Cavan v Monaghan

My point exactly .... how could any forward enjoy playing Gaelic football these days especially the way Cavan play....and people wonder why players walk away.... If you are not enjoying doing something then the natural thing is to stop doing it...simple..

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2017 13:10:57    1999032

Replying To cavan97:  "In fairness Sean, you could have Usain Bolt in a Cavan Jersey and the ball wouldn't go in any faster. Cant fathom how everything on Sunday had to go through Moynagh"
And McManus had no bother going through him for the goal...!!!!!!!!!!'

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2017 13:13:17    1999034

At least we have more all irelands than Monaghan.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 13/06/2017 13:44:44    1999083

The scoring in club matches in the county would indicate that we have plenty of scoring forwards.
It's the stupid defensive system that's the drawback.
When Cavan got the ball from their own kick-out last Sunday I could have walked from Cootehill if i was a Monaghan back and still have been in my own defence before the ball arrived in. Far too slow and ponderous in the build-up.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2017 13:45:46    1999084

Replying To foxes_denn:  "At least we have more all irelands than Monaghan."
Stupid comment.
Do you remember any of them.No, they're confined to history.
It's the NOW that counts.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2017 13:55:33    1999092

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "The scoring in club matches in the county would indicate that we have plenty of scoring forwards.
It's the stupid defensive system that's the drawback.
When Cavan got the ball from their own kick-out last Sunday I could have walked from Cootehill if i was a Monaghan back and still have been in my own defence before the ball arrived in. Far too slow and ponderous in the build-up."
I never witnessed football like that playing with the wind.
Yes the modern game is about getting numbers back. But you must put in tackles win turnovers, not just have men back for the sake of it.
We were cleaned out for the goal.basic 16 stuff.
Gal Logan brought off a great save too, Faulkner threw his body at another. Add that to monaghans 15 wides we got off very lightly.
We are a shambles. Hyland s defensive mentality is still haunting us.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 13/06/2017 14:23:46    1999110

Replying To foxes_denn:  "At least we have more all irelands than Monaghan."
52 posts.
52 mentioning Monaghan.
52 wind ups..... zzzzzz.....
'52 the last All ireland for Cavan
52 the last we hear from you

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 13/06/2017 14:31:31    1999116

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "I never witnessed football like that playing with the wind.
Yes the modern game is about getting numbers back. But you must put in tackles win turnovers, not just have men back for the sake of it.
Gal Logan brought off a great save too, Faulkner threw his body at another. Add that to monaghans 15 wides we got off very lightly.
We are a shambles. Hyland s defensive mentality is still haunting us."
Ryan Wiley blocked another on the line, Ryan connelly hit post.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 13/06/2017 14:56:42    1999133

Replying To ballygowanwater:  "What do you mean working with what he has. Next year is no different. Its not like soccer when you can transfer players in. This is his team and he has had ample opportunity to pick players he wanted."
MadgeKing
Before a ball was kicked we had the winning of this match this is what I am saying and once it started we had the winning of this match but sadly this did not happen.

What do you mean working with what he has. Next year is no different. Its not like soccer when you can transfer players in. This is his team and he has had ample opportunity to pick players he wanted.
ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts:149 - 13/06/2017 13:03:00 1999023

ballygowanwater: I am a bit confused with your post but I am sure you understand what you are writing. Not sure I mentioned anything about working with what he has. Where did he get the time to see other players sure there has been no matches has there. ??????

I am sure starting from a few weeks time he will be able to watch a vast array of players and maybe bring in some new blood along with what he has at the moment and who knows maybe Jack Brady and young Cole might have a change of heart and come in for next years campaign.

For us all isn't great for us to be critics selectors and a lot more BUT standing on the field of play with over 13000/25000 watching you must be intimidating in itself so we need to get this intimidation factor out of our system and we will sooner rather than later.

I know when I walk out onto our full stadium and try and take in the atmosphere for me it makes me very proud that Cavan have such a magnificent set up and still improving but it may very well have the opposite effect on the players they may well tighten up and find it difficult to relax into the game.

I am sure with a few slight changes this Cavan team will be a team to be feared and I expect this to happen next year all going well. Time will tell I am sure.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/06/2017 15:09:52    1999143

Replying To blueman1903:  "Ryan Wiley blocked another on the line, Ryan connelly hit post."
Yeah he did with 30 seconds left. That should gaurentee him his place for the next 10 years

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 13/06/2017 15:54:46    1999168

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Lads from the outside some Cavan followers are very hard on Mattie McGleenan. From talking to numerous people they reckon Cavan football is going nowhere under Mattie.
Mattie has got a baptism of fire as Manager playing division 1 and getting a tough draw in the first round of Ulster. This was going to be a difficult task for any manager never mind having to deal with numerous injuries during the year also the high level of drop outs from last years panel.
Fergal Flanagan, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney and Michael Argue just to name a few. Cavan did admirably in the top division, but unfortunately from a Cavan point of view, failed to avoid the drop. The game against Monaghan was in the balance and if Cavan got a draw Monaghan would have no reason to complain.
The last week with the untimely death of Dominic Earley would have been tough on the whole panel. The players fought right to the end and just came up short.
Mattie from talking to people is a very positive person and is loving his time working with Cavan. He deserves a chance by supporters but also needs all players eligible to play for Cavan committing to the cause.
Monaghan have every player except maybe Chris McGuninnes who aren't part of the panel. Players have to step up and make sure their talent isn't wasted and want to achieve provincial success at Senior level. Mattie is the man to lead that but only if everyone buys into it."
Lads from the outside some Cavan followers are very hard on Mattie McGleenan. From talking to numerous people they reckon Cavan football is going nowhere under Mattie.
Mattie has got a baptism of fire as Manager playing division 1 and getting a tough draw in the first round of Ulster. This was going to be a difficult task for any manager never mind having to deal with numerous injuries during the year also the high level of drop outs from last years panel.
Fergal Flanagan, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney and Michael Argue just to name a few. Cavan did admirably in the top division, but unfortunately from a Cavan point of view, failed to avoid the drop. The game against Monaghan was in the balance and if Cavan got a draw Monaghan would have no reason to complain.
The last week with the untimely death of Dominic Earley would have been tough on the whole panel. The players fought right to the end and just came up short.
Mattie from talking to people is a very positive person and is loving his time working with Cavan. He deserves a chance by supporters but also needs all players eligible to play for Cavan committing to the cause.
Monaghan have every player except maybe Chris McGuninnes who aren't part of the panel. Players have to step up and make sure their talent isn't wasted and want to achieve provincial success at Senior level. Mattie is the man to lead that but only if everyone buys into it.

shaggylegend (Monaghan)

Shaggy in addition to C McGuinness, C. Boyle, P McKenna & Yankee McKenna not available to Mon but with the possible exception of McGuinness none would have made a difference on Sunday. Likewise the Cavan players you instanced wouldn't have upped the quality of the Cavan effort. They were all tried before and didn't do the biz. Cavan need new quality additions to their FF line...maybe Ryan Connolly might fit the bill but that's the big task facing Cavan. Also in the backline Cavan were very susceptible to passes over the top..... near the Cavan goal and although we got 1-1 we could have punished them much more.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 13/06/2017 16:08:51    1999177

Replying To marita:  "Cavan just don't have the forwards. We need to concentrate on getting some young players into the panel and getting a forwards coach and keep at it until we have somebody who can take scores
It's the same story year in year out and if we don't do something soon it will be another 20 years and no ulster title."
Cavan just don't have the forwards. We need to concentrate on getting some young players into the panel and getting a forwards coach and keep at it until we have somebody who can take scores
It's the same story year in year out and if we don't do something soon it will be another 20 years and no ulster title.

marita (All) - Posts:424 - 13/06/2017 08:16:19

Absolute sense marita. You can make up for a lack of quality in midfield & in defense with more bodies in there but quality attackers are critical for success. Monaghan need consistent quality contributions, if we are to progress further this year, from McCarthy, McCarron & Owen Duffy in addition to McManus. Whether this happens or not will determine our progress in this championship.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 13/06/2017 16:19:10    1999181

Not one u21 from 2011 up has stepped up to become a top class inter county play. Not 1.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 13/06/2017 16:51:06    1999203

The panel on RTÉ made a valid point that Cavan are programmed in such a way that they are not able to adapt to certain conditions such as a gale force wind at their backs...!! They played into Monaghans hands with slow build up and all scurrying back into defence for kick outs and loss of possession ... A 5 year old could send a team out and instruct them to play the way Cavan do.... You will find this County team costs a huge amount of money to run and those sitting in their expensive Club Breffni seats could not be too happy at what they were looking at...!!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2017 17:03:03    1999211

Replying To seanorinn:  "MadgeKing
Before a ball was kicked we had the winning of this match this is what I am saying and once it started we had the winning of this match but sadly this did not happen.

What do you mean working with what he has. Next year is no different. Its not like soccer when you can transfer players in. This is his team and he has had ample opportunity to pick players he wanted.
ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts:149 - 13/06/2017 13:03:00 1999023

ballygowanwater: I am a bit confused with your post but I am sure you understand what you are writing. Not sure I mentioned anything about working with what he has. Where did he get the time to see other players sure there has been no matches has there. ??????

I am sure starting from a few weeks time he will be able to watch a vast array of players and maybe bring in some new blood along with what he has at the moment and who knows maybe Jack Brady and young Cole might have a change of heart and come in for next years campaign.

For us all isn't great for us to be critics selectors and a lot more BUT standing on the field of play with over 13000/25000 watching you must be intimidating in itself so we need to get this intimidation factor out of our system and we will sooner rather than later.

I know when I walk out onto our full stadium and try and take in the atmosphere for me it makes me very proud that Cavan have such a magnificent set up and still improving but it may very well have the opposite effect on the players they may well tighten up and find it difficult to relax into the game.

I am sure with a few slight changes this Cavan team will be a team to be feared and I expect this to happen next year all going well. Time will tell I am sure."
No harm i doubt it now. Cavan started training in October with the expectation that they had to beat Monaghan in their second league game to stay up and also had a good idea that they would be playing Monaghan in the first round of the championship. After 8 months of the primary focus being on 2 games and 1 team, I find it hard to reckon how Cavan could not beat us at 2 attempts. If it took yous 10 weeks from league to get within 3 points of us, I fear that within the 1 week you have to prepare for Westmeath or Offaly Mattie Mc Gleenan will fail again. If Malachy O Rourke had 10 weeks to study Cavan i doubt that cavan would get within 10 points of Monaghan. Match ups wrong, Offensive system wrong, Cant play with the wind, it was shocking form Cavan given the 10 weeks preperation they had.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 13/06/2017 17:14:36    1999222

Replying To ballygowanwater:  "That is some trash of a post. So because Hyland didn't pick U21s last year they have all suddenly decided not to play football anymore or drop of the face of the earth? If they are good enough and willing to give the commitment they would be on the panel.
Regarding the game Sunday it was very disappointing. We went down to Roscommon in the Last league game knowing a win at a minimum would give us a chance of survival pending other results, and Sundays performance was a mirror image of that game. No attacking threat. Roscommon wound the clock down by holding possession over and back on our own 45 and Cavan did not press past that line. It looks like the team are afraid to push out even when we are behind. The system is dictating the play, not the scoreboard or the conditions. A perfect example of this was on Sunday again. Cavan went into the match with a game plan of pack the defence and go on the counter attack, and hell or high water would not change that plan. Not even a Gael force wind would change it. This shows a complete over reliance on the system and not playing to the conditions. There needs to be a balance, and going back to the roscommon game the same thing happened. We played a rigid system against Kerry/Monaghan etc and reaped reward, but when we put ourselves into a position of staying up and needing to win, we kept to the same system. There needs to be a broader approach on tactics taken by the management. Wind/No wind they will play the same way and you don't need to be a intercounty player to know that doesn't work."
I've re-read that post a heap of times and have no idea what you're ranting about!! Commitment? Not playing U21s? what are you on about I never said anything of the sort.
As it went miles over your head I'll explain it again. Lads here were screaming for Terry to resign for the underachieving he was doing and how he was holding Cavan back. Well they got their wish and now that we have gone backwards all of a sudden theres a heap of excuses with the prominent one being; we simply aren't good enough. So was that not the case last year too?

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 13/06/2017 17:31:29    1999231

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "I never witnessed football like that playing with the wind.
We are a shambles. Hyland s defensive mentality is still haunting us."
Haha I was waiting for someone to say it

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 13/06/2017 17:32:50    1999234

We have these discussions year after year, we've been having them for decades now, the simple reality is nothing has ever been done to stop the decline of Cavan football, and nothing will be done. Look at the statistics of our club champions in Ulster, we are officially the worst county in the province when it comes to club football. I think Cavan teams have won 2 out of 21 matches in the past 7 years. That's a abysmal.

Football in the county is broken, and has been for decades. There's no excuse why we can't be competitive in Ulster. Cavan is a football mad county, nearly every youngster will choose GAA as his sport of choice, other counties don't have that luxury. Nobody is demanding a team that wins all the time. But wouldn't it be nice to make some progress and have something to shout about for once? Changing the manager did nothing. The writing is on the wall, we can re-assess tactics all we want, but if we're not producing a decent inside forward then it's obvious where the problem lies and that is with club football and the poor quality of it.

Chat to yis in 2018.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 13/06/2017 18:50:25    1999259

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "We have these discussions year after year, we've been having them for decades now, the simple reality is nothing has ever been done to stop the decline of Cavan football, and nothing will be done. Look at the statistics of our club champions in Ulster, we are officially the worst county in the province when it comes to club football. I think Cavan teams have won 2 out of 21 matches in the past 7 years. That's a abysmal.

Football in the county is broken, and has been for decades. There's no excuse why we can't be competitive in Ulster. Cavan is a football mad county, nearly every youngster will choose GAA as his sport of choice, other counties don't have that luxury. Nobody is demanding a team that wins all the time. But wouldn't it be nice to make some progress and have something to shout about for once? Changing the manager did nothing. The writing is on the wall, we can re-assess tactics all we want, but if we're not producing a decent inside forward then it's obvious where the problem lies and that is with club football and the poor quality of it.

Chat to yis in 2018."
Agree with much of your post.
But how did we win 4 U.21 Ulster titles and almost a 5th if we have no forwards.
I believe it's the defensive system and the slow build up that's the problem.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/06/2017 19:22:53    1999280

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Agree with much of your post.
But how did we win 4 U.21 Ulster titles and almost a 5th if we have no forwards.
I believe it's the defensive system and the slow build up that's the problem."
i agree with you !!! the main problem i seen from Sunday was the ball not being moved fast enough. people talk about the inside forrward line all the time but they're living of scraps for the whole game. I played corner forward and the one thing i always say is that if the ball isn't let in as soon as you put your head up its too late. You have to let the ball in fast and give the lads a chance in space. before anyone says anything i know the county game is tight now and sometimes a ball into the FF line won't work. but it certainly won't work if its not given dead on time. regardless of the full forward line our lads move the ball too slowly into the scoring zone and by that i mean the 30 metre radius out from the goal. there are a few lads who are the main offenders of this. Its not like its anything that can't be worked on in fact when cavan did do it the last day there was several scores came. they just need to speed up the passes and open up their peripheral vision a bit. sounds simple because it is.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 14/06/2017 10:08:32    1999445