Cavan Vs Antrim

Porous in defence ponderous in attack but a win is a win. They are among the last dozen standing - not bad for third division team. l would love to see the attack moving with more urgency. We need a more seasoned and mature tall man at number 14 - any takers? Would Conor Madden be worth a try?
lt was alarming the ease with which ANTRIM cut through our defence yesterday - thank God they left their shooting boots behind in the second half. Padraig F. MUST go back into the backs and steady the ship.
Declankillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 08/11/2020 14:29:58    2306071

Down impressed in second half. They are playing Mooney in midfield now, was half back the last few years. He carries the ball well, great pace.
The first half was very poor

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/11/2020 15:17:01    2306093

Some day lads a team is going to score all the goal chances we let them in for and we will be hammered out the gate. There is not one sign of improvement in our defence. No point in us having decent forwards and we can't stop a team from scoring against us.
Also we can't beat any good team unless we start scoring goals. We have scored 2 goals in 4 games. Too many lads happy to tap it over the bar. Down will be decent and have lots of pace to cause us trouble. We could win midfield though as we have a big size difference.

chancey (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 08/11/2020 21:54:24    2306495

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Great analysis there Pat. Your 5 points to work on showed up as major flaws again, even against Antrim, apart from maybe point number 2 where McLoughlin played fairly well but probably helped by the fact that Antrim didn't have much quality in the forwards bar a slowed up Paddy Cunningham.

Big hole still there and exploited many times by M McCann, Andy Murray and the wing back who should have scored that goal.
Build up play even more slow and direct. Killian Clarke not helping this in spite of his good point, and is not needed up there. He is getting a lot of good turnovers though. Which is why he should be in the backs.
Martin Reilly not in the game at all again. Nor indeed Cormac Reilly despite maximum effort from him because he is not an inside forward and needs to be moved out.

Winning the games is all you can ask for but I'm not seeing anything to suggest we wouldn't get steam rolled by Donegal in an Ulster final if we were to both get over our semi's."
talking to yourself again Pat.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/11/2020 08:07:58    2306582

It's going to be tough against Down but then it's tough against anyone in Ulster.. 50/50 game I would say. a few positional switches might be in order.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/11/2020 08:11:30    2306583

Folks, on the basis of what we saw at the weekend it's unlikely we will come through next weekend, however, I do expect a much improved performance and it's a game we can win.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 09/11/2020 08:49:07    2306590

Cavan are very, very poor. A number of lads missing the basics , battling control as they carry, poor handling, poor shooting, shooting when support options, no inside forwards, no idea how to stop the run...and on and on.....
Down will beat them , Cavan really are a genuine Div 3 team, I am in shock at what i saw since Saturday - there are better skills and game understanding on u16 club teams in Dublin.

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 09/11/2020 15:29:05    2306855

Replying To chancey:  "Some day lads a team is going to score all the goal chances we let them in for and we will be hammered out the gate. There is not one sign of improvement in our defence. No point in us having decent forwards and we can't stop a team from scoring against us.
Also we can't beat any good team unless we start scoring goals. We have scored 2 goals in 4 games. Too many lads happy to tap it over the bar. Down will be decent and have lots of pace to cause us trouble. We could win midfield though as we have a big size difference."
We don't have decent inside forwards. Decent club forwards maybe but not at inter county level we have no outstanding inside forward unfortunately.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 09/11/2020 16:40:14    2306896

Replying To theDagger1986:  "We don't have decent inside forwards. Decent club forwards maybe but not at inter county level we have no outstanding inside forward unfortunately."
We have better inside forwards in the county
Shane Tierney James brady Patrick Lynch Adrian Smith but not in with the county.
Our defence is a problem our full back line very loose. And half backs half forwards and midfield not tracking runners it will be our undoing eventually. I'm not sure if down will be able to expose us heavily but armagh and especially donegal could do real damage if we don't tighten up

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 09/11/2020 18:52:27    2306957

Replying To tom84:  "We have better inside forwards in the county
Shane Tierney James brady Patrick Lynch Adrian Smith but not in with the county.
Our defence is a problem our full back line very loose. And half backs half forwards and midfield not tracking runners it will be our undoing eventually. I'm not sure if down will be able to expose us heavily but armagh and especially donegal could do real damage if we don't tighten up"
so none of them any good apart from the goalie... fair play to ye.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/11/2020 21:39:58    2307016

Replying To tom84:  "We have better inside forwards in the county
Our defence is a problem our full back line very loose. And half backs half forwards and midfield not tracking runners it will be our undoing eventually. I'm not sure if down will be able to expose us heavily but armagh and especially donegal could do real damage if we don't tighten up"
Adrian Smith can hardly be considered a top inside forward? He's a decent club forward yes, definitely not any better than any of the lads in there. Tierney is without doubt one of the best forwards in club championship every year but he was on the county panel under McGleenan I think and didn't cut it although I'd like to see him have another go. Lynch and James Brady definitely should be in there too.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 10/11/2020 10:17:01    2307115

I think Pierson deserves another chance inside based on his very good and important goal v Mongahan. I think TED might be a touch better than him but it had opened up a bit when TED came on compared to what Pierson was up against. The inside men are obvoiusly not our strong point so I would only play two in there and get the 3rd man out further where he can be effective. Cormac Reilly is a good forward but wasted inside at county level and needs to be out trying to get a shot away or punch a few holes.

I would go with James Smith & Pierson inside with Ted to come on along with T.Galligan at HT.

Stephen Smith also definitely won't be effective inside at this level. I don't think he should start either but should be looked at for coming on as a half forward when things open up a bit for the likes of Martin Reilly who has been playing full games without being overly effective whilst others have been subbed almost too soon.

Hopefully the Mgmt. don't take the two narrow wins as confirmation they have done everything right so far and wait until it is too late to make proactive changes. But there have been a few warning signs that this might ultimately be the case.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 10/11/2020 11:02:42    2307140

Replying To theDagger1986:  "Adrian Smith can hardly be considered a top inside forward? He's a decent club forward yes, definitely not any better than any of the lads in there. Tierney is without doubt one of the best forwards in club championship every year but he was on the county panel under McGleenan I think and didn't cut it although I'd like to see him have another go. Lynch and James Brady definitely should be in there too."
Aye agree definitely Tierney deserves another go.
I think lynch and brady are two for the future.
I was impressed with Adrian Smith in the semi and two finals good ball winner. Dont know if he is good enough but I don't think he has been in with the county worth a try for next year.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 10/11/2020 22:18:28    2307393

Replying To s goldrick:  "so none of them any good apart from the goalie... fair play to ye."
Didn't say they weren't any good they have not been playing well we gave up way too many goal chances and not scoring any goals.
We need to be tighter at the back.
That's what been happening in the last 4 games I dunno what you have been watching

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 10/11/2020 22:26:39    2307399

Replying To tom84:  "Didn't say they weren't any good they have not been playing well we gave up way too many goal chances and not scoring any goals.
That's what been happening in the last 4 games I dunno what you have been watching"
Scored 2 goals against Monaghan.

So I don't know who you think are "not scoring any goals". Dublin maybe?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 11/11/2020 14:26:50    2307611

No goals against kildare rosscommon but conceded goals and lost.
Could hve conceded more goals
Got good goals against monaghan and won but we could have conceded more goals.
Antrim probably should have scored a goal against us and we never looked like getting a goal until antrim had to push out.
We need to stop giving teams chances for goals if we are to win ulster

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 11/11/2020 15:42:09    2307644

Replying To tom84:  "No goals against kildare rosscommon but conceded goals and lost.
Could hve conceded more goals
Got good goals against monaghan and won but we could have conceded more goals.
Antrim probably should have scored a goal against us and we never looked like getting a goal until antrim had to push out.
We need to stop giving teams chances for goals if we are to win ulster"
Ted was through for a goal against Antrim and put it over for a point.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 11/11/2020 16:03:56    2307654

Replying To tom84:  "Didn't say they weren't any good they have not been playing well we gave up way too many goal chances and not scoring any goals.
That's what been happening in the last 4 games I dunno what you have been watching"
You're a real bundle of optimistic joy Tom. Cavan are useless and the only positive thing you have to say is about a few players who arent on the team. You'll be like a pig in the proverbial if Down win at the weekend no doubt.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 11/11/2020 16:56:43    2307678

Replying To blueman1903:  "Ted was through for a goal against Antrim and put it over for a point."
Yes but but that was when antrim had push all forward and left holes at the back.
Look hopefully we bang in 3 or 4 goals this week and everything I said is nonsense but my concern is for a team that doesn't create alot of goal chances we do give up alot of chances

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 11/11/2020 17:02:50    2307680

Replying To fredflint:  "You're a real bundle of optimistic joy Tom. Cavan are useless and the only positive thing you have to say is about a few players who arent on the team. You'll be like a pig in the proverbial if Down win at the weekend no doubt."
Ah now can I not give an opinion on what we need to win.
Is this John delaneys fai and we can only say good things.
I never said cavan were useles just saying about our faults that we need to solve.
And on players that are not on the team I was just replying to someone who said we don't have any decent inside forwards which I disagree with.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 11/11/2020 18:36:49    2307721