Raheen and Na Fianna club notes

August 12, 2019



The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Tuesday 06 August 2019 were: 03 10 17 27. There was No Jackpot Winner of €15,000 and 6 Match 3 Winners [Ann Moore C/O Ray Garry; Susanne O’Rourke C/O Anne O’Rourke; Alo Dunne C/O Brendan O’Rourke; Martina Grennan C/O Catherine Casey; Derek & Liz C/O High Chap; Jade & Josh Sheil C/O Grennan’s] (€35 Each). Next week’s draw will take place in Direen’s, Cloneygowan on Monday 19 August 2019.


In Group 1 of the Junior B Football Championship 3 teams Raheen, Ballycumber & Shamrocks completed the group stage on top with 8 points. Due to walkovers given by Clara & Tullamore scoring difference could not be used to decide 1st, 2nd & 3rd placings so a 3 way playoff was required. The first playoff game between Ballycumber & Raheen took place last Tuesday week in Ballycumber and it was the home side who prevailed as Ballycumber came out on top by just the minimum on a 1-09 to 0-11 scoreline which sees Ballycumber move on to play Shamrocks in the second playoff to decide 1st & 2nd place in the group. Both sides got off the mark with a point apiece inside the first minute before Ballycumber hit over their second point followed immediately by their goal on 9 mins. Both sides then added 3 points in a row each before Raheen closed out the half with the final 2 points to leave it 1-05 to 0-06 in favour of Ballycumber at the break. Raheen hit the ground running at the start of the second half scoring 4 points without reply inside the first 10 mins to go in front. Both sides then added a point each around the midpoint of the half but this would prove to be the final score for Raheen and Ballycumber then clinched it with 3 points in the final 10 mins to come from 2 down to win by 1.

RAHEEN: Nigel Gorman, Fionan Direen, David Boland, Eanna Direen, Mikey Buckley, Conor McNally, Aidan Pierce, Mark Gorman (0-02), Noel Gorman, Shane O’Rourke, Niall Leavy (0-01), Mark Byrne, Stephen Pierce, Mark McNally (0-01), Lee Mulpeter (0-07).

SUBS: Trevor Cahill, Craig O’Halloran.



Raheen Senior Footballers go in search of their first win in this year’s Senior B Championship against Tubber in Rd 3 this Friday evening (16 Aug) @ 8pm in Pullough. All Support would be appreciated.



Raheen Junior Footballers take on Kinnitty in the Junior B Championship Quarter Final this Saturday evening (17 Aug) @ 5pm in Durrow. All Support would be appreciated.



Raheen GAA Club would like to extend deepest sympathy to the family of the Late Kathleen O’Brien, Ballintogher who passed away last weekend. RIP.



Raheen GAA Club would like to offer a sincere Thank You to everyone who helped out in any way with the parking at the Tullamore Show last Sunday, your hard work and giving up your time is a massive benefit to our club and is very much appreciated.


Na Fianna club notes


Having received a bye in Rd 1 of the A Championship Na Fianna Minor Football no 1 team were going to have to play catch up when they got their Championship campaign under way against last year’s beaten finalists Edenderry last Wednesday evening in Geashill but Na Fianna showed why they are among the favourites for this year’s title as they comprehensively won on a 2-17 to 1-03 scoreline. Na Fianna had opened the scoring with the first 4 points by the 14th min when when the 2 goals were scored one after the other both coming from Edenderry kickouts that were intercepted about 30yds out followed by a solo run and buried, the first from Adam Mangan and second from Morgan Tynan. Na Fianna then added 3 more points before Edenderry finally broke their duck with their opening point on 27 mins so at the break Na Fianna were cruising with a lead of 2-07 to 0-01. In the second half Na Fianna with the win assured added a further 10 points to Edenderry’s 2 before Edenderry grabbed a consolation goal again in the 27th min when a high ball into the square was caught cleanly in space.

NA FIANNA: Rory Daly, David Carthy, Mark Kelly, Eoin McGuinness, Diarmuid Finneran (0-01), Adam Strong, Ryan Dunne, David McElduff (0-01), Ryan Strong (0-01), Jack Gorry, Morgan Tynan (1-03), James Nolan (0-01), Jacob Beatty (0-06), Barry Crombie (0-01), Adam Mangan (1-03).

SUBS: Martin Kelly, Fergal Dolan, Dylan Cahill, Ronan Daly, Ben Colton, Ciaran Murphy, Jack Kelly, Daragh Crilly, Shane Corcora, Jack Brickland, David Owens, Ben Colton. Ruari Dunne, Sean Flood.



Na Fianna Minor Football no 2 team lost out to Gracefield’s only team in Rd 2 of the B Competition last Thursday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 3-09 to 0-05. Playing with the strong breeze in the first half Gracefield took full advantage as they scored 3-06 to Na Fianna’s 2 points by half time. The second half proved to be a much more balanced affair with both sides adding 3 points apiece.

NA FIANNA: Martin Kelly, Jack Brickland, David Owens, Daragh Crilly, Ruairi Dunne (0-01), Dylan Cahill (0-01), Ben Colton, Ronan Daly, Ciaran Murphy, Fergal Dolan (0-01), Jack Kelly, Shane Corcoran, Sean Flood.

SUBS: Eamon Bolger (for Daragh Crilly), Ciaran Coonan (for Ruairi Dunne), Brian Malone (0-02)(for Dylan Cahill), Stephen Hackett (for Ciaran Murphy), Adam Carthy (for Shane Corcoran), Aaron Gorman (for Sean Flood).



Na Fianna U13 Football no 1 team battled all the way as they lost out by just 2 points to the favourites for this year’s championship St Rynaghs in the penultimate round of the group stage last Friday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 3-08 to 1-12. St Rynaghs who had racked up huge scores in their previous rounds certainly faced their sternest test here against Na Fianna. St Rynaghs had the early momentum as they opened up a lead of 1-05 to 0-02 after 20 mins but then a blistering final 10 mins of the half from Na Fianna as they scored 1-05 without reply with the goal coming on 23 mins when Conor Bracken’s shot was blocked on the line but picked up by Eoin Dunne who chipped his shot in over the head of the keeper to the net. This gave Na Fianna the lead at the break 1-07 to 1-05. St Rynaghs were again first off the mark in the second half with a pointed free before striking for 2 goals one after the other in the 7th min to go 5 points up. The sides then added 2 points apiece over the next 15 mins before Na Fianna hit over the final 3 points in the last 5 mins to cut the deficit to 2 points in the end.

NA FIANNA: Sam Dunne, Ronan Hooper, Finna Hassett, Jack Fox, Dara Grehan, Rory Grehan, Tadhg Clear, Eoin Dunne (1-01), Aaron Rattigan (0-01), Colm Nolan (0-01), Evan Gorman (0-01), Sean Cuskelly, Tadhg Lee, Ryan Kinahan (0-05), Conor Bracken (0-03).

SUBS: Cillian Murphy (for Tadhg Lee), Sean Dunne, Cathal Quinn, Fionn Malone, Lucas O’Meara, Josh Sheeran, Luke Keenan.



Both the Na Fianna U13 Football teams continue their respective Championship campaigns this weekend, Firstly the no 1 team look to secure a Quarter Final spot as they take on Tullamore in the final round of the group stage in O’Brien Pk, Tullamore on Friday evening (16 Aug) @ 7:15pm, then the no 2 team take on St Manchans in Rd 2 on Saturday morning (17 Aug) @ 12 Noon. All Support would be appreciated for both games



Both Na Fianna Minor Football teams continue their respective Championships next week, Firstly the no 1 team look to make it 2 wins out of 2 as they take on Rhode in Rd 2 of the A Championship on Wednesday evening (21 Aug) @ 7pm in Rhode, then the no 2 team are also away as they take on St Rynaghs only team in Cloghan in Rd 3 of the B Competition on Thursday evening (22 Aug) @ 7pm. All Support would be appreciated for both games


Most Read Stories