Clare Forum

Popular Posts from CarlowJuniorB

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To carlo:  "Not a good day in Leinster for Carlow football teams. All the talk about football improving in the county wasn't bourne out today. Grange absolutely hammered today & it's actually embarrassing. I know they were celebrating all week but to lose by that much is a joke. Just shows how poor the interimediate championship was. A 40 something man in John Murphy basically won that championship by himself which tells its own story. As for Old Leighlin they have never performed in Leinster & they did so again today. I would put my money on Eire Og, Pal or Rathvilly putting up a better fight tonight. They won their County title & fair pay to them but they never produce in Leinster & was close to men & boys tonight. Our County not in such a good a shape as some people think"
Watching that today shows why Carlow football is leagues behind others. The physicality from Port was head and shoulders above OL today. Whether it was naivity or lack of nouse from OL today, even when pushing with the extra man they didn't look like they could do anything.

Chatted to an umpire a few weeks ago at a game and commented on how the standard across the county really showed. Quite poor overall. Honestly there's only three teams in the county that can win outside of Carlow and that's Eire Og in football and then MLR and St. Mullins in hurling. Rathvilly couldn't give a toss after getting out of Carlow, 2021 being the shining example of that. Pal beat a poor Wicklow side and then utterly stuffed by Port as well.

Lot of self reflecting needs to be done within the county again as per.

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 01/11/2025 20:32:40

Replying To Viking66:  "Club provinvial hurling is generally closer to intercounty standard than club provincial Football. Most of the teams that make provincial club hurling championships have a higher percentage of intercounty players than most of the clubs who make intercounty football championships.
Check it out for yourself."
That's plainly because there's less hurling clubs/hurlers compared to football.

Can we stop with the whining from both sides please?

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 10/11/2025 15:37:27

Good draw to get Wicklow. Bad draw the winner gets Dublin.

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 27/11/2025 21:30:56

Replying To CmonAymonow:  "It's being reported by LaoisToday that Lee Walker is returning to The Blues from Graiguecullen.
I've heard they've been dropping down the grades in recent years so will he be the spark they need to start bouncing back?
He was excellent this year for Graiguecullen with the exception of the semi-final."
Arra jaysus he's good enough to drag them up back to junior alone. That won't be a fun match to play against.

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 05/12/2025 11:40:43

Replying To CARPS:  "Which code gets Carlow GAA people talking (I assume you mean this, not taking) the most depends on where you are. In Rathvilly or Hacketstown It would be football, but in Borris or Garyhill it would be hurling. In Bagenalstown it could be 50-50 and in Tullow they probably talk about neither. In Carlow town, they are more likely to talk about foreign-sourced pursuits such as soccer and rugby. At least in my experience.

I was in a hostelry for some food at the weekend, after the Carlow-Offaly game and, as I was leaving, I bumped into a chap I played football with about 300 years ago. I asked him how he was doing. He told me he was happy because Arsenal had just won. I am pretty sure this man has never lived in London. Such is the world we live in."
Carps let's be fair now, people following soccer isn't just a town thing. Go to any corner of the county and you'll get lads following the premier league. Irish people are the original foreign plastic fans of English teams.

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 05/01/2026 22:41:02

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm not."
Some come back for Leitrim. Thought London had dog walked you for that.

Hard gritty win that for us. First team since the promoted one in 2018 where you can feel they have a hardiness to them.

CarlowJuniorB (National) - 15/02/2026 15:34:58