Raheen and Na Fianna club notes

April 15, 2019


The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Monday 08 April 2019 were: 02 11 29 30. There was No Jackpot Winner of €11,600 and 1 Match 3 Winner [Sean Condron C/O Joan Condron] [€200]. Next week’s draw will take place in Grennan’s, Killeigh on TUESDAY 23 April 2019.



The opening game of 2019 for Raheen Senior Footballers began with defeat to neighbours Walsh Island on a scoreline of 1-14 to 1-10 in Rd 1 of the Div 2 League last Friday evening in Geashill. Five players made their senior debut for Raheen here having just come up from the minor ranks and all showed that they are well able for the step up to adult football. The game saw plenty of end to end action which was decided firstly by a lot of poor shooting from Raheen which may be excused by it being the first game of the year and will hopefully be improved as the year progresses then secondly by the accurate free taking for Walsh Island from former Offaly keeper Alan Mulhall playing in his customary club position of full forward. Walsh Island led from start to finish having led at the break by 1-06 to 0-04 and so were full value for the win.

RAHEEN: James Boland, Brian Corcoran, Liam Boland, Aiden Pierce, Adam Kelly, Brian Crombie (0-01), Mikey Buckley (0-01), James Lalor (1-00), Conor Carroll, Reece Seery, Niall Dempsey (0-02), Gavin Kelly, Lee Mulpeter (0-06), Jordan Burke, Jack O’Brien.

SUBS: Colin Keogh (for Reece Seery), James Bryan (for Jack O’Brien), Liam Gorman (for Jordan Burke), Stephen Pierce (for Gavin Kelly), David Boland (for Aiden Pierce) 



Raheen GAA Senior Footballers continue their Div 2 League campaign against Ballycumber in Rd 2 this Friday evening (19 April) @ 7pm in Ballycumber. All Support would be appreciated.



Raheen GAA Club would like to wish the Best of Luck to Raheen’s David Carthy & James Nolan and the rest of the Offaly Minor Footballers as they get their Leinster Championship underway against Wexford next Tuesday evening in Wexford.  



Raheen GAA Club are organising a Croke Park Tour incorporating a tour of the Croke Park grounds and museum on Saturday 04 May 2019. Bus leaves Geashill @ 10am & Cloneygowan @ 10:15am and will arrive back by 5pm approx. Cost is €20 Adults & €10 Children including Bus & Stadium Tour. All are welcome to come along. For more information, to book your place or if you know anybody who may be interested in going please contact John Hackett (086 66282822) or Pauric Pierce (087 6833535) or Eddie Kaye (086) 0757679.


Na Fianna club notes


Na Fianna U17 Footballers were given a walkover by Tullamore in Rd 3 of the Div 1 League last Monday week as despite being at home Tullamore were unable to field a team. The result sees Na Fianna finish top of the group and so will face the bottom side of the group St Broughans in the Semi Final (Date & Venue TBC)



Na Fianna U15 Footballers lost out to Clara in Rd 2 of the Div 1 League last Wednesday evening in Clara.

NA FIANNA: Ciaran Coonan, Eamon Bolger Ronan Brophill, Aaron Gorman, Brian Malone, Danny Gorman, Robbie Gallagher, Sean Brady, Cein Gorman, Jack Cleary, Peter McKeagney, Killian McHugh, Eoghan Hyland.



Na Fianna U13 Footballers showed great heart and determination to come back and salvage a draw against St Manchan Gaels in Rd 2 of the Div 1 League last Thursday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 2-07 apiece. Na Fianna led at the break 1-04 to 1-03 with the Na Fianna goal scored by Ryan Kinahan midway through the half as he pounced quickest on a high ball in which was dropped by the keeper. The first 20 mins of the second half Na Fianna had to withstand a barage of pressure from St Manchans but managed to restrict them to just 4 points to Na Fianna’s 1. When St Manchans struck for their second goal with just 4 mins left there looked to be no way back for Na Fianna but they then got stuck in, first Ryan Kinahan struck his second goal when he caught a high ball in the clear one on one with the keeper, then Eoin Dunne fired over the equaliser in the final minute.

NA FIANNA: Sam Dunne, Tadhg Clear, Finn Hassett, Evan Gorman, Dara Grehan, Rory Grehan (0-01), Sean Cuskelly, Eoin Dunne (0-02), Colm Nolan, Cillian Murphy, Kevin Healy, Sean Dunne, Rian Fenlon, Ryan Kinahan (2-04), Luke Keenan.

SUBS: Sean Kelly, Cathal Quinn, Tadhg Lee, Lucas O’Meara.



Na Fianna U15 Footballers continue their Div 1 League campaign against Ferbane / Belmont in Geashill next Monday evening (22 April) @ 7pm in Geashill. All Support would be appreciated.



Na Fianna GAA Football Club would like to wish the Best of Luck to Na Fianna’s David Carthy, Adam Strong, Ryan Strong, Morgan Tynan, James Nolan, Jacob Beatty & Diarmuid Finneran and the rest of the Offaly Minor Footballers as they get their Leinster Championship underway against Wexford next Tuesday evening in Wexford.

Most Read Stories