Galway SFC: Corofin crash out

September 27, 2020

Corofin taste defeat in Galway SFC for first time since 2012.

Corofin's remarkable reign as Galway and All-Ireland champions is over after they suffered a shock 2-13 to 0-12 defeat to Mountbellew-Moylough in the county semi-final at Pearse Stadium.

Kevin O'Brien's side had gone seven years or more unbeaten in the county football senior championship, winning 46 and drawing three. The holders made history eight months ago when they won a third successive All-Ireland SFC crown but their bid for a record-breaking eight consecutive Galway SFC title was brought to a shuddering halt by Val Daly's Mountbellew today.

After many years of trying and seven championship losses including three finals at the hands of Corofin since 2014, it's a sweet victory for Mountbellew. It also marks Corofin's first defeat in the Frank Fox Cup since 2012. 

Corofin had led 0-8 to 0-7 at half-time but were floored by goals from Patrick Kelly and Paul Donnellan afterwards. Mountbellew will face Moycullen in next Sunday's final as the Connemara club overcame Tuam Stars 3-14 to 1-15 in the earlier throw-in to qualify for their first decider in 43 years.

Most Read Stories