Wall and Mackin in running for AFLW Best First-Year Player award

November 22, 2022

Armagh's Blaithin Mackin. ©INPHO/John McVitty.

Meath's Vikki Wall and Blaithin Mackin from Armagh have been shortlisted for the AFLW’s Best First-Year Player award.

Both players have enjoyed impressive debut seasons with North Melbourne and Melbourne respectively. Wall's nomination comes after she was controversially overlooked for an LGFA All-Star award last Saturday night after playing a starring role for Meath in their successful Brendan Martin Cup defence.

Mackin is part of the Melbourne side which has qualified for this weekend's Grand Final against the Brisbane Lions, who feature Tipperary's Orla O'Dwyer.

Meanwhile, Leitrim's Aine Tighe and Aileen Gilroy of Mayo have been nominated by their clubs, Freemantle Dockers and Hawthorn, for the overall AFLW MVP award.

Most Read Stories