Ulster Championship Draw 2017.

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean you say - "Sadly his first year will be with the majority of whats there"

Whats wrong with that? Are there masses of county standard footballers out there that WANT to commit to Cavan that he (and Terry) are/were missing out on??

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:705 - 27/10/2016 12:08:48 1929458

Well what do you think he will have to find other players to replace those that will not be available for next year. Who knows if there will be others available or not he will know should he ask them I would think thats the way to go isn't it or does it work in Cavan that player say they are good enough ??? Off course there are good players out there time will tell if they will commit. Mind you last weekends replay was dire you would not say there was a county player amongst them but we know there was but very tired legs long year no break comes to a head at some stage doesn't it??."
Agree Sean . Thought even though the game wasn't great for the neutral there were some excellent players on show and some of the defending was top class. Brein o connell is surley one . Over 6 ft as well. Damien Barkey on his performances throughout the year . Mc gees as well . Stephen Cooney and Enda o Connell. All new players that are as good as if not better than a lot of the defenders that were there all ready. They are all man markers . Ado cole proved he can score with 2 or 3 players marking him . 4 points from play . That's what we need. Not trying to move midfielders or backs in there. So yes Sean I agree with you

Breffinifan (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 27/10/2016 17:39:52    1929606

I said it before and I'll say it again, anyone who thinks that a player in their mid twenties who hasn't yet played Senior Intercounty Football can come in and even hold their own (never mind make an impact) in Division 1 or the Ulster Championship, is absolutely fooling themselves.

Sean I agree with Fred, saying it's a pity that McGleenan will have to work with the same panel is hugely disrespectful. It's bad enough that we have nameless people on here slabbering like that, I would have thought someone who sees the slog those lads put in up close might have a bit more cop on. You typify the know it all element in the county, there's a reason you're lining out the field while men like Hyland and McGleenan are managing the team, you'd do well to remember that and humble yourself.

There's a great bunch of lads in there now, the best we've had in over a decade. I would say additions will be few and far between. Been a long time since we had a new manager it will be interesting to see how McGleenan handles the task.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 27/10/2016 21:08:15    1929664

Replying To JonSmith:  "I said it before and I'll say it again, anyone who thinks that a player in their mid twenties who hasn't yet played Senior Intercounty Football can come in and even hold their own (never mind make an impact) in Division 1 or the Ulster Championship, is absolutely fooling themselves.

Sean I agree with Fred, saying it's a pity that McGleenan will have to work with the same panel is hugely disrespectful. It's bad enough that we have nameless people on here slabbering like that, I would have thought someone who sees the slog those lads put in up close might have a bit more cop on. You typify the know it all element in the county, there's a reason you're lining out the field while men like Hyland and McGleenan are managing the team, you'd do well to remember that and humble yourself.

There's a great bunch of lads in there now, the best we've had in over a decade. I would say additions will be few and far between. Been a long time since we had a new manager it will be interesting to see how McGleenan handles the task."
Agree wholeheartedly with this post. These players & terry Hyland deserve tremendous respect for what they have done for Cavan football from the shambles it was under the previous management. From being lucky to avoid relegation to the basement division to now playing in the top tier & some geniuses on here slating them. Lots more to do so let's row in behind the new manager & our panel please

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 27/10/2016 21:31:43    1929679

Replying To bond:  "Agree wholeheartedly with this post. These players & terry Hyland deserve tremendous respect for what they have done for Cavan football from the shambles it was under the previous management. From being lucky to avoid relegation to the basement division to now playing in the top tier & some geniuses on here slating them. Lots more to do so let's row in behind the new manager & our panel please"
Not disagreeing but we need new blood in if we are going to push on and win . Also we need man markers . We had none when we needed them to even win one cup league or championship. Ulster is definitely hard to win but it can be done if we introduce the right players that know their roles . Think Gerry Brady has done a good job so far on this and hope the selectors match this . Hope they are lads that have won county titles as managers ,learn the intercounty trade and be able to step up. If ye are happy with same old same old we will be relegated. Need to push on . Stop putting ourselves down .

Breffinifan (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 27/10/2016 23:24:40    1929715

I haven't seen any players this summer that are better than what's on the panel bar McCutcheon . IF Mattie gets forwards playing as forwards like he did with Scotstown it will be 100% improvement. That was our biggest problem last year. Forwards like Reilly, Mackey , McVitty, playing as backs. And backs like Flanagan, Clarke, McEnroe going forward trying to be forwards which they clearly ain't .
Time for Mattie to put his own stamp on it . His own style.
Hyland took us to a level and wasn't able to take us that extra step.
New Dawn hopefully for Cavan football

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 28/10/2016 10:33:59    1929770

Replying To JonSmith:  "I said it before and I'll say it again, anyone who thinks that a player in their mid twenties who hasn't yet played Senior Intercounty Football can come in and even hold their own (never mind make an impact) in Division 1 or the Ulster Championship, is absolutely fooling themselves.

There's a great bunch of lads in there now, the best we've had in over a decade. I would say additions will be few and far between. Been a long time since we had a new manager it will be interesting to see how McGleenan handles the task."
I said it before and I'll say it again, anyone who thinks that a player in their mid twenties who hasn't yet played Senior Intercounty Football can come in and even hold their own (never mind make an impact) in Division 1 or the Ulster Championship, is absolutely fooling themselves.

There's a great bunch of lads in there now, the best we've had in over a decade. I would say additions will be few and far between. Been a long time since we had a new manager it will be interesting to see how McGleenan handles the task.

JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts:1351 - 27/10/2016 21:08:15 1929664

jonSmith I don't know who you think you are but take your time to read my posts???? In reply to your post below.
You typify the know it all element in the county, there's a reason you're lining out the field while men like Hyland and McGleenan are managing the team, you'd do well to remember that and humble yourself.
I take offense to your comment about my position and expect your assumption of my inferior intelligence because I line the pitch and that I should humble myself. Why should I humble myself? I will remind you I am a retired person that enjoys being involved and what I do also.
I am also privileged to have an honours degree in Communications and Creative Media
I have a long history behind me and had the privilege of serving my country both here and with the United Nations. I have nothing to be humble about what so ever.

Just to make it perfectly clear I get on very well with the majority of the county players at all levels so there is no issue there or any disrespect intended. Common sense will of course tell you the new management will have to find new talent be they over twenty or under twenty it's a natural transition for the new man to set out his own stamp on our county players going forward.

The new manager has my 100% support guaranteed and I will do everything possible to help him going forward be it to just line the pitch or run around with water I will support him anyway I can but he has my full support and I am looking forward to him making what we have even better. What more can be asked from him and his management.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 28/10/2016 12:26:04    1929794

Don't row back now Sean.. you have been bleating on about the changes that are needed on the panel. No matter what way you look at it that's an insult to the lads that are there.
I said you line the pitch, don't see the insult to your intelligence there, that's a fact.

Also, degrees and UN representations give you the total sum of zero when it comes to credibility and intelligence on football matters. In fact I seem to remember you making a lot of grand claims about Val Andrews Cavan in his most recent stint, backed by a sizable bet on Cavan to get promoted. We luckily avoided the drop that year. It's that sort of thing you might think of when you're sizing your humility.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 28/10/2016 12:58:59    1929809

Replying To JonSmith:  "Don't row back now Sean.. you have been bleating on about the changes that are needed on the panel. No matter what way you look at it that's an insult to the lads that are there.
I said you line the pitch, don't see the insult to your intelligence there, that's a fact.

Also, degrees and UN representations give you the total sum of zero when it comes to credibility and intelligence on football matters. In fact I seem to remember you making a lot of grand claims about Val Andrews Cavan in his most recent stint, backed by a sizable bet on Cavan to get promoted. We luckily avoided the drop that year. It's that sort of thing you might think of when you're sizing your humility."
JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts:1352 - 28/10/2016 12:58:59 1929809

What ever turns you on fella I am who I am and I know what we had and have be they good or bad, I will not get into discussion about other managers or so called bets.
My ability to access players I feel confident I am well capable of doing. The beauty of that is of course everyone will have their own opinion of what is good or bad.
Just don't try and belittle me because of what I do. Everyone has a roll to play to keep the wheel turning.
Leicester City were 5000 to 1 to win the championship and I think 9/4 to be relegated you know what happened there.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 28/10/2016 13:23:37    1929816

Sean, humility is no burden to carry so don't mind him. It's become a bit obvious that Jon and Tom are related

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 28/10/2016 18:39:49    1929906

The thread is suppose to be about the 2017 draw??? Not about Sean o Rinn or JonSmith or Terry Hyland .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 29/10/2016 19:14:27    1930072

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "The thread is suppose to be about the 2017 draw??? Not about Sean o Rinn or JonSmith or Terry Hyland ."
The thread is suppose to be about the 2017 draw??? Not about Sean o Rinn or JonSmith .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:633 - 29/10/2016 19:14:27

You are spot on Awwwwnow it's not about me but when a clown " attacks my integrity I will reply with all cylinders burning and to try and belittle me like what I do is of a caste position/nature and that I am not capable of going beyond that position". The preparation of the pitch is as important as every other task done to your grounds and the promotion of your county.
Now once P****S leave me out of their silly posts I am very happy to sit back.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 30/10/2016 10:06:26    1930137