Home Football Hurling Counties

Elevenaside - The Liverpool fans only thread
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  [Next >>]
Page 37

05/06/2012 16:27:37
brendtheredhand

Thats not big news dub1.
06/06/2012 13:34:37
mayoboy1

Glad to see the back of Kuyt to be honest.

Always had a big performance or goal in him against United.

I suppose that's what the players at small teams are capable of, raising their game against the big teams.
06/06/2012 13:45:48
NavyNBlue

I suppose that's what the players at small teams are capable of, raising their game against the big teams.

Good point mb1, I suppose that's the reason why Fergie plays Park in the big European games and title deciders. Doesn't always work though, just look at the City game this season.
07/06/2012 09:39:57
vice99

These figures are all since the inception of the Premier League in 1992/1993, I found them very interesting.

Money Spend:
Man U - 430 Million, Liverpool - 552 million

Points Accumulated:

Man U - 1663, Liverpool - 1334

League Titles won:

Man U - 12 Liverpool - 0

European Cups won:

Man U - 2 Liverpool - 1
07/06/2012 12:17:37
brendtheredhand

Of course, vice99, football only began with the premier league so anything that happened before that magical day is irrelevant.
07/06/2012 14:14:14

brendtheredhand
Of course, vice99, football only began with the premier league so anything that happened before that magical day is irrelevant.

Ah of course, 'history'. Tell em this brend, how many goals will ian rush and david fairclough get this year?
07/06/2012 14:43:13
NavyNBlue

On a genuine note, you don't like Liverpool do you master?
What is it, the fans, the players, managers, owners?
07/06/2012 14:58:58
brendtheredhand

1188947 brendtheredhand

Ah of course, 'history'. Tell em this brend, how many goals will ian rush and david fairclough get this year?
07/06/2012 17:20:57

Yes they do brend, but Im not daft enough to think that it makes a difference in the present. Is that a criteria that liverpool fans must adhere to?

NavyNBlue, I find the club seem to think there is a special case for themselves. Not the new owners, or indeed the last ones, they tried to do a decent job, gave up 100s of millions for the cause. What was the response? To throw it back in their faces, yet continue with the obligatory poor-mouth stories about how they were shafted. Without getting into the whole hillsborough thing, I find their actions around this in poor taste. It is again poor-mouth stuff, when surely they should accept that they played a part in it? Surely that is truely respecting the 96 that died and not these crusades-to-nowhere they go on? They just come across as total spoofers, for instance this whole 'history' bit, who are they kidding? Did they have history when they first won the European Cup? With Liverpool, whatever happens to keep them a big club, amazingly, always seems to be the argument they put forward. And it isnt individual fans or anything like that, every club has a few clowns. This is the official line of the club, you hear their players rabbiting on about it, their former players too, even 'king kenny' was at it as their manager. Even going back to when they were successful, all that 'the liverpool way' stuff was a load of old rubbish. As regards recent times, they seem to like this pretence that they are genuine challengers to the top teams, and rivals to the likes of man utd, when in truth all they do is rest their players for weeks before playing the big sides and then talk about the result they got for the rest of the year! They done it this year against everton for gods sake, while everton rested players against them in lieu of the cup, which if anything illustrates the differing attitudes at these clubs. Again that is total spoofing. Now I believe any self-respecting fan should say hang on a minute, ye are trying to pull the wool over our eyes here, but no, the liverpool fans lap it up, all too happy to proclaim that this win actually meant something. If I was a liverpool fan I would genuinely be ashamed of what the club has become.
07/06/2012 17:33:34
brendtheredhand

Glad you've got that off your chest now master, hope you sleep better as a result.
09/06/2012 19:55:55
TylerDurden

TheMaster.

In response to Rafa Benitez.

Liverpool 5 - 0 Galactico's 0 on aggregate in champions league.

he's also beaten pretty much every team that's put in front of him including Barcelona.
tactically he is one of the best out there. his midfield line at one point consisted of Mascherano, Xavi Alonso and Gerrard (who could actually just attack with those 2 behind him) with Torres leading the line. lokk how well Torres played under him. He was about to sign Mata before he got sacked.
What's this about hicks and Gillette spending too much under him. look at it in terms of net spend and you will see a massive difference.

this does not include £50million recieved for Torres and £30million recieved for Mascherano which would pretty much put him in the black actually.

Anyway, Kenny should have been given another year. Brendan Rodgers it is then. Hopefully he is given the time to accomplish what he has in mind. Wierd though that he publicly denounced the Chelsea job but then took the Liverpool one.
11/06/2012 19:27:15

Well first off tyler, I didnt mention benitez at all, but anyway...
I dont buy this thing about net spend., he had money to spend and he spent it, poorly. Does it not ring alarm bells when 2 of their best players in torres and mascherano wanted to get out of there? Of course they will get a few pound for them, they were top players, but the fact they they wanted out says more about where liverpool were headed. As regards all the money he got in, a huge amount of it came from players he had signed. Why did he sign them in the first place? Surely the idea should be to sign players who can add something and keep them in the side to improve the team, not sign guys and sell them off a season later because they arent up to it or dont fancy sticking around. Doesnt that mean that his signings were in fact poor? As for beating everything in front of them, you could say that about david moyes, the thing is they have to do it when it matters. Yes they won the CL, but that was very much a 1 off. Yes they have beaten utd and chelsea, but more often than not it is after resting their top players; something utd and chelsea couldnt afford to do because they were still in the title chase.
As regards torres playing well under him, he was playing well under everyone around that time, as as for signing mata, with what? They had no money when he left. He wanted alonso out and barry in, unbelievable if you ask me. I dont believe he is this tactical mastermind, his tactics include a terrible version of zonal marking and squad rotation for the sake of it, both of which cost liverpool more than they brought them.
27/06/2012 15:11:51
mayoboy1

I see Gylfi Sigurdsson looks set to snub Liverpool and join Tottenham. Strange move, if you ask me. Why would Sigurdsson join a club with no manager and possibly no top players next year, instead of Liverpool, an improving team who could possibly build on last seasons excellent 8th place finish?
03/07/2012 13:30:54
brendtheredhand

So Juve are sniffing around for Suarez, although Rodgers is stating he's not for sale but as we know every man has his price. As much as I love what Suarez brings to the field of play I would'nt dismiss a healthy bid out of hand, especially if there is a player plus cash deal on the table.
03/07/2012 13:55:56
waynoI

Brend .. Suarez is going nowhere ..
06/07/2012 14:06:16
brendtheredhand

Already impressed with the way Rodgers has been conducting himself pre-season, especially in dealing with the Gylfi Sigurdsson situation. Of course he will ultimately be judged on results but encouraging noises nevertheless.
06/07/2012 14:13:50
yew_tree

First time posting here for the new season - I see the lads are back training this week (well the ones not at the Euro's) - Does anybody seeing us bringing in a big name or two? - and tehre is also the joe cole / aquanlini issue - should these guys be given a chance ?
06/07/2012 14:30:43
brendtheredhand

Yew tree, bringing back Joe Cole and Alberto Aquilani would be like two new signings in themselves. Time to give these guys an opportunity, they are both still top players IMO and have earned the right to challenge for a first team place. They still need a 20+ goals a season striker though, not sure who or from where just yet.
09/07/2012 17:34:46
Trixy

Yeah BRENDANTHE RED all kinds of right noises coming out of Anfield. Including Brendan Roy Rogers praising Kenny for all the progress made!!!. Rogers did refrain from calling him the King. Still if you have been sacked by Reading!! Yes Reading!!! anything achieved by Kenny must seem wonderful. Any sign of a proper stadium,to generate real money. Anfield fast turning in to CLOUD CUCKOO LAND.!!
09/07/2012 18:06:44
wrecker
County: Australia

aquillani remember him benitez paid 20 million for him to play 5 minutes football now he is back rumour has it they couldnt give him away

Result Pages:  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  67  68  69  70  71  72  73  [Next >>]
Page 37

please login or register to post a message