Cavan V NY Gaelic Park in April

Great to see Cavan coming to town in April. We here at the Cavan club in NY are delighted to welcome all Cavan people to celebrate our 100 years playing in NYGAA. It's also great for the local county team to finally get games before the Connacht championship. Do ye think a lot of Cavan people will make the trip

nyny (USA) - Posts: 195 - 28/01/2015 17:20:02    1687477

who says playing intercounty is all hard work!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1678 - 28/01/2015 20:09:11    1687528

Most on here don't go to games, they just sit at the laptop waiting for defeat so they can moan about it. Its a novel idea, I'm thinking of going over myself. Lots of genuine fans will too I think.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 28/01/2015 21:31:23    1687564

The way they are set up to play it is hard work watching them at home not talk about going to NW to endure it....no ta

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 28/01/2015 21:42:27    1687569

Thanks FredFlint, but you'll find that most of the people on here do actually go to games and have followed & supported Cavan Football for a hell of a long time, therefore, we are entitled to our opionion as much as anyone else. We pay good money to go to matches, we purchase the merchanidise, so if we want to moan & groan, we will do so.

I realise that your'e also a supporter, but can you actually put your hand on your heart and tell the rest of this forum that you are happy with our performances and the style of football that we play - if the answer is yes, then you know absolutely nothing about football whatsover and we'll take your comments with a pinch of salt from now on.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 10:21:15    1687612

Play on a plastic pitch against the weakest opposition there could possibly be a few weeks before important championship game.!! Great preparation

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 29/01/2015 10:30:02    1687616

DeanMartin
you say that everyone's entitled to an opinion but then if they don't agree with you then they know nothing about football whatsoever!!!!!
bit of a double standard don't you think. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, including you, you seem to repeat your distaste about Cavan's in every post. We hear you loud and clear.

Sticking to the thread I think its a gamble playing in New York so close to the championship

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 10:48:52    1687628

Cavan 97 - Im not asking anyone to agree/disagree with me - but as we are on the subject, tell us, do you think the standard or stlye of football is enjoyable to watch?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 12:47:16    1687689

Dean Martin, I think the standard of football has come on leaps and bounds under Terry. Our tackling is terrific and the amount of turnover ball is brilliant to watch. We have an exceptional work ethic. At times no its not enjoyable to watch. But then the hidings we took under previous managers were also not enjoyable to watch. We are not that far away from Monaghan's setup and they were Ulster Champions not that long ago. Look what Donegal did with a similar system with 2 or 3 outstanding forwards. Ask the people from Donegal was it pretty to watch, sometimes no, was it enjoyable? They coined a song for their manager!!!!
I hope this is not Terry's last year because there is a pride and hunger and belief in the Jersey now that was missing for so many years and he is responsible for that.
in my opinion the difference between the top 10 counties and the rest? The top 10 have top forwards and can take a score, the others struggle.
Terry has closed that gap with this system and yes we would love a Quigley or a McManus or a Bradley but I believe that keeping this bunch of players together playing at a high standard can only improve our county players and if we do get that type of player coming through then we could break into the top 10.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 13:21:34    1687704

I respect your opinion Cavan 97. But I disagree with your comments that the standard of football has come on leaps and bounds.
Our tackling is ferocious, in fact, we are amongst the best in Country, and we win many a turnover, but its the inability to deal with the turnover ball that is the problem. Any team can defend, tackle & turnover the ball, but its the points on the board that win games, and with the amount of possession we have, we're not putting enough scores on the board to kill teams off.
As I said before, the we got to an All Ireland qtr final in 2013, we were beaten by a Kerry team who didnt have to reach 2nd gear, we got beat twice by Roscommon last year (even though we beat them and topped them in Division 3 - the point being, they were able to up the ante when it mattered most. Armagh had a terrible National League campaign in 2014, they were relegated in 2014 to Division 3, yet, when it counted, the were able to up the ante and beat us comfortably in the Ulster Championship.
In two of our McKenna Cup games recently, Mongaghan & Tyrone, in the second half, we managed to score a grand total of 1 goal and 1 point - thats 70 mins of football, and youre trying to tell me that we've come on leaps & bounds?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 14:29:41    1687725

No excuse for Roscommon in the championship. The game in Croke park against the Rossies was close. Armagh were missing a large bulk of their team in last years League campaign, that's why they went down and were only beaten by the minimum by Donegal. Monaghan and Tyrone in the McKenna Cup failing to score. What division are they in now? Ive said we are not top 10 but a lot closer since Terry came on board. So the drinking is gone, the player who "oh my hamstrings tight ill just kick the ball over the bar", and the unity is back. In my opinion and a lot of Terry supporters, yes it is leaps and bounds.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 14:46:37    1687730

No excuse for Roscommon in the championship. The game in Croke park against the Rossies was close. Armagh were missing a large bulk of their team in last years League campaign, that's why they went down and were only beaten by the minimum by Donegal. Monaghan and Tyrone in the McKenna Cup failing to score. What division are they in now? Ive said we are not top 10 but a lot closer since Terry came on board. So the drinking is gone, the player who "oh my hamstrings tight ill just kick the ball over the bar", and the unity is back. In my opinion and a lot of Terry supporters, yes it is leaps and bounds.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 14:59:50    1687734

gosh, how quickly this thread has gone off topic.

considering going over. what other functions are planned for the week in addition to the games.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/01/2015 15:07:41    1687736

Cavan97 - thank you, you hit the nail on the head just there and you just closed the argument for us all with your comments 'Terry Supporters' Is that the basis of your whole argument, to defend Terry?
We've come on leaps and bounds as you say, yet youve just named three important matches that we lost. Armagh were missing some players in the league campaign, but the fact that we werent and obtained promotion, surely that would have left us with an advantage. We beat Roscommon in the league, yet lost to them in the league final, and the qualifiers, Monaghan & Tyrone are indeed in Division 1, but youve failed to mention the students from UUJ and Fermanagh who are in division 3?
So apart from some improved tackling and a bit more turnovers, where exactly have we come on in leaps & bounds?
In regards to players taking pride in the jersey, any player that doesnt, shouldnt be there, however, you need to rethink the unity and the players are happy comments, cause from what Ive heard, that isnt the case. Why have some many 'young' and 'important' players left recently?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 15:19:55    1687740

ah hem sorry, was Dunnie not injured prior to the ball being thrown up against Armagh? Mackey wasn't fit to start and Killian Clarke had gone stateside. How did we have a full team? Armagh were a solid force in the championship and as I said, lost to Donegal and bet Tyrone.
I will support OUR manager because I believe in him and he is bettering Cavan Football. im not a club man of Terry's but ive seen enough failed managers in Cavan.
There is always going to be naysayers and no ive no agenda here. Are we not here for the betterment of our County??????
you seem to have a gripe with County board and management. well if your not happy get off the fence and do something about it and make a difference

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 15:34:31    1687748

Oh another thread hijacked by the anti Hyland brigade.

Well done lads.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 29/01/2015 15:37:56    1687750

Well looks like I started a fight here. I really started the thread to see what people were feeling about the NY trip and if any few were coming over.

nyny (USA) - Posts: 195 - 29/01/2015 16:41:21    1687775

nyny Sorry I spoke out of topic. Hope there is a few heading to add to the occasion and atmosphere

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 17:13:25    1687792

Fantastic opportunity for both county teams.. If NY are to have any future in the All-Ireland championship then trips like this need to become an annual thing; as professionalism in the sport at home grows greater it seems unfeasible for NY to compete with other county's without another competitive game all year..
Our county lads deserve this too given the dedication they have put in over the last number of years and a lot of them contributing to some form of underage success, not sure if they'll get to let there hair down while they're out there at all but a good bonding opportunity post-league and pre-championship...
Congrats to NY county board and the Cavan club in NY for making this happen

onthemove (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 29/01/2015 17:56:26    1687818

I was going to reply but Cavan77 did it much better than I could. The Terry knockers don't deal in facts, just emotional and I fear most is based on the bitterness about a player that will never play for Cavan again

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/01/2015 18:15:55    1687833