Teams of the 2020 Championships revealed as Mackin named Player of the Year

February 27, 2021

Armagh's Aimee Mackin celebrates after scoring a goal. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

The 2020 Ladies Senior, Intermediate and Junior Teams of the Championship, along with the Players of the Year in each grade, were announced on a special programme aired on TG4 this evening.

Four-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin secured six places on the senior selection, with finalists Cork receiving four, Armagh three and one each for Galway and Tipperary.

Armagh scoring star Aimee Mackin was named Senior Player of the Year as she becomes the first player since her teammate Caroline O'Hanlon in 2014 to win the award, despite not having won the All-Ireland. 

Mackin was sensational during the 2020 championship, scoring 5-17 from just three outings and is joined on the team by her younger sister Blaithin.

Her stunning goal during the second half of the All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin won the Cúl na Bliana award. 

The Dublin players honoured are defenders Martha Byrne, Sinead Goldrick, midfielder Jennifer Dunne and forwards Carla Rowe, Lyndsey Davey and Noelle Healy.

Cork are represented on the team by goalkeeper Martina O'Brien, defenders Eimear Meaney, Melissa Duggan and attacker Aine O'Sullivan.

Armagh's winners were the Mackin sisters, and Clodagh McCambridge, while Galway's Louise Ward and Aishling Moloney of Tipperary make up the side.

The Intermediate Player of the Year award went to Meath's Vikki Wall, with Fermanagh's Eimear Smyth winning the Junior accolade for the second successive year.

On the Intermediate Team of the Year, All-Ireland champions Meath had seven players in the frame, followed by runners-up Westmeath with four, Clare with two and Kildare and Roscommon with one apiece.

All-Ireland champions Fermanagh and Wicklow shared twelve places on the Junior Team of the Year.

2020 Senior Team of the Year - Martina O’Brien (Cork); Martha Byrne (Dublin), Clodagh McCambridge (Armagh), Eimear Meaney (Cork); Melissa Duggan (Cork), Blaithin Mackin (Armagh), Sinead Goldrick (Dublin); Jennifer Dunne (Dublin), Louise Ward (Galway); Carla Rowe (Dublin), Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Aimee Mackin (Armagh); Aine O’Sullivan (Cork), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary), Noelle Healy (Dublin).

2020 Intermediate Team of the Year - Monica McGuirk (Meath); Rachel Dillon (Westmeath), Lucy Power (Westmeath), Emma Troy (Meath); Roisin Considine (Clare), Fiona Claffey (Westmeath), Megan Thynne (Meath); Jennifer Higgins (Roscommon), Maire O’Shaughnessy (Meath); Emma Duggan (Meath), Vikki Wall (Meath), Anna Jones (Westmeath); Stacey Grimes (Meath), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Roisin Byrne (Kildare).

2020 Junior Team of the Year - Shauna Murphy (Fermanagh); Emily Mulhall (Wicklow), Sarah Jane Winders (Wicklow), Rebekah Daly (Limerick); Alanna Conroy (Wicklow), Saoirse Tennyson (Antrim), Sarah McCarville (Fermanagh); Aoife Gorman (Wicklow), Roisin O’Reilly (Fermanagh); Aine Cunningham (Limerick), Laura Hogan (Wicklow), Aisling Maguire (Fermanagh);  Eimear Smyth (Fermanagh), Meadhbh Deeney (Wicklow), Marie Kealy (Wicklow).

Most Read Stories