Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from carlo

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To skirge7:  "Great start for Carlow. They really struggled in the league. I wonder can Offaly maintain the level. They have played Carlow, Kildare, Kerry, Kildare, Laois the last 5 weekends l. 2 more to go."
Carlow struggled in the league as they were missing a lot of big players & were never at full strength. The idea was to use the league to give exposure to more fringe players & develop our youth. Iv heard a lot about Carlow being in transition but that was a very strong & experienced Carlow team today. I'm not making any bold predictions about us winning the Mcdonagh Cup but they will certainly be a lot more competitive than they were in the league. Its wide open really & any team could beat anyone on a given day. It's a great competition

carlo (National) - 08/04/2023 22:04:30

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "We'll not have to worry about promotion after that. Shocking stuff."
Was anyone laughing in the stand today?? Just asking for a friend

carlo (National) - 05/03/2023 15:20:46

Carlow GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Unbelievable day yesterday. I didn't know how we would approach the game beforehand. Would we be looking at the bigger picture & saying that Wexford next week is the one to aim for & get a trimming from Kilkenny like Antrim did or would we go for it... we certainly went for it... Our lads hurled out of our skins. 5 points down at half time after playing with the wind i was worried. That 2nd half was brilliant. It was great to hear the panic in the Kilkenny crowd near the end. Up to that it was all sure isn't it great ye are running Kilkenny close. A genuine KK man said to me before the game that he hoped it wouldn't be like the beating they gave Antrim but he feared it would be. I must check in with him later. Fair play to Mouse with that last free. Balls of steel. Thanks to our hurlers for one of the best days out ever. I never imagined us getting a result against KK but we fully deserved it. Get the heads right now & bring on Wexford

carlo (National) - 12/05/2024 10:36:53

Carlow GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Got the win. Played Offalys 2nd team but we could only beat whats in front of us. Final in 2 weeks in Croker which is something great to look forward to. Couldn't ask for more. Great to see all the kids in Carlow colours on the pitch at half time & full time. Over to the fooballers now tomorrow....

carlo (National) - 13/05/2023 21:16:31

McDonagh Cup Link To All-Ireland To Be Removed? - 3 Like(s)
The problem isn't having both Mcdonagh teams into a preliminary q/t final. The problem is asking them to play just 6 days after the final. Teams need at least 2 weeks to prepare. The winners will be celebrating & the losers will need time to lick their wounds. When we won the inaugural Mcdonagh in 2018 we were asked to play Limerick 6 days later & I think the players stopped celebrating 2 days before the game. Obviously we were hammered. 2 years ago when we won it again we were given 2 full weeks to prepare & this time we had an almighty cut off Dublin & they only pulled away in the last 5 mins to seal it. If we are going to allow the Mcdonagh finalists in championship proper be fair & give them a chance to be some way competitive. I know for one I loved our 2 q/t finals against the big boys & gave of a taste of what was to come the following year.

carlo (National) - 10/06/2025 14:59:55

McDonagh Cup Link To All-Ireland To Be Removed? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Well, lads. Results today surely speak for themselves."
Agreed 6 days is a joke. Imagine asking Limerick to play 6 days after losing the Munster Final...it wouldn't happen. Gaa don't care about the weaker counties. Treated like 2nd class citizens.

carlo (National) - 14/06/2025 19:51:42

Louth GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Lads, We just bet Carlow in a championship game by 15 points. Ollie you might want to check is that a record as I don't remember us scoring 5 goals in championship match. We have a young ambitious Louth team here playing with real confidence We all know when this happens we are definitely a match for Kildare and have turned them over in the past. They had a great win over Dublin in the league and a draw with Kerry, the rest was a disaster for them, trashed by Donegal and not scoring against Northern teams bar Monaghan. There confidence is Fragile, ours is not. Bring it on. An Lu Abu."
First of all well done on Sunday the best team won well & no arguments here. But please dont be reading too much into the margin of victory as Carlow are at our lowest ebb in years. Of the team which beat ye in 2018 we had 4 starters on Sunday & none on the bench. We have lost most of our big men & leaders & have a whole new young team & unfortunately a lot of them are not up to inter county standard. When we beat Kildare in 2018 they were also after being relegated from div 1 but they had lost all games. This time they won 2 & drew one. I wouldn't agree that they got hammered in the other games as they ran Armagh & Tyrone close enough. I'd love to see ye beat Kildare & make the Leinster Semi but dont get carried away with beating this poor Carlow side considering at half time ye had only 6 points on the board compared to 5 for Carlow after playing with a gale force wind. Yes I know ye had 2 goals as well but that wont do against Kildare. Please dont take this post as sour grapes ( I predicted an 11 point win for ye ) as I genuinely would love Louth to rattle the lillywhites & would be great for all the smaller counties. Best of luck.

carlo (National) - 26/04/2022 14:08:15

McDonagh Cup Link To All-Ireland To Be Removed? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "The preliminaries have had their day. Kildare, Antrim, Laois, Carlow and Westmeath need to focus on lobbying for an expanded Leinster championship if that is what they would prefer."
Or for example would Cork or kilkenny be asked to play 6 days after winning their provincial championship??? not in a million years but it's OK to do it to the minnows... give them a little day out & then let them take their hiding & get lost. Outside the top 8 counties in hurling the Gaa don't give a dam.

carlo (National) - 14/06/2025 22:17:54

Joe McDonagh Cup 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "And showed Carliw to be even worse than Laois."
Played laois twice this year. Beat them in league in Portlaoise & relagated them to div 2 for next year. Played them in Championship & they scored a goal with the last puck to draw with us ( don't need to go into the problems with that goal) I would say we are the better team overall but doesn't matter as we both lost to Kildare & many congrats to them

carlo (National) - 09/06/2025 09:28:33

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Excellent victory on Sunday. I thought Shane Quinn was the standout player on the field by a distance and Plunkett and Beirne not far behind him. Worrying that Prior has injured his hamstring once again. He gives us a great out ball and is a good foil for Beirne. Would be shocked if he was fit for the Wicklow game. Jordan Reynolds also looks to have picked up a serious injury. Hopefully I'm wrong on that. Whats remarkable is that a Leitrim team won a game by 15 points and were not overly impressive for long stretches of the game while missing Dolan, O'Rourke, Casey, McGloin who will all start in Gaelic Park if fit. I've been watching Leitrim a long time and that doesn't happen to often. I have huge concerns over our half back line. Quinn is named at 6 but is acting as a sweeper which we will get in every division four game as teams will double up on Keith Beirne. But its that area in most games an no difference last weekend where we are conceding soft scores and or frees. Our Wing backs is an area Andy is going to have to look at. From what I've heard most of our injured players will be back in for the next game apart from O'Rourke who could be another while yet. On Carlow's discipline, I seen another poster saying that they thought Carlow's Red card for striking Mulligan was soft. They must have been in the old stand as anyone in the new stand could see how much of a cheap shot it was and that it caught Mulligan flush in the face. The rest of Carlow's Red Cards were just pure frustration and stupidity really. Was quite embarrassing to see an Inter-County team act like that. That stand was laughing at them by the end. Good to see Barry McNulty kick a score. If he can work on his pace, I think he could be a player that sees a lot of action as the year goes on. A word for Aidan Flynn by the way. I don't think many supporters who were at the Waterford game expected to see him again this year. A testament to him."
Keep laughing my friend. Any team can have a bad day with performance & discipline. Are Leitrim not in Division 4 along with Carlow most years apart from the odd promotion?? Concentrate on getting promoted not laughing at a team self imploding on a particular day.

carlo (National) - 04/03/2023 10:20:28

Joe McDonagh Cup 2025 - 2 Like(s)
Well done kildare. Showed Laois for the poor side they are. Big year for ye. Leinster Championship & div 1b hurling next year. Congrats.

carlo (National) - 08/06/2025 20:09:00

Louth GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Best of luck to Louth today I really hope ye do it especially after what happened in 2010. Louth football is on a high with u20 winning Leinster & Minor & Seniors in finals. The 2nd smallest county can only look with envy at what the smallest county are achieving. Well done.

carlo (National) - 11/05/2025 10:33:29

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Massive weekend for both our Senior Hurlers & Footballers. First Saturday evening in Dcp will be a massive occasion for hurlers. A Mcdonagh Final in Croke Park the prize for our hurlers. A strange one in the fact that Offaly are already in the final & we don't know how they will set up for this game. Will they go full strength and try keep on their winning run or will they rest players for the final. We were on the wrong side of this last year when Antrim played a weakened team against Kerry in the last game & lost which knocked us out. Antrim then went on to beat kerry in the final. I recall a similar situation with the fooballers in 2017 when we played Wexford in the last game of the league after they were already promoted. They played a weakened team against us & we hammered them. Few weeks later in first round of the championship with our confidence up after beating them in the league we beat their full team in DCP. All the hurlers can do is beat whatever Offaly team is put in front of them on the day & qualify for the final. Won't be easy as Offaly Hurling is on the rise but I think we can do it by a couple of points On Sunday in Aughrim our Footballers are playing to save their season. Apart from the first 15 mins the last day we can't be as bad again. Some of our more experienced men had an off day & I'm expecting a massive performance from them. We have nothing to lose & should go for it from the start instead of sitting back like we did the last day. We have been described as Cannon Fodder by a poster on the Wicklow page & if I was playing I know where I would shove that. Will be close but if we play like we can I think we can sneak it. Ceathearlach Abu

carlo (National) - 11/05/2023 13:23:59

Wexford Hurling thread 2024 - 1 Like(s)
One All Ireland in 56 years lads for Gods sake. More than we won but we know our place. Ye go on as if ye are relevant every year but ye are not. Wexford should have been relegated last year but KK didn't need to turn up & ye escaped. Nothing against Wexford & would love to see ye win one but don't see it coming. I hate to admit it but only for KK Leinster Hurling would be in the doldrums..( we did draw with them)

carlo (National) - 23/06/2024 02:15:52

Wexford Hurling thread 2024 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To theboys:  "Thanks be to god we have a proper championship game ahead of us now to actually see where we are IV still no idea what our level is and the more I see these Munster game I still think we are miles away to be honest,for the first time we now play a Kilkenny team that has to win to get to Leinster final like ourselves!!! Kilkenny usually have there work done by now and already in the final!!! Il judge Wexford after this game,a proper game!!! Think Carlow are terrible,they played half a Kilkenny team who hit uncharacteristically 17 mostly terrible wides and had a man sent off In what I'd say was a really off day!!! I hope Kilkenny have everyone available too,I think they are a good yardstick!!"
What an arrogant statement. Carlow got the draw they deserved against Kilkenny & could easily have won it. Yes we were very poor yesterday but that doesn't surprise me as we had put in 3 very good performances up to yesterday & we eventually ran out of gas. We don't have anything like the numbers you guys have & we are seriously punching above our weight. Well deserved win for ye yesterday but don't knock Carlow because we dare to stick our heads above the table. The more competitive teams in the Championship the better & hopefully we can stay there & ye will have to play another terrible team again next year. By the way I hope Kilkenny have a full team out next week too.....

carlo (National) - 20/05/2024 16:55:16

Terrible result & terrible performance. We never got going. It was like we had done a heavy weeks training as there was no spark at all. Even at 7 points each in the 58th minute I didn't fancy us to win it but to lose by 10 after that is shocking. What sumed it up for me was when we were 7/8 points down near the end one of our half forwards passed the back back to our own half back line when they was space to push forward. Management have a lot to answer for & I don't think they are fit for purpose. Was a great chance at home tonight to really push on for promotion but that is now gone no matter what the maths say.

carlo (National) - 02/03/2024 21:46:19

2020 Championship Fixtures - 1 Like(s)

Replying To jigger:  "After Leinster gaa draw today Carlow Minor footballers play Laois in the Q/Final with the winners likely to play Dublin in the semi. Carlow Minor Hurlers play Westmeath with the winners playing Dublin in the Q/ Final. U20 hurling Carlow play Laois with the winners playing Galway in the Q/Finals. No news yet of u20 football"
U20 Football already played. We lost to Wexford in Enniscorthy earlier in year

carlo (Carlow) - 01/07/2020 10:44:27

Replying To fullbach:  "Carlow gaa fans will be in netwatch Cullen Park regardless of what other sports might be on. So I hope they wouldn't even consider changing the time as 'Carlo' said in previous post even if it suits him. I can't be at the Carlow game but I'll be tuned in to kclr. I just hope I don't have to listen to Rugby updates every 2 mins during our game."
There will be supporters at the game(including myself) but not the crowd they would have got if the rugby wasn't on. It will be Paddys weekend & many Gaa people will go to the pub to watch the rugby unfortunately especially as Ireland will probably be going for the grand slam. The fact that we are more or less out of the running for promotion won't help either. I would love to see as many as possible there to support the lads so yes I do hope they change the start time. No point burying the head in the sand saying "the true supporters will be there"

carlo (National) - 06/03/2023 12:06:46

Looking to Leitrim game & wondering what kind of team we will have? Are Ciaran Moran & Crowley fit? We have small enough panel & can't afford to be missing anyone. I think we are making progress but to back that up we really have to go up to Leitrim & either win or run them very close. If we get a good beating by 6 or 7 points not only are our promotion hopes gone but it will Show our inconsistencies again & will be a step backwards. Beirne is shooting the lights out for them & will take some watching. Hopefully we dig out a result. With a bit of luck we could have 6 points on the board already( still can't believe we let Laois off the hook)

carlo (National) - 23/02/2023 20:59:07

Replying To CARPS:  "The last time we went down to Wexford Park, we were beaten by 23 points. Tonight it was only nine. Another example of the phenomenal improvement under Cake. If we continue on this trajectory, the sky is the limit. Some super scoring tonight too - as we registered a tremendous nine points. If not for the unfair sending off of Mickey Bambrick we might even have won tonight. It's all about small margins and that was a pivotal moment. We remain second in the table tonight. Primed for promotion to the sunlit uplands of Division Three. In Cake we Trust."
Give it a rest for God's sake. Boring now

carlo (National) - 15/02/2025 22:13:34