Raheen and Na Fianna club notes

February 19, 2019

Raheen club notes


The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Monday 11 February 2019 were 04 05 08 26. There was No Jackpot Winner of €10,000 and 2 Match 3 Winners [Aiden & Finty Hinch C/O Fintan Hinch; Paddy Kaye C/o Linda’s Shop] [€200 Each] . Next week’s draw will take place in Hamilton’s, Geashill on Monday 25 February 2019.



Raheen GAA Club would like to Congratulate our Juvenile club members Stephen Hackett, Eoghan Hyland, Sean Flood & Caoimhe Hyland representing Raheen GAA Club as the Offaly representatives who came 9th out of 30 competing counties in the All Ireland Final of the Scor na nOg Traith na gCeisteanna in Castlebar, Co Mayo last Saturday.



Members are asked to renew their membership as soon as possible but all membership must be paid by the end of February 2019. Subscriptions are Playing Members €30, Students €20 & Non Playing Members €20 & OAP’s: €15. Payments can be given to Membership Officers Paddy Bracken or Eddie Kaye. New members are very welcome.


Na Fianna club notes


Na Fianna U20 Footballers got the club’s 2019 playing campaign underway as they opened their Championship campaign against neighbours St Broughans in Geashill last Sunday morning but unfortunately it began and ended the one day as St Broughans ran out comfortable winners on a scoreline of 5-14 to 1-08 in what is a straight knockout competition. St Broughans who were the 2017 Minor (U18) winners and so would be the favourites for the U20 grade this year. St Broughans won the toss and they opted to play with the strong breeze in the first half as they built up a commanding lead at the break of 4-11 to 0-04 despite being reduced to 14 midway through the half as midfielder Peter Byrne picking up a straight red with the Na Fianna scores a brace apiece from Craig Strong and Kaelyn Thompson. Na Fianna steadied the ship in the second half coming out on top by 1-04 to 1-03 with the Na Fianna goal coming directly from a line ball by Kaelyn Thompson.

NA FIANNA: Ryan Kinahan, Ross Colton, Conor McGuinness, Shane Finneran, Emmett Curley, Glen Hassett, Adam Strong, Sean Cleary, Jack Shiels, Jamie Ballesty, Reece Seery, James Bryan (0-01),Kaelyn Thompson (1-04), Craig Strong (0-02), Lee Mulpeter (0-01).

SUBS: Conor Brophill (for Ross Colton), Aiden Pierce (for Conor McGuinness), Conor Owens (for Shane Finneran), Conor Langton (for Adam Strong), C J Murphy (for James Bryan), Ger Plunkett (for Craig Strong), Jack Gorry, Ryan Strong,

Most Read Stories