Home Football Hurling Counties

Wexford - Wexford v Dublin LFC Semi
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>]
Page 1

11/06/2012 13:44:05
BettystownRoyal

This board has been very quiet about the footballers this year. How do you reckon you'll get on lads? Complete underdogs but I've a sneaky feeling it will be very close like the Leinster final last year.
11/06/2012 15:25:21
wexcore
County: Wexford

Ah don't ye know we are a hurling county we can't play football at all ha.. Anyway about Dublin I honestly think we are goin to give them a close game having Murphy (who is really chomping at the bit to play)back and lyng will improve us we showed yesterday we do have a plan b for when teams bulk defend admittedly it needs work and we have nothing to fear like we did in 08... Best of luck against Carlow and if ye win I hope ye beat Kildare
11/06/2012 16:38:24
Supertramp

Serious work is gonna have to be done with the full back line to stop Brogan and co running riot. If they are presented with the same amount of goal chances that Longford were I fear they will be more clinical. However they have come out on top after 2 highly competitive matches and have a bit of a break now to get the heads down and prepare to hopefully get one over the Dubs. The returning players should make a positive impact too.
16/06/2012 12:51:00
waynoI

They have about as much chance as beating Dublin as Desmond Tutu has getting a game for Brazil.
16/06/2012 13:44:42
Stmunnsriver

what a juvinile and childish thing to say we all know that its nearly impossable but curly the beauti of sport and gaa teams who have worked years on end just so we can dream , to be allowed dream was why i spend 6/7 days a week in my gaa park with youngsters , just so they an dream as well, id say thats something u have never done with a comment like that, its fools like u give the wonderful dubs fans a bad name
16/06/2012 14:45:21
NaomhAine

Is it any wonder why the Dubs are so disliked with arrogant fans like you waynoI. Your'e of a minority of Dubs who feel they have a God given right to beat anyone and win everything and tarnish the reputation of otherwise decent supporters. I believe yous thought the same last year and we probably should have won, so lets hope we have a similar crack at it this year.
16/06/2012 16:14:52
Stmunnsriver

pet tutu has been to more dubs games than him to i know i have i never miss a dublin game and there fans are truly lovely people but there is always one gom
16/06/2012 16:56:49
Stmunnsriver

bet
16/06/2012 18:06:38
DUB1

C,mon Da Dubs... :-)
18/06/2012 13:38:25
waynoI

Aindreas, Get over it and grow a pair will ye, I'm only having a laugh, As All Ireland champions you's really shouldn't stand a chance but as you have said shocks are part and parcel of sport and if Wexford beat Dublin it will be fantastic for them. And for the record im going to games all my life.
18/06/2012 13:53:21
waynoI

Is it any wonder why the Dubs are so disliked with arrogant fans like you waynoI. Your'e of a minority of Dubs who feel they have a God given right to beat anyone and win everything and tarnish the reputation of otherwise decent supporters. I believe yous thought the same last year and we probably should have won, so lets hope we have a similar crack at it this year.

Could've , Should've , Would've ... DIDN'T - Bottom line. Whatever way you look at it ..
18/06/2012 14:27:33
Supertramp

I have to agree with wayno1, they is no "should have won" when the came is over. There is only "didn't win". Lets hope this year we will win and give Dublin the sceanic route for once. We'll need a massive performance and maybe a bit of luck but, or at least no bad luck.
26/06/2012 09:57:45
Wexfan08

Why is Aindreas Doyle giving out about playing in Croke park?? Fair enough the Dubs have home advantage but is it not every gaelic footballer and hurlers dream to play in Croke park? Match him better to say that they are focused on toppling the dubs.
26/06/2012 12:21:52
Administrator

This was started as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Aindreas
Wexford
26/06/2012
12:17

team v dubs

team more or less picks its self but for the no. 2 and 10 positions who will line out there id say will be n murphy and c morris or p byrne if fully fit
26/06/2012 13:29:10
icehonesty

Aindreas wouldn't make that team if he was fit anyway.

He's right about the scandalous home ground advantage Dublin always get. But not the right time to say it.
26/06/2012 13:48:48
Stmunnsriver

agree bad timing
26/06/2012 13:59:21
beano

While I generally agree that the team picks itself, if I were picking it for Sunday I would focus primarily on protecting the full back line. A blind man can see the very high concession rate Wexford have this year, so I would play both Morris and Carty in the two half forward positions, with both under the instruction to drop back (like Morris has done for the last couple of years, to great effect against the Dubs, and like Carty was instructed to do against Longford). I would place Brosnan at centre foward, on more than likely Ger Brennan who I would regard as Dublin's weakest back (and someone liable to lose the head if getting the run around). Restoring David Murphy at centre-back would bring more shape to the half-back line, allowing Flynn more freedom to continue his scoring form, while I'd move Malone back into the corner in place of Niall Murphy.

The way I see it then:
Masterson
Tierney/Wadding
Molloy
Malone
Flynn
D.Murphy
Chin
Waters
Bradley
Morris
Brosnan
Carty
Lyng
Barry
Roche
26/06/2012 18:25:47
stekhli

Wonder will Aindreas Doyle be chosen to start in the forwards and play the role that Morris played last season and Carthy played in Wexford's games to date , massive challenge for Wexford I hope for a Dub win obviously but I hope Wexford acquit themselves well as I think they're a good team with a superb coach in Jason Ryan
27/06/2012 08:34:46
lefty

Re beano not a bad team i agree with malone going back to corner back and maybe doyle the other corner,
But how can you leave off pj was the best forward last day along with red, he must start simple as.
27/06/2012 09:37:22
icehonesty

Ryan doesn't change the team much. He likes to field more or less the same team so here is what I expect to see. The only spot up for grabs I would say is 10 where Roche may get in ahead of Carty. Other than that, not many other changes. Doyle won't get near the team. Wadding seems out of favour. Byrne is not good enough for a starting spot in my opinion. Morris looked at now as an impact sub. Tierney to be dropped for Murphy to come in.

1. Masterson
2. Malone
3. Molloy
4. Murphy
5. Flynn
6. Murphy
7. Chin
8. Waters
9. Quinlivan
10. Carty
11. Brosnan
12. Banville