Team news: Ten All-Ireland final survivors as Horan names starting 15 to face Sligo

June 24, 2021

Mayo's Darren McHale. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Ten of Mayo's 2020 All-Ireland starting 15 are named to start in Saturday's Connacht SFC quarter-final clash against Sligo at Markievicz Park.

The side also includes two debutants as manager James Horan hands Garrymore's Enda Hession and Knockmore’s Darren McHale their championship bows at corner-back and centre-forward, respectively.

Rob Hennelly, who has inherited the goalkeeper's jersey from the recently-retired David Clarke, centre-back Michael Plunkett and wing-forward Bryan Walsh are the others players to come into the fray following last December's final defeat to Dublin.

With an Achilles tendon injury ruling out captain Cillian O'Connor, Aidan O'Shea deputises for the championship’s all-time record scorer at full-forward, flanked by Tommy Conroy and Ryan O'Donoghue.

Mayo (Connacht SFC v Sligo): Rob Hennelly; Enda Hession, Oisin Mullin, Lee Keegan; Paddy Durcan, Michael Plunkett, Eoghan McLaughlin; Matthew Ruane, Conor Loftus; Kevin McLoughlin, Darren McHale, Bryan Walsh; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O'Shea, Ryan O'Donoghue.

Most Read Stories