Cavan Seniors 2024

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Roscommon in Longford next Saturday at 5 I believe. Looking forward to it. PP have us at 3/1 which is surely good value, you would imagine there is a big performance in us. If the lads have targeted this game, then in hindsight it was a good move as Roscommon have put alot into the first two games but ultimately have nothing whereas hopefully we will be hungrier. A tight field in Longford. Westmeath dropped off the Galway kick out last week and made it very difficult for Galway to score on a similarly tight field. I think we should do the same as we are completely wasting energy trying to half press on kick outs.

I seem to be in the minority in that I think it's a great system we currently have. Everywhere you turn, there is someone giving out about the structure. I'm not sure what all the crying is about. I was in Mullingar last Sunday, I was in Ballybofey the week before, brilliant atmospheres, good entertainment, great days out, reasonable prices. There are more games to go to now than ever before. I think the whole thing is bubbling up nicely now coming into next weekend. Albeit I agree Cavan have no real chance in the later stages, but you just never know, there is always the chance of a miracle draw eg. Greece 2004 !!"
You must have been delighted we handed Dublin every kick out as it played into our favour… sure we only conceded 5-17…. A wonderful tactic… If we use it against Roscommon there will be only one winner and it won't be us… As for atmosphere…? You would hear more noise at a wake than at most of these meaningless games… the pityfull attendances is enough to show that…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 07/06/2024 13:11:55    2549996

Great article this week in the Celt by Paul Fitzpatrick.,, sums up the whole farcical situation with the current All Ireland senior football championship… nobody cares anymore… certainly supporters don't..!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 08/06/2024 17:03:42    2550192

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Great article this week in the Celt by Paul Fitzpatrick.,, sums up the whole farcical situation with the current All Ireland senior football championship… nobody cares anymore… certainly supporters don't..!!!"
Fair enough. We'll tell you the score after the game so. Anyway, apart from the poster above - ForeverBlue2 has clearly stated that he has no interest in the championship and won't be contributing to the conversation - does anyone think we can/will beat Roscommon on Saturday? It's a hard one to call. They struggled in div 1 and we tailed off badly in our own league. There's rarely much between us though. We're light up front but I feel our backs can get the measure of their forwards. Can we get enough scores, that's my concern.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 124 - 10/06/2024 14:31:22    2550582

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Fair enough. We'll tell you the score after the game so. Anyway, apart from the poster above - ForeverBlue2 has clearly stated that he has no interest in the championship and won't be contributing to the conversation - does anyone think we can/will beat Roscommon on Saturday? It's a hard one to call. They struggled in div 1 and we tailed off badly in our own league. There's rarely much between us though. We're light up front but I feel our backs can get the measure of their forwards. Can we get enough scores, that's my concern."
Prior to the start of the groups, I'd have said yes.

After last week, and particularly Castlebar, I would be much less confident.

Ros are not great. But like you, it's the forward line I worry about. They have more scores in theirs than we have in ours.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 10/06/2024 14:59:41    2550590

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You must have been delighted we handed Dublin every kick out as it played into our favour… sure we only conceded 5-17…. A wonderful tactic… If we use it against Roscommon there will be only one winner and it won't be us… As for atmosphere…? You would hear more noise at a wake than at most of these meaningless games… the pityfull attendances is enough to show that…"
As far as I could see we attempted to press both the Dublin and Mayo kick outs with little to no success

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 347 - 10/06/2024 15:25:24    2550598

Replying To 97Cavans:  "As far as I could see we attempted to press both the Dublin and Mayo kick outs with little to no success"
As far as I could see we attempted to press both the Dublin and Mayo kick outs with little to no success
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 337 - 10/06/2024 15:25:24 255

Attempted ... Would have been as well retreat and get everyone behind the ball and try and make them work for scores.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 867 - 10/06/2024 15:43:35    2550606

Replying To 97Cavans:  "As far as I could see we attempted to press both the Dublin and Mayo kick outs with little to no success"
Did you not see the Dublin game…? We handed them almost every kick out…. Great plan that

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 10/06/2024 15:52:20    2550608

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Fair enough. We'll tell you the score after the game so. Anyway, apart from the poster above - ForeverBlue2 has clearly stated that he has no interest in the championship and won't be contributing to the conversation - does anyone think we can/will beat Roscommon on Saturday? It's a hard one to call. They struggled in div 1 and we tailed off badly in our own league. There's rarely much between us though. We're light up front but I feel our backs can get the measure of their forwards. Can we get enough scores, that's my concern."
If our backs are that good how did an overweight Cillian O Connor knock over 4/5pts from play against us yet not get a kick of it against Roscommon…? Roscommon were competitive for long periods against both Dublin and Mayo while we were never at the races with either… I know every game is different but it's hard to see us beating Roscommon going on the games played in the group so far… They have 3/4 scoring forwards that we just don't possess at the moment and that makes a huge difference… I hope I'm completely wrong and things work out on Saturday but it's just hard to be confident…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 10/06/2024 16:03:03    2550614

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "If our backs are that good how did an overweight Cillian O Connor knock over 4/5pts from play against us yet not get a kick of it against Roscommon…? Roscommon were competitive for long periods against both Dublin and Mayo while we were never at the races with either… I know every game is different but it's hard to see us beating Roscommon going on the games played in the group so far… They have 3/4 scoring forwards that we just don't possess at the moment and that makes a huge difference… I hope I'm completely wrong and things work out on Saturday but it's just hard to be confident…!"
I find you to be an enigma. You said before that no-one, including you, cared about the championship. Yet, here you are clearly caring. You say that you cannot see us win, but you hope you're wrong? So you therefore do hope, like myself, that they will progress, regardless of how unlikely a title win is.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 124 - 10/06/2024 18:29:59    2550664

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I find you to be an enigma. You said before that no-one, including you, cared about the championship. Yet, here you are clearly caring. You say that you cannot see us win, but you hope you're wrong? So you therefore do hope, like myself, that they will progress, regardless of how unlikely a title win is."
Of course I hope they progress but at the end of the day when we went out of the Ulster Championship our chances of winning anything ended… I had no real interest in these group games up to now as nothing was on the line… now we have to win which turns it into a game which has a real championship feel to it… it's knock out now or you're gone.. The other game in the group means nothing to me as both go through regardless…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 10/06/2024 18:48:36    2550671

Replying To RHF:  "As far as I could see we attempted to press both the Dublin and Mayo kick outs with little to no success
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 337 - 10/06/2024 15:25:24 255

Attempted ... Would have been as well retreat and get everyone behind the ball and try and make them work for scores."
I agree and that was my original point. Maybe excluding the odd one after a free. Or when you feel a team are wobbling eg. Westmeath conceded the kick outs last weekend and had Galway in trouble but Westmeath forgot they had togo and win the game and never put the foot on the throat during that period in the second half.

Also, if this ends up tight I think our lads will have the steel to finish it out, we have won a number of tight games recently whereas Roscommon have tended to lose the tight ones

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 347 - 12/06/2024 12:36:32    2551002

Can anyone confirm this - very difficult to find this information online

As I understand it, should Cavan beat Roscommon, we cannot draw Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. So we would have a 1 in 3 chance of drawing Louth (all results going to plan).

If we were to win that, I take it that we cannot draw Dublin in a quarter final? So if Cork can top their group, we would have a 1 in 3 chance of drawing Cork?

In the semi finals, I have been told there are no draws and that Leinster are due to play Munster. Meaning Dublin v Kerry. This would seem strange as that was the pairing in 2022, which was only two years ago so I am doubtful about this

I know I am in dreamland here but theoretically if all the above is true, it wouldn't take a miracle set of results/draw to end up playing Roscommon, Louth, Cork and let's say Galway to end up in an All Ireland final ?!

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 347 - 13/06/2024 13:52:12    2551203

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Can anyone confirm this - very difficult to find this information online

As I understand it, should Cavan beat Roscommon, we cannot draw Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. So we would have a 1 in 3 chance of drawing Louth (all results going to plan).

If we were to win that, I take it that we cannot draw Dublin in a quarter final? So if Cork can top their group, we would have a 1 in 3 chance of drawing Cork?

In the semi finals, I have been told there are no draws and that Leinster are due to play Munster. Meaning Dublin v Kerry. This would seem strange as that was the pairing in 2022, which was only two years ago so I am doubtful about this

I know I am in dreamland here but theoretically if all the above is true, it wouldn't take a miracle set of results/draw to end up playing Roscommon, Louth, Cork and let's say Galway to end up in an All Ireland final ?!"
Let's just concentrate on beating Roscommon for a start….that will be a start.. As usual people getting away ahead of themselves

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 13/06/2024 14:52:00    2551214

Hoping there will be a big Cavan crowd in Longford. Its do or die now. Rossies have been going well, giving Dubs n Mayo a great game. Pressure on Cavan to produce and show they have progressed. Rossies were so close to making it out of groups last year, and won't want to fail again. Cavan need to stay consistent and stay strong to the end. An Cabhán Abú

Breffini1967 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 13/06/2024 18:26:29    2551268

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Can anyone confirm this - very difficult to find this information online

I know I am in dreamland here but theoretically if all the above is true, it wouldn't take a miracle set of results/draw to end up playing Roscommon, Louth, Cork and let's say Galway to end up in an All Ireland final ?!"
Still living in 1997 I see.....

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1695 - 13/06/2024 19:00:47    2551274

All about how we approach the game tomorrow evening… I just don't see the sense of handing Roscommon the kick out and letting them build up as with every other time we do this we invite the opposition to have a free shot at goal and as their forwards are much better at scoring points than ours it wouldn't make sense…. We should go at them from the start as they will hardly deploy the same tactics as worked so well v Dublin as they won't fear us nearly as much on turn overs…. It's a game we are and should be capable of winning but I would fear our low conversion rate to chances will be our downfall unless things change in that area….. The main thing is to give it a go and don't go down with a whimper

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 14/06/2024 09:44:34    2551345

Why would they go back to the pre determined Semi Final Draws this year.

That wasnt the case last year.

Derry couldn't meet Monaghan because they were in the one group.

But there was a draw.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 296 - 14/06/2024 09:58:47    2551348

Replying To drumalee11:  "Why would they go back to the pre determined Semi Final Draws this year.

That wasnt the case last year.

Derry couldn't meet Monaghan because they were in the one group.

But there was a draw."
Why did they not just stick to the pre determined semi final draw…. With this we could end up with a boring Dublin / Kerry Final every year… no thanks

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 14/06/2024 14:24:34    2551435

Whole championship is fecked. No chatter about this match in either county. Be more interest in a league game.
The gaa have fecked it massively. Both us amd yourself having bad years but a win tomorrow for Rotherham paper over cracks it's madness. Fans can't afford go to games so frequently in short period of time. It's bananas.
That said we've been a shambles this year and Birke is gone next year. Fell apart when mark mchugh left set up. Cavan had good win v Monaghan and poor since looking in. Maybe targeting this game,would make sense as given format a win v ros was all that was needed to get next stage so no point wasting energy in games prob wouldn't win. Both managers under pressure ours is gone no matter.
Will surely come back bite me but couldn't understand the galligan appointment

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1170 - 14/06/2024 22:53:13    2551522

Good to see Dara McVeety back among the substitutes… he was a good while out and badly missed…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 15/06/2024 12:43:55    2551587