Cavan V Donegal - USFC Final 2019

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Tickets not available on GAA.ie this evening. There could be a small final tranche of terrace tickets released in the net few days. I'd assume everything through the clubs is already taken, they are in these parts anyway. Huge demand in Donegal too.

How are lads seeing the potential matchups? I'm sure Mickey has a plan to mix it up and put this Donegal team off its stride. They were excellent against Tyrone, in part because they knew what was coming and swallowed it up. We have to find a way to put the doubts in.
Up front, I don't think putting Gearoid in at full forward would expose McGee enough. McVeety is the man for that job. Play the big man at wing forward running at the smaller Donegal half backs from deep- it will help counter Donegal's kickouts also.
Start Mackey. Head and heart says this has to be. We need to hit the ground running and this man will make it happen in the biggest match of his life. It will keep EB Gallagher busy and get the scoreboard moving for Cavan from the off. Madden could be kept in reserve until the second half.
Will McGee be fit? If not its McFadden and Thompson probably to start in the middle for Donegal. That's a fair challenge but we can't afford to move Clarke in there- Brady and Galligan it's up to you lads.
The Donegal forward line, where do we start? Michael Murphy- do you go man-for-man with Clarke? Clarke needs to stay at no 6 so Murphy's movement will take him out of position too much. Personally I would give the big job to Conor Moynagh. That might sound crazy however he is the standout footballer this year and has the engine to keep with Murphy all over the pitch. He can counter attack when marking a deep lying Murphy.
Faulkner on McBrearty and Jason on Jamie Brennan. Rehill to pick up Langan.
There is so much to think about. The football talk is everywhere and will only ramp up in the next few days- a dream to be talking positive about Cavan for once! When you say 'Donegal' the immediate thought is how much more quality they have. But when the matchups are put down one-to-one there are a lot of reasons to be confident. Leave the 'hunger' clichés out of it. We can match them on football ability and let the hunger be a bonus."
Enjoy your day out. Will be delighted for yours if you win. Deserved it. Played well all year and the new manager seems to be working. The loser still have a great chance of the super 8s, so not all doom and gloom.

Going over your point saying "we can match them on fball ability". Without sounding arrogant, I can't see it Murphy, Mc Brearty, Brennan, Ryan Mc Hugh, Eoghan Ban, Thompson, Langan etc.

We have a lot of threats. Cavan have some serious players too but I can see Donegal winning by 12 points plus.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 14/06/2019 00:43:54    2194674

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Enjoy your day out. Will be delighted for yours if you win. Deserved it. Played well all year and the new manager seems to be working. The loser still have a great chance of the super 8s, so not all doom and gloom.

Going over your point saying "we can match them on fball ability". Without sounding arrogant, I can't see it Murphy, Mc Brearty, Brennan, Ryan Mc Hugh, Eoghan Ban, Thompson, Langan etc.

We have a lot of threats. Cavan have some serious players too but I can see Donegal winning by 12 points plus."
No harm lad, but where are you coming from coming onto the Cavan forum and spouting about 12 point plus wins. Even when we were poor last year and had no direction you beat us by 8 points. Do you seriously think it'll be 12? I don't doubt Donegal are favourites and will likely win this, but while ye were good last week, you didn't exactly run away from a poor Tyrone side on the day. You must not have watched many of our games - we're playing well, are ambitious, hungry, accurate when we get a score chance and are in no lose bonus territory. That won't go the full way for us, but it certainly wont be a 12 point win for yourselves.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 14/06/2019 10:29:55    2194734

Replying To cavanman47:  "The sections in the Pat McGrane run from A to K (and I don't think there's an I. So E and F are central and (I think) A is the end closest to the town.

The seats further back are AA, BB. . .etc

The Hill is open standing - seat numbers are printed on tickets but these don't mean anything - same with O'Duffy Terrace.

The Gerry Arthur stand is much the same as the Pat McGrane. The roof covers very few rows on a rainy day."
And on the Gerry Arthur BO is the front open section with BC being the "covered" section towards the back.

Still nothing for season ticket holders - I am assuming this will be next week once club orders have been sent in.

cavangirl87 (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 14/06/2019 10:33:14    2194737

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "No harm lad, but where are you coming from coming onto the Cavan forum and spouting about 12 point plus wins. Even when we were poor last year and had no direction you beat us by 8 points. Do you seriously think it'll be 12? I don't doubt Donegal are favourites and will likely win this, but while ye were good last week, you didn't exactly run away from a poor Tyrone side on the day. You must not have watched many of our games - we're playing well, are ambitious, hungry, accurate when we get a score chance and are in no lose bonus territory. That won't go the full way for us, but it certainly wont be a 12 point win for yourselves."
Don't mind him, just a typical bit of nouveau riche brashness. He no doubt thinks the GAA started in 1990! I would be inclined to point out that we had 38 titles won before Donegal managed their first, but I'm sure history lessons will be lost on this lad.
It won't be +12 for Donegal, it might be up to +4. But my hunch is a 3 point win to the Breffni men and the old order restored at last.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 14/06/2019 11:19:02    2194765

Replying To cavangirl87:  "And on the Gerry Arthur BO is the front open section with BC being the "covered" section towards the back.

Still nothing for season ticket holders - I am assuming this will be next week once club orders have been sent in."
Just got the email, ticket charges to be processed for season ticket holders on Monday. Going from before though, they'll be in the covered section. like you say, the likes of BC is covered, BO is open. Ticket locations for drawn game with Armagh were very poor for season tickets, although were better for the replay. Hope to have a good location again.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 14/06/2019 11:49:12    2194783

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Don't mind him, just a typical bit of nouveau riche brashness. He no doubt thinks the GAA started in 1990! I would be inclined to point out that we had 38 titles won before Donegal managed their first, but I'm sure history lessons will be lost on this lad.
It won't be +12 for Donegal, it might be up to +4. But my hunch is a 3 point win to the Breffni men and the old order restored at last."
1 title since 1969.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1070 - 14/06/2019 12:15:21    2194800

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "No harm lad, but where are you coming from coming onto the Cavan forum and spouting about 12 point plus wins. Even when we were poor last year and had no direction you beat us by 8 points. Do you seriously think it'll be 12? I don't doubt Donegal are favourites and will likely win this, but while ye were good last week, you didn't exactly run away from a poor Tyrone side on the day. You must not have watched many of our games - we're playing well, are ambitious, hungry, accurate when we get a score chance and are in no lose bonus territory. That won't go the full way for us, but it certainly wont be a 12 point win for yourselves."
Sorry just an opinion lads. All the best in the final and enjoy your day out.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 14/06/2019 12:22:45    2194805

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Sorry just an opinion lads. All the best in the final and enjoy your day out."
Enjoy your day out? You've said that twice, why so patronising?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 14/06/2019 12:36:33    2194809

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "
Replying To MadgeKing:  "Don't mind him, just a typical bit of nouveau riche brashness. He no doubt thinks the GAA started in 1990! I would be inclined to point out that we had 38 titles won before Donegal managed their first, but I'm sure history lessons will be lost on this lad.
It won't be +12 for Donegal, it might be up to +4. But my hunch is a 3 point win to the Breffni men and the old order restored at last."
1 title since 1969."
Zero until 1971...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 14/06/2019 12:37:28    2194810

nonsense chat from both sides, no point talking about ulster titles our fathers barely remember never mind us. but anyway a 12 point beating?i sincerely hope your lads are thinking along the same lines as you. going by the forums on this game donegal are very confident, already talking about who they'd be facing in the super 8's !!!! its a very dangerous place to be. i know you (donegal posters) might think the tyrone game was the ulster final but theres still cavan to play and regardless what you think they've proven themselves worthy finalists,
there's more to this game than the champions v the minnows and there's certainly more to this cavan team, they'll not lie on their back to get their belly rubbed.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 14/06/2019 13:25:54    2194824

Replying To theweanling:  "nonsense chat from both sides, no point talking about ulster titles our fathers barely remember never mind us. but anyway a 12 point beating?i sincerely hope your lads are thinking along the same lines as you. going by the forums on this game donegal are very confident, already talking about who they'd be facing in the super 8's !!!! its a very dangerous place to be. i know you (donegal posters) might think the tyrone game was the ulster final but theres still cavan to play and regardless what you think they've proven themselves worthy finalists,
there's more to this game than the champions v the minnows and there's certainly more to this cavan team, they'll not lie on their back to get their belly rubbed."
I can understand why the Donegal people might be confident, it's fairly obvious. This is our first final in 18 years, whereas Donegal have been AI contenders for the best part of a decade now.
Don't forget that we played each other last year and it was a very facile win for Donegal. We were atrocious that day.

However, I'd also say this to the Donegal people. This is a totally different Cavan team to what you faced last year, both in terms of management personnel and player personnel. Last year's panel suffered an exodus of key players, and truth be told we were really scraping the barrel with a few lads on the team.
But our new manager has gone to great lengths to gather together our strongest panel in quite some time, and everyone is pulling in the same direction. So you'd be foolish to estimate a result based on last year's game. This Cavan team has grown in mental fortitude immensely in this years championship.

Do I predict we'll win? No. But I do expect a close game. This is bonus territory for us now, and anything can happen in a final.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 14/06/2019 14:01:20    2194848

Replying To theweanling:  "nonsense chat from both sides, no point talking about ulster titles our fathers barely remember never mind us. but anyway a 12 point beating?i sincerely hope your lads are thinking along the same lines as you. going by the forums on this game donegal are very confident, already talking about who they'd be facing in the super 8's !!!! its a very dangerous place to be. i know you (donegal posters) might think the tyrone game was the ulster final but theres still cavan to play and regardless what you think they've proven themselves worthy finalists,
there's more to this game than the champions v the minnows and there's certainly more to this cavan team, they'll not lie on their back to get their belly rubbed."
If we had beat Tyrone at their best then I would be very confident of the final but we beat a very poor Tyrone team on the night and even though we played well Cavan will pose a bigger test than Tyrone did last week.
It won't be 12 points because we rarely hammer any teams and if we get 5 or 6 ahead in any game we usually just manage it out.
Cavan played in a higher division than us this year and have been battled hardened having to go to the well a few times and we really haven't been tested yet.
I don't know where we are at present and similar to 13 if we give Cavan a good start then we could be in for a torrid day.
That said I think we have the beating of Cavan in the middle third. If we push up on Cavan kick outs and force them long I think we'll get enough of a platform for our forwards to win the game.
The Ulster Final is a great occasion in Clones, we've been lucky to experience it plenty recently but I still treasure them all. Should be a great occasion. Enjoy the build up in Cavan, its probably like we were in '11

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 14/06/2019 14:05:36    2194852

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Enjoy your day out? You've said that twice, why so patronising?"
Ah here. Never met someone like you. Stop trying to create tension over nothing. I was being polite. Take of that as you please.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 14/06/2019 14:11:56    2194856

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I can understand why the Donegal people might be confident, it's fairly obvious. This is our first final in 18 years, whereas Donegal have been AI contenders for the best part of a decade now.
Don't forget that we played each other last year and it was a very facile win for Donegal. We were atrocious that day.

However, I'd also say this to the Donegal people. This is a totally different Cavan team to what you faced last year, both in terms of management personnel and player personnel. Last year's panel suffered an exodus of key players, and truth be told we were really scraping the barrel with a few lads on the team.
But our new manager has gone to great lengths to gather together our strongest panel in quite some time, and everyone is pulling in the same direction. So you'd be foolish to estimate a result based on last year's game. This Cavan team has grown in mental fortitude immensely in this years championship.

Do I predict we'll win? No. But I do expect a close game. This is bonus territory for us now, and anything can happen in a final."
Exactly. Yours have a really good team this year whatever way the final play out.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 14/06/2019 14:13:51    2194857

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I can understand why the Donegal people might be confident, it's fairly obvious. This is our first final in 18 years, whereas Donegal have been AI contenders for the best part of a decade now.

Do I predict we'll win? No. But I do expect a close game. This is bonus territory for us now, and anything can happen in a final."
agreed on all points

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 14/06/2019 14:42:38    2194872

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Ah here. Never met someone like you. Stop trying to create tension over nothing. I was being polite. Take of that as you please."
Apologies, looks like I took that up wrong. But you came on the Cavan forum talking of 12 point wins, and telling us to enjoy the day out, it sounded like we're wee fellas and you're giving us a pat on the head for getting this far but we're gonna thrash ye. We'll leave it there so and enjoy the match next week...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 14/06/2019 14:53:51    2194881

Replying To theweanling:  "agreed on all points"
Middle third will be absolutely crucial, Donegal destroyed Tyrone in this area for near the whole game.They did not allow Tyrone to play their short kick out/restart game for the most part which forced it long which really played in to Donegal hands,that is why we need our biggest strongest mobile men around the middle .Any thoughts on who we should have around the centre,remember that Murphy plays effectively in midfield regardless of No 14,
Langan No15 plays out 50 metres as do J McGee and C Thompson. Our best man marker needs to be on Brennan,we should put Faulkner on McBrearty,put our biggest mobile men across the centre and put two half forwards fit to keep Eoin Ban and McHugh busy. Niall Murray done very well on McHugh before, maybe stick Ciaran Brady on other wing. Donegal will put McMenamin on McAveety regardless.Put Caoimhin in to test Neil Magee again. Our kick out strategy needs to be shit hot too.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 14/06/2019 15:16:02    2194890

Donegal haven't great pace in spine of defence. Neil McGee and Leo McGloone solid players but not blistering pace. Plenty of pace elsewhere but that's an area Cavan should be looking at..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/06/2019 17:26:58    2194942

Interesting to read comments this morning giving the Cavan perspective. An upset is possible there is no doubt about that. This Cavan team have beaten the Donegal lads more than once at under age. I am not sure the ref Conor lane will be much of a factor 2bh as we are very disciplined in the tackle this year more than under Gallagher. It could be a shoot out it will be an interesting final if it goes that way. I think there is nothing in the bank for Donegal in this fixture. I believe we can win it, lots will depend on our 2nd half performance. Best of luck and enjoy the final, I hope it will be a sell out attendance

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/06/2019 10:52:41    2195186

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Just got the email, ticket charges to be processed for season ticket holders on Monday. Going from before though, they'll be in the covered section. like you say, the likes of BC is covered, BO is open. Ticket locations for drawn game with Armagh were very poor for season tickets, although were better for the replay. Hope to have a good location again."
And this morning I got section F on the Pat McGrane. Not the worst location but like you said I would have expected Gerry Arthur for season ticket holders.

Seems like there is no reward for following your county through the depths of winter.

cavangirl87 (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 17/06/2019 10:49:11    2196305