Ulster Senior Football Championship- Monaghan V Cavan

Congratulations to Cavan and hopefully you'll appreciate Mickey Graham a lot more and his common sense approach. The less said about our tactical genius the better !
First half was a credit to both teams but our tactics in 2nd half were anti-football and deserved no better result.
Running at pace at the center of that Cavan backline was productive for us in first half and then we stopped in the second half for some unknown reason.
It's all the way to an Ulster final for Cavan now, pity it won't be in Clones where you would much prefer it !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 31/10/2020 18:02:08    2303488

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Congratulations to Cavan and hopefully you'll appreciate Mickey Graham a lot more and his common sense approach. The less said about our tactical genius the better !
First half was a credit to both teams but our tactics in 2nd half were anti-football and deserved no better result.
Running at pace at the center of that Cavan backline was productive for us in first half and then we stopped in the second half for some unknown reason.
It's all the way to an Ulster final for Cavan now, pity it won't be in Clones where you would much prefer it !"
Won't it??

(If we get there)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 31/10/2020 18:06:58    2303493

Congrats to Cavan on their win. Played football. Nothing spectacular but done a job. Doing your job is all it took. All the best in Ulster, this game will give the whole Cavan squad a lift and a boost which will be welcome. Play simple football with passion and heart and you never know where you could end up. Well done and best of luck

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 31/10/2020 18:10:06    2303496

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "This team is a bold team as we all know it's do or die so let's give it a lash
Galligan or Farrelly

2. McLoughlin Honest player you have to start him
3. Faulkner
4, Brady ? mark on Brady he has to realise he is playing for the county and his team

5. McVitty C/lough
6. C Rehill C/lough
7. N Murray C/Gaels if ready

8. James Smith C/lough
9. Peter Corrigan K/court

10. Martin Reilly K/Garry
11. Gearoid McKiernan C/Gaels
12. Barry Reilly K/court
13. Tinnelly K/court
14. P Lynch C/Lough
15. Gumley Ballinagh

Subs: G Smith Oisin Pierson K Clarke Cusack J Brady Ramor C O'Reilly if available Madden Corrigan Kingscourt Conroy Galligan if fit, There are several others out there especially from Killygarry"
Cavan used 23 players today and had 13 different scorers I think not bad against a team playing Division 1 football for years.
No sign of Gumley or many others on that list full credit to Mickey and the panel tremendous points from Gerard Smith and Raymond Galligan under pressure and a marvellous performance from Thomas Galligan

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 31/10/2020 18:30:09    2303507

Great win, positive foootball. Thomas Galligan motm fully derserved. Lacken men delivered all round.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 31/10/2020 18:31:21    2303508

Nice to do back to back wins over Monaghan as those defeats in 13 15 17 were tough defeats and all winnable.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 31/10/2020 18:54:25    2303518

...well that was a tonic.

Long time since i celebrated a score as wildly as that Galligan free.

Massive credit goes to the players and Graham, at half time it looked like a grim year was petering out. Serious guts and character to chip away at the lead, full value for victory in the end.

Graham got it spot on tactically, as we all know we dont have anything in full forward line so the players needed to shoot from range and they done that well, playing the breeze well.

Thomas galligan was a revelation, outstanding at both full forward and midfield, that catch at the end was something else
Our old soldiers Marty reilly and Gearoid deserve shout out too, they have to listen to a lot of cr4p.

There a few cavan posters on here who probably wont be heard from for a few days, only enjoy sticking the boot in and moaning about everything.

Look we arent going to win the all ireland, but if you cant be thrilled by beating a division 1 team and local rival in a knockout champioship game with the last kick after a massive comeback then there is no hope for you.

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 31/10/2020 19:06:41    2303530

I was surprised to they didn't start with a ball winner inside like James Smith and Galligan midfield. Using Galligan as an impact sub like Mackey is a good option.
Luke Fortune was very good for a player making championship debut. Stephen Smith in first half too.
Faulkners tackle on Walsh was class, another player might have fouled in that moment. Some free to win it

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 31/10/2020 19:22:10    2303534

Great result and fair play to lads for not giving up. The change in the game came when Cavan pushed up on Monaghan's kick outs, If only we had did it against the Rossi's. It's a good happy well needed lift to the county in theses times, so fair play to players for the hard effort they put in.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 31/10/2020 19:24:10    2303535

Fair play Cavan, best team won.

Best of luck in the Championship.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 31/10/2020 19:25:16    2303537

Delighted for Cavan after the way Monaghan played esp in the second half, sheer guts and determination is more valuable than anything, Monaghan have been lucky to survive in Division 1 for the last couple of seasons, Best of luck to Cavan would love to see you win an Ulster title!

Stonemadrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 41 - 31/10/2020 19:45:47    2303549

Well what can you say after that ? all we ever ask as Cavan fans is a performance to be proud of . I havent felt that way after a game in a long time it was pure ecstasy . The whole county is beaming tonight and them boys have put a smile on every ones faces.
I was very critical after last week and I'll be the first to hold my hands up and admit I got it wrong. The drop hurt hard but Mickey knew what he was at and now I feel we could potentially get to a final two years in a row .. well done to all , players and management. We might be in for a good winter yet .

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 31/10/2020 20:25:55    2303578

So, did we get a bye in to the final lads ?. it would seem that way from some comments on here. A bit of realism is needed, I fear. Monaghan handed us that game and for periods it looked like we were saying "No Thanks". Inexplicable from both teams in the third quarter. it looked like we had signed an agreement to allow Monaghan the win if they didn't try to increase their lead. OK lads you have it won but dont try and humiliate us. That was the pact, You can play over and back in your own half and we wont touch you but if you try to get smart in our half then I'm afraid we will have to deal with you and chip away at that lead. Monaghan said OK and for the most part stuck to the plan but they couldn't help themselves a few times and so were punished for their for their indiscretions. Ah ha thought Mickey we have fooled them , let's now push up in the final quarter and if they go long we can win it in midfield. And so it cane to pass that Cavan could actually defend from the front and win ball in midfield . Now , can we beat a team that recently shipped 7:11 against Wicklow ?. Probably. (that is just a quarter final). after that it gets tougher. We are still nowhere near the levels of Donegal or Tyrone and a good bit shy of Armagh but yes , it was a great win yesterday and a tremendous fillip to all Cavan folk in these feel-good starved times.. That's entertainment, That's the GAA.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/11/2020 10:29:48    2303729

No complaints best team won ye were the only side who played to win. Not sure what the hell we played for penalties maybe dont know. Anyway go on now and win yer ulster title ye will need to be a lot tighter at the back when you meet a more ruthless team than our shower but there's a lot of ability in that cavan side and ye were never far off us when we were going well so no bother to ya.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 01/11/2020 10:53:47    2303734

Cavan were undone by Antrim in 09 under Tommy Carr . They can't go in complacent as favourites , extra time will have taken a bit out of the players. The games are week to week following on from the League, a few niggles and injuries could develop.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/11/2020 11:21:40    2303745

Well Done Mickey and the lads, a real boost for the county. Monaghan are never easy opponents. We could learn a thing or two from them especially their attitude and energy over the last decade. Monaghan could compete and beat both Tyrone and Donegal on their day and that is something we have to do if we are ever to win Ulster again.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 01/11/2020 13:45:51    2303792

Well Done Mickey and the lads, a real boost for the county. Monaghan are never easy opponents. We could learn a thing or two from them especially their attitude and energy over the last decade. Monaghan could compete and beat both Tyrone and Donegal on their day and that is something we have to do if we are ever to win Ulster again.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 01/11/2020 13:53:28    2303794

Going by your performance yesterday u will give Ulster a go this year

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 01/11/2020 15:51:08    2303886

I have to say that this particular group have shown a lot of heart this year. Their come back against Westmeath in the League back in February was similar to the one on Saturday and that is not something I have associated with Cavan teams in the recent past.

They looked to be on their way out of the Championship after very poor second and third quarters but they rallied to pull back a 7 point deficit down the home straight. They still have enough in the tank to finished the job off in extra time.

When Tyrone trashed us the qualifiers last summer i felt that things had reached a new low. Then we had the drop outs from the panel so it was always likely that 2020 was going to be a very difficult year, however, Last Saturday has the potential to rescue our year.

Great credit to all the players but particularly to those who stayed around after the Tyrone game, some of them have been on the ship for a long time at this point in time and could easily have stepped back.

Don't look any further than Antrim on Saturday and with the right approach we should make an Ulster Semi Final.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 02/11/2020 11:33:57    2304315

Replying To Bluehead:  "Kudos for this post madgeking for some good analysis which turned out to be quite accurate bar piece on killian clarke who was excellent. Displayed great maturity as a team to put on that performance after which was a difficult result to take last weekend. Patience, bravery, teamwork and belief key characteristic shown in that performance and massive credit to the panel and management involved. Let's all row in behind now for next weeks game against a potentially tricky antrim side"
Cheers lad. This is my most delicious I told you so of all time! Still buzzing lads. Limerick and Donegal combined to make it a lucrative weekend all round. The neighbours will not be noisy for a long time to come.

Antrim will be a breeze but Down are Down.

Can we do something on her now that hasn't been done in a while?
Keep the discussion to pure football, in the positive sense. The rubbish spouted here is has been something else. Get behind the team and keep it about supporting the team's efforts.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/11/2020 10:31:29    2304706