FL3 round-up: wins for Derry and Offaly

February 23, 2020

Derry's Benny Heron scores a goal.
©INPHO/Presseye/Lorcan Doherty.

Derry and Offaly were the winners in today’s two Division Three games, both teams moving up the rather congested table onto five points.

There are now four sides in the third tier on five points, Down and Longford also pushing hard for promotion, while Cork lead the way with eight points after four rounds.

Full forward Shane McGuigan (1-7) was the main man for the Oak Leaf County at Celtic Park, where they beat luckless Louth by 2-10 to 1-9, the Wee County rooted to the foot of the table and looking to be in real danger of relegation to Division Four.

The visitors led by 1-6 to 1-5 at the break, Declan Byrne with their goal after McGuigan had netted for Derry. Wind behind them in the second half, Rory Gallagher’s charges just about got over the line, substitute Niall Loughlin firing their second three-pointer.

At Carrick-on-Shannon, meanwhile, John Maughan’s Offaly defeated Leitrim by 2-16 to 0-14, Ruairi McNamee and Cathal Mangan netting in the second half after the hosts had led by the odd point from 17 at the break.

Derry - O Lynch; C McCluskey, B Rogers, C McWilliams; S Downey (0-1), P McGrogan, N Keenan; C McKaigue, C McFaul; E Bradley, P Cassidy, D Tallon; B Heron (0-2), S McGuigan (1-7, 0-4f), N Toner. Subs: N Loughlin (1-0) for E Bradley, P Kearney for D Tallon, D Cassidy for P Cassidy, C Doherty for N Toner, C McAtamney for C McFaul.

Louth - C Lynch; F Donohoe, D Campbell, J Craven; E Callaghan, B Duffy (0-1), J Clutterbuck; C Early, T Durnin; G Garland, C Downey, C McKeever; R Burns (0-6f), D Byrne (1-2, 0-2f), C Grimes. Subs: O Murray for G Garland, D Corcoran for F Donohoe, E Duffy for C Downey, G McSorley for C Grimes, R Holcroft for C Early.

Referee - B Judge.


Offaly - P Dunican (0-1); C Doyle, E Rigney, D Hogan; E Carroll, D Dempsey, N Darby (0-1); C Mangan (1-0), M Brazil (0-1); S Horan, C McNamara, C Donohue; A Sullivan (0-4), B Allen (0-5, 1m), R McNamee (1-1). Subs: A Leavy (0-1) for C Donohue, J Hayes for C Doyle, R McEvoy for C McNamee, C Johnson (0-2) for B Allen, C Donnelly for R McNamee.

Leitrim - D McKiernan; A Flynn, F McTague, P Maguire; R Mulvey (0-1), J Gilheany, C McGloin; D Wrynn, R O’Rourke (0-1); K Keegan, S Quinn (0-1), D McGovern; D Flynn, D Rooney (0-2, 1m), K Beirne (0-8, 6f). Subs: S Moran (0-1) for D Wrynn, C Reynolds for A Flynn, M Plunkett for K Keegan, P Dolan for C McGloin, D Bruen for R Mulvey.

Referee - S Laverty.

Most Read Stories