Camogie: Galway's magnificent seven

October 20, 2019

The 2019 Camogie All-Stars winners. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

All-Ireland senior champions Galway claimed seven awards at last night's Camogie All-Stars in the Citywest Hotel.

Sarah Healy, Shauna Healy, Sarah Dervan, Heather Cooney, Aoife Donohue, Niamh Kilkenny and Ailish O'Reilly were the Galway players honoured. Runners-up Kilkenny received four awards, Waterford two and Cork and Limerick one each.

Niamh Kilkenny collected the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year award following Player of the Match displays in both the All-Ireland semi-final and final, while winning captain Sarah Dervan claimed her sixth All-Star. Six players were first-time All-Star winners.

A memorable night for Galway was completed when Cathal Murray was named Manager of the Year after guiding both the senior and intermediate teams to All-Ireland final appearances, winning the O'Duffy Cup with the former.

2019 Camogie All-Stars:

1. Sarah Healy (Galway)

2. Shauna Healy (Galway)

3. Sarah Dervan (Galway)

4. Edwina Keane (Kilkenny)

5. Heather Cooney (Galway)

6. Claire Phelan (Kilkenny)

7. Lorraine Bray (Waterford)

8. Aoife Donohue (Galway)

9. Niamh Kilkenny (Galway)

10. Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick)

11. Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)

12. Amy O’Connor (Cork)

13. Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny)

14. Ailish O’Reilly (Galway)

15. Beth Carton (Waterford)

Most Read Stories