Cavan V Derry

Replying To Sean.66:  "The team of 97 were very good but carried a couple of players too.. The game now is totally different ( and not in a good way ) with no player marking his man at all... In 97 it was 15 on 15 nearly all the time.., I don't think they would be as fit as the current team but had far better ball winners and far tougher men... And in 97 we didn't have to endure the idiotic sight of goalkeepers trapesing up the field to take free kicks tha Ronan Carolan would put over with his eyes closed.. Crowds were going to games and enjoying what they seen win lose or draw unlike now..."
One of the better posts..

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 19/07/2016 19:48:25    1886622

Living in the past... the number 1 pastime for Cavan GAA men. Spare me.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/07/2016 19:50:35    1886624

Of the current starting 15
Keep
Givney, mcvitty, Clarke, mckiernan, mcloughlin

All else is up for grabs for about 40 potential candidates

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 19/07/2016 20:45:39    1886641

Of the current starting 15
Keep

All else is up for grabs for about 40 potential candidates

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 19/07/2016 22:31:05    1886722

If Terry want's to stay on i would think that the County Board will exceed to his wishes. Speculation about internal or external managers becomes irrelevant.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 20/07/2016 09:32:21    1886812

Replying To Jimjo:  "Of the current starting 15
Keep

All else is up for grabs for about 40 potential candidates"
Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts:26 - 19/07/2016 22:31:05 1

I personally feel you are being unfair to players that have trained hard since last October to excluded as you have just done.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/07/2016 11:17:20    1886879

McVeety without doubt the best player in Cavan for the modern game in my opinion,Killian Clarke,McLoughlin also have what is required for the modern game,in time i reckon Gerry Smith will fit in to this category.The modern game has super fit athletes who are not necessarily the most natural footballers.The Dubs have these type of athletes all over the field but they have great football ability along with it.The half backs today need pace and endurance,the half forwards need endurance and work rate,they are no longer forwards as we would be inclined to think of them in the past.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 20/07/2016 11:40:07    1886891

Replying To celt2018:  "McVeety without doubt the best player in Cavan for the modern game in my opinion,Killian Clarke,McLoughlin also have what is required for the modern game,in time i reckon Gerry Smith will fit in to this category.The modern game has super fit athletes who are not necessarily the most natural footballers.The Dubs have these type of athletes all over the field but they have great football ability along with it.The half backs today need pace and endurance,the half forwards need endurance and work rate,they are no longer forwards as we would be inclined to think of them in the past."
Well I didn't see Bernard Brogan move too far from goal last Sunday and he got 1-4 from play. He hasn't much pace either compared to some . But he has this knack of being very accurate of both feet unlike a lot of forwards about . Plus he has players along side who are not glory hunters are pass to better positioned players. Yes Dublin have their runners but the also have a quality forward that they use right. no corner forward is a threat 60 m from goal . Maybe that's why Brogan stays inside . Common sense really to play your scoring forwards close to goal

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 20/07/2016 12:16:04    1886915

sean ... yes a little harsh... as there is no doubt about time commitment and effort (which are fundamentals) ...however if we talk about winning an Ulster or staying in Div 1 then fundamentals are a given and we need more that that
so I don't say they are all out ... just back in the fresh view/new selectors/ coach review cycle
( although some should definitely be out ! but I wont name names. but think Terrys favorites)

celt .... agree with those ... also do think we need to begin to think Smith/ Hayes/ Reilly etc more ... and not think " haven't proven themselves under current manger" " don't trust them" ...

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 20/07/2016 12:17:34    1886917

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Cavan contested 3 Ulster finals in the 70s and 80s. Wise up Fredflint . Comparing MC to SK is an insult to SK. I never seen MC catch a ball like SK did.. Or place a pass either. MC would run all day but no football in him compared to SK."
And King would run for 20 mins and his game would be over. Tell me genius in these fantastic 70s and 80s when we contested a incredible 3 ulster finals. Tell me how many times an ulster team contested the all Ireland ( given they were straight into the semi) and how many times an ulster team won Sam in those decades. You have no idea if you think current Cavan team would trash any Cavan team you like from the 70s and 80s.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/07/2016 21:24:46    1887278

Replying To fredflint:  "And King would run for 20 mins and his game would be over. Tell me genius in these fantastic 70s and 80s when we contested a incredible 3 ulster finals. Tell me how many times an ulster team contested the all Ireland ( given they were straight into the semi) and how many times an ulster team won Sam in those decades. You have no idea if you think current Cavan team would trash any Cavan team you like from the 70s and 80s."
We can't even get to an Ulster final on the back of 4 winning Ulster u21 titles. Least the lads of the 70 and 80 contested them. I never said they would win all Ireland's We had All Stars during the 70s players like Ollie Brady and Stave Duggan . And that was while Kerry and Dublin we at their pomp . Fredflint you let yourself down a bagful when you compare SK and MC. King soldered on for 17 years like Jim Reilly and many others . Nowadays they need a year out if they pull a hamstring . MC Kiernan and Johnston are the only 2 players from the current set up that would get on a Cavan team picked over the last 40 years. And that's being generous as McKiernan still has to prove himself. .... But if it was a 26 mile race the current players would win hands down. The great athletes with very little football in them!!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 21/07/2016 00:02:18    1887353

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "We can't even get to an Ulster final on the back of 4 winning Ulster u21 titles. Least the lads of the 70 and 80 contested them. I never said they would win all Ireland's We had All Stars during the 70s players like Ollie Brady and Stave Duggan . And that was while Kerry and Dublin we at their pomp . Fredflint you let yourself down a bagful when you compare SK and MC. King soldered on for 17 years like Jim Reilly and many others . Nowadays they need a year out if they pull a hamstring . MC Kiernan and Johnston are the only 2 players from the current set up that would get on a Cavan team picked over the last 40 years. And that's being generous as McKiernan still has to prove himself. .... But if it was a 26 mile race the current players would win hands down. The great athletes with very little football in them!!"
Nowadays they need a year out if they pull a hamstring

You know what ? They're dead right to look after themselves and get treatment because you're only as good as your last game and you have the rest of your life to suffer with the injury you got plying for the county.
You get no thanks for being "That soldier"

I'm my day we got injured, it felt a bit better, rubbed deep heat into it, played again. Hurt it again, repeated the process. Left now with a stiff knee that if properly treated at the time would not be causing me any problems.

So the old school , mighty men, aawh god they were great men, no hamstring injuries back then bull crap is long gone TG !!

These lads give up all their time and if they get injured they are dead right to get proper treatment, proper rehab and proper recovery. We are keen to rush lads back too soon and they agrivate the injury again.

We are too quick to scorn injuries, mock, make little and question their manhood.

Back in the day there were mighty men, the majority of which are stiff, sore and hobbling around

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/07/2016 09:38:27    1887406

StirringIt - The GAA need to shoulder the blame for most of these injuries, because its the GAA thats place the demands on the modern day footballer, and why? to feed the fat cats in Croke Park, who are salaries that you and me can only dream about. College Football, Mickey Mouse Cups (i.e McKenna), the back door, has led to all this. The GAA as an organisation has turned professional, the players are still amateur, but yet they're expected to train and play like amateurs.

If modern day footballers are looked after as you say, you might find you why Cavan played Martin Reilly against Derry, knowing he had a dislocation in his hand, in addition to stitches.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 21/07/2016 10:07:47    1887422

Replying To deanmartin:  "StirringIt - The GAA need to shoulder the blame for most of these injuries, because its the GAA thats place the demands on the modern day footballer, and why? to feed the fat cats in Croke Park, who are salaries that you and me can only dream about. College Football, Mickey Mouse Cups (i.e McKenna), the back door, has led to all this. The GAA as an organisation has turned professional, the players are still amateur, but yet they're expected to train and play like amateurs.

If modern day footballers are looked after as you say, you might find you why Cavan played Martin Reilly against Derry, knowing he had a dislocation in his hand, in addition to stitches."
and Givney for replay v Tyrone doing even more damage to an already serious injury. By all accounts he's out for 6 months which means he'll miss the remainder of the year with his club, but then that probably doesn't matter as it's only the club. !!!!
Players are being used and abused.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/07/2016 16:53:11    1887795

Replying To deanmartin:  "StirringIt - The GAA need to shoulder the blame for most of these injuries, because its the GAA thats place the demands on the modern day footballer, and why? to feed the fat cats in Croke Park, who are salaries that you and me can only dream about. College Football, Mickey Mouse Cups (i.e McKenna), the back door, has led to all this. The GAA as an organisation has turned professional, the players are still amateur, but yet they're expected to train and play like amateurs.

If modern day footballers are looked after as you say, you might find you why Cavan played Martin Reilly against Derry, knowing he had a dislocation in his hand, in addition to stitches."
Dean, I've asked this question before and not surprisingly, have not received an answer. I'll try again.

Who are the fat cats you're referring to and what are their salaries?

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 21/07/2016 17:05:16    1887802

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "We can't even get to an Ulster final on the back of 4 winning Ulster u21 titles. Least the lads of the 70 and 80 contested them. I never said they would win all Ireland's We had All Stars during the 70s players like Ollie Brady and Stave Duggan . And that was while Kerry and Dublin we at their pomp . Fredflint you let yourself down a bagful when you compare SK and MC. King soldered on for 17 years like Jim Reilly and many others . Nowadays they need a year out if they pull a hamstring . MC Kiernan and Johnston are the only 2 players from the current set up that would get on a Cavan team picked over the last 40 years. And that's being generous as McKiernan still has to prove himself. .... But if it was a 26 mile race the current players would win hands down. The great athletes with very little football in them!!"
The point about ulster all Ireland's is that Ulster football was so crap in the 70s & 80s that they only made 1 all Ireland appearance, ie won one semi in 20 years. And you think it was a great achievement to make a few Ulster finals and lose them. What was it pat Spillane said about King, speaking of great kerrymen in their pomp - something about a bicycle I think.

There are a gang of lads of your generation spouting about these great players of the past, only a small handful were top class. The last great Cavan team was in the 60s.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 21/07/2016 18:59:34    1887859

Fredflint

1967 to be exact!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 22/07/2016 07:36:53    1887995

Replying To kildare blue:  "Fredflint

1967 to be exact!"
what about 1968 and 1969... very similar team.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2016 08:16:04    1887998

replying to Terry4taoiseach

Now lets look at his championship record forensically:

Championship wins in Terry's tenure:
Armagh (In disarray both times) x 2
Fermanagh x 2
Carlow
London
Derry (Derry fell apart in extra time) x1
Meath (In decline and still are at the time) x 1

if you are going to produce "facts and figures" you should get them correct.

I will correct your mistakes.
wins 10
Fermanagh x 3
Armagh x 2
London x 2
Carlow
Westmeath
Derry

Draws 1
Tyrone

Losses 10
Monaghan x 2
Roscommon x 2
Donegal
Kildare
Tyrone
Derry
Armagh
kerry

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2016 09:20:38    1888022

Replying To s goldrick:  "replying to Terry4taoiseach

Now lets look at his championship record forensically:

Championship wins in Terry's tenure:
Armagh (In disarray both times) x 2
Fermanagh x 2
Carlow
London
Derry (Derry fell apart in extra time) x1
Meath (In decline and still are at the time) x 1

if you are going to produce "facts and figures" you should get them correct.

I will correct your mistakes.
wins 10
Fermanagh x 3
Armagh x 2
London x 2
Carlow
Westmeath
Derry

Draws 1
Tyrone

Losses 10
Monaghan x 2
Roscommon x 2
Donegal
Kildare
Tyrone
Derry
Armagh
kerry"
Mr Goldrick,

You have actually made it look bleaker.

What I was trying to point out was the what I would call the "heavy" defeats, but by all means call out all the defeats. were some of the extra victories gained must have been in the joint terry/val era. Still no notable scalps there, you just added a couple of victories against the same teams

Terry4taoiseach (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 22/07/2016 11:17:02    1888092