousand tickets each for an All Ireland semi final but come the final they get allocated around 10k each. Half the tickets between the two teams and put it on RTE. Roscommon held their ground and it was the right thing to do.
GDL (National) - 25/06/2018 17:21:12
NFL Division 1 - 6 Like(s)
Replying To Furlong1949: "Padraig Joyce is one of the greatest players to ever play for Galway. He is one greateat players to come from Connacht in last 50 years along with Dermot Earley Snr, Michael Donnellan, Ciaran McDonald. A truly all time great forward. But he fid not score double digits v Darren Fay in 2001 All Ireland final. When he ran riot, Fay was not marking him.
In the final at the start second half. Joyce scored his second point from play. Darren Fay decided unknown to Meath management to take himself of Joyce and swapped with Mark Reilly. The reason was it was first time in 6 years any forward had scored more then 1 point from play in the chanpionship marked by Darren Fay. Think of that. In the years 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000 and up to All Ireland final in 2001. No player scored more then a point from play in the championship v Darren Fay. Remeber Meath won two All Irelands in this period beating Cork, Dublin, Tyrone, Armagh, Fay was keeping players like Maurice Fitzgerald and Peter Cavanan to one point from play. That was the standard Fay was at.
So Joyce scored a second from play v Darren Fay in the early part of the second half. This was first time in his career of 6 years playing for Meath, a player had scored more then point from play against him in the championship. Before the final in 2001 , from his debut in 1996 Darren Fay had played 26 games for Meath in a row in the championahip. In those 26 championship games in a row not one forward scored more then one point v Darren Fay in the championship.
In his 27th game for time ever in his career a player scored 2 points from play marked by Fay. And we are talking about Fay keeping great forwards to not more then 1 point from play in 6 years when Meath reached 3 All Ireland finals winning 2. Never in his career before had a forward had scored more then 1 point from play been marked by Darren Fay in the championship.
So when Joyce scored his second point from play. Fay felt this was below his standards and asked Mark Reilly to take Joyce. Reilly was on Joyce for 20 mins. Joyce ran riot in that 20 mins while he was marked by Reilly. After 20 mins, the Meath management who hadnt realised Fay had asked Reilly to mark Joyce. Told Fay to take Joyce again. The damage was done. Joyce performance is one of the great All Ireland final performances. A truly great performance reaching double figures. But when he and Galway ran riot v 14 man Meath, Fay was not on Joyce. Fay when he marked Joyce he kept him to 2 points from play. Fay did a decent job on Joyce in first half. Joyce didnt play great in the firsf half. He actually had a couple of real bad wides, Galway had 7 bad wides in the first half, at half time score was 6 points apiece, Galway were overall better team in the first half. Galway were excellent in the second half especially Meehan , Mannion and Joyce. At the start of the second half Joyce scored 2 from play v Fay. Reilly took him then. Joyce ran riot, he scored 4 points, 3 from play been marked by Fay. Then Fay took Joyce again and kept him scoreless from play for the rest of match. Joyce scored two points from play v Fay in 01 fibal The other 3 points from play were when he was marked v Mark Reilly.
Just wanted to state this. I have heard it many times that Joyce destroyed Fay in the final. Its not the true picture what happenned. I knew in 01 that Fay was not marking Joyce in that period of the game. But it wasnt well known fact. It was Darren Fay who set record straight a few years ago in book on Meath great full backs.
Two great players, two great teams. Its pity when they met for the first time but teams would decline straight after. Galway were well and deserved winners on the day. And that victory was pretty much end of both teams. It was miracle Meath reached final as Westmeath should have beaten Meath twice. Many of the Meath players legs were gone by 2001 and was great achivement even getting to the final. It was down to nevee say die spirit . That was both teams last big match. The performance of total swashbuckling football by Meath in the semis when they beat great kerry team of 00s by 15 points was the swansong for that great Meath team. The brillant performance of Galway in the final was the swansong for that great Galway team. Its terrible pity there wasnt a back door in late 90s ( 01 was the first year of the backdoor) the kerry Galway and Meath teams who won 2 All Irelands apiece won all the All Irelands between 1996 and 2001, its pity they didnt meet in those years. Kerry and Galway met in a brillant final in 00. Meath and kerry met in great league semi final in 2000. But its pity kerry Meath and Galwa didnt meet each other in 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000. There would have been some matchs. When Meath played Galway in 01 but teams were coming to the end of their sucess.
Anyway as I said Darren Fay took himself of Mark Reilly when Joyce ran riot. Fay kept Joyce to 2 points from play. It was when Reilly took him he ran riot. I just wanted to state that. Fay was the greatest full back of the 90s and Joyce was one of greatest forwards of the 90s. Two truly great players." I'm not sure if you're more like Boris Johnson or Donald Trump with your version of events but here is the direct quotes from the book you reference "The four Kings" by Philip Lanigan.
Croke Park, Sunday, September 23,
As the Meath team exit the dressing room, Fay is one of the first out the door, ball in his left hand, blessing himself with his right. Padraic Joyce walks over before the throw-in and shakes hands. This is it.
In a tense first half, with both teams struggling to find their 'A' game, nothing separates the sides. Galway are feeding the two-man inside line of Joyce and Derek Savage at every opportunity, but Fay and Mark O'Reilly are giving it back in spades.
Fay reveals where it all went wrong, how Meath's season, and his own record, unravelled in the most dramatic fashion.
"We went in six points all. I was marking Joyce … everything was grand. He hadn't scored - now he'd missed a couple of easy frees. And he was completely off his game. He missed a free from 21 yards out nearly straight in front of the goal.
"I felt there was an uneasy feeling in the dressing room at half time. We were after kicking the s**t out of Kerry and all of a sudden we were drawing with Galway, and we can't find the switch to flick it on again. It just wasn't there.
Less than a minute after the restart, Joyce gets in behind him and blazes over the bar with the goal at his mercy. Not long after that, Savage passes to Joyce who dodges one way, slips Fay, and scores. His second point from play. A defining moment.
"It was the first time ever in my playing career that someone had scored twice from play off me."
Suddenly, the doubts swirled in Fay's mind. Right in that moment, something snapped in him.
"Talk about panic on a football pitch. I says to Mark O'Reilly, "Look, I'm being roasted here, you may have a go."
The second half turns into 'The Padraic Joyce Show'. Joyce finishes with 10 points, five from play. Galway run out easy winners, 0-17 to 0-8.
Fay recounts his hardest day as a Meath footballer with a level of honesty that is as rare as it is admirable.
As Mick Lyons put it, "Joyce played like a gunslinger with an itchy trigger finger"
"The most honest performance I actually ever gave was, ironically enough, against Galway in 2007. In Portlaoise, in a qualifier. I was marking Michael Meehan. It was so hard; it was nearly like the same whole thing again.
"I was supposed to go into work on the Wednesday but I couldn't go in. I was just sitting at home here, thinking to myself, "This isn't happening." I shut myself out to the world. Sitting here now and looking back you think, "It's only a game of football."
Fay: after the semi final against Kerry, 'Meath football started showing an arrogance and it's never recovered from it'
It appears some Meath people remain in August of 2001 and thd arrogance remain, but there you have it, Joyce destroyed two of Meaths greatest defenders in 35 minutes. Imagine if he had stayed on him PJ may have scored 15 or 16.
GDL (National) - 16/02/2020 11:26:57
NFL Division 1 - 6 Like(s)
Horrible journey to Navan. Big result, 8 down, win by two. Roll on Mayo, could we relegate them? Will be a big battle.
GDL (National) - 01/03/2020 17:45:22
Galway Football thread - 5 Like(s)
Replying To Pope_Benedict: "They didn't wright that quote. You didn't seem to clarify that in your earlier post.
A certain well known NFL quarterback named his recent 'Man in the Arena' series, due to his fondness of that quote, so it's done the rounds of the locker room/ dressing room walls, one would imagine. After 110 years, you'd expect that, I suppose." You didn't read my post correctly. I said there was post on the SJC page, I never said the teacher wrote it.
GDL (National) - 05/03/2022 20:39:01
SJC have lost boarders but they've also lost footballers to other schools, Holy Rosary and Claregalway been two that have benefited, the lads from Killererin, Corofin and Annaghdown traditionally went to school in Tuam but as parents are looking at other factors this has changed but having said that, some days you have to accept the other team was better and Naas were very good, they did a good job on their defensive structure and transitional game, their centre forward was exceptional and they nullified the hard running of the Ja's middle sector. It is a steep learning curve but you've got to start somewhere. SJC have a good number of younger players involved and they had a number of junior certs involved with the panel. Some of them players have potentially 3 more years playing at that level. There is a very good post and brilliant quote on the St Jarlaths Facebook page from one of the teachers and many of us posters here could do with reading it before been critical of players and managers.
"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
GDL (National) - 05/03/2022 15:44:57
Mayo V Galway - 5 Like(s)
Replying To mayo_123: "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam" You must be well in your 70's if it was as good as the feeling as winning "Sam", fair play to you been so up to date on the social media and tech, a real " Silver surfer" I sometimes have the buzz when I reflect on Galways last win. But to have it after 68 years must be something.
GDL (National) - 11/07/2019 21:29:31
Replying To TheBishop: "Galways short term aim is to get out of Div 2, Silke will look good at this level but he's been a disappointment at the very top level. For Corofin and at Sigerson level he looked like a player who was capable of winning All Stars but that form has never transmitted itself at the very top level.
Maybe he's been unlucky with matchups, he struggles with anyone with real pace but has done reasonably well when sent to mark Cillian O'Connor.
McDaid gets a lot of attention on here, his performances have been average but he just hasn't stayed fit since he came back. Had a brilliant 20 minutes against the Dubs in Croke Park in Feb 2019 but broke his foot that day and its been once injury after another since then. The lad was one of the best players we've had at underage the last decade and has the physical attributes too, if he can stay fit I'm sure his performances will improve." Have to disagree there, Liam Silke is a quality player, a Denis Irwin type player 7 or 8 out of 10 most matches. He won't be missed till he is not available, I believe he is about to qualify as a doctor and when that happens he may not be available for selection as more important things in life than playing for Galway and getting online abuse happen. Multiple managers can't be wrong picking him over a long period of time. His best position would be in the halfback line but we never see that as he does a job for the team. He is also never injured and is always available, he is the one player you can depend on all the time to turn up.
GDL (National) - 21/01/2022 14:23:18
All Ireland U21 Football Championship - 5 Like(s)
Replying To TheWestIsAwake: "I watched from about 15 minutes in to about 50 minutes, it was only a matter of time before Donegal pulled away. They are a very good team but can't say I enjoyed watching them." I am sure Declan Bonner and the people of Donegal are upset that you did not enjoy their win. Write a strong letter of protest to the Donegal Democrat newspaper and Donegal county board.
GDL (National) - 11/04/2017 10:50:14
I enjoyed that, a few pints last night, going for a walk on the prom, breakfast out with the papers and then a bit of light entertainment, reading the Mayo blog, Willie Joe will be putting lads in timeout and giving them detention.
GDL (National) - 25/04/2022 09:38:14
NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass.
The better team LOST today and you can thank the ref for that." Eight up and you choked. Make sure you don't do consecutive relegations you might just win the Tailteann Cup.
GDL (National) - 01/03/2020 20:13:31
Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To AnCrúiscínLán: "I see Naas were operating at a different level to Jarlaths in semi-final - ran up a massive scoreline." The last few years slowed our redevelopment following the amalgamation that took a little longer than anticipated with total integration of both schools, not taking away from Naas CBS but they have won 3 of the last 4 Leinster titles. That gave them a great foundation, I can't see The Sem beating them on Patrick day. A great year for SJC, the atmosphere around the students, school and parents has been brilliant. It will take any school a massive effort to surpass the 12 titles. I saw three or four players who have the ability to step up and play for Galway. It was a little disappointing the venue for the game, Tubber GAA did a great job but that game needed to be at a County pitch, big players want to play at big venues, An All Ireland semi final needs a proper venue for players, fans and parent's.
GDL (National) - 05/03/2022 12:50:38
Galway vs Mayo - 4 Like(s)
Funniest comment at Pearse Stadium today from a Mayo man on the way out "Kerin the most unlucky person ever as Cillian O'Connor usually misses"
GDL (Galway) - 11/02/2018 19:21:40
Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Marooned: "Good wins for Dunmore and Clifden. Dunmore 5 clear heading into injury time but looked like another keeper error in not dealing with a high ball led to a late Dominic's goal. Been a few of those. Made it tighter than it should have been for the last few minutes.
The 11 for Dominic's had some game fetching. Must have caught 7 or 8 kickouts." That is Keith Doyle at 11, he was very impressive in the air today. A good win for Dunmore, but PJ will be worried, the goalkeeper has a major issue with the ball in and around the square. It is definitely the weakest part of the Galway team heading into next year.
GDL (National) - 03/12/2022 18:08:15