Championship 2019

Replying To Virginia:  "Any idea what he's like?"
Seem to remember him being escorted off a pitch before due to a bad game he reffed. Think he's grand though, always thought he was an ok ref

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 05/06/2019 11:13:13    2190783

he's okay in general but he's has been harsh in us in the past when the outcome might affect Roscommon.

kitog (UK) - Posts: 14 - 05/06/2019 11:29:17    2190792

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Seem to remember him being escorted off a pitch before due to a bad game he reffed. Think he's grand though, always thought he was an ok ref"
He needed a Garda escort off the field in navan last summer when he denied Meath a free at the death versus Tyrone but we won't hold that against him.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 05/06/2019 13:07:47    2190844

what is paddy Nielans style... will he "tolerate" Armaghs cynical off the ball stuff? and persistent fouling ?

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 05/06/2019 13:15:34    2190849

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "He needed a Garda escort off the field in navan last summer when he denied Meath a free at the death versus Tyrone but we won't hold that against him."
If he shares a dislike of Meath that can only be a good thing.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 05/06/2019 13:16:00    2190851

I think cavan were the better team and should of won . I feel there is to much negatively with the way we dont drive on . Gerry smith and Moynaghs scores were from taken on the defense , we dont do it enough . When Morgan got a yellow card in the first half we should of let a few high balls into the sqaure and test them . I couldnt understand why micky didnt have a better plan for martain reilly , it was obvious after the Monaghan game he was going to be targeted. (Play him half back ) . And when nial murry asked to go off it took them 5 mins to get him off and the man he was marking set up jamie clarke for a shot he did miss but another day that could of lost the game . Cian monaghan from drumlane is a big man and very good midfielder that will do the donkey work we need .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 05/06/2019 13:19:23    2190855

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Yes especially after being man of the match without any doubt against Monaghan but as usual before a ball is kicked the man of the match is picked all ready by the person that picks him or her. McKiernan was not within an asses roar of Martin. How SKY pick their person has to be questionable."
Well Martin has been named player of the month a huge congratulations to him on receiving this award.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/06/2019 13:41:59    2190864

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Why would we wait until after the game to see where we're at?

We can make a fair assessment after the league. Small reminder that Monaghan beat us only a matter of weeks ago in said league.

Perhaps we are hell bent on living in the past, but we're also hell bent on ignoring the problems with football in the county, and praying that we'll somehow work a miracle at county level.

Last week a club suffered a 49 point defeat in the league. Last year a different club suffered a similar result in the championship. Elephant in the room.

But let's ignore these things and hope for the best."
Jeysus you'se Cavan men are a bundle of whingers. No mention of the 3 or 4 very handy frees the ref gave you. Gaelic Football is a physical game - if you don't like the physicality, go take up darts or something. I thought it was a great tight game - typical Ulster Championship. What do you expect? A ladies football ref? There was niggles all over the field, so take the Blue Glasses off. What about your men taken out Jarlath Burns for each throw-in? We don't whinge - we just get on with it.

The black cards on Cavan were deffo harsh. Yellows for me both of them.
Red card for Cavan, again, another ref if he seen it from a different angle might give yellow. Shields made the most of it no doubt. It was an arm thrown back to get away as opposed to wanting to do damage. For me, there is a difference. If he meant to do it - it's red - i am in the yellow card camp here also.

Grimley pull on the ball, yellow for me as he was going for the Ball but was never getting it. Fair play to the Cavan midfielder for not rolling around like a Tyrone man.

Donaghy red surely - clown!

Jeysus - reading back on that, who would want to see me ref'ing a game - there'd be dead bodies everywhere! lol

It will be an interesting game on Sunday - whoever learns the most and adapts will win the game.

Best of luck lads on Sunday - not much between the sides. To be honest, Armagh didn't play to their full abilities (i'm sure Cavan are the same). I fancy a 2 point win for the Orchard!

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 05/06/2019 17:40:51    2190954

Replying To DooReg:  "Jeysus you'se Cavan men are a bundle of whingers. No mention of the 3 or 4 very handy frees the ref gave you. Gaelic Football is a physical game - if you don't like the physicality, go take up darts or something. I thought it was a great tight game - typical Ulster Championship. What do you expect? A ladies football ref? There was niggles all over the field, so take the Blue Glasses off. What about your men taken out Jarlath Burns for each throw-in? We don't whinge - we just get on with it.

Red card for Cavan, again, another ref if he seen it from a different angle might give yellow. Shields made the most of it no doubt. It was an arm thrown back to get away as opposed to wanting to do damage. For me, there is a difference. If he meant to do it - it's red - i am in the yellow card camp here also.

Grimley pull on the ball, yellow for me as he was going for the Ball but was never getting it. Fair play to the Cavan midfielder for not rolling around like a Tyrone man.

Jeysus - reading back on that, who would want to see me ref'ing a game - there'd be dead bodies everywhere! lol

It will be an interesting game on Sunday - whoever learns the most and adapts will win the game.

Best of luck lads on Sunday - not much between the sides. To be honest, Armagh didn't play to their full abilities (i'm sure Cavan are the same). I fancy a 2 point win for the Orchard!"
Jarlath ran into Grimley, who was holding Brady at the time. That's why he went off

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 05/06/2019 19:31:36    2190977

Replying To DooReg:  "Jeysus you'se Cavan men are a bundle of whingers. No mention of the 3 or 4 very handy frees the ref gave you. Gaelic Football is a physical game - if you don't like the physicality, go take up darts or something. I thought it was a great tight game - typical Ulster Championship. What do you expect? A ladies football ref? There was niggles all over the field, so take the Blue Glasses off. What about your men taken out Jarlath Burns for each throw-in? We don't whinge - we just get on with it.

Best of luck lads on Sunday - not much between the sides. To be honest, Armagh didn't play to their full abilities (i'm sure Cavan are the same). I fancy a 2 point win for the Orchard!"
Calls Cavan men a bunch of whingers, then lists out all the ways that ref was hard on us... Jog on pal, hopefully new ref is wise to your antics on Sunday.

You missed one by the way, Grimley incident should definitely have been a red, as 99% of people have said

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 05/06/2019 20:03:29    2190986

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Calls Cavan men a bunch of whingers, then lists out all the ways that ref was hard on us... Jog on pal, hopefully new ref is wise to your antics on Sunday.

You missed one by the way, Grimley incident should definitely have been a red, as 99% of people have said"
99% of who exactly? Cavan people on this forum? At least im objective listing the wrongs of the ref on Cavan imo. You want it all your own road. The ref on Sunday will ref it as a championship game. Not for Cavan. If you're looking to the ref for favours then you are quite naive. More reason I think Armagh will win now. Cavan think they were hard done by when Armagh were a far better side that threw it away.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 05/06/2019 21:09:39    2191007

Replying To DooReg:  "99% of who exactly? Cavan people on this forum? At least im objective listing the wrongs of the ref on Cavan imo. You want it all your own road. The ref on Sunday will ref it as a championship game. Not for Cavan. If you're looking to the ref for favours then you are quite naive. More reason I think Armagh will win now. Cavan think they were hard done by when Armagh were a far better side that threw it away."
Any podcast, news article, online, or TV coverage. Pretty much everyone says it was a red. How can you not see that? He drew his foot on the man ffs. And I am objective. I think our red and second black were correct. I just want ye to get the correct cards too... Faulkner getting a wrong black and Grimley staying on the field ended up affecting the final score in my opinion. Not naive at all, think ye just have more to lose if you are reffed properly

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 05/06/2019 21:41:13    2191014

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Any podcast, news article, online, or TV coverage. Pretty much everyone says it was a red. How can you not see that? He drew his foot on the man ffs. And I am objective. I think our red and second black were correct. I just want ye to get the correct cards too... Faulkner getting a wrong black and Grimley staying on the field ended up affecting the final score in my opinion. Not naive at all, think ye just have more to lose if you are reffed properly"
So ref'ing it properly is doing exactly what you think is correct eh? Newsflash. Refereeing has always been about interpretation. Some refs are fussy others let it go for exactly the same tackles. Look at hurling; a real physical game that the refs let it go. We are turning into soccer whilst hurling (with the proper counties playing it) is an exhibition.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 05/06/2019 23:05:33    2191048

I don't think we're whinging that much to be honest. No more so than yourselves. I heard Parkinson's podcast as well about taking out Burns. Completely disagree. He was taken out by his own man who was trying to move Graham at the time. Graham is perfectly entitled to be there for throw in. He doesn't have to be contesting the jump. Cannot expect him to just move out of the way for the breaking ball just because an opposition midfielder might want a clear run to catch. If the shoe was on the other foot I don't think you'd be worried too much.
Draw was the fair result. No team did enough to win it. Agree with you that if you're relying on a referee to win you the game then you're on a hiding to nothing. It goes to a replay. Whoever loses will have had near on 3 hours of football to right the wrongs. Whoever wins will deserve it and if it's Armagh that progress then I hope ye win it out and shake things up a bit. I'm sure it'll be another battle of attrition. I'm sure there'll be more controversy. No quarter asked or given. I'm sure the referee will make some more bad calls and both the blue and orange specs will be out when the analysis is done. I just hope whoever wins isn't crippled going into the final with injuries or silly suspensions and have a full squad to choose from for what will be a huge match for either county. Good luck to all.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 05/06/2019 23:54:10    2191059

Unfortunately I didn't make the game at the weekend but will sure to be there Sunday.

How are we looking on the injury/ suspension front? Is C. Brady suspended for the next day? Will Jarlath Og be available for Armagh?

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 06/06/2019 12:20:59    2191144

Replying To Hardtimes:  "I don't think we're whinging that much to be honest. No more so than yourselves. I heard Parkinson's podcast as well about taking out Burns. Completely disagree. He was taken out by his own man who was trying to move Graham at the time. Graham is perfectly entitled to be there for throw in. He doesn't have to be contesting the jump. Cannot expect him to just move out of the way for the breaking ball just because an opposition midfielder might want a clear run to catch. If the shoe was on the other foot I don't think you'd be worried too much.
Draw was the fair result. No team did enough to win it. Agree with you that if you're relying on a referee to win you the game then you're on a hiding to nothing. It goes to a replay. Whoever loses will have had near on 3 hours of football to right the wrongs. Whoever wins will deserve it and if it's Armagh that progress then I hope ye win it out and shake things up a bit. I'm sure it'll be another battle of attrition. I'm sure there'll be more controversy. No quarter asked or given. I'm sure the referee will make some more bad calls and both the blue and orange specs will be out when the analysis is done. I just hope whoever wins isn't crippled going into the final with injuries or silly suspensions and have a full squad to choose from for what will be a huge match for either county. Good luck to all."
A more rounded response this one and i think you speak a lot of sense. But, i'm not referring exclusively to the incident that Burns got hurt in. He was taken out on another throw in as well - think it was the start of the second half. Technically, though, the players must stand behind one another on the throw in so both Burns and McKiernan are operating outside the rules here. I think the rules are there to prevent exactly what happened on Sunday past. But, refs seem to allow them to go out wide and come in like steam trains.

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 06/06/2019 12:45:10    2191149

Replying To DooReg:  "So ref'ing it properly is doing exactly what you think is correct eh? Newsflash. Refereeing has always been about interpretation. Some refs are fussy others let it go for exactly the same tackles. Look at hurling; a real physical game that the refs let it go. We are turning into soccer whilst hurling (with the proper counties playing it) is an exhibition."
You're not really getting this, are you? I'm simply saying many incidents (which you initially point out youself when you joined this thread) seemed to go against Cavan. As I have said myself, I have no issue with most of the cards against Cavan (apart from the first black), but would ask for consistency when looking at yourselves. You have to see how you were lucky that Grimley stayed on the field. And of course I know about interpretation, but i want consistency with the refs too. If Bradys was a red for striking (when he was being fouled by Shields), then Grimleys was a red as he kicked a man! That's not too hard for you to understand, is it?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 06/06/2019 12:58:59    2191151

The absolute neck of Armagh entertaining the notion of appealing Donaghys red card is absurd.
As blatant a red card as you will ever see, could have done serious damage.

re-watched the game last night, on the whole backs were very good. Keeping Clarke, O Neill, Grugan and Campbell to 2 points from play is not to shabby. McLoughlin, Clarke and Moynagh impressed from this point of view

Jarlath og Burns caused untold damage throughout, could quite easily have had another 2 or 3 scores from play as well as dominating the air, we need to spoil him the next day. Bring in a specialist.

McVeety was actually superb, considering the dogs abuse he was getting he never backed down and his 2 points were superb.

Special mention for Mackey, those scores were spectacular. Brilliant, clever player who seems to love the responsibility

Still think there is room for either Seanie or Caoimhin on the bench, that extra time period was crying out for a finisher to put the game to bed. Those 2 are probably the best 2 finishers in county. Has anybody heard any updates on Caoimhin, surely worth a place in the 26 at least?

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 06/06/2019 14:10:40    2191168

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You're not really getting this, are you? I'm simply saying many incidents (which you initially point out youself when you joined this thread) seemed to go against Cavan. As I have said myself, I have no issue with most of the cards against Cavan (apart from the first black), but would ask for consistency when looking at yourselves. You have to see how you were lucky that Grimley stayed on the field. And of course I know about interpretation, but i want consistency with the refs too. If Bradys was a red for striking (when he was being fouled by Shields), then Grimleys was a red as he kicked a man! That's not too hard for you to understand, is it?"
Easy enough understood. If the ref seen the incident as Grimley going for the ball wholeheartedly with no intent to hurt the player, he treated it as a yellow. If the incident was viewed, alternatively, as malice and intent to hurt the player then it's a red card. The ref chose to view the incident as the former and i would in that camp.

Although, according to your limited research findings (which has little to no statistical validity) i am in the 1% of the population. Really depends on the extent of the population base (and whether the sample were randomly selected or have inherit bias built in). Hope you understand that bit there!

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 06/06/2019 14:57:50    2191188

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "The absolute neck of Armagh entertaining the notion of appealing Donaghys red card is absurd.
As blatant a red card as you will ever see, could have done serious damage.

re-watched the game last night, on the whole backs were very good. Keeping Clarke, O Neill, Grugan and Campbell to 2 points from play is not to shabby. McLoughlin, Clarke and Moynagh impressed from this point of view

Jarlath og Burns caused untold damage throughout, could quite easily have had another 2 or 3 scores from play as well as dominating the air, we need to spoil him the next day. Bring in a specialist.

McVeety was actually superb, considering the dogs abuse he was getting he never backed down and his 2 points were superb.

Special mention for Mackey, those scores were spectacular. Brilliant, clever player who seems to love the responsibility

Still think there is room for either Seanie or Caoimhin on the bench, that extra time period was crying out for a finisher to put the game to bed. Those 2 are probably the best 2 finishers in county. Has anybody heard any updates on Caoimhin, surely worth a place in the 26 at least?"
Agree with Pullhard regarding Burns, would we have a real good spoiler who is clever enough to keep the head and do that job, no doubt the Gunner would revel in that role,but would he keep the head?Also think Caoimhin must be an option for Sunday,surely for at least a half,maybe him one half and the ginger ninja the other.Also half back to come in in place of Gerry Smith/Ciaran Brady,will someone come in or will a forward be moved back to defence,if so then mackey/caoimhin/pierson/j brady will likely come in to forward line unless we change method and put madden and Niall McKiernan on square and let ball in.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 06/06/2019 14:57:57    2191189